Stumbling into the world of Guest Blogging

Firstly I would like to apologize again for the lack of book reviews on my blog lately,  although my exams are over I have my Art coursework deadline this week and my Media coursework project due in two weeks, not to mention my looming New York City trip, and it seems like every time I pick up my book to read, I’m either too tired to read more than a page or I have to put it down in favor of more pressing things. Sorry guys
😦

Right now that’s out of the way, on with the post! Last week I was given the opportunity to guest post/contribute regularly to another blog, Two Bullets, Five Zombies. I automatically said yes thinking it could be a chance for me to ramble on some more about topics that aren’t book related, such as film and TV that are also a large part of my life, although no where near as prominent as my book obsession. So with that, I stumbled blindly into the world of guest blogging. But how exactly does one guest blog? What are the rules?

My first port of call: Research. I quickly scanned the interwebs, I guess in the hope of finding some sort of concrete golden list, telling me exactly what I had to do, the do’s and don’t of the guest blogging world.
No such luck.

I sat back mystified, feeling very much like a newbie blogger again. It was time to put my thinking cap on. What would I do, if some random blogger started contributing to my own blog? What would I want them to do?

1.) Be polite – that pretty much goes without saying, nobody wants to deal with a moody individual.

2.) Respect the bloggers space – After all, it’s their blog, and their personal space. You don’t want to trample all over it and undermine their authority.

3.) Replicate their style – You don’t want your posts to look completely out of place. It should follow the conventions – if there are any, that the blog already uses e.g. mode of address, or signing your name, or using certain images.

After creating my own little rule book, I set out to blog my very first guest post. The result of which was this: CGI vs An Intelligent Plot: Which is more important to you?

I have now also created a new page at the top of my blog, where I will list all of my guest posts, just incase any of you are interested 🙂

So what do you guys think? Have you ever done a guest post, or wanted to do a guest post? And if you have, what are the rules that you follow/or would follow, if given the chance?

6 thoughts on “Stumbling into the world of Guest Blogging

Leave a Reply

