The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2012. I’m in! Who’s with me?

2012 eclecticreader

I came across this challenge on The Reading and Life of a Bookworm which is a great blog, full of book reviews and lots of interesting reading challenges, so you should definitely check this blog out if you have the time. πŸ™‚

The aim of this challenge is to get readers (like me) who often get stuck into a rut ofΒ  reading the same genre’s over and over again, to dive out of their comfort zone into the scary unknown. You know if your the type; those of you who enter a book shop and always find yourselves pulled, as if magnetized, to the same section of the book store every time πŸ˜‰Β  (in my case, the YA and Fantasy sections) The challenge will run from January 1st to December 31st 2012. The aim is to read one book for each of the categories below:

  1. Literary Fiction
  2. Crime/Mystery Fiction
  3. Romantic Fiction
  4. Historical Fiction
  5. Young Adult
  6. Fantasy
  7. Science Fiction
  8. Non Fiction
  9. Horror
  10. Thriller /Suspense
  11. Classic
  12. Your favorite genre

I will create a tab at the top of my blog page before the challenge begins stating which books I will be reading for which categories. ( I have now done this and you can find it here )

I must admit, I did ponder the fact of whether if would be wise for me to attempt a book challenge with a word inΒ  the name that IΒ  a) can’t pronounce andΒ  b) had no idea what it meant. So for those of you lacking in knowledge as I totally was, Eclectic means selecting or choosing from various sources. At least according to the Online Dictionary πŸ˜‰Β  *waits patiently for tuts about my lack of knowledge of the English language*

You can find the main page for this challenge here if you would like to take part or find out more. If you decide to to join me on this quest into the unknown let me know and I will check out your post! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2012. I’m in! Who’s with me?

  1. Interesting challenge. I’m sure a lot of the books I’m reading next year will overlap it, but I’m not sure I can add another challenge to the many I’ve already signed up for. I’ll definitely consider it though!

    • Thats why I picked it because I felt it would overlap too, I’ve got quite a few books from this genre sitting on my bookshelf that I just havn’t picked up to read because I always reach for other books first.
      Cool, I will keep an eye out πŸ™‚ What other challenges are you currently signed up for?

  2. HI Becky
    Thanks for joining me in the Eclectic Reader Challenge. I look forward to reading your reviews!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • No problem, I’m looking forward to it! I hope you enjoy reading my reviews πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to snoop around your blog some more and check out your posts.

    • No problem πŸ™‚ and thank you, I’m very excited, it’s my first ever book challege haha! I’m thinking of adding the Rory Gilmore Challenge as well at some point.

  3. Sounds like a good challenge. A few of the necessary genres are already in my To-Be-Read pile, so why not? I accept! I’ll definitely be posting about this sometime in the near future- with a link to you as well as the originating site, of course. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: (Eclectic Reader) Challenge Accepted « Novel Journeys

  5. Bingo! I think I will consider doing this challenge instead of the Rory Gilmore one; hers I wll save for next year. I have a question though; what if the book we pick contains more than one of those genres? Does it still count?

    • Hiya πŸ™‚ Picking a book that contains more than one genre still counts, but you can only count it for one of the genre’s above. For instance if you wanted to read Dracula which could span horror and thriller/suspense genre, you can still count it but as only horror or only thriller, and then you would have to pick another book for the left over catagory πŸ™‚ You can find out more about the challenge from the person who created it Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out who you can find here: http://bookdout.wordpress.com/challenges-2012/eclectic-reader-challenge-2012/ It’s there that you sign yourself up for the challenge and add yourself to the list. There also a list you can add your reviews to so that other people in the challenge can compare their reviews with yours πŸ™‚

    • No problem! That’s great I’m so glad you’ve decided to join in with the fun!
      I will check out your blog and keep an eye out for your new tab. πŸ™‚
      Also thanks for subscribing! I hope to hear more from you in the future. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

