Every Bookworm’s Dilemma: When Shelf Space Runs Out.

Ok so here’s a random and vaguely related anecdote: There is currently a lot of DIY going on in my house, which means there are toolboxes and various pieces of equipment in my room. A couple of days ago my mum was helping me carry some stuff up there and I carefully reached over a mass of tools to turn on a plug, at which point I told her “You know we should move these because one day I’m going to actually step on that sword” She looked at me puzzled and said “sword?” At which point I replied “yes” She laughed “I think you mean SAW?”
*Facepalm*
I’ve been spending way too much time in the literary world lately, either that or art work’s fried my brain. Anhoooows thought you might find that vaguely amusing.
*Hears crickets*
Now on with the post!books 001

My book buying habit has reached an almighty high. I have never owned so many. You could say I’m a bit of book hoarder. Around a month ago I went up to my room with a fresh batch of brand new beautiful shiny books to place proudly on my shelves, only to realize that I had no space left. This isn’t the first time that this has happened either, except this time, it was on a somewhat larger scale. Luckily salvation was just around the corner in the form of a very thoughtful friend who donated to me one of her old bookshelves. So the problem is fixed – temporarily.

BUT I’ve already filled that bookshelf up, I’m now precariously squishing another layer onto it.

The issue is, I tend to take the approach adults do when buying their child a pet: A book is for life, not just for Christmas. This is the part when my friends nod enthusiastically condescendingly pat me on the head.
I can’t help it. I prize my books so highly. I love staring at them, it’s like looking at a wall of my accomplishments and a sea of possibilities; stories unknown just waiting to bestow their wisdom upon me. Lost teenagers searching for the meaning of life, 18th century females struggling to live with the constraints of their era, youths standing up against dystopian societies for what they believe in, dragons, magical rings, witches, vampires all cloaked in mystery and legend. Every single book on my shelf has a message it has taught me, or is going to teach me. They’ve broadened my mind, allowed me to study human nature from the safety of my bedroom, and have introduced me to new ideas and possibilities I never would have been exposed to otherwise…it really is impossible to sum up my love of books, I don’t have enough words…

Therefore I find it almost impossible to part with them. I think I have only ever thrown away a book maybe twice, and I haven’t gotten rid of any of my books since I was about nine. I feel like each one forms a part of my personality, they all have memories attached. J.K Rowling reminds me of my childhood, Cate Tiernan and Stephenie Meyer my tweenager years, Emily Bronte for my first classic experience, and Trudi Canavan for making me fall in love with fantasy for the first time. I could go on…

So I have decided as a temporary solution, to put in place a personal book ban. I currently have 143 books on my to be read pile, and it only keeps building. In fact this week I received four books in the post that I bought on ebay, and the week before that I bought IT by Stephen King from Amazon and a couple more from ebay. Around a month ago I brought a huge batch of twenty-two books from The Book People, including sixteen Charles Dickens books! (for the record my past experience with Dickens books have not been good…yet I bought them anyway because I have a book buying problem!) I also currently have a bid on ANOTHER BOOK. You get the picture… :S So yes, I am putting a ban on myself. I am not allowed to buy any new books (unless they are part of a series I already own) until I have read 60 TBR pile books. How am I going to cope?!?
A while ago I also added a TBR pile tab. Please feel free to visit this and let me know if there are any books on there you would like me to prioritize for reviews and I will try and get round to them as quick as I can. 🙂

ApbzsEvCQAAIz2u 

So what I would really like to know from you, readers and fellow bookworms (if you’ve actually made it all the way through this half coherent rambling post) What do you do with your books once you’ve read them? Do they find their way to the bin? Do you offload them on friends? Perhaps you give them away to charity? Or sell them? Is there anyone else out there who is as soppily sentimentally attached to their books as me?

I would love to know your thoughts! 🙂

Image Sources:
My own, please do not reuse.

87 thoughts on “Every Bookworm’s Dilemma: When Shelf Space Runs Out.

  1. I have similar problems with finding space. Every time I get a new book, I’m always like “How am I going to make room for this?” I ended up putting most of the novels that I’ve read for school in a box in my closet. It’s not the most glamourous solution, but it works to keep the books I really like on my shelves.

    Another solution would be to buy an eReader. That wouldn’t help for the books you already own, but a lot of the ones that you have on your list (like all of the Charles Dickens ones, Dorian Gray, Sherlock Holmes, and Jekyll and Hyde, for example) can be read online for free, or are available for free from eBook sellers.

    I don’t have much advice for the book list, except that there’s a lot of Dickens books on there, considering your last attempt didn’t go so well. Maybe you could trim that in half until you have tried some of his other books, and maybe delete the rest if you still don’t like his style?

    • Ahh, I’m glad I’m not the only one! Hmmm, yeah a box could work, then you could find places all over the house to stuff them! The thing is…..I quite like being able to just stare at them if that makes sense? Haha, I find it quite calming, it’s like book therapy. 🙂 But I may take your advice actually, I could still leave some out to look at, and have the comfort of knowing I still owned all the others.

