New Years: 2012 in Review from a Bookish Perspective

SDC13849

2012 has been a year of firsts for me; my first big holiday to New York City, getting into university and moving away from home. (As well as the first movie parts for The Hunger Games and The Hobbit, can’t forget about them now can we? ;).)

It’s also been a year of lasts for me; my last day at the school I frequented for 7 years, the last time I will be considered a child, and hopefully the last year that my anxiety will spiral out of control. (It was also the end of the Twilight films, and the Inheritance series! :()

So 2012 was a pretty turbulent year in general. Crazy, stressful and a pretty exciting adventure!

I am not one to hide my love of New Years even though I know a lot of people don’t like it. For me it represents hope and new unchartered waters, and I love reflecting on the year that’s passed. I think that’s something to be excited about anyway! 😀

Bookish stuff:

Number of books read: 22
Number of pages read: 9342

Best bothe hunger games trilogyoks read in 2012:

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins –
These are definitely, by a mile, my favourite reads of 2012! If it wasn’t for blogging I probably wouldn’t have come across these books, but I’m so glad I did. The series left me with that numb kind of book hangover, and that’s when you know you’ve just read something amazing, and truly memorable! I couldn’t put them down, the brilliant dystopian world, the anti-war message and the compelling characters, these books are a must read! 😀 (You can read my reviews heInheritance by christopher-paolinire.)

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini – This was the last book in the Inheritance Cycle, one of my favourite all time series! It was so sad having to say goodbye to all of the characters I had come to love, but at the same time, what an ending! I couldn’t have wished for any more. I loved seeing all the character reach their potential and finally grow into the people they were always meant to be. This book is more packed with drama and epic fantasy than all the others combined, and I can’t wait to see what Paolini will write next. I hope he returns to the world of Alagaësia soon! (You can read my review here.) 🙂

emma by jane austenEmma by Jane Austen – Although I only gave this book four stars, it really blew me away in a lot of ways. It was so insightful and it really made me think about relationships and the way we perceive people that I had never really thought about before. Since reading it it has actually altered the way I assess situations and deal with other people. It taught me that sometimes it’s important to step back from a situation to see that everything may not be as it seems and that you could be interpreting some things completely wrong. That doesn’t mean I always use the advice lol, but it’s definitely come in handy when I remember to use it! 😛 (You can read my review here.)

Reads I’m most looking forward to in 2013:
The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling – One way or another people have been talking about this book a lot; either how much they love it or how much they hate it, and as an extreme Harry Potter fan, I can’t wait to add my two cents!
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – Again I have heard so much about this book on the blogosphere, and although I’ve owned the book for ages I haven’t actually taken it off my shelf! But it’s sparkly pretty awesomeness is calling to me lately. 🙂
The Ambassador’s Mission by Trudi Canavan – Trudi Canavan is one of my all time favourite authors and since this book was part of a trilogy I was waiting for all of them to come out at once so I could devour them together! Well, the final book is now released so I can’t wait to get started. 😀

*   *   *

So time to revise those 2012 New Years Resolutions!

1.) Pass my ALevels – CHECK 😀
2.) Get into University – COMPLETED. I still genuinely can’t believe I’m at university, but I’m so proud of myself for getting there, it took a lot of hard work!
3.) Read more literary, and classics books. – DONE! I’ve read four literary classics this year and I’m pretty impressed by this. 🙂 I’ve really enjoyed exploring the classics! I wasn’t expecting to love them as much as I have, and it’s almost like I can feel my brain/knowledge expanding with each one I read. That probably sounds crazy…but they just make me think about so many complex issues I wouldn’t have considered before, and they’ve been really enlightening in a lot of ways.
4.) Complete the Eclectic reader Challenge. – FAIL. 😛 I’ve still got three books left to read for it. What has this taught me? I’m terrible at sticking to lists! I’ve read 22 books this year, only 9 of which are on the challenge. Ahem. Whoops. But what can I say? The whims of a bookworm cannot be tamed, mwuhuuu! I will still complete it, but it will just be in 2013 (even though it’s after the deadlines finished…..ohh well).
5.) Read 6 books from the Rory Gilmore Challenge. – Just! I’ve read exactly 6; The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe, Emma by Jane Austen, Rapunzel and Snow White and Rose Red by The Brothers Grimm, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Woop, woop!
6.) Get back into writing. – Kinda. I’m taking creative writing which I had to write a short story for, so that counts right? :S

