What do I read next? Help!

Ok guys, I need your help!

(Two posts in one day, crazy times.)

I’ve had it up to here (you can’t see here, but right now I’m holding my hand up gesturing above my head) with YA at the moment. I’ve been reading a whole lot of it lately because it’s easier when I have so much work on my plate, but I just can’t take any more for the moment. Not that there is anything wrong with it…I am just not very good at reading the same genre in a row, I get bored. πŸ˜›
I’m feeling in the mood for something on the other side of the spectrum and have narrowed it down to two books, but I can’t decide which one to pick!

So… because I’m terrible at making trivialΒ decisions, which book do you think I should read next? πŸ™‚

46 thoughts on “What do I read next? Help!

  1. I went for Chatterley as I haven’t heard of the other one. Plus, I hear it has saucy bits in it.

    A break from genres is good, it’s easy to get bored of the same thing all the time.

    What happens if the poll is a draw?

    • Ha ha, you know I knew you were going to pick that one! :L It is indeed, it caused a lot of controversy when it was first published because of the times, and a lot of places tried to censor it.

      It definitely is, I never normally read so much of the same genre in a row, which is probably why I’m feeling like this right now.

      Haha errrrr…..good question. :S Might have to implement the age old name in a hat shenanigans.

  2. I’ve gone with The Help – it’s in my TBR pile although I’ve not got to it yet and it came highly recommended. I read LCL in the summer of my first year at uni – when I was having my ‘read lots of literary classics’ phase – there are saucy bits, but overall I wasn’t that fussed with the characters and so found it hard to really care about ‘John Thomas’ and what he got up to with Lady C

    • Ahh cool, thanks for voting Mel! It has been on my to-read pile for ages so I suppose it really is time I got round to it. I have also heard a lot of great things about it but for some reason I have been hesitant to pick it up…

      Hmm.. doesn’t sound overly promising. πŸ˜› I am mostly curious to read it because of all the controversy around it, and of course, it’s another classic to tick off my list. πŸ™‚

    • Ha ha, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed The Help, that’s a good sign! It’s right at the back of my double stacked bookshelf so I keep forgetting I own it, lol. We’ll have to wait and see what the deciding vote is. πŸ˜‰
      Looool, okay, okay! πŸ˜›

  3. I am half way through both, but I think The Help will be more accessible. I hear it is awesome though, I just have a hard time reading things people tell me I must read. lol, a weird type of rebellion maybe?

    • Ohh really? You multitasker you. πŸ˜› Yeah you’re probably right, classics can often be a bit of a struggle.
      Haha I know exactly what you mean, I am like that too! I really wanted to read some John Green before but now every one is talking about him I’ve gone off the idea. :S

      • Now realize, I started them both in different years, somehow put them down and haven’t gone back for whatever reason. I would probably have to start all over again. eek.
        I feel the same way about John Green! Eventually in my own time. lol

      • Ahh right I see! I used to do that a lot when I was younger, I would always get to about the same point in a book – a third through, become bored and move onto a different one lol. Quite often I would have 6+ books on the go at once! But I seem to have grown out of it now, and I think my blogs helped a lot in that respect.
        Glad it’s not just me!

  4. I have voted for The Help which I really enjoyed. I haven’t read Lady Chatterley’s Lover but I haven’t ever managed to finish a book by D H Lawrence so I’m guessing that one wouldn’t be any different.

    • Ohh I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, that seems like a good sign, and thank you for voting. πŸ™‚
      Ohh really? That’s interesting, I wasn’t even particually aware that he had written and other books, not that I’ve ever put much thought into it, lol. Was there a specific reason you don’t get on with his writing?

    • Haha another vote for The Help, well it seems to be the most popular one so it’s looking like that will probably be the one I read!
      It would be my pleasure to review it for you πŸ™‚ and I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it in the future as well!

  5. Oo I have both books in my ‘to read’ mental list. I’ve had The Help on my Kindle for months, but haven’t got round to reading it. That’s the one I’ve voted for, no particular reason.

    I always find it so tricky to decide what book to read next. I have a pile on my bookcase, yet I continually buy things on my Kindle because I like the sound of something. Must. Stop. My reading list is getting out of control.

    Good idea to do a poll, never considered it!

    • Oh really? That’s cool, great minds think alike. πŸ˜‰ I’ve had it for over a year I think! My tbr pile is so long books just get bought and forgotten. :O I actually got it for my mum’s birthday but once she finished it she donated it to me.

      Me too! It seems even harder lately for some reason because I have so many conflicting thoughts and my brain wants to read about ten different books at once. Ha ha how many books do you have to read in total? Luckily I don’t own a kindle (although I have a PC version) so I don’t get tempted by that at least.

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ I suddenly remembered you could use polls on here so I thought I’d give it a go!

  6. I’m picking The Help because my mum read it and she liked it, plus I want to read your review of it to see if I might like to read it too πŸ˜› (my mum and I have very different tastes)

    • Ohh okay that’s cool, I would be happy to review it for you. My mum’s reading taste differs from mine as well so I can relate!

      It looks like The Help is going to win at this rate. πŸ™‚

  7. LOL, I also picked Lady Chatterly, for the exact same reason as Michael’s! He he πŸ˜‰

    But as is always the case with me, my choice is never the popular one(everyone seems to be picking the other book), bah!

    • Ha ha really? How funny, to be honest that’s the main reason I’m interested in reading it as well. I want to read it and imagine all the controversy it caused at the time. I can almost imagine it already people with wide O shaped mouths exclaiming at the inappropriate passages, lol. πŸ˜›

      Well, the popular choice isn’t always necessarily the right one πŸ˜‰ and don’t worry I will still be reading Chatterley at some point anyway!

      • Ohh I’m glad to hear that you liked The Help, that’s a positive sign! I guess I’ve been cautious about picking it up because I’m not sure if it will appeal to me, but I’m looking for something different so this may just be it!

        Ohh dear, thumbs down for Lady Chatterley then! Your not the first one to say that either. πŸ˜›

    • Judging by the results it looks like I will definitely be reading The Help! Lol. I’m glad to hear you loved it so much, hopefully that means I will too. πŸ™‚

      Ohh really? That’s cool, gosh by the amount of people that have already read these books; I’m feeling a little bit behind, LOL! I just can’t keep up.

      • I thought it was great!! Rather than just dealing with what the soldiers went through during the war, he puts a lot of emphasis on what civilians had to endure which I found very interesting. For instance, when I think of Germany during the war I always automatically think of Hitler and the Nazis, but I never thought about what it was like to be a German citizen who did not agree with what Hitler was doing. I really hope you enjoy it :).

Leave a Reply

