Quoting the Quill #3

quoting the quill small

“The thing that irks me most is this shattered prison, after all. I’m tired, tired of being enclosed here. I’m wearying to escape into that glorious world, and to be always there: not seeing it dimly through tears and yearning for it through the walls of an aching heart, but really with it, and in it.”
– Emily Bronte (Wuthering Heights)

Emily Bronte
This quote can be applied to a multitude of different contexts – in the book it is Cathy talking of her tortured relationship with Heathcliff and the constraints of her life, but as someone who has suffered with anxiety this is a quote that has always really struck a chord with me on a personal level.
Once again I urge everyone to go and read Wuthering Heights if you haven’t already, it is a really fantastic book and I just wish Emily had written some more of them before the tragic end of her life.

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here. 🙂

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂
Emily Bronte: Wikimedia Commons –http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Emilybronte_retouche.jpg#filelinks

14 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #3

    • Thanks Emma! I love that Heathcliff is a bastard, lol. 😛 Although if I studied Wuthering Heights for a grade I probably would have ended up hating it, that always seem to happen!

      • You don’t like Heathcliff either? *Sad face* I like love him as a character, although weirdly I always enjoy reading about characters I dislike or am supposed to dislike. 😛

      • Oh I can be the same, but I find it has to be from their perspective and very well-written. You need that ability to relate I think, which I just couldn’t with Heathcliff

      • Hmm, that’s an interesting point. I would normally agree as it is the same case with me in most instances, but for some reason it just really works for me in Wuthering Heights. Maybe it’s a mysterious form of magic. 😛

    • Ohhh no, that’s so sad. 😦 I totally understand though, whatever book I was made to read for a grade I always ended up hating, even if I liked it at the beginning. Sometimes you can go into a book TOO much.

      I hope you might be able to change your mind one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