Since I love making New Years Resolutions so much (because I actually make mine more positive and fun rather than chores :P) This years resolutions are:

1.) Start keeping a diary again – After having a bad year in 2011 I just stopped writing in my diary because I didn’t want to write about the stuff that was going on, but recently I was flicking though past diaries and they really made me smile, so I am going to *tentatively* attempt one again this year.
2.) Continue reading more classics – Because hey, THE FUN! 😀
3.) Continue with the Rory Gilmore Challenge – I’m again going to aim to read 6 of these in 2013 (mostly because most of these are classics so they overlap).
4.) Pass my first year of university. :S
5.) Get my TBR pile down – But lets face it, we all know that me saying this will probably be an epic fail from day one. I mean, this is ME we’re talking about. 😛 I currently have 174 books on my TBR pile, (and I’ve probably forgotten to put a few on there) and that’s despite putting a book ban on myself this year. I had 140-something on the pile beforehand. Yeah…that turned out really well. HA! :S

*   *   *

Well, Happy New Year everyone, I wish you all the best for 2013! 😀
I’m looking forward  to reading all your blog posts in the year to come!
I’m off to party, over and out! 😛

SDC13858

Image Sources:
2012 book image: Mine. Please do not reuse.
The Hunger Games boxset: http://www.goodreads.com/book/photo/11534111-the-hunger-games
Inheritance book cover: http://www.readingrevels.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/Inheritance-Inheritance-4-christopher-paolini.jpeg
Emma book cover: http://greenskyoutside.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/emma-book-cover.jpg
Pic of me: Mine, obviously. 😛

36 thoughts on “New Years: 2012 in Review from a Bookish Perspective

  1. Bleurgh, I’ve hated NYE ever since my horrendous experience at the hands of the night when the new millennium rolled in. I was up London, got hideously drunk, ate a dodgy burger, and ended up pooing behind trees the entire way home. It was incredibly busy as well, so it’s not as if I had any privacy either. Oh, and I also nearly killed myself trying to climb over some railings.

    Not nice.

    It seems you have plenty to celebrate though, so don’t let my irresponsible behaviour put you off (or even encourage you).

    Getting your TBR pile down is boring; pile it on, I say.

    Oh, and I like your photo. You actually look different again, I swear you’ve got about three different forms that you flit between every so often.

    Good luck for 2013, your studies, reading and writing. And the shape-shifting for the photos, of course.

    • Ew ew ew! Too much information. Geez. Can see how that would put you off. Still, it makes a good party anecdote doesn’t it.

      Haha I do indeed, and even when I don’t I try to find something positive I can to celebrate.

      True, but it’s beginning to affect my mood, it leaves me scatterbrained because I want to read too many books at once! Still, I doubt anything will change, tbr pile goals are always made to be broken. :L

      Thanks, you too. 🙂

  2. Happy New Year! I am with you on trying to reduce the TBR – we will see how well that actually works out, but I will at least try 🙂
    All the best!

    • And to you too! I hope you had a good evening. 🙂

      Yay, I’m not alone! We can try to help each other, like sponsors for people trying to give things up, lol. 😛 Whether we’ll succeed or not well…that’s another story!

  3. HAPPY HAPPY NEW YEAR BECKY!!! It’s so great to see how amazing your 2012 has been. Here’s to an even better 2013! 😀 P.S. CONGRATULATIONS on getting into University! P.P.S We shall tackle the Rory Gilmore Challenge together. 🙂

    • Thank you Jinggy, you too! 😀 Yeah, it was touch and go for a while and very emotional at points, but it ended up being good overall!
      Yes I have big hopes for 2013, I have weird feeling that it’s going to be a good one. 🙂 I hope your 2013 is great as well!

