Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler Review 5/5

Overall Impression: A beautiful, captivating story that made me tingle all the way down to my toes. kissed by an angel

I’ve had this book sitting on my shelf for about a year, but I only just decided to pick it up and read it this week. I bought it around the same time as I’ve had this book sitting on my shelf for about a year, but I only just decided to pick it up and read it this week. I bought it around the same time as Fallen by Lauren Kate and Evermore by Alyson Noel, which were so desperately trying to tap into the forbidden tortured love craze in the YA section created by Twilight it made me cringe, and the books weren’t even well written, so they left me disappointed and angry. Because of this, I really couldn’t stand to read what I thought would be another poor attempt to write a tortured love story. But how completely wrong I was.

When Ivy’s boyfriend Tristan dies, she’s desolate without him, until she discovers Tristan hasn’t abandoned her – he’s her guardian angel, watching over her, close enough to hear, to see, to touch… But Ivy’s life is in danger. If Tristan rescues her, his mission on earth will be over and he’ll have to leave her behind. Will Ivy lose Tristan forever?

Ivy has believed in Angels since the age of four when she nearly drowned in a pool. All she remembers is being dragged from the water, and a bright, comforting light shining over her. As she grows older she continues to believe, and has a collection of Angel statues she turns to when times grow hard. So when her mother gets remarried, and Ivy is forced to live in a huge house with sleazy, rude, stepbrother Gregory she relies on them heavily for support. At school Ivy’s friends begin to notice a guy named Tristan is interested in her. This leads to several awkward, cute and hilarious encounters. Then one day for drama class she is asked to recite poetry while bouncing on the high board over a swimming pool. Ivy has a huge fear of water and can’t swim. She completes the task but when trying to get off the diving board, slips. She holds on for dear life, panicking at the thought of plummeting into the water below. But lucky for her Tristan, one of the schools best swimmers (how very convenient) comes to her rescue. (A serious swoon worthy moment for me, seeing as I also have a fear of drowning and can’t swim, ha.) This results in Tristan teaching Ivy how to swim, and as their relationship grows, they start dating and fall in love. But just when everything is perfect, disaster strikes. On the way to a restaurant in their car, they collide with a deer. Tristan swerves the car so Ivy is protected, but he dies on impact. Distraught and devastated Ivy struggles to go on with life without Tristan. Her friends don’t understand, she no longer believes in angels and surprisingly to her, the only person she feels she can rely on is her stepbrother Gregory, who’s always there for her when she wakes up screaming after having horrible nightmares. Meanwhile, Tristan is wandering around confused. He can’t touch anything, and no one can see him except people that believe in angels like Ivy’s little brother, Philip. Desperate to try and comfort Ivy, he tries different tactics to get her to believe again but this only results in him pushing Ivy further away from her friends and closer to Gregory, who has questionable motives. As he watches Ivy struggling with her nightmares, he begins to remember more about the accident. He remembers the shock of seeing the deer, his fear, the car refusing to slow down. He begins to realise that maybe the crash wasn’t just an accident…..someone cut the breaks…….and that someone is after Ivy…… This book caught me off guard, I really wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. From around page 50 I was completely hooked. I was expecting it to be quite a simple love story, but it turned out to be about so much more than that; loss, family, friends, betrayal, and greed. The

But just when everything is perfect, disaster strikes. On the way to a restaurant in their car, they collide with a deer. Tristan swerves the car so Ivy is protected, but he dies on impact. Distraught and devastated Ivy struggles to go on with life without Tristan. Her friends don’t understand, she no longer believes in angels and surprisingly to her, the only person she feels she can rely on is her stepbrother Gregory, who’s always there for her when she wakes up screaming after having horrible nightmares. Meanwhile, Tristan is wandering around confused. He can’t touch anything, and no one can see him except people that believe in angels like Ivy’s little brother, Philip. Desperate to try and comfort Ivy, he tries different tactics to get her to believe again but this only results in him pushing Ivy further away from her friends and closer to Gregory, who has questionable motives. As he watches Ivy struggling with her nightmares, he begins to remember more about the accident. He remembers the shock of seeing the deer, his fear, the car refusing to slow down. He begins to realise that maybe the crash wasn’t just an accident…..someone cut the breaks…….and that someone is after Ivy……

This book caught me off guard, I really wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. From around page 50 I was completely hooked. I was expecting it to be quite a simple love story, but it turned out to be about so much more than that; loss, family, friends, betrayal, and greed. The storyline kept me interested all the way through, and I was really concerned about how the tale was going to end.

All the characters have weaknesses, which makes them more relatable and allows us to empathise with them very quickly. They are well rounded, and described so well that I could picture exactly what they looked like. The main characters Tristan and Ivy were so endearing, and you could really feel the chemistry between them. I begun to really like them, and I felt as if my heart was breaking along with Ivy’s when Tristan died, even though I knew from the blurb it was going to happen. I felt like this book really took me on a rollercoaster. It made me smile all the way up to my ears, it made me laugh, it even made me cry. It’s such a beautiful story, and I really would recommend it to everyone, from age 11 to people in their 30s. The only criticism I have of this book is that it’s not very feminist. Ivy is often

I felt like this book really took me on a rollercoaster. It made me smile all the way up to my ears, it made me laugh, it even made me cry. It’s such a beautiful story, and I really would recommend it to everyone, from age 11 to people in their 30s. The only criticism I have of this book is that it’s not very feminist. Ivy is often

The only criticism I have of this book is that it’s not very feminist. Ivy is often coddled, and protected my all the male characters around her. For most of the book I had absolutely no problem with this, after all, it is a romance book and you’ve gotta have a few knights in shining armour. She also goes through a lot in the book, so in real life, I would probably act the same way. However, two thirds of the way through the book I did start to think ‘Come on girl! Stand up for yourself already, stop being a wimp!’  Eventually however, she did realise how lost she had become and righted herself, so this wasn’t really a problem for me. The only thing I would say to people interested in reading this book, is that it is very cutesie. Its a book for people that are hopeless romantics, and love a bit of cheese. So if you prefer books with a more gritty/heavy storyline, this won’t be a book for you. (To read my review of the next book in the

The only thing I would say to people interested in reading this book, is that it is very cutesie. Its a book for people that are hopeless romantics, and love a bit of cheese. So if you prefer books with a more gritty/heavy storyline, this won’t be a book for you. (To read my review of the next book in the Kissed by an Angel series, Evercrossed, click here)

Writing Style: 5/5 Originality: 3/5 Entertainment: 5/5 Would I recommend this book? Yes definitely!

Overall: 5/5

6 thoughts on “Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler Review 5/5

  1. This is really good 🙂 I like the way you’ve written it and that it has a lot of enthusiasm for the book behind it, I’ll be checking out some of your other reviews 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog too, glad you enjoyed my review!

    • Yeah, I mean it is slighty, but that seems to be the way with a lot of YA romance at the moment. There are elements that are similar, (which is why I was so apprehensive to read it) like Ivy having nightmares, and the fact that she’s protected quite a lot by the males around her. But the characters are different, and somehow this book has a fresh feel to it, I think because the author approached the story in a different way.
      It seem like every book I read now I think “thats exactly like Twilight” or “thats just like that scene from Twilight!” and I always automatically assume they’ve copied it, but then I think to myself, maybe they didn’t. Maybe there are just a lot of scenes like that in books and we now assume their copies of Twilight because it became so popular. Who knows? 🙂

Leave a Reply

