New Years: A Time for Change, Reflection, and Celebration

Happy New Year everyone! 🙂

I know a lot of people dislike New Years, but it’s one of my favorite times of the year. It’s a good excuse to dress up and get out of my traditional jeans and a T-Shirt, it’s a chance to crank up the music in your household, and it’s the perfect time to dig out those old games that are collecting dust in your cupboard.
But most of all, I like it because it’s a time of hope, and looking forward to all the adventures ahead of you.

I think it’s pretty safe to say, I won’t be sad to see 2011 go.
It’s been a bad year. Not  only in the bigger sense with the Student Riots, the uprisings in the middle east, the phone hacking scandal; not to mention the end of the beloved Harry Potter films, but on a personal level too. This year has seen several of my family members rushed to the hospital with some extremely close calls. A couple of my once strong friendships have broken down, and school has been full of tension, stress and uncertainty about exams and my future.
However that’s not to say it was all bad. I ran my first ever race and raised over £100 for the Alzheimer’s Society, I passed my AS Levels, I got five University offers, and I started this blog which I’ve really enjoyed.

But the great thing is, 2011 is all in the past now. New Years gives me a chance to just let everything go from the past year. After all, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

 

So without further ado, my resolutions for 2012:

1.) Read more literary, and classics books. After all, how can I be considered a true book-worm without having read some of the basic classics such as Dracula?
2.) Pass my ALevels *gulp*
3.) Get into University *even bigger gulp*
4.) Complete the Eclectic reader Challenge. I’m looking forward to getting stuck into this one and start reading some genre’s that I wouldn’t normally pick up.
5.) Begin the Rory Gilmore Challenge. I’m going to set myself the goal of reading six books from the list for this year.
6.) Get back into writing. I haven’t had the chance to write any sort of fiction now for about three or four years, and I miss it. (Im so out of practice, i hope I don’t suck :S)

I wish you all the best of luck for 2012! As a little present to you I took some time out of my very average extremely busy day to create a banner for you guys, so you’d better like this post! 😉

Have you set yourselves any resolutions?

IMG_5824

Actually, considering that I’m taking an Art Graphics this posters is pretty naff haha 🙂

22 thoughts on “New Years: A Time for Change, Reflection, and Celebration

  1. Happy New Year to you Becky!
    Aww shame, sorry about the personal difficulties you’ve had last year but somehow my spidey senses tell me that 2012 is gonna be awesome! And hey, I thought resolutions were suppose to be challenging? Yours seem quite fun! Well, except the university bit, but you’ve already had offers so no sweat! You already on the road to greatness! Huzzah!
    Really dig the banner, thank you 😉
    Btw you look absolutely stunning, very pretty 🙂

    • Aww thank you, you are too kind 🙂
      I’m hoping 2012 will be awesome too. Hehe, well SOME of my resolutions are challenging Lol, I think the passing my ALevels and getting into Uni will be pretty tough! I always like to have some fun ones in there though, who said New Years resolutions had to be all doom and gloom ones? Thats why people never end up keeping theirs 😉

  2. Happy New Year Becky! I’m glad you managed to traverse the difficutes of your 2011 and can still see the bright side of it. Good luck with you resolutions as for me I only have one very ambitious resolution and that is to interview a certain author, don’t know how well that’ll go. May 2012 be a great year for you!

      • I thought that was probably who you were talking about Lol. To meet her would be absolutely amazing, if you do get to meet her you definitely have to do a post all about the expirience of meeting her!!! 🙂 I’ll be so jelous 😛

  3. Happy New Year to you 🙂

    good on you for setting yourself a small goal on the Rory challenge. I set myself far too high a goal last year and my reading suffered because of it. Good luck with everything this year 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂
      Yeah I decided to go for a small goal because this year’s my first attempt at some book challenges so I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew 😛
      I hope you have a great year too!

  4. Haha, of course I will, I don’t think I’d be able to keep it to myself! I sent a letter off to her today, so fingers crossed. Also, on your homepage where it has a picture of the book you’re reading, how do you do that? I was thinking of maybe stealing the idea 😛 It might come in useful for people who want know what’s the book for Any One Book without having to look to deep 🙂

    • Haha sure 🙂 Go to your dashboard and click media on your left hand tabs then click add new. Choose the picture of your book and upload it, when it’s done copy the unique URL wordpress has given it. Then go to your appearances tab and click widgets. Find the widget that says Image, then drag it into your sidebar. Paste the URL address and then give a widget title e.g. mine is “I am currently reading” then press save and that should work.
      Let me know if you have any problems with it and I’ll get back to ya 🙂

  5. Hahaha. That banner was amazing! My new years resolution is to pass my final year of Uni with flying colours…so that I can get a proper job in the big wide world.

    Gulp! Good luck with your A-Levels (I think that is the English version of VCE?)

    • Haha thank you 🙂
      I’m not sure……I have no idea what VCEs are haha 😛
      Good luck with your passing Uni, sounds like tough stuff but I’m sure you can do it! 🙂

  6. I just wanted to stop by and say hello. Happy New Year. For myself, I don’t have any New Years resolution. I just try to live life the best I can and try my best of whatever I want to do. However, I do hope to get a job and hopefully become a writer.

    • Suprizingly, not too bad thanks! 🙂 I’ve started num 4. Bought books for num 1. and num 5. to make progress towards starting those. Alevels are going well so far, University I won’t know until August :S. The only one I haven’t really tackled yet is to get back into writing, no suprize there, I never seem to find the time 😦 I’m determined find time though…
      Did you make any New Years Resolutions? And if so how are they going? 🙂

      • No, I stopped making New Years resolutions years ago.
        Though my one goal for the New Year was to go surfing, and I did make it out on 1 January, on what turned out to be a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