      Thanks, oooh have you read many books on the Challenge yet? You should add a page on your blog so I can stalk your progress. 😉

      Nice to hear from you again!

      • Ahh no problem! Go to Dashboard > Click pages on the left hand side, then a sub menu should appear under it > Click add new. > Call it a name. Tada! 😛 Then if you want to edit it again at a later date you just click pages on the left hand side. Easy peasy. 😀

  4. Happy New year! I always love reading your posts! Congrats on your successes and good luck with your resolutions! I like the tbr list. I don’t even think I have one. I just wanna read everything

    • Thanks psharma you too. 🙂 Awwh, I’m glad to hear it because I really love writing them, and chatting to you! 😛
      Thanks, hopefully I can keep them. 😉 Are you making any resolutions this year?

      Ahh I get what you mean, I feel like I pretty much want to read everything too! There’s not enough time in my lifetime!

  5. I’m so glad I found a fellow book lover on WordPress, and I am looking forward to all your posts in 2012. I have had company since before Christmas, so I haven’t really thought about resolutions yet (can you tell I’m exhausted and ready for them to go home LOL), but I giggled when I read yours about reducing your TBR pile. I always have good intentions to do that too, but then I go out and buy more LOL!! It’s a losing battle, but I always tell myself there are a lot worse obsessions that I could have :).

    • Awwh me too, thanks Cindy! it’s been great getting to know you over the last year and it’s been pretty awesome to find someone with similar book aspirations, like having a library with a ladder! Lol. 🙂 I’m looking forward to your 2013 posts too, your photo’s just seem to get better and better!
      Ohh I love making resolutions, so just make sure if you make any that some of them are fun, and not all hard work!
      Hehee, me too. Lets face it, I don’t think it will happen, but I can try, I really need to try. :S I am feeling like it’s holding me down and I would quite like a cleaner slate.

  6. Happy New Year!

    Congrats on passing your A-Levels and getting into university! And good luck with your first year. =D It’s funny you should mention classics because part of my reading resolutions this year is to read at least one classic, since I usually dislike them. I think I may read Little Women, since I read the abridged version when I was younger and liked it.

    I’ve been hearing a lot of stuff about The Hunger Games, but I have been staying away because I’m afraid it won’t live up to the hype. Does that make sense? As for The Casual Vacancy, I’m tempted to read it, but after all the reviews I read, I may stay away just to preserve by image of JKR, haha.

    Also, as regards the diary… why don’t you look into Keel’s Simple Diary? It might be something of interest to you. 🙂

    • Thanks Zen!

      Yeah I still can’t believe that ALevels are finally behind me to be honest, I thought I would never get out alive, lol.
      Ohh really? I haven’t read that post yet, I will have to check it out. 🙂 I always had a very negative outlook on classics until I picked up Wuthering Heights and realized that they didn’t all have to be stuffy and yawnsome tales. The book really caught my imagination so maybe you should try that one if you haven’t already. 🙂 Of course, it’s a bit of a Marmite book, you either tend to love it or hate it.
      I’ve wanted to read Little Women for ages but the film put me off a bit, I found the lead character a bit annoying. What classics have you read so far? 🙂

      Ohh I totally understand, I was really worried about reading it before I started! (check out my review https://beckysblogs.wordpress.com/2012/01/14/the-hunger-games-by-suzanne-collins-review-55/ for proof 😛 ) I think you should read it, it really is fantastic and I’m sure you’ll love it! Ahh, with you on the JKR bit as well, I’m excited, but also a little nervous.

      Thanks for the tip, I’ll check it out. 😀 And thanks for following as well!

      • I’ve actually read Wuthering Heights before. It was all right, but I found I’ve read better. Never watched the Little Women movie, but the story is nice! As for the classics I read, well… off the top of my head: The Three Musketeers, The Black Tulip, Jane Eyre, David Copperfield, Persuasion, The Mill on the Floss, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer/Huckleberry Finn… among others!

      • |Ohh right cool.
        Ahh, a lot of those are ones I’m curious to read myself, especially Jane Eyre, Persuasion and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I hope you enjoy reading your future classics a lot more!

