Author Interview with William L. Stuart: Talking Elves & Magical Gemstones!

<KENOX S860  / Samsung S860>

I would like to introduce you all to William L. Stuart who is here to promote his new book, The Gemstone Chronicles – a fun fantasy tale of magic and adventure. 🙂 He is also offering up ONE FREE copy of his book, so don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a chance to win! 

Hi William, tell us a little bit about yourself? Have you always wanted to write?
I am sort of an accidental writer. The book idea actually came from a conversation between my grandson (Aidan) and I while we were out hunting gemstones in the north Georgia mountains. I had done a little research about the “magical” properties of gemstones and we were discussing them when he suggested I write a book about gemstones and elves and The Gemstone Chronicles were born!
As for me, I am a grandfather, father, and lucky husband to the greatest wife in the world, Lana. I spent 10 years in the US Navy as a submarine sailor and recruiter. I now work in the animal health field and play/coach softball, golf, and hunt gemstones!

What made you decide to take the leap and self publish?
I wasn’t really looking to publish at all, but Aidan read the first book and thought it was pretty good. I sent the book to my brother, who also liked it. I then started looking at self-publishing as a way to get the book out to an audience. Luckily for me, one of my softball players does some editing and she was willing to become my editor (bless her), and it snowballed from there.The Gemstone Chronicles Book One by William L Stuart

Your book seems to have an emphasis on gemstones, I find this a really interesting touch, how did you come up with this idea?
As I mentioned above, the idea for the book came while hunting gemstones. The carnelian gemstone in book one does have some alleged “magical” properties, and the powers we are able to summon in the books are based on the legendary attributes.

Who is your favourite author?
My favorite author would be…I can’t choose! I read a lot of different genres, but enjoy thrillers from Brad Thor, action adventure from Clive Cussler, I like David Baldacci, and I just recently read all of the Harry Potter Books. I am currently reading a YA novel by Rachel Hunter called “Empyreal Fate” and I am reading Artur Franks “Captives of the Zone” which is a graphic novel. And, I can’t leave out Ayn Rand and “Atlas Shrugged!”
Any friend of Harry Potter is a friend of mine. Haha that’s ok, I completely understand, it can be impossible to choose!

If you could have any superpower, which would you choose?
My superpower would invisibility! I think it would be so cool to have that power!!

Explain why people should read your book in twenty words or less:
The book is exciting, magical, and a great read!

*   *   *

Like the sound of William L. Stuart and The Gemstone Chronicles? Don’t forget to enter my big Christmas giveaway for the chance to win a free copy!


Contact Details:

Send a Tweet his direction: @williamlstuart
Check out his website: The Gemstone Chronicles
Discuss books on Goodreads: William Stuart

Image Sources:
Header Image: My own, please do not reuse.
Book Cover: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15838579-the-gemstone-chronicles-book-one

8 thoughts on “Author Interview with William L. Stuart: Talking Elves & Magical Gemstones!

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award – Oh My God someone nominated me *dies* | A Wordless Blogger

  2. Pingback: The Gemstone Chronicles Book Two: The Amethyst is launched!! -

  3. Pingback: The Gemstone Chronicles: The Carnelian by William L. Stuart Review 4/5 | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

