Author Interview with Karen A. Wyle: Talking Choices, Forgiveness and the Afterlife!

<KENOX S860  / Samsung S860>

Please give a warm welcome to author Karen A. Wyle, who is here to promote her book Wander Home – a novel which deals with family relationships, death and the afterlife. 🙂 She is also offering up ONE FREE copy of her book, so don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a chance to win!

Tell us a little bit about yourself? Have you always wanted to write?
I’m an appellate attorney, photographer, mother, and politics junkie, as well as an author. After living on both coasts for most of my life, I ended up in south central Indiana in 1989, and I’ve lived here ever since. I am the first member of my immediate family to know anything whatever about sports.
I don’t know exactly when I started wanting to write, but by the time I was in 3rd grade, I was writing poetry of a sort, and it was around that time or soon after that I developed the ambition to be the youngest published novelist in history. (I didn’t make it. I was ten years old and in the process of writing my first novel when I heard that some British upstart had beat me to it, at age nine.)

Describe a few of the themes presented in your book Wander Home?
The book deals with various aspects of family relationships, including forgiveness, communication, and the resolution of unfinished business. And then there’s the unfinished business that people have with themselves.
A related theme is the difficulty of knowing why people make the choices they make, and therefore, the possibility that the judgments we pass on other people will be to some extent unjust.
There’s also what you might call a background theme pertaining to marriage: the different ways in which a marriage can be happy.

Your book focuses a lot on the afterlife, is this Wander Homesomething you believe in personally? How did you decide what your book’s fictional afterlife would be like?
I am a Jewish agnostic with no real faith that an afterlife exists. The afterlife I imagined for Wander Home is designed to help people assess and come to terms with the lives they’ve led. I also wanted it to be appealing. I created an afterlife that I would love to find at the end of my own journey, hoping that at least some readers would feel the same way. (Some have.)
Awh, that’s very nicely put, it must feel great knowing you have been able to strike a chord with some readers already.

What’s the last truly great book you read?
I’m going to cheat just a bit, and mention not a book but a short story included in a book. The anthology An Apple for the Creature: All-New Tales of Unnatural Education, edited by Charlaine Harris and Toni L. P. Kelner, it includes mostly paranormal fantasy, but there is one story I would call science fiction, and it’s heartbreakingly beautiful: “Iphigenia in Aulis” by Mike Carey. I reviewed the story on my blog, Looking Around, last September, at http://looking-around.blogspot.com/20….

How faithful to the book should movie adaptations be?
I tend to be picky about movie adaptations. So often, the director changes scenes that were beautifully suited for the screen just as they were, and this lessens their impact in the process. Of course, some parts of some novels don’t translate well as movies, but I initially view any substantial departure with suspicion.
There’s one movie I can think of that improved on the book by making a major change:
In the Heat of the Night. The sheriff in the book was from the city, while in the movie, he was a big-bellied country boy (played brilliantly by Rod Steiger) who made a wonderful foil for Sidney Poiter’s Philadelphia homicide detective. But I hadn’t read the book when I saw the movie, so I was more open-minded.

Explain why people should read your book in twenty words or less:
It’s a unique and intriguing journey, with people worth meeting; and it tends to leave readers feeling happy.

* * *

Like the sound of Karen A. Wyle and Wander Home? Don’t forget to enter my big Christmas giveaway for the chance to win a free copy!

Contact details:
Send a Tweet her direction: @WordsmithWyle
Like her on Facebook: www.facebook.com/KarenAWyle
Check out her website: www.KarenAWyle.net
Discuss books on Goodreads: Karen A. Wyle

Image Sources:
Header Image: My own please do not reuse.
Book Cover: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16047602-wander-home

Leave a Reply

