Bookish Updates: Goodreads, Flying Books and more!

goodreads
Bloggers of the world beware, I just created a Goodreads account. Who knows what could happen now that I’ve been unleashed on these poor people?
Hopefully I’ll manage to find some new bookish friends, but at the very least I’ll be able to keep track of my reading progress.
I’d been dithering over whether to get a Goodreads account for some time, and when I saw that my good blogging friend Summer had created one, I was even more tempted, but I just wasn’t too sure what it’s purpose was. However blogger Michael finally convinced me, and so I’ve set one up! 🙂 You can find my account here. If you have Goodreads, feel free to add me, or leave a link to your own page on the comments section. 🙂 And if you haven’t got Goodreads? Feel free to join me on my journey through the unknown! I’ve been on the site for four days now, and I think I’m starting to get a feel for it, but for those of you that have been on the site for a long time…..any tips? 🙂

Secondly I’ve noticed that I’ve been neglecting the more ‘serious’ reads on my Eclectic Reader Challenge and have instead been opting for the easy route, going for the books that I would read normally rather than stretching myself to the other genre’s. Which is the whole point of the challenge! So this is kind of a cop out, but I wanted to ask you bloggers, because I value your opinion so highly, which book you think I should read next out of these two choices, because I can’t decide! The poll will be open for a week, and majority vote will win. 🙂

Finally, to avoid this being a completely uninteresting post I thought I would share with you this bookish short film in case you missed it. Short film I hear you moan? But that’s not interesting! Well that’s what I thought too when I saw this little piece popping up everywhere on WordPress. However when I saw Katy post about it, I knew it must be good, so I finally watched it and well, if this doesn’t tug at your bookish heartstrings I don’t know what will!

Hope you’ve all had a great Easter 🙂
  

Image Sources: http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?

30 thoughts on “Bookish Updates: Goodreads, Flying Books and more!

  1. Yay! Sharing the Fantastic Flying Books of Mr Morris Lessmore love! And welcome to Goodreads…I’m about to head over and friend you now 🙂

    • Hmmm, that’s fair enough. I’m not too sure how much I’m going to use it yet, if I meet some chatty people I might get into it, but if I don’t it will probably just act as a list of books I’ve read.

  2. Goodreads is the best! I’ve been on that site for a couple of years now, it’s fantastic. And I recommend “Jane Eyre” – it’s such a wonderful novel. Although I admit Jane Austen is amazing too… I’ve only read “Pride and Prejudice” and “Persuasion” from her though.

    • I’m glad you like it so much, hopefully I will feel the same! 🙂 I’m hoping I will enjoy Jane Eyre when I get around to reading it, I saw a TV drama version and loved it, so I’m hoping the book will be just as good, if not better. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice, but no other yet so your ahead of me anyway!
      I just popped over to your blog and I think it’s fantastic. We seem to have similar tastes in books. If you give me your link I’d llike to add you on goodreads. But only if you want 🙂

  3. I haven’t been on Goodreads, I don’t want to add another site to keep up with but I’m sure I’ll crack eventually 🙂 I voted for Jane Eyre as it’s one of my faves but I adore Jane Austen so I think you’ll love both. Enjoy!

    • Funny enough that was one of the main reasons I wasn’t that bothered as well, I thought to myself, ‘Becky you can barely keep up with your social networking now, don’t you procrastinate enough already?’ Haha 🙂

      Thanks for voting, I really appriciate it, I hope I enjoy them as much as you have!

  4. I can confirm that Becky has indeed joined Goodreads. Within about 10 minutes she had filled her bookshelves with dozens and dozens of books.

    I can’t watch YouTube stuff here at work I will have to wait until I get home.

    • Haha, yeah I just couldn’t wait to show off. Although I’ve noticed an excessive amount of paranormal romance on my shelf overweighing anything of literary merit. :L
      Cool, you definitely should, it’s well worth the wait!

    • Haha, neither did I! I’m still not totally sure. You can mark all the books you’ve ever read to show off proudly, write reviews, rate books, talk to other book nerds and join group discussions. That’s the info I’ve gathered so far. 🙂

    • It’s good so far, it’s a great way to show off all the books you’ve read (that’s my favorite feature) and when you start getting friends on it they can recommend books to you so that you encounter all sorts of stories you may not have considered before. You can also join groups, for instance I know you love THG, well there are tonnes of groups just dedicated to that, as well as pretty much every book series you can think of, and then there are groups for just general books as well. There are also a lot of authors trying to give their books away in exchange for reviews. So free books! Always a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

