Quoting the Quill #8

quoting the quill small

“I bet if you look at the average teenager and the average adult, the average teenager has read more books in the last year than the average adult. Now of course the adult would be all like, ‘I’m busy, I got a job, I got stuff to do.’ WHATEVER! READ! I mean, you’re watching CSI: Miami. Why would you be watching CSI: Miami, when you could be READING CSI: Miami, the novelization?”

― John Green

*   *   *

I came across this quote a few weeks ago and just loved it, it made me laugh and nod in agreement all at the same time, lol. 🙂 I know a lot of people perceive watching TV as easier and more relaxing than reading a book but I don’t find it to be the case. Sure, if I’ve been reading through psychological journals all day I won’t really feel like reading fiction, but if I have been busy doing anything else I always find the time to read! That being said, I still love my TV programmes. 🙂

The idea that teenagers may read more than adults is interesting and something I have never really considered before. People are always saying that my generation is reading less yet they never seem to look at how much adults read.

Do you think teens read more books than adults? It’s an interesting theory!

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

36 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #8

  1. From what I observe, teens definitely read more than adults. That may be partially time pressure and the fact us old uns haven’t got the energy like we used to.
    Adult – I used the term in the sense of ‘grown-up’, not…ummm…you know…uh…welll, anyway…’Grown-up’ books tend to be historically longer than YA reads, although that changed with the Harry Potter books.

    Teens get more involved with books more and can often quote them chapter and verse to an extent that they will go back and re-read them again and again, wheras I think adults toss it over their shoulder and move on to the next one.

    I can’t comment about TV. I hardly watch it, and I find the less I watch, the less it interests me. 🙂

    • I would have to say the same actually, I haven’t come across that many adults that read a lot, but then maybe it is also because we get more obsessive with things when we are younger. Haha yeah I know…I was just thinking about it and in not long I won’t be able to defend the teen side of the argument, that’s just….strange, LOL. Ahh, but adults can still read YA of course, and more and more are. 😉

      I agree! Adults also seem much more likely to toss them away and move onto the next thing, whereas teens seem to get hung up on the characters and plot lines more and ponder them for quite a while.

      Really?! I watch a lot of TV, it’s good to have a balanced diet I think. 🙂

  2. It depends very much on the type of teens. The kids to whom I taught English read very little. But most of them came from low-income groups and many of them had illiterate parents. On the other hand, my neighbour’s granddaughter reads so much it makes me ashamed (and I read a LOT). But they can afford to buy her books and her other relatives also read, though not nearly as much as her.

    I think I’ll give the novelization of CSI a pass. I just don’t think a book based on a series, movie or video game can be that good. The author would have to work with ready-made characters and settings and will have much less room to be creative.

    • I agree you are probably right, there is definitely a big spectrum. I know some teens that read non-stop like me and others that wouldn’t go near a book if you paid them! Which is really sad. It’s interesting that people you taught for English didn’t read much as well.
      Wow, that’s amazing, it’s great when you see someone like that who is so passionate about something!

      Ha ha me too, but them I’m not a big fan of the real thing either. I actually read a lot of Buffy the Vampire Slayer novels when I was obsessed with the show and still have a few unread ones. However as you say they are limited because they can’t be as free with their storylines and killing people off etc. A lot of them were still very entertaining though. 😀

    • So did I at first! But I think it’s because a lot of the time teens are targeted as a generation that are reading less, whereas stats tend to skirt over adults more. It’s definitely an interesting idea!

  3. I agree with this quote 100%. My freshman year I read 146 books – this year I’m only at 26 and the year is almost halfway over. Responsibilities take over and that’s why I think it’s important teens read as much as they can when they still have the time. Great choice of quote and analysis!

    • Oooh that’s interesting, I’m still a little on the fence but am leaning towards John Green. 146 books, wow that’s amazing! I don’t think I could read that many even if I had the whole year off. 😛 I also found a similar thing last year, I only read 22 books because University prep and final exams are so important and stressful, they really take their toll. I hope you get to read a few more in the second half of the year and thanks for the compliment! 🙂

  4. All I know is that my two teenage sons hate to read :(, and it upsets me a great deal. However, I think boys often go through a stage where they don’t read and then they return to books in their adult years. I sure hope this will be the case with my boys. I read to them from the time they were infants, and they used to love reading when they were little. Maybe they will again one day! Now as for girls, I know a lot of teenage girls who are reading nowadays, maybe more than ever, and that is a great thing :).