      Oooooh the controversial eReader. I must admit I’m not a fan of eBooks currently, although to be fair I have never used one. But I just don’t like the idea of them. I don’t have a problem with other people using them, but Becky likes physical books! Although I have downloaded a couple of PDF’s because they were free off the Book Depository…

      Yeah, there is a lot of Dickens….what was I thinking? Haha. My only experience of Dickens was Oliver Twist in school and I hated it, but I’m hoping because I’m older now I will appriciate his work more I guess? I also saw some TV adaptions based on his work and really enjoyed them, so fingers crosed!

      Are you a fan of Dickens?

      • I like to stare at my books, too, but the ones I put in boxes are books for school, which I’m usually not emotionally attached to.

        I’m not a huge fan of eBooks either, I just thought it was a good solution for space problems. I have an iPad, which can be used for eBooks but a lot of other things as well, and the only books I really have on it are free. If I’m going to spend ten dollars or more on a book, I would like the physical copy. And I’m more likely to finish a book when it’s on paper as well.

        I haven’t read a lot of Dickens books. I tried to read Oliver Twist as a kid (I think it was an illustrated version for children) but I don’t think I ever finished it. So I wouldn’t consider myself a fan, but I also don’t hate him or anything. I probably want to read ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ at some point, at least.

      • I hear you, I do that too. Quite a few of the books I’ve downloaded I have just ended up buying instead of reading the PDF because I hate reading off a computer screen. I know Kindle’s are supposed to have all these special screen and stuff that make it much better to read off but it hasn’t really convinced me so far! 🙂

        Ohh right cool. Maybe it’s just that Oliver Twist isn’t very good compared to his other books then? Perhaps we just picked the wrong Dickens book to start with! Haha. I know absolutely nothing about the story A Tale of Two Cities but people talk about it a lot so I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

        Thanks for commenting D!

  2. I am not that much of a collector to be honest. Over the years I have either binned or given away entire collections of books, VHS tapes, DVDs, console games, music vinyls and music cassette tapes.

    My bookshelf is currently crammed as well but I have been saved by the purchase of my Kindle. I haven’t bothered with paper books since I got it about 18 months ago.

    • Awwwh poor books….. 😦 Yeah I don’t really get emotionally attached to any kind of DVDs or console games, not really even with music, it’s just the books. Alas they are my weakness…

      Mmm yes the Kindle. I know that is the logical solution, but I just despise the things! I’m saving that rant for another post. So stay tuned, you can try and come up with a logical argument against me! 🙂

      • If there is one thing that I have learnt over the years, it is that logical arguments are powerless in the face of a woman’s emotional feelings about something.

        It’s quite funny actually, I have seen threads on Internet forums descend into mayhem when the ereader vs paper book argument comes up.

      • Haha, touché!

        Yeah I know right? That’s exactly why I want to post about it, there could be chaos! Mwuhuhu 🙂

        Still my friend has offered to lend me her Kindle, so I’m going to try that sometime this summer probably, and then if I still don’t like it, I can at least diss it with the knowledge of having tried it.

  3. I keep them and them like precious artifacts and treat them with tender loving care of course! 🙂 I am exactly like you, I can’t ever throw them out! 🙂

    • Hey Tony, thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

      Mmmmm…I know I should, but I just don’t like the things, although I must admit it does get tempting sometimes when all these free or very cheap books are avaliable. But I just don’t see myself switching any time soon….

  4. Oh! That is a problem… I don’t own more than three books that I have not already read. I only buy a book once I have finished previous books. However, I don’t like throwing away books either; it would be like throwing away memories. All my Enid Blyton books are still with me and I don’t think I’ll ever be ready to let them go. Luckily, I won’t be running out of space any time soon- Kindle is a solution.

    • Hahaa well that’s the way to do it! Much more sensible. 🙂 It happened mainly because I got behind with my books because of school work, but then I kept seeing new books out that I wanted, and so slowly the pile just built up, and before I knew it, it was a mountain!
      I completely agree! Enid Blyton is great, my equal to that is probably Jacqueline Wilson, I have tonnes of her books I just can’t let go of.

      Hmm yes eBooks *grumble grumble* maybe one day in the far future….

  5. This is me right now, though I haven’t yet bothered to count the books… but I’m in a tiny dorm room that I’ll be leaving soon and I need to find some way to store all the books and pick out which ones I won’t need anymore. And the damn things are everywhere and I just know that the ones I decide to store will be the ones I decide I need over the summer. I love all my books, I don’t want them to go anywhere. I keep getting told I should get a kindle, but I really just prefer having the paper copies. I don’t like reading from a screen. It’s a personal thing 🙂 Good luck with getting all the books sorted out!

    • Aggh dilemma’s dilemma’s! Don’t you hate it when that happens? It really is sod’s law, as soon as you throw something away or pack it up you need it the next day. Mmm…books everywhere, sounds nice and cosy 🙂 Although somewhat problematic….