        Happy reading. 😀

  7. Happy new year! Congratulations on getting into university and I must say- I was VERY pleasantly surprised by the Hunger Games trilogy. I wasn’t expecting them to be so good!!

    I know what you mean about the TBR pile mine is pushing 200 and I need to whittle it down…it doesn’t help that I got a Kindle gift card for my birthday a few weeks ago and keep picking up daily deal books *le sigh*. Best wishes for the new year- I’m positive that you will do wonderfully at uni 🙂

    • Thanks Ellisse. 🙂 Ohh you read them? I’m so glad! I was surprised too, I thought it was probably due to all the promotional stunts that they were so popular, but I’m so happy that wasn’t the case.

      Yay! *internet high five* your up in the big leagues like me with the tbr pile. 😛 Don’t worry, I totally understand your plight, and if I had an eReader I would have that exact same problem, but my book obsession takes the form of paperback. :L

      Thanks, you too! Nice to hear from you again. 🙂

  8. Yeah, I was worried about that as well! Same with Game of Thrones (I’m about to start the fourth book) and I was worried that the HBO show was all drama and the books wouldn’t be as exciting but I am REALLY enjoying them! In fact, I’ve been spreading them out so that they last longer- the author has only written five out of the nine…

    Woo Hoo 😀 Ahhh I still have quite the collection of paperbacks…sometimes nothing feels as good as a book in your hand. Though that’s an impressive mountain!

    Thanks for writing back 🙂 It has been a while…I’ll make sure to stop by more frequently!

    • Oooh I’ve wanted to get my hands on the Game of Thrones books for ages! They look so good and I love anything with a medieval/fantasy kind of setting. I have been watching the show on TV but when it comes to comparison I would always want to read the books every time. But guess what, they’re not on my tbr pile *sobs* THERE ARE TOO MANY GOOD BOOKS IN THE WORLD DAMMIT. Really only five? It seemed like there was more than that lol.

      Yeah I do love my paper, I don’t think I will be crossing over to the other side for quite some time. It may be more impractical but at the end of the day, I like decorating my walls with them! Call me vain. 😛

      No problem! Writing back to comments is the best part of blogging, hehee. 🙂 Oooh I hope so, I love chatting!

      • ahh perhaps if you are able to whittle down the pile some more you will be able to add them in :). They are DEFINITELY worth reading 🙂

        Yeah I love holding paper books especially textbooks…I can’t take my learning seriously when it’s on my kindle since I heavily ID that with reading for pleasure. In fact, I just finished a book today- H is for Homicide by Sue Grafton (Kinsey Millhone murder series) it was quite good 🙂

      • That is definitely a plan Ellisse. 😉 Lol. I hate to admit it….but my tbr pile has already increased during the duration of this conversation. :S Post on it to come!

        Ohh I know what you mean, highlighting on a eReader somehow doesn’t seem tangible enough in comparison to a physical text book, and I often find the act of highlighting itself helps me memorize things, I don’t think that would quite work on an eReader!
        Ooh I’ve never heard of that, I might have to look it up!

  9. This is a little late, but congratulations on all of your accomplishments! I attend to aspire university in the fall so I feel like you’re a little bit ahead of me – great job with all of the books you’ve read and reviewed, your reviews are always so thorough and fun to read! I loved the Hunger Games trilogy as well, and I love Jane Austen but haven’t read Emma yet; perhaps that will my next Austen novel. Wishing you all the best in 2013!

    • Thanks Thomas! I hope you had a good New Years. I have no doubt you will get into university and do really well, it’s mostly all about passion and independent learning and you seem to do plenty of that out of choice. 🙂
      Thanks, I don’t tend to read many books in a year compared to a lot of other bloggers, but I really like to savor the things I read! It’s always so good to hear that you enjoy my reviews, 🙂 it’s very easy get insecure about my writing, and I always worry about being boring.

      Glad we share a love of The Hunger Games! I got quite obsessed with it for a while and had trouble getting into new books. Emma is a great read I really recommend it, it’s my favourite Austen yet, so insightful.

Leave a Reply

