Sharing the Love: A Bookaholic Tale

Once upon a time a young girl was sitting in the afternoon rays of the sun, occupying her little unassuming corner of the world. As she sat there avoiding her revision for an upcoming exam, she wondered why the world couldn’t simply run on love and books instead of statistics. It would be much more fun.
Then out of the corner of her eye a new blog comments popped into her inbox, they told her she had won two awards for doing what she loved. This made her little heart soar with joy, maybe the world did run on love and books after all.
She would like to thank Bound4Escape and Strung Out on Books for the nominations that brightened up her cloudy day.
The End.

~ * ~

~ Ruley rule rules (because we live in a structured society people). :

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. State 7 things about yourself
4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

Because both of these awards ask for seven facts I am going to bunch them together into one.

~ * ~

~ These are seven random facts thingies:

Shine On Award   Very Inspiring Blogger Award

1.) I do a little dance in my head every time I get awarded one of these things.

2.) I like cheese but only if it’s melted.

3.) I have a lucky charm object which is weird considering I don’t believe in that stuff other than the psychology of it, but it just kind of happened. I’m not going to tell you what it is though because it may lose its luck. 😉

4.) I’ve booked a holiday to go to Edinburgh with my friends this year, so excited. 😀

5.) I may have a book blog and an extreme love of reading but surprisingly, I am a pretty slow reader, maybe average but certainly not as fast as most people I know!

6.) I put my feet down on the floor to get off the sofa the other day and there was a MASSIVE spider right next to my feet, and I’m talking 3cm big which is wayyy past the normal ones you get in the UK. (I’m sure if there are any Australian people reading this right now, you are laughing at me, or anyone from places where you get horrifically big spiders and creepy crawlies.) After the succession of abnormally big spiders I have encountered in the last year (WHO’S BEEN FEEDING THEM? OWN UP), what with the time one tried to attack me in my room with no one to save me and the two I found lying in wait on my TOWEL (bleeeuugh) it is safe to say I am traumatized, I seem to be getting more fearful of them with age! :S

7.) Turns out after you do several of these seven fact thingies you tend to run out of stuff to say! I mean come on, I’m interesting, but I’m not THAT interesting. LOL.

~ * ~

I’m not going to tag 15 bloggers because that seems a little excessive to me, besides, who is going to look through 15 whole links, even if they are awesome? However, I have come across several new blogs recently which I have been really enjoying, so I am going to tag them so you guys can head on over to check them out! 🙂

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Miscrawl – Absolutely love her reviews, in-depth, insightful, entertaining and she has a lovely personality to match!

Midnight Coffee Monster – Books and caffeine, my two favourite things. 🙂 She picks up a lot of interesting books that I might not have considered beforehand, and then convinces me to read them!

Books on the Tube – Working her way through the BBC Big Read list with a number of great and memorable titles I couldn’t help but tag along for the journey! Plus, she’s a fellow Londoner. (It’s so cool that I can actually say that now. :))

Shine On Award

The Neverending Books – She reads books I also have a similar interest in so I’m always interested in what she has to say! She’s also trying to read all of Edgar Allan Poe’s work and I can’t wait to see her progress.

Notes in the Margin – A reviewer with an interesting technique that shows you her thought process as she makes her way through a book!

A Wordless Blogger – I’ve known Emma a little longer than these other bloggers and her reviews are always thorough and informative. Take special note of The Book Notes Project which she has created, it’s such a fantastic idea that I wholeheartedly support!

*   *   *

A small blogging announcement, I have finally created a imageblog badge! (One big step for Becky one non-existent step for mankind.) I’m sure most of you already know but this is a small image that represents your blog that others can put on their sites if they like what you write. This leads to other awesome bloggers being able to find you through their sites.
My badge can be found at the right hand side of my blog at the bottom of my widgets bar. To use it you go to your own widgets tab, drag the text widget into your chosen widgets and paste the badge code in.
I doubt anyone will use it but ohh well. If you do though, you would be the awesomest 😀 and I would pay you in erm…well, I can’t pay you, but I promise to keep posting and doing whatever it is that I do. 🙂

~ * ~

Sigh, back to the revising.