      I am exactly the same way, and people keep telling me to get a Kindle too! (Just refer to above comments for proof) I just dislike the things, they seem so…….wrong to me. Maybe I’m just becoming an old women stuck in her old ways haha. I have a future post planned for a Kindle rant 😉

      Thanks!

  6. I’m a fellow book hoarder. I love the look, feel and smell of books. There are books in every room of my house and in boxes in my shed. I can’t part with them. I could open up a little library with my collection.

    • Yay! *mental high five* Mmm yes musty book smell how I love you. Have you noticed that different shops have different smelling books? Like British Bookshops books have more of a perfumey musty smell whereas WHSmith’s books have more of a shiney text book smell and ohh my gosh I am such a geek for knowing this! Moving on…
      Books in every room of your house!?! That sounds amazing, I want my future house to be like that, or I want to try and create my own mini library like you mentioned in a cosy attic or basement. 🙂

      • If you’re a geek, then I’m a total geek too! I love second hand bookshops the best. You never know what treasure you’ll find. Giles from Buffy got it right when he talked about smell: “Smell is the most powerful trigger to the memory there is. A certain flower, or a-a whiff of smoke can bring up experiences long forgotten. Books smell musty and-and-and rich.”

      • Ohhh my gosh I’ve actually been planning to use that quote on my anti-kindle post I have planned for some point soon! Great minds think alike, and Buffy fans think identical. 😉

        Oooh yes second hand bookshops, where the musty books live. Mmmm…yum! 🙂

  7. You’re lifting the ban when you only have 60 books to be read…? Surely it would make more sense to read all books before starting to buy more…!
    I’m glad I could help with the bookcase. Have you managed to double-stack all of the shelves already then?
    Can’t you put some books back where they used to live or have you found a new purpose to those shelves as well?
    Haha, reading all these comments about you getting a Kindle.. sorry everyone but you really don’t like them. But then again, you’ve never tried it… You could borrow mine.. See if you like it. Because I plan at some point in my life of owning all the books that I have electronically on paperback.
    🙂

    • Hey Niki, hope your enjoying being a WordPress newbie 🙂
      Uhhh..no it’ll be when I have 81 books left, I’m aiming to get 60 books off the list like I mentioned. I would do more, but I don’t know if my resolve can hold out that long! So I’ve decided to go for a reasonable number, and then I may decide to carry on and try and get rid of even more if I have the resolve to do so! :S

      Haha yes you were very helpful 🙂 Yeah I’ve started double stacking the shelves. Well the thing is because I’ve cleared out those shelves I want to use them for something else, because a lot of my shelves are absolutely packed. I just haven’t quite decided what I’m going to put there yet. Don’t worry I won’t be throwing any books away though, I will find a solution one way or the other. I might use Danuscrips idea.

      Hehe I know!!! The thing is it would be an obvious solution…….if I wasn’t so utterly against it. But that’s very kind of you! Maybe I will gives yours a go. As they say don’t knock it till you’ve tried it 😉 I can’t really see me liking it though.. hehe.

      • Thanks. I’m getting there I think. It’s nice to have someone who I can ask stuff about. Lol.
        I could strengthen your resolve by changing all your passwords so you can’t actually buy anything new! 😛
        Good good, I’m glad. Haha, yeah it could be an idea. But in the summer you’ve got to start thinking about what ones you’re going to take with you to uni…
        Yeah. Well I don’t think it’s too bad. I mean I didn’t ask for it but it’s not totally horrible. I hope you do give it a try and you don’t hate it as much as you currently do. Lol.

      • Hehe yuss it does make things somewhat easier I would imagine. 🙂
        Hmm yeah I could, but I think I need to learn to actually use my resolve, otherwise I will be DOOMED in the future to have a low bank balance from over excessive buying of books :s

        Hmm well I’ll have plenty of choice, but I’ll want to take them ALL! Maybe I’ll have to take a picture of my bookshelf and print it out life size so I can pretend my real bookcase is there…

        Yeah, who knows, maybe I’ll be completely converted! 🙂

  8. I don’t have the problem of not enough space because up until a month ago I was borrowing from the library but soon enough I had read every book in their YA section (Yes every book) so I had to start buying my own. In the last two weeks I’ve bought 20 books so my shelves are filling up fast. I’ve also found I’m extremely protective of my books, I dont dog ear the pages as I did the library ones and I stress about the tiniest crease in the spine. It frustrates my friends because I have the best books but they don’t want to borrow them in fear of bending a page or breaking the spine. 🙂
    As for throwing away books I can never do that! The best I’ve done is take a few books to a charity shop only to go in a buy them back as well as another pile. That made me doubt my sanity!

    • Hey Emily, thanks for visiting my blog!
      Wow the WHOLE YA section!? That’s very impressive! I’ve always gone through phases of using the library, I won’t use it for ages, and then I’ll have a splurge. But I tend to find most of the time they have books I have already read or that I’m not very interested in. But I love the fact that at libraries you can discover hidden jems you may never have come across otherwise. 🙂

      20 books, awesome! That’s my style too, I love buying a huge stack at once, it’s like Christmas coming early.