    • Ohhhh no! That must be so painful for you Cindy with your love of reading, lol, it would probably feel as if your kids were missing out on a great part of life. :/ Yeah I agree, guys definitely don’t tend to read during the middle stages of their life, it’s not really seen as cool to read by your peers, and even less so I imagine if you are a teenager boy! Hopefully you will be right, maybe they just haven’t found the right book to inspire them yet. 😉
      I think you’re right, girls tend to read more then guys. 🙂

      • Guess what? I wandered around a bookstore yesterday with nobody saying “can we leave yet?” LOL!! It was awesome. I had a gift card to use up, so I bought the book “What Kind of Mother Are You?”. It is the author’s debut book, and it is getting awesome reviews. You should check it out because I know you have nothing to read LMAO!!!!

      • Woop woop! I hate it when people try to hurry me up, especially in a bookstore, these things take time don’t you know! 😛 I’m glad they were nice enough to let you browse in peace!

        Hahaa, totally. Interesting title too, I will look it up. By the way, I’ve just started the first few chapters of Beautiful Darkness and I’m loving it so far, although there was one overdramatic metaphor used that nearly made me spit out my tea, LOL. 😀

  5. Teenagers have to read textbooks, required reading, and the books that they choose. They also read comic books, magazines and other non-traditional forms. Any reading has been proven to be good for you, whether it’s a thick novel or comics.

    I find that I read more when I was younger. A lot of my reading was done while I waited — waiting in the car, waiting between classes, waiting for my brothers — since I’m an adult now, I’m the one doing all those things and I have to make time to read.

    • That is very true actually, I think John Green was probably thinking of fiction when he made this statement, but textbooks, blogs, comic books, newspapers and magazines all count too and they often aren’t considered! Quite often I think to myself ‘I haven’t read much today’ and then think back and realise I have actually read a lot, but it just wasn’t a fiction book. 🙂

      I agree I a lot of my reading has also taken place in those waiting in between times that you have more when you are younger, that is a very good point, priorities have to shift. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    • HAHAAAAAA sooorrrryyyyy. 😛 Funnily enough, just after I posted this I suddenly realised that a year from now I won’t be able to put myself in the teen category!! Like aghhhhh mind blown, that is so bizzare! Definitely not ready to be considered and ‘adult’. :S

      • I’m turning 23 on Tuesday and I’m exactly in that period when I’m really an adult but don’t feel like I should be in that category yet. But I’m definitely not a ‘Teen’ anymore either. Argh.

        Okay that’s it. I’m starting a new category for people like me. I’m calling them the ‘betweeners’. Spread the word 😉

      • Gosh yeah I can only imagine! I thought I would feel so much more mature by this age but feel pretty much the same. I think early 20s are are always going to be hard because people do suddenly assume you have it all worked out!

        Ha ha will do! Sounds like a good idea. 😛

      • I just had to add a comment here. Age is all a state of mind (well ok, not all but a lot of it is LOL). I’m almost 48, and I don’t feel much different than when I was 20, and there are lots of times that I don’t act mature :). And I mean lots of times LOL!!

      • Hahaaa I can always rely on you put a positive spin on things! 🙂 I love that you always seem so happy, positive and enthusiastic about everything, at least that is the way you come across through the internet, LOL. It is so great to see!

        It’s so odd to think that 20ish years from now I may feel mostly the same, it always seems like by that point you should have all the answers.

        P.S. Saw that you gave Inferno five stars, I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your book!

      • I’m definitely not positive all the time – in fact, my all stupid male family say that all I do is bitch and complain, but that’s because I’m living with men right? LMAO!! I do try to be happy and positive as much as I can though. Life is not easy, but you have to make the most of the good things and try not to dwell on the shitty things, and laughter is good for the soul, so I try and find fun and humour wherever I can. You should have seen the girls and I at work today. You would have thought we were 16 or something, laughing and carrying on about anything and everything. I don’t have to be boring and somber just because I am getting older. I can tell that you are going to be the same way because you always seem to be upbeat and happy :).

        P.S. Yes, Inferno was fantastic, but then I have loved all of his books. They are such a rush to read, and they really work my brain cells which is great!! Now I have a book to read and review. I actually read it a few years ago and in my review I gave some suggestions which the author obviously took to heart because he has republished the book with a slightly different title, new chapters, and some polishing. You see, sometimes they do take our suggestions :).

