My Blog is one year old today!

My blogoversary

It seems like only yesterday my little blog came into this world. Young and naive, it didn’t want much from life; a place to celebrate the existence of books, somewhere to record incessant ramblings, and a tiny little patch of the blogosphere to call its own.

I can’t believe it’s been a year, I really can’t. Time flies by so fast when you’re having fun! I remember when I first started blogging and I kept seeing banners for blogoversaries all over the place. I thought ‘wow, a whole year of blogging, that’s so long! I wonder if I’ll ever reach that goal…’ Well, now I have! 🙂

Blogging has taught me so much, I’ve discovered more about literature and the authors behind the words, I now know the difference between the notorious there, their and they’re, and I can now spell definitely and recommend correctly. (Believe it or not, I couldn’t actually do these things before I started blogging!) In other words, my grammar and spelling has improved, at least a little bit!

Of course, I’ve also gotten to know all you lovely people, which has truly been a pleasure. (See previous post for gushing). I had no idea there were so many book lovers out there, some of which are just as crazy as me! 😛

So what does one do on their Blogoversary? Well, I’m not all that sure, but I thought it would be a bit of fun to look back on some blog related stuff that stands out to me from my first year of blogging.

Some Fun Stats:

13,605 Fingerprints.

1,559 Comments.

162 New Friends.

70 Vaguely Coherent Rambles.

27 Wonderful New Books Discovered.

My Favourite Posts:
1.) I am Number Four by Pitticus Lore Book Review – Simply because it was my first ever post! 🙂
2.) Do you get bored of YA covers imitating Twilight?– Because hey, ranting is fun!
3.) On Dreaming About Books – This post gave me the opportunity to do a little creative writing, and wow, what an amazing dream! I wish it was a reoccurring one.
4.) The Hunger Games Book Review – I really loved this book, it’s the best I’ve read for a while in terms of sucking me into the authors world and getting me fully invested in the characters.
5.) Taking a Bite out of the Big Apple Part 1 and Part 2 – My trip to New York was and amazing experience, and it was a lot of fun to blog about as well!
6.) Every Bookworms Dilemma: When Shelf Space Runs Out. – I think this post sums up a lot about me, and why I blog about books. 🙂 I also loved hearing from so many of you and the reasons that you love books!
7.) The Complete Fairytales by The Brothers Grimm Book Review – This book took me forever to complete so there was something very satisfying about writing the review and finally completing it!

*  *  *

I’d also like to take this opportunity to ask what you might like to see done differently on this blog. When I first started my reviews I tried to include everything that I would want to see in a book review myself, (target audience, character development etc) as well as including my own personal reflections for future reference.
But I would like to know, loyal followers, if there is anything else you would like me to add? Perhaps the amount of pages a book has is something that influences your book buying decisions? Or maybe you would like a ‘people who liked this book may also like…’ section. I also had the idea of adding my own weekly meme where I’d post a quote each week, would that be something you would be interested in? OR maybe you just like my blog how it is, (wow that’s a lot of questions…lol) but let me know! 😀

Ohh, I’ve also been considering changing my blog theme for quite a while now as well. Thoughts? The thing is, every time I try out a different one it doesn’t feel like my blog anymore, because I’ve gotten so used to this one lol!

Thank you to everyone who has helped make blogging such a great experience! 😀

*  *  *

P.S. A review of Stardust by Neil Gaiman coming soon! (I finished it a while back but I’ve been too busy with Uni stuff to write a post for it yet.)

46 thoughts on “My Blog is one year old today!

  1. I like the blog theme, I think that it’s a part of what makes each blog different. I also like the one quote a week idea (if I did that it would all be JK Rowling and CS Lewis :P), but I don’t think you need to change anything. You’re blog is awesome. Oh, and Happy Anniversary!!

    • Ohh good, yeah I like it too, I guess after having it for a year, sometimes I look at it and fancy a bit of a change, but then I change it, and I don’t like it lol! 😛
      Yeah I quite like the quote idea, usually I’m not a big fan of Meme’s like ‘what are you reading’ because quite often they repeat things that have already been mentioned, but quotes seem like a lot of fun, I do like my quotes. I will mull, and see! 😀

      Thank you!