      Haha I feel EXACTLY the same way! I’m so protective of my books and I only lend them to people I know will take extra special care of them. I’m horrified if they get damaged. In fact one of my family members picked IT by Stephen King up the other day and opened it wide in the middle straining the spine, and I was literally standing there with my fist in my mouth clenching my teeth to stop myself screaming “YOUR GOING TO CREASE THE SPINE!!!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOUNG? GET AWAY FROM MY BOOK!!!”
      Hehe, very sad I know 😛

  9. Wow that is one big TBR pile 🙂 As you know I just had to clear some space for my books, I like to keep ones I might read again and I have some fancy editions of my favourite books. The others I’d give to a charity shop I don’t ever want to part with printed books though!

    • Haha, yes, yes it is. 🙂

      That’s a good way to go about it I think, I may have to do that at some point in the future…. *sigh*
      But I don’t want too! *Stamps feet*

      I think it’s quite a good idea to give them to a charity shop, at least then they can be loved by someone else. 🙂

    • Hahaa, well at least our houses will be cozy eh? And I suppose it’s better to be surrounded by things you love, than to be surrounded by nothing at all. 🙂

  10. Yes! YES!! It is very difficult for me to part with books. Unless I loathed it AND did not learn a single piece of information, the book gets to live out the remainder of its days amongst the shelves (nooks, and other random spaces) of my bookish empire.

    But SERIOUSLY?! A book ban?! You’re being too harsh. Also: You must abandon Emma, as lovely as it is, and read IT. Diving into your TBR pile now, because who wouldn’t want to be first all voyeuristic about someone’s list and then bossy about what to read next?

    • Haha I love your enthusiasm, and I’m always pleased to hear from another book lover! 🙂 I suppose I might be able to force myself to get rid of the ones I didn’t enjoy, I do have a couple of them on my shelves…..

      Haha yes a book ban. I know it may seem strange but the amount of books I haven’t read now is starting to feel a little overwhelming. I’m a reasonably slow/average reader so it takes a long time for me to read books, and because of that the pile keeps stacking up! I like the idea of not being so weighed down with titles to read, sort of starting fresh if that makes sense. 🙂

      I’m really looking forward to starting IT, it will be my first ever Stephen King read, and I’m very curious about the guy, everyone seems to love him!

  11. Lol, Becks, have you ever considered libraries? You can read as many books as you want and never have to worry about storage. Plus, if a book is crap then, no worries there too. Just return it and there’s no issue of having wasted money.

    That’s a LOT of Dickens! I love Oliver Twist by the way, it’s one of his best for me personally. Tale of two Cities on the other hand…eeesssh, I didn’t like that one at all!!! I couldn’t even make it through the audiobook! Of course, everybody’s different so maybe you might enjoy it 🙂 If you do want to start somewhere with Dickens might I suggest A Christmas Carol? Not a novel but a very enjoyable story nevertheless!

    “A book is for life, not just for Christmas.” Awww, that’s so cute, ha ha! I actually have a mental system in place whereby, if I have 2 -3 books waiting to be read then I refuse to buy another book until I’m at least halfway through them. Of course it doesn’t always work though as I’m sure you would understand… 😉

    • Hahaa yes I have! I tend to go through stages of using the library, I’ll go there a lot in a short space of time, and then I won’t go for a year. Ahh if only that were the case, my problem is I end up buying the books that I borrowed for my own collection after I’ve had to give them back! Not exactly the pont! Lol. :S

      Yeahh it is hehe! Well you told me that you loved Dickens, (and I value your opinion 🙂 ) and then it was his 100th anniversary or something this year so they were showing lots of adaptions of his work on TV. That plus the fact that I’m trying to read more classics this year and seeing the extremely great deal for a load of his books I just couldn’t help myself! 🙂
      Cool I will keep that in mind! Any other Dickens book would you suggest I try first? I only ask because I quite like the idea of reading Christmas Carol at Christmas (although I might not get round to reading any Dickens till Crimbo anyway at this rate!) 🙂

      Hehe! Thanks 🙂 See now that’s a system that makes sense! I should do that..

      • Okay I have a confession: I’m only a fan of Dickens because of OT and Christmas Carol. I really do love those two books. I’m not too keen on his other stuff though. I did mumble and grumble when I read Bleak House but in the end, I suppose I did enjoy it but I wouldn’t recommend it to you just yet.
        I have a copy of Old Curiosity Shop lying somewhere and was meaning to read it (after Hunger Games tho, don’t worry I didn’t forget 🙂 ).
        Otherwise I’m not sure what else to recommend, LOL!! Maybe Great Expectations?

