Look to my Coming at First Light on the Fifth Day, at Dawn, Look to the East…or something like that…

Hello all! 🙂

You get a gold star if you can tell me where that quote comes from.

So my presence on the interwebs has been almost non-existent over the past few weeks. I’m sure you’ve all missed me interrupting your busy schedules with my bookish babble. I mean, it’s not like you have lives to attend to right? You’re all just sitting there refreshing your email wistfully hoping one of my blogs will pop into your inbox.

Even though I haven’t been commenting on many of your blogs, I have been reading them, and silently appreciating what you have to say. I love chatting to you all, but unfortunately I haven’t been able to do it much lately. :/

The title of this post popped into mind because it’s a round about/cryptic way of saying I will be returning to normal blogging….at some point…..in the vague vicinity of the future…..eventually.

But for now blogging has to take a back seat as I try to understand the mind-numbing world of APA citing and referencing, living in a house full of strangers, navigating around a roomate, getting over Freshers Flu (yes, turns out that’s a real thing) not to mention all the frustrating technical glitches I keep encountering. I got set my first essay this week, and for various reasons it’s been an utter nightmare to complete, but I’ve finally done it. Although I now kind of feel like this:

frodo(You know I can’t resist an LOTR meme.)

In other words, completely drained and disheveled. Right now I barely have time to breathe, let alone write a blog post. I’ve hardly read anything fiction related since I’ve been at University either, and you know it must be serious when Becky isn’t even reading.

I have various unfinished blog posts lying around, and my long belated review of Stardust should hopefully be out soon. (Although my current blogging rate is about one sentence a day. Lol.)

It’s in desperate times like these, that we all need a good motto:

P071012_23.03

Image Sources:
Frodo meme: http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/864808-what-makes-you-laugh?page=6&type=topic#comment_59422402
Tea Mug: My own personal image, please do not reuse.

24 thoughts on “Look to my Coming at First Light on the Fifth Day, at Dawn, Look to the East…or something like that…

  1. Funny, the make tea thing is exactly what I’m doing right now. That and putting off my Paradise Lost homework! But I have actually missed your blog, quite a bit. It’s tough that you’re sick for your first few days at college, but hopefully you’ll get back and in the swing of things in a bit.

    Oh, and the quote is from the movie version of The Two Towers 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the review of Stardust!

    • Haha ohh really? Great minds think alike. 😉 I have a ‘keep calm and drink tea’ mug too, I took that one to uni with me.
      Awwh thank you. 😀 That’s really nice to know!
      Yeah, it’s definitely made it a lot harder to settle in, it’s always sucky when you’re ill AND away from home.

      Woop woop! Correct, I knew you’d get it. You are the winner of my precious golden star, enjoy. 🙂

  2. >>I’m sure you’ve all missed me interrupting your busy schedules with my bookish babble. I mean, it’s not like you have lives to attend to right? You’re all just sitting there refreshing your email wistfully hoping one of my blogs will pop into your inbox.

    Yeah, pretty much, that’s me. I had a life somewhere round here, but I lost it…um…{Looks round pathetically}…somewhere…

    Btw, is the quote from somewhere in LOTR?

    • Haha, ha you crack me up Tony! 😀 I am actually guilty of sitting and refreshing my email page waiting for blog posts to appear occasionally. It’s one of my favourite ways to procrastinate. 😛

      It is from LOTR, the film version of The Two Towers. You get a gold star too. 🙂

    • Awwh that’s ok, it’s a pretty random one to be honest, it just popped into my head Lol. Didn’t even realize it was stored in there…. Yep it was Gandalf, and he does love his cryptic babble, and after he says it he rides off mysteriously into the sunset, his white hair flowing behind him. :L

      Thank you. 🙂

  3. lol @Michael calling Gandalf a “cryptic old sod” – if any of old Tolkies characters has gotten straight to the point LotR would have been a much shorter book! I’d love to introduce myself in work as “Melanie, daughter of Colin, son of Thomas of the Manchester clan”, but “Mel” is just more practical…

    Anyway, Becky – hope you’re enjoying uni – I remember freshers flu and avoiding essay writing (I took to writing stupid lengthy poems loosely connected fairytales with my room mates drunken antics). My Canadian roomie was the best: whenever she avoided work she baked apple crumbles – so at least I was fed whilst I was being rubbish at studying 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying it – and don’t worry – blogging will always be here! Just look to the east after your third year of study and in the shafts of the breaking dawn you will find time – along with a job and student loan repayments 😉

    • Haha, my thoughts exactly! Like 50 pages…lol. Ohh so would I! It sounds so much more impressive that way. Manchester clan, love it. 😛

      Freshers flu is evil, it must be stopped! Still I guess I was never going to avoid it, seeing as my whole household got it including my roomate, so I was bound to get it. Ohh really? That sounds quite fun.
      Ohh wow, that’s so proactive! When I avoid work I usually just spend pointless hours on the internet looking at kitten meme’s or something. That is a much better idea. Hmmm….maybe my roomate have some awesome cooking skills she’s hiding too…

      Ha very true. Ohh god, don’t even get me started on the loan repayments. O_o

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  4. Hey, welcome back, if only temporary!
    “The Grey Pilgrim.
    That’s what they used to call me.
    Three hundred lives of Men I’ve walked this earth, and now I have no time.
    With luck, my search will not be in vain.
    Look to my coming at first light on the fifth day.
    At dawn, look to the east.”
    Gandalf! 😀
    Hope everythin’s well with you, :).

  5. Haha, freshers flu is, unfortunately, all too real! But, I feel completely the same as you about blogging. Being back at uni really has put it in the back seat 😦 that and the numerous writers blocks…

    • Agggh man, I wish someone had told me that before I got here, I would of cracked out my emergency body suit and face mask. :L Ohh well…

      Ohhh no! We should start a frustrated bloggers group! Lol. 🙂

  6. Oh Beckster, I’m sending you millions of hugs via the Interweb(I just hope you don’t get squished to death). Glad you got to finish your assignment. 🙂
    And great saying! I endorse it completely!!! 😀

    • Thanks Nisha *recieves hugs of just the right proportion* Haha me too, it was doing my head in! Except now I have about five new ones to replace it… O_o Ohh well, it will get easier….I hope.

      Yaaaay! Glad you agree, I’ve already been labeled an insane tea addict by an Irish housemate. :L

Leave a Reply