  2. Congratulations on a year! It seems a silly thing to congratulate someone on to people who don’t blog, but to us it’s quite an achievement and your blog has done well. I’ve only recently started following you so I have no suggestions for making it better – you caught my eye and made me click follow so you must be doing something right 😉 haha
    I’m also too apprehensive to change my theme! You could have a play around though, no one would be annoyed if you did. Maybe the change will help you decide on the new thing you want to add.

    Also, I look forward to the Stardust review – Neil Gaiman is my favourite.

    • Thank you! 😀 Haha yeah I would probably get some weird looks, I guess it’s kind of like people that write diaries who are proud that they’ve continued it throughout the year. I think it’s worth celebrating anyway! 😛

      Awwh thank you. 😀 I’m glad I’m not the only one with changing theme jitters. That’s a good idea, maybe late at night when people are less likely to look at it.. hehe. I suppose I can always change it back again.

      Ohh really? Awesome. 🙂 Have you read Stardust? I’ts the first book of his I’ve read, but somebody told me that it was quite different from his other work?

  3. Happy Blogoversary!!!! I think we should all celebrate by staying home and reading all day! Oh, how I wish I could do that :). Anyway, I love your blog just the way it is, but if you decide to add some new elements I know they will be great too. Congrats on such a wonderful achievement, and I look forward to many many more wonderful reviews!!

    • Thank you!! 😀 Haha, I really can’t believe it’s been a year!
      Ohh that sounds like an excellent idea! I wish too… *sigh*
      Awwh thank you so much. 🙂 I will wait to see what the general consensus is me thinks, before making any changes anyway.
      Hehe and long may it continue, I hope! I look forward to many more bookish conversations with you in the future too, I do enjoy them so! 😀

  4. Happy Birthday! And I didn’t think to bring a cake, sorry. But thanks for the cookies 😉 I like the blog the way it is, a mix of rambles and reviews, don’t change a thing.

  5. Happy Blogoversary!

    I don’t really have any suggestions, because your blog is good as it is, but I do want to mention that your blog’s “birthday” (was it born?) is the same as my birthday. So, cool coincidence.

    • Thank you! 🙂

      Ohh really? Thank you, that’s so good to know! I just thought I would ask as it seemed like a good time to reflect and think about possible changes, and if I needed to make any.

      Ohh, what a coincidence, happy birthday! I hope you have a great day. 😀 Doing anything interesting to celebrate?

    • Lol, thanks Michael!

      The quotes thing was just a random fun idea that popped into my head as I was writing the post, I think it could be really interesting thing to do, but that is one of my concerns about it, I definitely don’t want to end up feeling restricted! But if I do decide to do it (and I’m undecided) I would probably do it on the basis of posting it when I feel like it, I don’t like blogs that post things just for the sake of it, so I would only want to post a quote if I thought it was a worthwhile one! 😀

      Thanks for your input Michael! Pleasure as always. 🙂

      Ohh yeah…how was seeing the Paralympics?! Get any more fun merchandise?

      • Seeing the Paralympics was great! You can’t see it on the TV, but the Aquatic Centre is huge, and I was so far back that it felt like I was on the moon. The noise from the crowd was incredible, though.

        I also popped up on Sunday, and it was sad to see so many parts of the park closed off.

      • Ohh good! I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 Wow, that does sound impressive, I hope it didn’t spoil your view being far back though. 😛 I bet the crowds were amazing, us Brits are good at getting behind an event when it really matters!

        Ohh, it is quite sad now that it has all finished…

    • Awwwh I love that rhyme! It’s so sweet, I’ve never heard it before. I’m going to have to remember that one… 🙂

      That’s so good to know, thanks! I just thought it seemed like a good time to reflect on my blog, it’s always interesting to see what others think.

      I hope you find the Stardust review helpful. 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday!! That is a wonderful and I just want to say I love your blog, so any changes should be something you enjoy or like or whatever. Quotes would be a fun meme, I could get into that 🙂 Looking forward to your Stardust review.
    Best!

    • Ohh thank you so much Elisa! I love your blog too and always enjoy talking to you. 😀 I agree, I definitely wouldn’t make a change to my blog unless I was sure that I liked the idea myself as well. I have to say the quote idea is really growing on me, so I might just put that idea in to action. 😉

      Ohh great, I hope it doesn’t disappoint. Thanks again!