      • Really? Well that’s a suprise! Tut tut Nisha you’ve mislead me 😉
        Just kidding, I would’ve bought them anyway, I’m a sucker for a bargin, especially if they have Vintage Classic book covers hehe. Yeah I remember seeing that you found Bleak Hose really hard going, so I will be avoiding that one I think. Maybe Great Expectations. We shall see…

        Yaaay! You didn’t forget! 🙂 I must admit I have been stalking your currently reading page a bit to see if you had The Hunger Games on it Lol. I hope you like it now that I’ve bigged it up so much! :S

      • You know you not the first person to say they were mislead into thinking I was an ardent Dickensian, I feel awful for having misguided you Beckster, sorry!! 😛 LOL.
        And as for that sorry state of a blog page I’ve titled ‘Currently Reading’, I’m considering putting up cute and distracting pictures of kittens and puppies so no-one notices how long I’m taking… 😉

      • Phew, that makes me feel better. 😉 Haha but no worries, seriously! 🙂

        Well I always approve of anything kitten or puppy related, but it will not distract me from my original goal of stalking your currently reading page! Mwuhuhu 😛

    • Haha, I imagine it would be difficult, I have no idea what I’m going to do if I end up getting into Uni, I’ll have a tiny little dorm room! :S

      Oooh that’s interesting that you do it alphabetically, I tend to do my by genre. 🙂 (Although that’s kind of not working anymore because I’m running out of space!)

  12. I have had the same problem parting with books. Especially something I really enjoyed reading. And most of those I will never get around to reading again. I know that… and yet I hang on. 🙂

    just over a year ago, I made the leap, and got a Kindle. I now have a couple hundred books in the thing. I got tons of the classics for free. The thing was nice for traveling, since I didn’t have to haul half a suitcase of books every time I left home. Also, many of the Y/A purchases are cheaper in an e-book. And they allow for instant gratification, since I can have a novel delivered to my device in seconds.

    Of course, that doesn’t mean I don’t buy books. I still pick them up all the time. I add them to my Amazon wish-list so others will buy them for me. The Kindle has slowed down the flow somewhat, but if I truly love an e-book, I’ll buy the “real” book too… especially if it is the beginning of a series, and from then on, I get the rest of the series in print. Like “Vampire Empire” for instance, which I originally got in e-book form. Now have book 1 & 2 in print… and eagerly await book 3!

    • It’s great to know that I’m not the only one who just can’t let go of her books! 🙂 I love re-reading, it’s amazing how on a re-read you can get something completely different out of the book that you didn’t get the first time, lots of subtle messages you didn’t pick up etc, although I admit a couple of times it’s led to disappointment and discovering the book wasn’t as good the second time round.

      Yeah I can see how Kindle’s would be really good for traveling, especially with weight restrictions. Mm yes, the cheap prices do really tempt me sometimes. But I’m just not ready to give up my trophy-like books yet! 🙂

      I’m glad to see your still keeping the physical books alive too!

      Thanks for commenting Laura!

      P.S Loving you new picture 🙂

  13. A bookcase is like the universe, it holds so many worlds and so many lives each with their own stories and problems and joy and sadness.
    Anway, stepping away from the crazy…. I keep my books, well most of them anyway. A few I’ve given to charity. It feels wrong to give them away because you invest so much emotion in them. I’ve decided that when I have my own place that’s big enough I am having a library, but it sounds like you already have the beginnings of one 😛

    • Agreed! You don’t sound crazy to me, although that’s probably doesn’t mean much coming from a book crazy induvidual….ohh well. 😛

      Mmm, see I used to give some away to charity when I was a lot younger, but I haven’t done that in ages. Also now that I’m aware of the drain of the Kindle on physical books, I kind of feel like, as a pro-physical book lover I shouldn’t give them to charity for people to buy cheaply, so that instead they will have to buy the new books in order to keep the industry going. Granted logically it probably makes little sense, if I don’t donate them, someone else will. But that’s my strange brain for you 😛

      I determined to get my own library too!!! *interweb high-five* 🙂

      P.S. Sorry it took so long for me to reply, I’m in deep revision mode at the moment so the blog has kind of been put on the back burner.

      • Ah no worries, I hope it’s all going well! Ha, I kind of understand that……although I did just buy the complete stories of Sherlock Holmes for £2.99 in a charity shop so I’m not complaining too much 😛

        *high five* yeah, an in house library will be awesome, I bet it’ll smell amazing!

      • Hahaa ohh yeah that’s the crazy thing, I don’t have a problem buying from the charity shop, (because it’s my own personal gain to get cheap books) it’s just passing the books onto them. I know, crazy troll logic. 😛

  14. We easily have 300 + books. Most of them are from the 1950’s and before. Those we will probably keep. Most of the old ones are classics. Newer books are primarily art books and those are more visual and tend not to be on Kindle.

    We did give away around 300 books prior to our move a month ago. Most of them were newer books.

    I love books, but don’t want them to take over. I should do a post on books one of these days. It’s an interesting topic for us book-lovers, for sure. Great post, Becks.

    • Good on you, 300+ books, I’m impressed! I bet that they have a really lovely musty smell after all that time.

