Belated Birthday Book Haul! (As Requested)

IMG_6402
There comes a time in every bookworms life when they just have to say no to books. When your to-be-read pile is overflowing and you have run out of shelf space for the third time running, you know that you have a serious problem! Not to mention when you start to calculate how long it will take you to read all those books you own…..lets just say some of mine will still be unread in ten years time. :S So it was with much pain and internal suffering that I stated to my family ‘do not buy me any books for my Birthday this year, I have too many!’
When I headed home the weekend after my birthday and opened my presents I was really happy with everything I got, but couldn’t getting rid of a nagging little voice inside my head that said ‘but Becky, there are no books.’
So when my blogging buddies started asking me what books I got and telling me to let them know about my crazy haul I didn’t really have an answer, because I didn’t have anything to tell!

But, as the title suggests I did get some books in the end after all, they were just very delayed due to various friends being off at uni. This is the part where I have an excuse to take lots of pretty pictures of my books and fulfill my promise, one book haul post coming up! 😉

The first book I got was Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl the next book in the Caster Chronicles series. After really enjoying the firIMG_6428st book Beautiful Creatures I can’t wait to see what the second one has to offer. The first finished on a dramatic note and I have no idea where the story is going to go next, it will be nice to settle down with a cup of tea, relax and sink into a world of magic, conflict and romance in the deep south. 🙂 I’m equally excited about The Silver Linings Playbook by Mathew Quick, I have seen the trailer for the film and I think it looks great, lots of screwed up complex characters, and aren’t those the best kind?! I probably wouldn’t have bought the book myself because I have to be selective these days, but I read the first page to see what it was like and the writing seems great and engaging, I just wanted to carry on reading!

The book I am most excited about however, is The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice:

SDC14066

IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL GUYS, I WISH YOU COULD SEE IT IN REAL LIFE!!! I can’t stop picking it up and feeling the cover and tracing the delicate lines of the gothic gate. It’s weird but when you pick it up it feels…..old, even though it’s brand new. I think it’s to do with the heaviness and the grungy colour, the book is literally bigger than my head and is so thick I have trouble holding it up for too long. I am a dedicated lover of Barnes and Noble’s leatherbound classics and I can’t get enough of them. Luckily, my friend just knows me all too well and keeps buying them for me. 😀 He even theme wrapped the present with vampire-esk wrapping paper (seen behind in the picture) and red and black bows. How did I get such great friends? The book contains the first three books in The Vampire Chronicles which are Interview with a Vampire, The Vampire Lestat and The Queen of the Damned. I’m so excited to read them.

Next is a few um… *cough* self treat gifts *cough* in the spirit of my birthday from my favourite second hand book shop. IMG_6415Weirdly I had been thinking about The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents a lot because I had only just realised it was written by Terry Prachett. There was me thinking I hadn’t read any of his books…I have! I read half of it when I was young but never got to reach the end because it was a library book and I had to give it back. I remembered really enjoying it but had no recollection of the plot or characters, so when I saw it in the shop I thought it must be fate and of course, I had to buy it. 🙂 The next book Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke I recognised from Maggie’s awesome review of it a little while back. As a fantasy nerd I thought it sounded great, so when it was sitting there all unloved I snatched it up quickly! I can’t remember what it’s supposed to be about and I don’t want to read the blurb so I will be surprised when I read it, so head on over to Maggie’s blog if you want more information!

These last few aren’t birthday books, but I thought I would add them in for good measure as they seemed to have slipped through the cracks somewhere in between previous haul posts.
My mum bought me The Time Travellers Wife when she saw it cheap second hand. Double yay! I was so excited when the film came out and ended up being disappointed with it, but I’ve heard that the book is much better. It’s also on the Rory Gilmore Challenge so I can’t wait to read it.

SDC14034        IMG_6422

And to the left you will see, yes, that’s right, MORE leatherbound classics! 😀 I’ve actually had both of these around a year now but I suddenly realised they have yet to make their debut appearance on my blog. Shameful. :O The top book is The Bronte Sisters: Three Novels containing Wuthering Heighs, (My favourite!) Jane Eyre and Agnes Grey, woopie! My friend bought it for me as a ‘congratulations you got into university’ present (so shamefully spoilt). The second book is the Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle, another massive but beautiful book. 🙂 I first saw it out with a friend, stared at it for half an hour and tried to convince myself that I didn’t need to spend £20 on a book I could technically get free with PC Kindle, even if it was the prettiest thing I’d ever seen. I told my mum about it when I got home and she gave me that look, the ‘your book crazy’ look and told me it would be silly to spend that much on it. (She was right!) But uh, a week later I found myself standing in the exact same spot but with a different friend and I hadn’t been able to stop thinking about it, so I bought it! Which was soon followed by me shamefully stuffing it at the back of my bookshelf horrified that I had spent that much money! LOL.
Since then they have made their way to my uni to make it feel more homely, along with my Smoking Dragon that I got from Wales – you put incense under it and smoke comes out of it’s nose like a real dragon, SO COOL. AND YES I AM A NERD. 😀

