Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: I’m Participating, Who’s With Me?!

24 hour radathon forest button

I am so ecstatic about this upcoming event!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ *Does a dorky dance*. Deweyโ€™s 24 Hour Read-a-thon has been going since 2007 and has been on my radar for the past few years. Previously the event has always fallen on dates when I was unable to participate, but not this year. No, not THIS YEAR!

Yes Meme

The idea of the read-a-thon is all in the name really, you aim to stay up reading books for 24 whole hours breaking only to pee, eat and update your blog or other social networking sites with your progress. Can you say hardcore? ๐Ÿ˜€ The bookworm in me is so up to the challenge!
The Readathon is flexible however, not everyone stays up for the whole 24 hours and you can have as many or as little breaks as you want (the challenge is supposed to be fun, not a death sentence) and there is no requirement to finish if you get half way through and decide youโ€™ve had enough.

There are lots of fun things you can participate in along the way, as well as updating your own blog with your progress you can also join in with mini-challenges which usually consist of bookish questions. Entering them is not only entertaining but often gives you the chance to win prizes too!
24 hour readthon with book pile
As well as being epic proportions of fun, an exciting challenge and potentially a great way of making a dent in your to be-read-pile, Deweyโ€™s 24 Hour Readathon is also a great way of connecting with other book lovers and bloggers from around the globe. All the participants and challenge hosts are likely to be just as crazy about books as you are, so you might just make some new friends in the process! It also has the potential to increase your stats page if your vain like that (not me, of course ;)) because it may direct new bloggers in your direction.

There are, I believe several ways you can participate in the challenge, as a Reader, Cheerleader, Mini-Challenge Host, Organizer or Prize Donater.

Readers: Attempt to stay up for 24hours reading books and participating in mini-challenges (optional). If they need breaks they can update their blogs or visit the blogs of other readers to encourage them.

Cheerleads:ย Help keep readers motivated and must donate at least an hour of their time to visiting readers blogs and encouraging them when they are starting to get tired or fed up giving them an extra boost. (Also another great way of meeting new bloggers, everyone likes encouragement. :P)

Prize Donor: Pretty much what it says on the tin, donate some prizes!

Mini-Challenge Host: Not entirely sure how this one works but can go hand in hand withย  prize donating. I think the idea is that you come up with your own mini-challenge for the Readathon, post it on your blog and then your page becomes the equivalent of a bookish intersection where everyone stops by to view your challenge, and then blogs about it on their own page. ๐Ÿ™‚

*ย ย  *ย ย  *

Sounds pretty good right? It definitely does to me anyway, I canโ€™t wait!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Deweyโ€™s 24 Hour Read-a-thon will be taking place on the 27th of April 2013. Although I have a LOT of deadlines during this month Iโ€™ve decided I can spare a day or two to get lost in the magical world of fiction. And if not, well, Iโ€™ll make time. *Stern face*.

All the details about the Readathon can be found on their website here, and any questions you have can probably be answered by the FAQ section. If you want to join in the fun this April you need to enter yourself here with your name, email and web address, itโ€™s that simple! Come on guys, you know you want to. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Iโ€™m in, but the question is, are you? ๐Ÿ˜›

ย ย ย ย ย ย ย  24 hour radathon classic buttonย ย ย ย  24 hour read-a-thon sitting on the floor button

Image Sources:
All button images from the official readathon website: http://24hourreadathon.com/read-a-thon-faq/
Yes Meme: http://memegenerator.net/instance/30176386

35 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon: I’m Participating, Who’s With Me?!

  1. Your charming enthusiasm is infectious, but I honestly couldn’t hack trying to read for such an extended period of time. My eyes would explode, and I’d probably develop haemorrhoids too.

    I’ve emailed them asking about being a donor though.

    • Haha thanks Michael, I can’t help it, it just comes up when I get excited about anything literary or bookish. ๐Ÿ˜€
      That’s ok and also totally understandable. I think you have to be just a tad crazy in the head to take on this whopping challenge. Of which I am. It’s definitely not going to be easy and I think I will find it really hard even though I am such a bookworm.