      Yeah, I suppose that makes sense, after all, there are other important things in life besides books, they just happen to be one of my main passions.

      You certainly should! I’d be interested in reading it.

      Thanks mj, always great to hear from you 🙂

  15. I just found your blog, but I think it’s great! I know how you feel about not wanting to get rid of your books. Once I have a book, I want to keep it forever. If I don’t, I feel guilty, like I’m abandoning it. When I buy used books, I feel almost like I’m adopting them and that I’ll give the books the love that they didn’t get from their previous owners… I realize how weird that sounds, but it’s true.
    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with your book buying habit or unwillingness to let go of them because, honestly, most book people are the same way 🙂

    • Why thank you very much! 🙂
      I’m so glad to have found someone else who loves books the same way! I feel guilty about abandoning them too, like I’m betraying them somehow.
      Awwh! I love what you said about it feeling like you’re adopting books, I often raid charity shops etc, and I’m definitely going to think of it that way from now on! And it doesn’t sound weird at all. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, feel free to stop by again soon. Also, do you have you own blog? When I click your link it says the web address doesn’t exist. But if you do, if you want you can give me the link and I’ll check out your blog as well. 🙂

  16. I saw that you visited my blog, and I am so glad because it brought me to yours. I am totally with you on this topic. I could never, ever throw out a book. They are my most prized possessions. I even take the covers off hardcover books before I read them, so that I don’t wreck them. I had a dream regarding book storage which finally came true a couple of years ago. I always wanted to have a “library” but never had a house big enough to have a whole room devoted to storage, but I got the next best thing. My hubby built me 40 feet of bookshelves from one end of the basement to the other, and they are gorgeous. People looked at them and shook their head saying, “she’s never going to fill that many shelves”. Well, they obviously don’t know me very well!! My kids laugh at me when I refer to the basement as my library, but I love to curl up on my comfy chair down there and lose myself in a great book. There is nothing better!! I do have an ebook reader too which is great because I always have hundreds of books with me in my purse, but books by my favourite authors are always purchased in book form to display with pride on my library shelves.

    • Awwh that’s so sweet! 🙂 I noticed that you commented on Book Blob a lot and I always agreed with what you were saying so I decided to hop over to your blog.

      I take off the dust jacket from the hardcover books too! Haha, I thought I was the only one who did that.

      Wow, your husband sounds great! I’m so jelous. I too have a dream very similar to yours of one day owning a house with something similar to a library. Either an attic or a basement with old fashioned bookshelfs and a perfect little comfy chair, maybe even a fireplace. I’m so glad that yours was able to come true!

      You sound like a true book worm to me! I think we’re going to get on very well. 🙂 Thank you for subscribing, and I look forward to talking to you more in the future!

      • Ahhh, a kindred spirit :). Ok, here’s another dream. If you had the huge house and the money, wouldn’t you love your library to have multiple levels with those ladders on wheels to get to the books up high??? That would be so awesome!!

      • Yes! Definitely! I’ve always wanted one of those! 🙂 You often see characters in films with them and I’ve always wanted to do the thing where they ride the ladder from one side to the other. It looks so fun! Ohh and the amount of books you could keep! *sigh* Heaven. It would take a lifetime just to read them all.

  17. This sounds very familiar. I have on occasion gotten rid of books I really didn’t like, I keep at least 80% of my books. I have an entire shelf of just books I haven’t read yet and I’m guessing there’s around 80 or so on it (narrow-tall shelf). I just like seeing them and organizing them periodically. Good luck on tackling your TBR pile, maybe I should set that goal myself instead of raiding bookstores and libraries every week.

    • Hi Becka 🙂 I’m always glad to come across another bookworm!

      Haha wow that’s impressive. It must be so great looking at an entire book shelf of stories just waiting to be discovered. I would love that!
      I love reorganising books too, I find it has a very calming, happy effect. I only even have to stand and stare at my books for a little while and I feel this wave of calm come over me. It can be very useful when I’m stressed actually.

      Thank you, I think it’s going to be a tricky task to stick too, I’ve already been tempted several times!

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. 🙂

      • Wow!!!! My kids think I’m crazy, but now I know I’m not the only one!! I, too, love to stand and stare at my books and feel that sense of calm come over me. And what about actually taking a book down from the shelf, flipping through the pages, and smelling that book smell. Ahhhhh!! 🙂 I’m in my happy place now.

      • Hahaa! Really? I think your kids need a lesson on how to fall in love with books….possibly some brainwashing might be needed. 😛

        I’m so glad I’m not the only one too, I think my parents believe I’m a little insane when it comes to books. Ohh yes definitely, I’m always sitting around sniffing books and I get the weirdest looks! I love how depending on which shop you get them from they have different smells!

