Stephenie Meyer’s The Host to be adapted for the big screen?!?

Is anyone else internally cringing?

I don’t really know if this is common knowledge. Maybe I’m just out of the loop but I hadn’t heard anything about this until 2 minutes ago browsing the Culture section on in The Guardian newspaper. For those of you who don’t know Stephenie Meyer’s The Host was released early 2008. A science fiction romance novel about parasites, I guess you would call them, that invade the body and take over the human race.
Feel free to take a look at the blurb:

“ Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that takes over the minds of their human hosts while leaving their bodies intact, and most of humanity has succumbed. Wanderer, the invading ‘soul’ who has been given Melanie’s body, knew about the challenges of living inside a human: the overwhelming emotions, the too-vivid memories. But there was one difficulty Wanderer didn’t expect: the former tenant of her body refusing to relinquish possession of her mind. Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of the man Melanie loves – Jared, a human who still lives in hiding. Unable to separate herself from her body’s desires, Wanderer yearns for a man she’s never met. As outside forces make Wanderer and Melanie unwilling allies, they set off to search for the man they both love. ”

I immediately did a quick internet search to see if there was any other information available. The Guardian could be wrong right? Just this once?
I guess not.
According to Wikipedia (who we all know is the equivalent to God in cyberspace) states that The Host is set for release on March 29, 2013. Casting includes Saoirse Ronan who starred in The Lovely Bones and Diane Kruger known for many roles including her parts in Troy and National Treasure.

Is this even happening?

I can’t believe it, although I don’t know why. It makes sense. Stephenie Meyer is now a well-known name, and her work comes with an enormous fan base of screaming teenage girls. I’m sure the people with the film rights are rubbing their hands together with glee. But do we need another Stephenie Meyer film production?
No.
That being said, I did actually quite like The Host as a book, I thought it was better than Twilight. But that doesn’t mean I want it turned into a blockbuster movie! Wasn’t the money from five Twilight film’s enough???

I can’t even begin to collect my thoughts and consider the repercussions of this. I’m reeling. Anyway, I’m supposed to be revising so this short and slightly disjointed post will have to do for now.

Thoughts anyone? I definitely interested in hearing your views on this!

29 thoughts on “Stephenie Meyer’s The Host to be adapted for the big screen?!?

    • Haha, well no one warned ME!!! I really can’t believe this is happening. And I am going back to my revision right now as we speak 😉

    • Hahaa, really? Thats intresting! I’m not that suprized though, I only knew about it/read it because a friend lent it to me and I don’t think I would of come across it otherwise or bothered to read it. Science fiction isn’t a genre I usually read, although it was less sci-fi and more tortured romance.

  1. I read The Host a few years back and thought it was pretty good, certainly worthy of a film if done right. But it does seem as though the makers really just want to keep the Twilight phenomenon going. It’ll work, too: a lot of fans will want to see this. It’s a good plot, and I’m all for the science-fiction aspect, but I’m not sure what this means considering what happened with the Twilight Saga.

    • I agree with you, I think it will work. Heck, I may even be tempted to go and see it if it looks remotely good, even though curiosity killed the cat! 🙂 I remember thinking the book was quite good too, but I can’t actually remember it that well, I must of read it around four years ago.
      I think your right, it will work, which kind of angers me. I think things should be successful because of their own merit not because there feeding off the popularity of something else. But we don’t live in a fair world haha.
      Thats my worry, I think if the film was done well it could be really good. However, I’m concerned that bearing in mind there probably aiming at the same demographic that were fans of Twilight, it could end up really naff…

    • I’m with you on this one! 🙂 I felt it was far more original than Twilight (although there are a lot of similar stories around, I think it closely resembled quite a few zombie movies actually haha) the characters were a lot more interesting compared to the one dimensional Bella, Edward and Jacob, and reading it, I had no idea how the story was going to end, unlike with Twilight where it’s pretty obvious there going to live happily ever after.
      Stop by again soon 🙂 I’m going to have a proper snoop around your blog later, your about page is excellent!