Image Sources:
Award Badge Shine On: http://bound4escape.com/2013/05/07/shine-on-award/
Award Badge Very Inspiring Blogger: http://strungoutonbooks.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

17 thoughts on “Sharing the Love: A Bookaholic Tale

  1. What a sweet post! Hope you win some awards, your blog is great and your reviews are always fascinating and fun to read. I keep saying that, but that’s only ‘cos it’s true. 🙂

    • Glad you liked it, I’m always worried about award posts being boring so I try and come up with ways to make it slightly less so. 😛

      Awwwh thanks Tony, I will never get tired of hearing you say it! So by all means continue. 😉

  2. Nice one, Becks!

    You’re not the first person I’ve known who only likes melted cheese but it’s a right weird one. Mind you, I’m the type of person who would say that they love cheese, when in actual fact I only like cheddar and Mini Babybels.

    If I saw a 3cm sized spider, I would shit me pants. I’ve also been caught out by a spider on a towel, and I only discovered it when it was about an inch away from my face.

    • Is it weird…? I’m not sure it is you know, melted cheese tastes very different from just normal cheese, kind of like tomatoes vs cooked tomatoes, lol. Hahaa ohh god yeah I remember Babybels! They had the most annoying theme tune on their advert. I never liked them that much though if I’m honest, I was more of a Cheese Stringer kinda gal.

      Bleeeugh, at least it’s not just me they’re targeting! I was beginning to feel picked on, hmmph. :/

    • Thanks Cindy. 🙂 I hope so, exams seem to have come round so quickly this semester, I feel like I only just took the last ones, LOL! Still only one more to go and I am FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. 😀

  3. Congrats on your award! I once saw a huge spider in the corner of my bathroom. I was on the toilet when I saw it and I yelled “Mommmm, there’s a spider in the bathroom!” Thank goodness for bug spray, eh?

    • Thank you!
      Ohhh god that’s terrible! I’d hate that, I think I would just freeze not sure what to do whether to play dead or to run out the room screaming, LOL! Oooh bug spray, I should definitely get me some a that. 🙂

  4. Congrats on both awards, and thanks for the nomination! (:

    I can relate to the spider story, regardless of its size. Spiders are never welcome in my home. Last spring and now this year we’ve been having an invasion of some type of spider. For the life of me, I can’t identify what kind, but they’re absolutely disgusting: rock-solid exoskeleton and incredibly fast. I’ve had to kill them with pointed ends of lotion bottles since shoe-smashing doesn’t work. It doesn’t help that I’ve found several in my room, one making a bee-line for bed. Ick!

    • No problem. 🙂

      No they are never welcome in mine either! Eughhh I always find the ones with a big bodies the worst, they’re somehow grosser like that, especially if you have to squish them (which I also nominate somebody else to do, lol). Shoe smashing doesn’t work?! :O Ohh god that’s horrible, they must be some crazy mutant spider! I swear their spider senses can tell who is most terrified of them and head straight for them.

  5. Pingback: Shine On Award ~ Whee! | A Wordless Blogger

  6. Awww, congrats on your awards, you certainly deserve it!
    Enjoy Edinburgh, I know you will, because I’ve yet to meet anyone who’s been there and has not been overwhelmed by the place. And if anybody doesn’t like the place, well then, they’re full of bullpoopey!! 😀 (just kidding 😉 )
    I LUUURVE your blog badge! Seriously. When I sort out my blog layout properly I’m creating a blogroll so I’ll definitely put your badge up there… 🙂

    • Thank you. 🙂
      Ohh that’s great to hear! I’m really looking forward to going, the only downside is that I’m going to be there less than a week so I doubt I will be able to do/see everything I want to, but I can always go back again. Damn straight, full of bullpoopey! 😛
      Awwwh thanks! It took a stupidly large amount of time to make because I don’t have Photoshop so I had to make sneaky shortcuts. That would be great!! 😀

Leave a Reply