        Ohh also, since your such a megga crazy bookworm like me, you might like this video I posted a while back. https://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/bookish-updates-goodreads-flying-books-and-more/ It actually brings a little tear to my bookish eyes. 🙂

      • OMG Becky, did you see it? It’s our dream library in that adorable little short film, complete with rolling ladder!!! And it’s a magical library too :). What could be better? Oh, but I almost cried at the end!! I never thought of it before – who will look after my “library” when I’m gone? My poor books will be soooo lonely :(. What a beautiful film. Thanks for sharing that with me :).

      • Hahaa yeah! It’s fantastic isn’t it! And they all have the beautiful old fashioned hard covers! *sigh* But I don’t particularly remember seeing the ladder, I shall have to watch it again me thinks 🙂

        Hehe, no problem! I thought you would like it. 🙂

  18. I have an e-reader but it is definitely not the same and also has an infuriating tendency to flick through pages when outside on a windy day. I have a similar book storage problem to you, I usually solve it by keeping a huge pile beside my bed for instant easy access reading although that is definitely not a practical or permanent solution haha!

    • Really? I’ve never heard of them doing that. How strange! I can imagine that would be extremely annoying, maybe you’ll have to get your e-reader a winter coat or snuggly blanket teehee. 🙂
      Ahh yes, I think that is my next plan of action, I’ll probably start stuffing them under and by my bed in piles mwuhuu, although it’s only really putting off the inevitable…. *sigh* What’s a bookworm to do eh?

      Thanks for taking the time to comment, and to subscribe as well! I hope to hear more from you soon, I always enjoy a good bookish chat. 🙂

      • Yes I haven’t seen that many covers around though, it is definitely needed! Life of a bookworm is hard… haha. Thanks for having a look at my blog too 🙂 Definitely need a booky chat sometime.

  19. I usually do purges of my shelves and end up doing one of three things: let friends have them, take them to a used bookshop in exchange for store credit, or donate them to the library. I mean, I have a lot of books that I read and wouldn’t consider my favorites by any stretch so I think it’s good to pass them on to someone who might. And that leaves me with space for books that I will probably like.

    My book buying ban is just for this year. Reading ten books from the TBR pile and buying one new book that is part of a series I am already collecting. I should have put less restriction on myself, but desperate times call for desperate measures, am I right?

    • Purges, your brave! I’m not sure if I could do that, although I suppose soon I might not have a choice. Exchanging them for store credit, now that’s a really good idea! I may have to investigate some local book stores to see if they do that.
      Awwh, I really like that way of thinking, 🙂 books should be loved, and I can think of at least a few on my shelves that aren’t so maybe I should pass them onto people that might love them like you’ve said. Thanks for the great suggestions!

      Hahaa, you are definitely right, but who knows, maybe it will force us to read some great hidden jems that we’ve overlooked on our shelves? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and sorry it took me so long to reply!

      • Store credit really is a wonderful thing. I usually get somewhere in the neighborhood of fifty cents for paperbacks and a dollar for hardcovers, but it adds up. And the store where I take them, your credit is good for a year so it’s not necessary to use it all when you visit one time.

        This strict ban on buying books is paying off. I’m noticing how few books I actually have left to read. Most of them are part of series. Now I just have to keep myself from getting back to the point where I need to do such drastic things! *lol*

      • Yeah I can just imagine, looking at my bookshelf it wouldn’t take long to rack up a reasonable amount of money!

        Really? That’s great I’m glad to hear it! Unfortunately I’m quite a long way from getting to that stage, but hopefully with time, and a lot of great stories later I will get there. 🙂

        Haha yes me too, once I get my tbr pile under control I’m going to be much more careful in the future to avoid getting overloaded.

  20. My TBR is ridiculous. I recently decided I would try to read those books instead of buying new, I think I stopped buying for a couple of weeks, then I went crazy and now have more books then I ever did. Sort of like dieting and then binging because of the denial. Problem is I didn’t lose anything. Oh well.
    When I am done with books my initial impulse is to keep them. But I try to donate them to the library or I belong to a book swap online and every book I send I get a credit for another one. (doesn’t help with the numbers, but I get access to fun stuff).
    Yes – I have a problem.

    • Hahaa ohh I feel your pain! That is exactly what I did, I lasted for about 2/3 months and then caved and bought a load all at once, and I actually ended up with more than when I started! Doh! I was so optimistic and determined when I first wrote this post lol. It really is impossible isn’t it? Ohh well, at least I’m in very good company. 😀 How long did you last?
      Ohhh that’s a good idea, I have never really considered book swaps, not only would that solve the problem but it would be a whole lot cheaper as well. I don’t know if I could bring myself to part with most of them though… :S
      Don’ worry, we can have a big problem together! 😉

  21. ive started to build a larger house, i think this may solve the issue, (at least until the books have had enough of me and throw me out) 😉 😉 😉

      • oh. i may have added a smudge or three and some sun fade, but most have been aquired in a well thumb’d condition anyhows infact i think it shows the greatest praise to an author to have their readers hide not their tears or dinner from the pages of such masterfull words, and to read them thrice (hownice) . but throw me out ??? of course they know my thoughts,hopes n dreams we shared them on t way. 😉 😉 😉