      Oooh that’s great, the prizes are part of what makes it fun so good for you!

  2. Oh that sounds like fun but super tiring! Can I sign up for 12 of the 24 hours ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should just be a cheerleader.
    Good luck, I will go over and check it out.

    • Haha agreed! I think it may result in a few headaches, eye rubbing and a lot of tea consuming but I think it will definitely be worth it. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Hmm, I’m not totally sure how it work so I would check out their site or drop them an email, they are usually very helpful. I think you sign up for the so called ’24 hours’ regardless but then just take as bigger breaks as you want |(e.g. a 5hr break) and then just stop when you you want to stop e.g. say at 9pm. The only thing they ask is that you be honest about the amount of hours spent reading – I think because you are only eligible for certain prizes if you stay up the full time.

      Cheerleading looks like great fun too! I hope you decide to join. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I miss the days where I used to sit with a book and not get up until I finished it. Today I managed to start and finish The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Awesome book and it deserved all the time I spent devouring it. Though today was off and I don’t know if I will be as lucky on the 27th. =[

    Are you planning to read any specific books? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Me too, Zen, me too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ohh wow really? That’s great, I really want to read The Fault in Our Stars, I’ve heard so many great things about it. Was it what you expected from all the hype? I’m glad you were able to spend such a great chunk of time reading it!
      Ahh yeah I get your dilemma that’s the reason I haven’t participated on previous years because I knew I wouldn’t have the time to do it.

      Ermmm, not as of yet, but I know my goal won’t be to finish as many books as possible like a lot of people as I’m a slow reader and I want to enjoy what I’m reading, so I won’t get through many books. I will probably read some novels from my favourite authors that I haven’t had the chance to indulge in for a while. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s going to be tough to decide!

      • It’s a brilliant book! I tried to avoid the hype the best I could, but I don’t think it would’ve mattered either way. I really loved it. If you’re going to read it, make sure you grab some tissues.

        Well, you have time until then! Just make sure you pick something you know for sure you’ll enjoy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Haha check, get tissue supplies! ๐Ÿ˜›

        Yepp I will definitely do that. I think there is that temptation to read what you think you should rather than what you will enjoy, and I think that would be a key mistake with this challenge, I’m going to play it safe. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Now that’s a totally cool idea, but I know for a fact I would not last. Even when I was in school, I could never pull an all nighter – I need my sleep too much. I might have signed up to do it for part of the 24 hours; however, that’s the weekend we have to move Bryan home from college, so there’s no way I will have time for reading. Oh well, maybe next year :). I will definitely be cheering you on though Becky :).

    • Indeed it is. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ohh really? How funny haha, I’ve done all nighters before with friends quite a few times but I’ve never done it on anything where I have to concentrate! I think it’s going to be extremely hard.
      Ohh no, that’s a shame, maybe another year. ๐Ÿ™‚

      LOL, thank you, I’m definitely going to need it!

  5. Ah crap, this sounds like so much fun, but firstly, I lack discipline to pull this one off and secondly, my exams start a week later so I will give this one a miss. But I’ll gladly play cheerleader though! *runs off to get pom-poms* ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Ha ha funnily enough that is the exact reason I couldn’t do it the last two years. They run them twice a year every year though, one in April on in October so you could always join in on a different occasion if you were interested. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Eeesh exams, good luck Nisha I’m sure you’ll kick some educational butt!

      Yayyyy I would be honoured to have you cheering me on. ๐Ÿ˜€
      If you’re feeling crazy social you can also sign up officially as a cheerleader here: http://24hourreadathon.com/2013/04/01/cheerleading-sign-ups-are-live/ and they will assign you randomly to some other people too. ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Pingback: The X-Games Literature-style: or could YOU survive 24 hours of reading? | I Could Be Arguing In My Spare Time

    • Thanks Scribbles, I was so exited when I saw the date for this one and worked out that I would be able to participate!
      That would be much appreciated and I will do the same for you, we need all the help we can get, lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