Ok, I will stop rambling now before I bore you to death, I hope you enjoyed staring at all the pretty pictures, I know I did! 😉

SDC14039

P.S. On an unrelated note, I had a dream the other day that I was stuck in a weird form of Disney world that turned out to be run by Satan and I wasn’t allowed out! There was this whole weird reality constructed in this complex with rivers and fake gardens and everything and they were holding loads of literary characters hostage. I made my way down to a beach near the end of the complex and had tea with Dumbledore after he gave a speech. He told me that I should borrow the Harry Potter books from the library. I told him that I had already read them several times but he was like, ahh, but not from this library! Then I did some kick ass stuff and rescued us all from the evil Disney world.
Anyway I thought it was funny. Extreme randomness am I right?

Images Sources:
All my own, please do not reuse.

41 thoughts on “Belated Birthday Book Haul! (As Requested)

  1. YES Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is taking over the world! (Okay, what I mean by that is my sister is reading it and loving it, I’ve lent it to a friend, and there’s going to be a miniseries. Woohoo)
    Anyhow, these books look very awesome. And yeah- Sherlock Holmes just has to be in hard copy, it’s not really the same on the internet. Especially since with the nice hard copies you can sometimes get the original Sidney Paget illustrations, which are the coolest things ever.

    Also, that’s a really weird dream. But at least you saved everyone. I always wake up at the most exciting parts in my dreams and I never know what happened.

    • Haha really? That’s awesome, it’s great when you see something you love capturing the hearts of others. Someone in the comments has also said they’re going to add it to their wishlist. 🙂 A miniseries? Wow, when? American or British production etc?
      Thanks, I can’t wait to read them. Agreed there’s something about Sherlock, I’ve had it on PDF for ages but it just felt wrong to read it like that! Although to be fair, it feels wrong to read anything on PDF. I LOVE this copy though, the inside of the cover is even covered in tartan and there’s just so much detail that’s gone into it, it’s really impressive, and the gold pages and agghhh! 😀 I’m not sure if it has the illustrations…I will have to check.

      Haha it was, I think the last part where I saved everyone was probably lucid dreaming though. I used to remember mine a lot, but it’s more rare now, I find if you tell someone before you forget you remember it.

      • Awesome 🙂 See, this is why I’ve grown to like book blogging so much. You never know what you might start in saying something about the things you love (or hate). And yeah, there’s going to be a miniseries. Last I heard, there was something about the BBC and BBC America working together on it or something… here’s the link: http://www.avclub.com/articles/bbc-america-partners-with-bbc-original-recipe-on-m,96313/
        Well, if we really wanted to be purists, we’d have to hunt down the issues of the Strand Magazine, but I feel like those would cost the earth at this point. Better to stick to books 🙂 And it’s not a huge deal if you don’t have the illustrations… but if you don’t, you should still look them up stat.They’re really awesome. And if you get a chance to watch any of the many adaptions, I wholeheartedly recommend the Granada version- Jeremy Brett is the best Sherlock ever, in my stubbornly held opinion.

        I never remember my dreams anymore- and usually if I dream, it’s a sign I’m feverish, so they make no sense.

      • Yeah same here, it can spark off so many things that you never even imagined and you get a little sense of pride when you recommend something, the person goes and reads it, and then loves it!

        Thanks for the link – I just looked at it and thought ‘phew’. It’s not planned to be released until 2014 so I have a reasonable amount of time to get round to it yay.

        Ohh it was Strand Magazine? I didn’t realise, I knew it was a magazine but not which one. I don’t think it would feel the same to hold a magazine in your hand though….so I will stick with the hardback. 🙂 Check, I will remember to look them up. I remember watching a version of Hound of the Baskervilles – only the first bit in English class once and hating it, but I think it was a) because I was being forced to watch it b) I was a lot younger and c) I don’t think I was pro classics at the time.

        It’s actually probably a good sign you don’t remember them, because if you do it’s a sign that you’ve been woken when you were in a deep sleep stage and you haven’t completed your REM cycle. It’s a lot more fun if you do though. 😛

  2. You’re scaring me, Becks. Them uni courses are turning you into a book-hoarding hermit. As I read through this post, all I could picture was you stroking the gothic gate and saying “Mmmmmmmy PRECIOUS!” whenever your mum tried to call you down for dinner.

    Mind you, I paid £90 for a Sega Saturn console game once. It was rare and TOTALLY WORTH IT*.

    Well done for rescuing everyone from evil Disney world.

    * – Looking back, it was a complete waste of money.

