Quoting the Quill #4

quoting-the-quill-small.jpg

“I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate the when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

– Marilyn Monroe

*   *   *

I’ve never really been fascinated with Monroe like many other people, but I do really like this quote and I often feel there is a lot of truth to it. 🙂

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here. 🙂

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

14 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #4

  1. To be honest, I’m uneasy about how Marilyn Monroe is seen as a role model by some. She had all the things that a woman might desire – beauty, brains, talent, money, fame, hordes of male admirers – yet she ended up as a lonely drug addict who committed suicide.

    Her life should be viewed as a warning rather than something to aspire to.

    The quote is pretty good though.

    • Hers was a strange life, wasn’t it? A woman who wanted to break out of the sex-symbol corner she’d painted herself into and couldn’t do it. A warning more than anything, as you said Mr C.

      I like the last part of the quote, “good things fall apart so better things can fall together”

      • It definitely was, she’s a really tragic story, which I guess is why some people are so fascinated with her. I’ve never really gotten interested in it myself though.

        I agree, I love that part of the quote. 🙂

    • Yeah completely agreed! Her life story doesn’t appeal to me at all to be honest and I don’t get the fascination. I just think she had a messed up tragic life that unfortunately she couldn’t escape from. She’d make a great psychological study actually.

      Definitely a warning, but I do love the quote anyway!

    • Nope she certainly didn’t. Ha, yeah that’s one reason why I wasn’t totally sure whether to post it or not because it is bittersweet. Let’s just hope wherever she is now somehow she’s at peace.
      Thanks Elisa. 🙂

    • Haha yeah true, to be honest it depends on what day you ask me my opinions on this sort of thing, but there has been a lot of occasions lately where this has actually been the case of me. Hence why I’m using this quote this week. 😛

    • Awwh, thanks. 🙂
      Haha for quite a while now I’ve kept a word document where I add cool quotes I come across so they’ve slowly built up. Of course, now I have the help of Goodreads and Pinterest as well!

  2. I love that last line, Becky. I think people are pretty hard on Marilyn sometimes. I feel that even though she had millions of admirers, she always seemed kind of lonely and that’s a sad way to live…

    • Thanks Dianne, I’m glad you like it. I agree people can make assumptions, I think she lived a very difficult life for somebody who was unstable and had a lot of issues and her story was tragic. I just don’t get some people’s extreme obsession with her and her story.

  3. I don’t know much about Monroe either, but I’ve seen this quote several times – I think it’s essentially one of those optimistic quotes that convinces you that everything will turn out to be okay. And it’s wonderfully worded, which I appreciate. Nice choice!

    • Ah, I’m glad I’m not the only one! I started watching a film about her but I confess, I got bored so I didn’t pay much attention. :S
      Yes that is exactly why I like it, on a cynical day the Psychologist in me would try and pick it to shreds but on a day when I need to make some sense of the world and I want to feel optimistic this quote is perfect. And I do think it has a lot of truth to it in a lot of ways.
      I’m glad you liked it Thomas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