      • Hahaaaa TOTALLY because you’re living with men, it’s no fair, you’re outnumbered!

        It’s definitely not, it is so easy to get caught up in all of the bad things in the world rather than thinking on the bright side, I sure am guilty of doing that, lol! But I’m trying to be a lot better about it nowadays, life is too short!
        Awwh that sounds so great, I hope when I go into work I will be able to find some awesome people like that to mess around with. 🙂 Definitely not! We don’t want no boring or somber here, no sir. I hope I will be the same way, only time will tell I guess but I’d like to think I will stay positive in the coming years.

        Ohh good. I still haven’t read any of his books, I’m a bit hesitant to pick them up because it’s not a genre I read often and people always moan about his terrible writing (Although if it’s entertaining who cares about some of the finer technicalities? I don’t!) so I may have to get on that!
        Ohh wow, that’s great that the author actually listened and that he cares enough to get your opinion again. 🙂

    • Thank you. 🙂 I think you’re right time is definitely short the older you get, also as you get older you begin to feel more guilty for doing things that aren’t essential or beneficial for others and your family, so things you love doing sometimes take a back seat. :/
      We certainly do have a lot of stress and responsibilities of a different kind! But I think as teens we don’t feel as guilty for taking a break!

      Ohh yay awesome, I checked it out and loved your quote. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Quoting the Quill – May 15th | Lost Inside The Covers

  7. I feel embarrassed in saying this, but I haven’t read a book in so long. Instead, I’ve been focussing on tonnes of TV shows that I’ve just discovered (mostly ones that have been airing for years).

    In regards to the quote (which is pretty awesome and funny) I think that the same number of adults and teens read. There are just people who like to read, and people who don’t. My dad for example, hates reading, and I think he’s only read one whole book in his life (Marley and Me, he’s promising to start on Harry Potter soon 😛 ) whereas my mum loves reading and reads at least one new book a month.

    Also, most of the time, the book is better than the movie/show, except in the case where the movie/show came first, then it’s usually better. There are exception of course, like The Hobbit. So I kind of get where he’s coming from I guess…

    • Ohhh no, poor you! 😦 Sometimes your brain just can’t take books, if you’ve overdone it with the reading for a while or sometimes if your brain just hits a bit of a brick wall. I went through a phase like that late last year but I don’t think I have ever gone a full month without reading.

      Haha glad you liked it, John Green always has a funny way of wording things. 🙂 That’s an interesting compromise and is quite possibly true. When you take into account the fact that only a certain amount of people read in each generation it may turn out quite equal. Wow, only one book, that’s crazy! I would love to know what he’d think of Harry Potter.

      Definitely true! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  8. Hopefully if you love reading as a teen you’ll carry on reading. It’s interesting because you also hear a lot about teenagers not reading but maybe if you’re a teen and you love reading, you read more than an adult who loves reading does? I’m just glad I never stopped loving to read!

    • I hope so too! That’s a very interesting idea Victoria. It’s also interesting that the YA genre has received so much attention of late when teenagers are supposedly not reading. I know adults read it too but it’s an interesting thought.
      Me too, and hopefully we never will. 🙂

  9. Definitely agree. Most of the adults I know hardly ever read. Most do say it’s because they’re busy, but you can tell when someone just doesn’t care enough. If you really love something, after all, you spend time with it. There are, of course, many teens today who don’t read and are (sadly) opposed to it, but I also think that there are so many teens who honestly love reading. I mean just go look at tumblr or Pinterest or Nerdfighteria.

    I love reading immensely, and I try to instill that love in other people. Goodness knows we don’t want to end up like Fahrenheit 451.

    • That’s so true, adults definitely use being ‘busy’ as a socially acceptable excuse to not read a lot of the time. In fact, we all do, but if you love something enough rain or shine you somehow make time! (Oh hey, I made an accidental rhyme, awesome!)
      Yes I agree, it’s amazing how wide the teenage reading spectrum can be, I think many more of them read than they used to, but there are still a massive proportion of those who won’t go near a book, which makes me feel very sad. That’s true, I love how all these social network sites can unite readers!

      Me too, I love the feeling when you can point someone in the direction of a good book or inspire them. Definitely not. 🙂 Thanks for commenting and following!

Leave a Reply

