Bitten by Kelley Armstrong Review 4/5

Overall Impression: A great book from a great author!

First off , let me start by saying, I am a huge fan of Kelley Armstrong! I started with her more recent ‘The Darkest Powers trilogy’ and was gripped from the start so while waiting for the next set of books in the series  I just had to give her other popular ‘Women of the Otherworld series’ a go, of which Bitten is the first installment.

‘I’ve been fighting it all night.
I’m going to lose…Nature wins out.
It always does’


Elena Michaels didn’t know that her lover Clay was a werewolf until he bit her, changing her life for ever. Betrayed and furious, she cannot accept her transformation, and wants nothing to do with her Pack – a charismatic group of fellow werewolves who say they want to help.
But when a series of brutal murders threatens the Pack, Elena is forced to make an impossible choice. Abandon the only people who truly understand her new nature, or help them to save the lover who ruined her life, and who still wants her back at any cost.

The book begins with Elena struggling to live a normal life in the city, with a normal boyfriend and a normal job. However, Elena is not in any way normal. She is a werewolf, the only female werewolf in the world. One day she receives a call from the Alpha of her pack saying he needs her help. So grudgingly she leaves her life in the city to return to Stonehaven, a country estate where the Pack live. Once there she discovered Mutts (exiled werewolf’s that refuse to join the Pack) are in town killing people. The majority of the book is based around trying to round these Mutts up and figure out what their game plan is. At the same time, Elena tries to juggle her normal boyfriend with her ex, Clay, who she has a complicated love-hate relationship with.

I felt like Bitten started quite slowly because their were so many characters to introduce, and the writer had to set the scene for both Elena’s normal life and her life within the Pack, but with that in mind I was still hooked from the beginning. The thing that really makes this book great is the characters who by the end of the book you feel a great affection for. Especially Elena and Clay because of their relationship together. I personally love this book, and I think many others will love it too because of the theme running through it; the internal struggle that many of us face, of who you think you should be, and who you actually are.

I love Kelley Armstrong’s books so much because for me, they stand out from all the other supernatural books out there. She doesn’t just base her entire book on a powerful romance, but constructs a clever, gripping story that will have (me at least) reading non stop till 5am!  Granted, her stories aren’t all that different, but somehow she manages to put a fresh spin on everything she writes, and creates sassy, strong, characters, that are vulnerable at the same time.

I would recommend this book to young adults 16 and upwards, as it’s not so much a happy fluffy bunny story, but a mature, and at some points gruesome tale.Reviews for the next books in the series will pop up here eventually, once I’ve read them. 🙂

Writing Style: 5/5
Originality: 4/5
Entertainment: 4/5
Character Development: 4/5
Would I recommend this book? Yes

Overall: 4/5

14 thoughts on “Bitten by Kelley Armstrong Review 4/5

    • It was a great book, and I’m really looking forward to reading the others when I have the money to buy them. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  1. Awesome, i have finally found your review! I love Elena and Clay not because they’re destined to be together but because of their bumpy road. They might both be werewolves but it is one of the most realistic releationships I’ve had the pleasure of reading. Wait until you get to Haunted. That book is amazing, pure genius, it’s complicated but very very clever. That had me up very late so I could finish it and I overslept the next morning and missed a school trip to London haha! Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of the series! 😀

    • Hiya!
      I agree! I hate stories where everything is ‘perfect’ and people in a relationship calmly understand everything. Like in Twilight, the only bump they ever seem to run into is that they love each other too much…yeah, thats realistic.

      I was wondering, because I know you’ve read all/most of the books, how many different sets of characters are there? Because I know Kelley like’s to jump to different ones. Is it just werewolves and witches?

      Thanks! I can’t wait to continue the series!! But I’m a bit low on money at the moment, so alas, I must wait. 😦

      • Haha, I’ve just ranted about Twilight! 😛

        There are a fair few.

        Stolen is Elena, Dime Store Magic and Industrial Magic are a new character who is in both, Haunted is a new character, Broken is a return to Elena, No Humans Involved is another new one, Personal demons is also a new one, Men Of The Otherworld is a collection of short stories (this isn’t really part of the storyline just has the characters), after that is Living With The Dead which has a new character, Frostbitten is Elena again and then Waking The Witch and Spell Bound are a new character who is in both.

        Haha, that’s quite a lot, but you get all the characters popping into other character’s stories and you fall in love with all of them. There’s more than just werewolves and witches too, you get introduced to a whole supernatural world that just seems so…natural!

  2. Not a problem 🙂 Also some of it crosses over with the Darkest Powers trilogy. I can’t remember which book it was in but Chloe saw a programme with Jamie Vegas in and she appears in this series too! 🙂

  3. I think you hit the nail on the head when you talk about how the romance isn’t the entire story–it’s a part of the story. A lot of paranormal romances miss the boat in making it all about the romance, with the plot being a vague afterthought to bring the characters together.

  4. I also think Kelley Armstrong is a fantastic author and I have a great number of her book. I totally agree with you about Bitten, it was a fantastic start to the series. Kelley’s other books are also fantastic (I have 8 in total so far). I also love how you have written the review, I am trying to start reviewing books myself and it is not as easy as it seems. Hope you enjoy the rest of the books 🙂

    • I’ve accumulated quite a few of hers now too, I think I own at least eight although I admit most of them are unread. It was a fantastic action packed book, I’m glad you agree! I really need to get back to this series as Bitten is still the only book I have read from it. I expect when I return to the series I will end up reading the books back to back wondering why it took me so long to read them in the first place!
      Awh thank you, this was the first review I ever wrote on this blog, it’s so funny looking back on it now seeing how my writing style have changed and improved over time. Good luck starting your own book reviews, I’m sure you’ll be great. Trust me, it gets easier the more you do it. 🙂

      Thank you, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