  2. I actually liked The Host, although I think it’s because I read it two weeks post-partum and my newborn daughter was in the hospital and I was an emotional wreck so I think I just enjoyed it so much because it allowed me to escape 🙂 Perhaps I need to re-read it!

    • Haha, yeah I remember enjoying it as well, although I don’t remember very much about it now. I think I liked it because it was a different genre from the books I would normally pick. However I just don’t think it needs to be turned into a film! Especially not a Twilighty film! 🙂

  3. I agree, The Host was way better than Twilight (which I was a hardcore fan of until I realized how stupid it is, and now I sort of hate it), but I still don’t think a movie would be a good idea. The book is kind of hard to translate into a movie, for an instance. And Diane Kruger, seriously?

    • Haha, same! The shame :S
      I’m glad you agree, I don’t think it will translate very well either, in fact I think science fiction works far better written down than it does on screen. Somehow it never looks quite right to me…. It will be interesting when the trailer comes out that’s for sure, then we’ll get a real idea of how dire the film is going to be!

  4. I read the first few chapters of The Host a while back. I kept waiting for it to get good… Didn’t happen. So I stopped reading it and parked it in one of my shelves. Haha. 🙂 It should ne interesting to see how they make it into a movie though. I should re-read. 😀

    • Yeah, I think I remember the first few chapters being quite slow, I didn’t quite know what to make of it because it was so different from Meyer’s Twilight series, however I did get into it eventually as I ended up really enjoying it, or at least, I remember enjoying it. 🙂 Maybe I need to re-read it too haha 😉
      Thanks for stopping by, and YAY for following! Hope to hear more from you soon, I always enjoy a good bookish conversation! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Movie Review #5: Hanna « Two Bullets, Five Zombies

  6. And… the new trailer is out now, I guess this is the pre-trailer as we will have to wait until the full one comes out. Just betcha, they will show it when Breaking Dawn part 2 is out. Saoirse Ronan ( from Lovely Bones ) is playing Melanie ? I just don’t see it. Love that Kruger is playing the bad Seeker thou. I hope they put the money and time into making this movie good, ’cause I can see it being really really strange and then not so good. Anyway thanks for the great comment on me blog Becky !!!

    • Oooh thanks for telling me I hadn’t realised. Haha, probably.
      I just checked it out the trailer, it was ok to start off with but what the heck was that ending about? It looks so rubbish. I actually had to double check it was an official trailer and not a fan made one! Haha. I hope the film isn’t rubbish like you, but I have my doubts…
      I know it’s strange, when I pictured the character I didn’t imagine her looking anything like Saoirse.
      No problem! 🙂 Speaking of which, could you send me the link to your blog? For some reason it doesn’t want to work when I click on your name.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  7. I too am finding it hard to connect with your blog, then again I find it hard to find my own blog at times. I like wordpress alot so for some reason it’s not liking me.

    http://me2ublog.wordpress.com/

    That’s my official site. You can find ways of contacting me there too.

    • Hmmm, that’s strange, I’ve never had that problem before, as long as you’re url is linked it should work.

      Thanks for the link, that seems to be working. Now I can pop back to your blog whenever I feel like it 🙂

  8. I’m actually looking forward to it. I, too, think that The Host is a better novel than the Twilight Sage (I will get around to reviewing it, eventually). I think that as long as Catherine Hardwick isn’t directing it and Kristen Stewart isn’t acting it should be a good movie. I’d be interesting to know how they would do the conversations in her head, though. 🙂

    • Yeah I agree I did think it was better, but in all honesty my memory is pretty fuzzy on the details, I remember the key plot changes though, I think…
      Haha good point, Catherine Hardwick’s film was definitely the worst Twilight film to date, it’s so cringy.
      Ohhh yeah I’d completely forgotten about that! It will be very interesting to see how they do that.
      Cool, I look forward to reading your review, maybe it will refresh my memory. 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

