Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, It’s the Olympic Torch!

Ok so I know it’s not book related, but I’m allowed to have a random post every now and again. 🙂 Today the Olympic Torch came towards where I live, so I decided I wanted to see it. You’ve got to be patriotic once in a while right? And it’s real history in the making, happening today, and I got to be a part of it! Who knows, I may not ever get to see it again.

I took a load of pictures, some of which you can see below. They aren’t especially arty or scenic, and some of them are a bit blurry because it was difficult to get shots with all the people. But it proves I was out there, supporting the United Kingdom! 🙂

SDC13535

SDC13537

  SDC13543SDC13553View left and right.

SDC13544Viewers get excited as the Olympic team begin to arrive.

 SDC13548 SDC13547 SDC13549The Advertisers including Coca Cola with their freebie drinks.

SDC13555The first Torchbearer we saw.

SDC13557

After seeing the first Torchbearer we quickly cut through to another section of the town to wait for the torch to come back round.

SDC13560  SDC13561

SDC13562The torches not currently in use stored safely on the bus. (With my reflection oops, but at least it proves I was there!)

  SDC13572The second Torchbearer rounds the corner with a large smile on her face.

       SDC13566        SDC13571
The third Torchbearer waits patiently for the crossover (or the kissing point as broadcasters keep calling it).

SDC13565

SDC13578

SDC13577

And thus ends day 60 of the Olympic Flame Torch Relay. For those that are interested you can watch the relay live at this website as it makes it’s journey across the UK. The video runs whenever the relay is active.

Are any of you getting into the Olympic spirit? Have you seen any of the torches? And will you be watching London 2012?

20 thoughts on “Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, It’s the Olympic Torch!

  1. Nice one Becks! I’m looking forward to the Olympics as a whole, but I reckon I’m probably too lazy to actually go up and see any of it.

    I get fed up with all the people moaning about it. They should just piss off to the Isle of Wight, where they can all moan about how rubbish oxygen is these days.

    In that second picture, is that a policewoman about to give the kids a kicking? Police brutality, eh?

    • Haha yeah I’m the same way, I won’t be going up to the real thing, but I will watch a little of it on the TV.

      Yeah, I totally agree! Where’s the Olympic spirit? Sure there will be transport issues etc, and I know if any of those things affected me I would probably also get annoyed about it, but at the same time, I think they should try and enjoy it while it’s here and look on the positive side!

      Hahaaa, no she was just walking past them, although looking back up at the picture I totally get what you mean teehee. 🙂

    • Hahaa yeah I can just imagine what a nightmare it will be! I think it’s a shame that people are so negative about the whole thing though, although I can also understand why they are too.

    • It really was, the atmosphere was great, everyone smiling and waving their flags proudly!
      No problem, it was such a unique expirience I just had to do a post on it! 🙂

  2. I’ve seen the torch once, in Sydney, for the 2000 Olympic Games. I’m definitely looking forward to it but I don’t have to worry about traffic, or Olympic lanes, or too many people 😛

  3. I’ve been to see the torch twice, once in my hometown and once where I live at uni! Once in a lifetime thing really, thought I might as well! We didn’t get as good a view as you though, we ended up sitting upstairs in McDonalds, munching on a burger whilst watching through the window :L

    • Ohhh awesome, another torch supporter and going twice as well, now that’s commitment! 😛 I completely agree, I’m so glad I decided to go in the end.

      Awwh that’s a shame, I think I just got lucky really. The first guy we say for instance, had a large crowd so I wouldn’t have been able to see, but luckily I found a bit of random concrete sticking out the ground so I stood on that and it made me extra tall so I could see over everyone. 🙂

  4. Lovely pics! And yes you are allowed a non-book related post every now and again, never be mistaken about that! 😀

    Ps. Love the Copyright logo on all the pics, very professional 🙂
    PPs. The kissing point? Ha ha! 😛

    • Well thank you I’m glad I have your approval! 😉

      Haha thanks, I thought so too! I only just found the option on live writer that I use to publish my posts so I though, hey, that’s pretty awesome, I’ll use that. 🙂

      LOL. That’s exactly what I thought. I mean really? That’s what they come up with?

    • Hahaa I’m glad you think so! It’s great to see people getting into the spirit. 🙂 I certainly will have a good story to tell, for many years to come I will be able to say I was there!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, it’s always great to hear from you. 🙂

  5. Lovely. I happened to see the torch live as it passed through Stockton-on-tees. What a thrill! I could feel the energy in the crowd and it was as if in that very moment everyone was united in celebration. What an experience to have! plus I also captured it on video 🙂

    • Ohh great! I’m glad you got the chance to expirience the atmosphere. Video – now that’s a good idea, I should have thought of that haha.
      I wholeheartedly agree! I’m so glad I decided to go and watch it, it was touch and go for a while there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