  7. Congrats on blogging for a year! And I can’t wait to see the Stardust review! (I watched the movie recently and absolutely adored it, even though it was very different from the book. One of the few times where the changes didn’t make me want to throw something at the nearest wall). And quotes could always be fun, sometimes great sentences can be enough to draw someone into checking out a book they might not have otherwise discovered.

    • Thanks Maggie! 🙂

      Ohh yeah, I thought the movie was great! I’m glad that you got the chance to watch it. And having read the book I think it was very true to the story-line, and like you’ve said the changes they made weren’t too invasive. I felt like the directer really respected the authors work, if that makes sense? Unfortunately, because I saw the film first, I do feel like it affected my enjoyment of the book slightly because I was always comparing the two. *Sigh* I hate it when that happens!

      Cool, interesting to hear that you like the quote idea, I think I may implement that at some point. 🙂 Thanks for giving your two cents!

  8. Oh my goodness. One year already?! Are you sure????? *scratches head in bewilderment*

    I remember when I first started following you, you had only just started blogging, bloody hell! Well anyway, enough about that, let’s get on with the important stuff… *clears throat*

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUU. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR BLOGS-OF-A-BOOKAHOLEEEEEC, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOOOOUUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!

    Yay! Weeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!! And as for your blog changes and themes, don’t change a thing please. You doing a great job, and I actually like the black background with floral print. (I was considering changing my theme to something similar).
    Ps. If you do want to make a change however, I would like to see more of that gorgeous cat of yours, and other frivolous banter is always welcomed 🙂

    • Haha yepp I’m sure, I can’t believe it either! I think because I’ve been so busy since September with school related stuff and thinking about exams and my future that a year of blogging seems to have gone by so quickly!
      I remember too because you were one of my first four followers! Good times. 😀

      Awwwwwh, thank youuu!!!! Hehee! xD *blows out candles* Excellent singing/typing! *sending you sparkles via the interwebs*

      Really? Thank youuu! 🙂 I’m so surprised by how many people have said they like it exactly how it is! Must mean I’m doing something right. 😛 That’s settled then, I shall keep the same background. Ohh really? That sounds cool, I love the green on yours though, and it seems very you. So if you change it, maybe a green pattern? 😉

      Haha, ohh I will tell my cat you said that, she will most pleased. :L I’m sure I might be able to fit in a few more cat pic here and there. 😉

  9. I’m used to your theme too. Keep it. Well done on making a year. I can’t actually remember when I started mine. I think I’ve already done a year but it looks like I’m stopping for a while. Sixth form is…wow….tough.

    • Haha, ok I will! Thank you. If you go on your dashboard and go appearance – widgets – and put archives in your widget box, when you go on your normal blogging homepage it will show you how long you’ve been blogging for, if you’re interested. 🙂

      Ohh yes I still remember starting sixth form very well, it is stressful and a lot harder than GCSEs when you first start, but don’t worry, after a while it will calm down a bit and you’ll get used to it. Promise. 🙂

  10. Becky, Becks, Beck-ster,
    Congrats on achieving this milestone. You are a wonderful blogging buddy to all of your readers. Often it’s difficult to connect with your audience, but you are able to pull it off famously – like a well-worn pair of leather shoes that feels so comfortable, and you don’t want to throw out. 😀

    I wish you many, many more years of blogging, and an increasing audience to share your love of books and your sense of fun.

    My best regards and hearty woo-hoo to you!

      • Haha any of the above are all good. 🙂 Beckster is Nisha’s personal favourite 😛

        Thank you mj, that means a lot to me, you saying that. You are really too kind! *Blushes* I feel exactly the same way about your blog.

        Ohhh I do hope so, I’ve loved meeting all these amazing internet people from around the world and finding that we all have a passion for books in common, it’s such a fantastic feeling. I wish you the same! Thank you for joining along on my blogging journey, it has been a pleasure. 🙂

  11. Aw, my blog was a year old on the 7th of march. Its so funny how we get so attached to our blogs almost like they’re our best friends. In a way my blog saved me from a lot of unnecessary sadness, being able to share how you feel to a bunch of blogging buddies makes my burden lighter. I hope you continue blogging for a very long time! x

    • Ohh cool, congratulations!
      You’re right, it is funny, how we get attached so quickly. Blogging is such a lovely experience. I think in a way they do become our best friends, or rather, the people that comment on them do. I find I actually miss talking to them if I haven’t done a post in a while!
      I hope you continue blogging for a long time too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