    • Ha ha, have you only just worked it out Michael? I’ve always been a book hoarder, the uni course didn’t do it to me. :L You will be happy to know though that I haven’t done that as of yet, but I appreciate the LOTR reference!

      WOW. That’s a lot for a game, I suddenly feel a whole lot better about my purchase now. Although to be fair, if it was a good game that you replay again and again it would be worth it. I would pay that for Simms, I got so much enjoyment out of it even after many years. 🙂

      Thanks! I should put it on my CV….

  3. The Time Travellers Wife is on my TBR. One day, and I will get round to Mr Strange and Norrell. 🙂

    Don’t you already *have* a complete Sherlock Holmes? {Flicking back through B’s posts….)

    £90 for a Sega Saturn, Michael? {smirk} {chortle} TOTALLY worth every penny.

    Btw, you look freakily like someone I work with, Michael. I Googled your pic and they agreed with me. (Sorry Becky, having a conversation on your blog!)

    • Ooooh cool, we can be book buddies. 🙂 Well, I will write a review of it eventually and if it’s good maybe I will be able to convince you.

      Yeah, I had quite a few of them on PDF but I hate reading on those so much that I knew I would never end up reading it that way, and as you know, I’m much more pro physical books!

      Ha ha that’s alright, no worries. 🙂

    • It was £90 for a single Sega Saturn game! Not sure if that’s better or worse than the £90 I paid for the very first single that The Prodigy released… which turned out to be a bootleg copy in end anyway.

      A Google image search of my name is actually kind of weird. There’s pics of people I know from Goodreads and who have reviewed my stuff on their blogs.

      There’s also the black guy in Texas who shares my name, and he is the reason why people find my site by searching for “michael cargill gun instructor”.

      Weird, eh?

      • Hmm…. I suppose it depends on your perspective!

        Really that’s funny –

        I just looked it up, how hilarious! Well, if it gets you more hits it can only be a good thing. 🙂

      • Actually, if you’re interested, this was the song that I paid the £90 for – What Evil Lurks, released way back in 1990.

        And it’s crap. I was a huge – HUGE – fan of The Prodigy in the mid-90s and £90 was a fair bit of cash for me at the time. I was paying it off one bit at a time, over the course of several weeks, and when I got it home I was so disappointed. I played it once, and then added it to the rest of my over-priced collection of Prodigy memorabilia.

        I guess it’d be like you hunting down Tolkien’s first ever LotR draft, and finding it full of “I can haz cheeseburger” nonsense.

      • HAHA! Hilarious comparison. I would be pretty horrified if it had I haz cheeseburger in it!

        Ohh wow yeah, ok that is pretty bad. :S Wow. Ohh well. We learn from our mistakes….hopefully. Maybe it sounds better when your drunk and off your head? Here’s hoping.

  4. Becky, you could never, ever bore me by talking about books. This post is awesome, and I keep reading it over and over again :). You got some amazing books there. I especially love the Vampire Chronicles with the totally awesome cover and how your friend wrapped them up all creepy. How cool is that?? I haven’t read those books yet, but I really want to, but my TBR pile is like yours. It’s funny because I was just saying to my son that even if I could never get a hold of any more books, I would have enough to read for literally years!! Have you ever read The Tiffany Aching series by Terry Pratchett. It’s an inner series in the Discworld saga and is about Tiffany Aching, a witch-in-training with only a frying pan and her common sense and the Wee Free Men. It is a wonderful story!! Oh, I could go on and on, and now all I want to do is make the clock move faster so that lunchtime will arrive and I can READ!!!!! I am now reading Life After Life – you should check this one out. I have only just started it, but the synopsis is VERY interesting. Ok, I’ll shut up now and leave a little bit of room on your blog page LOL!!

    • Ha ha ohh I’m glad to hear that Cindy, because sometimes my obsession makes me feel like a bit of a crazy person, so I’m glad that you enjoyed reading it. 🙂 Me too, I still can’t believe it’s mine, I really own that gorgeous book!
      Great minds think alike. 🙂 It is definitely an ongoing dilemma for us bookworms, at times staring at all those books full of potential feels great, and other times it feels a bit overwhelming.
      No, The Amazing Maurice is the only one I have ever read of his and I barely remember it. I have The Colour of Magic by him as well but I haven’t read it yet. WOW, his Discworld saga is massive huh? I just keep uncovering new books in it! The Maurice one is number… 28 I think I remember seeing on Goodreads, like WHOA. The way you’ve described it sounds great though! Ohh how am I going to get round to all these books?! :O
      Hahaa, me too, I’m always thinking that.

      By all means talk on, I always enjoy discussing books with you! Although of course, discussing books is time that could be spent reading, LOL. But I
      it’s worth it.

  5. Great post! My birthday was last month and I asked for books but my family and friends refused to comply. Apparently I have too much and they’ve banned me from getting more. ButI treated myself by sneaking to purchase some on my birthday anyway.
    BTW I love the cover of Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles that you posted. Really cool.