  22. This post so accurately depicts my struggles! I had to stop myself from buying books these past year because I was in the middle of a major move and moving books is so heavy! So my library card got a good workout…except I’d end up stumbling across a book that I got at the library that I loved so much I went out and bought it/the rest of the series anyway! (Some books you just have to own!) I’ve recently started purging some of my books, and while it’s been hard, I’ve been able to share some of my books from my youth with my neighbors, kids I babysit, Goodwill, etc., so that makes me feel better about it! Also, my dad just built me three brandnew bookshelves, and while it was glorious it put me into a re-organizing frenzy! (Organizing by author, then genre, then cover, etc).
    So I’ve been trying to be good and utilize the library more, which is a nice payoff when a book underwhelms me…but there’s nothing quite like the feeling of opening up a new box of books from Amazon *sigh*

    Just out of curiousity, with so many books how do you go about organizing them? By author, genre, etc?

    • Aha, I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one out there with this continuing bookworm dilemma! I know exactly how you feel and that is why I put a ban on myself – although for the record it’s been nearly two years since I wrote this post and my to read pile has only increased, although not at the same speed as it did previously. :S
      That’s a good idea to use the library, I used to do that when I was younger for a while but then stopped because of the same problem you are encountering! Even when I borrowed from the library I had this yearning to posses my own copies. I completely agree that you have to own some books, simply because they had such an impact on you or because you enjoy staring at them. 🙂
      Wow, purging your books. Even the thought of it sends shivers though me although I really should do the same thing. I admire your willpower! I really like your way of thinking that by giving up a book you are allowing someone else to enjoy it. That’s such a good point that it might even convince me. 😉
      Couldn’t agree more about the Amazon deliveries!

      Whoa, go dad! That’s awesome. 🙂 I love reorganizing books, it’s so much fun and makes me feel happy.
      Ooooh that’s a very interesting question, I’m glad you asked! Since my bookshelf is currently overflowing the system has kind of broken down which is why I’m so desperate for a new bookcase, but I tend to organise mine by genre. I have a shelf for classics, another for fantasy, one for thrillers, one for chicklit/textbooks (I like to think by putting pure escapism next to the factual boredom helps even the two genre’s out a bit. :P) and lastly YA – although YA is overflowing onto about four different shelves these days. I hope that helps! Let me know if you decide how to categorize your own. 🙂

      Thanks you for taking the time to comment!

  23. I have the same problem, I only read books once (I don’t like knowing the endings) but I never throw them away or do anything with them. I typically read books online now for that reason, but holding the book is just so much better

    • Hi Tiffany! 🙂 I do occasionally reread books, but they have to be really special ones that had a severe impact on me. Otherwise I just don’t have the time, and I also get worried that they won’t live up to the first experience! I understand what you mean about no liking to know the endings, it’s always much more satisfying that way. Reading your books online sounds like it makes a lot of sense for you. 🙂 I must admit I’m one of those stubborn people who’s adamant about sticking to the physical copies!

  24. I can totally relate with your problem. I love reading books I keep buying them and everyone in my family keeps giving me books as well. Currently I have more than 1000 books in my closet. I stacked them in rows of 3, gave myself less en less room for my clothes and so on. But I have a solution you might like. Take out the backside of your bookshelf, this way you can see your books from both sides. I did any it proved quite helpful.

  25. Hey there. 🙂 “I love reading books and I keep buying them” sounds exactly like me! I have entire shelves that I haven’t read any books from, it’s really quite bad. My books started off in a small shelf in my closet, and now I have three full bookcases, whoops! But omg I LOVE your solution AND it’s not one I’ve heard before. Thanks so much for the suggestion, it’s genius, I’m going to have to try that out!

  26. I’m exactly the same as you! My mum is always trying to make me get rid of my rainbow magic books, and Hannah Montana and stuff, but I can’t! They built my childhood, I can’t just bin them! I’m also a book-buying-aholic, but that’s another thing mum tries to stop me from doing, saying I should just use the library, but they haven’t got everything! I usually win in the end, but to make sure I remember all of the amazing books I read that I don’t own, I have written a list of all my favourite novels, and kept it safe in my special-things box. It’s very useful, and I’m planning on keeping to show my kids someday so they can read them! Maybe you should try this, so you can ease up on the book buying and use the library more? It’s a pain, but I find it’s a good way to keep mum happy and never forget those great books:)

    • Ah, I remember Hannah Montanna! I used to like that show, I never read any of the books though. I get exactly what you mean, I felt that way about all my Jacqueline Wilson books.

      Using the library is so not the same! You don’t get to keep the books and admire them on your shelves, or take them off an smell them randomly, hehe. It’s always good to have lists. 🙂

      Yeah, I definitely went though a phase when I was younger of using the library, however I soon stopped because I couldn’t get to it. You had to drive to get there – which I was unable to do, and no one was willing to take me! Now that I can finally drive myself I might start utilizing it. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