    • Thanks Zezee. 🙂 Haha no wayyyy! That’s so mean, don’t they know what happens when a bookworm goes cold turkey? It’s dangerous you know. 😉
      Good for you, buying books is always the way I treat myself after a big exam or for a birthday top up, nothing works quite the same way. What books did you get? 🙂

      Thanks I’m glad you like it, I have a massive book crush on it!

      • Same here! I buy books to congratulate myself or to cheer up myself or just because I feel like it lol.
        That day I bought Sterling Lord’s memoir “Lord of Publishing” because I want to work in the book publishing industry; Robert Jordan’s “The Eye of the World,” a friend told me it’s a great story, and a book on world religions because it was $7.98.

      • Oooh those sound great, The Eye of the World is on my bookshelf but I’m a bit scared to pick it up because of how long the series is! I also feel like I should finish some of the series I’ve started first… The religion one sounds great too, I love finding out about others beliefs and cultures, reading is a great way to do that. 🙂
        Good luck with your dream of getting into the publishing industry!

  6. I love those Anne Rice vampire books. And wow, the cover is gorgeous.
    The Time Traveler’s Wife book is so much better than the soppy, trite film.

    • I’m so glad to hear that Emma, I don’t actually know much about the series itself apart from having seen the film, my initial excitement is simply for the prettiness, so it’s good to know you really enjoyed the books. 🙂
      Good to know you concur about the adaption, I was so disappointed with the film!

  7. I’ve already told you about my feelings about the Anne Rice novels, great stuff. I’ve wanted to read Silver Linings Playbook and Time Traveler’s Wife is interesting. It dragged on for me because I was listening to it at the gym on audiobook…and I stopped going…haha, but ultimately I thought it was decent.

    • Indeed I do, and was very glad to hear it! I wouldn’t have thought to buy the Playbook one myself even though the film looks great, but now I’ve got it I’m really glad because I think I’m going to enjoy it. 🙂
      Hmm, I’ve never really got on with audio books but I haven’t tried one for ages, perhaps I should.

  8. That is one fantastic haul of books. The Vampire Chronicles looks positively gorgeous, and your friend is awesome for wrapping it up like that! I watched Silver Linings Playbook before knowing it was a book-to-movie adaptation, and I thought it was a good movie. 🙂
    Also, thanks to you, adding Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell to my to-read list!

    • Thanks Zen, I don’t think the novelty of the prettiness of that book will wear off any time soon, I still love staring at it! And the wrapping was so great that I kept it. 🙂 Ohh I’m glad you enjoyed Silver Linings Playbook, I can’t wait to see it myself.

      Ohh good I’m glad to hear it, I hope you enjoy it!

  9. For a bibliophile to not get books for their birthday is like not having cake on your birthday, so don’t worry, there’s no such thing as too many books! 😉

    (oh dear, I opened up a can of worms, didn’t I????).

    Ah I keep thinking about the Vampire Chronicles. It’s been bugging me recently that I haven’t read any Anne Rice so thats on my TBR list too. Way down ’cause my TBR list is incredibly long but it’s there nevertheless… 😉

    • True, very true, it does feel like a little part of you is missing, I was surprised how MUCH I felt it actually!

      Nooooooooo bad Nisha! Don’t tempt me agggghhhhh, LOL. Because seriously, I will give in to temptation. :S

      Yeah I don’t really know much about them…are they considered a contemporary classics or something? Because I’m wondering how they ended up in a ‘leatherbound classic’ edition. Hmm, maybe I can write a review that will convince you. 😉

  10. That is the craziest most awesome dream EVER! Holy cow, I love it!!!
    Your books are awesome too, love that leather book. I have done that a time or two, stared at something, told myself no, kicked self repeatedly for not giving in, go back and realize it was fate that it was still there for me to buy. 🙂 Congrats!
    I still can’t get over the dream. Have you read Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series? Starts with the Eyre Affair, you should if you haven’t. You will probably find it used or in the library just to try it. With dreams like that I think you might enjoy 🙂

    • Ha ha I’m glad you think so! I had to tell someone about it as soon as I woke up or I knew I would forget it! I hate it when that happens. As far as my cool dreams go, it’s pretty far up there. I did have one dream that surpassed it though where I gave the world literary freedom in a dystopian state. I did a blog post on it called On Dreaming About Books. I still get all silly and smiley when I think about it now, it was so awesome. 😀 No I’ve never heard of the books…thanks for the tip!

      Hahaa, I’m glad it wasn’t just me giving into temptation. But hey, don’t we deserve it every now and again? 🙂

    • Ohh good! I’m glad to hear you liked it! Check, I will make sure I have tissues, I’m very prone to crying when it comes to sad books.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Love your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

