Quoting the Quill #10

quoting the quill small

The best moments in reading are when you come across something – a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things – which you had thought special and particular to you. And now, here it is, set down by someone else, a person you have never met, someone even who is long dead. And it is as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.

– Alan Bennett

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

*   *   *

Ohhhhh and guys, my friend informed me…
NEWWWWWWWW HOBBBITTTTTTTTTTT TRAILERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug:

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

24 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #10

  1. What a wonderful quote!

    Also…OMG. That’s the first trailer that I’ve seen for the new Hobbit film. I’m a teensy weensy bit excited. It looks brilliant! Need to find a poor soul to drag with me to see it.

    You’ve brightened my day. Your work here is done.

    • Thanks Charl!

      Me too, I am so excited and probably wouldn’t have realised it was out if my friend hadn’t told me. I’m fangirling so much over the casting of Evangeline Lilly, I love her as an actress and she is an invented character I think (probably from a small mention in the LOTR appendix no doubt) because she wasn’t in the book that I can remember, so anything can happen!

      Awwh I’m really glad to hear that, have a good one. 😀

  2. I love that moment. It’s a bit like when you hear a song on the radio that means something to you just at the moment you need to hear it the most. You feel like you’re not alone in the universe.
    And I’m getting a bit too deep for a Wednesday evening.

    • Me too, Emma. 🙂 That’s exactly like it and I love how sometimes it isn’t even necessarily a thought you have or can put into words, and then there it is lain out on a page and it clicks, finally making sense. It’s one of the really magical things about reading, and music too!

      Phaaa, never need to apologize for getting deep. 😛

    • Thanks Tony I’m glad you liked it! There’s another one by F. Scott. Fitzgerald that says:

      That is part of the beauty or literature. You discover that your longings are universal longings, that you’re not lonely and isolated from anyone. You belong.

      It has a sort of similar message, but I think I prefer the wording and passion of Bennett’s quote more. 🙂

  3. That’s a brilliant quote! 😀
    OMG the new Hobbit movie! I can’t wait to see it! And wow Legolas, that was kind of unexpected, since you aren’t in the book and all (as far as I remember). And Smaug and ugh, why isn’t december here yet?

    • Thanks Amanda I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

      I knowww! I heard that he was going to be in it and was a bit confused, I get the want to include some of our old favourite characters but I hope they don’t eskew the story out of shape in the process! They asked Aragorn to come back too but he said no because his character isn’t supposed to appear in The Hobbit, plus, he’s a normal mortal man so it would kind of be hard to include him what with the whole aging thing…
      Also, was it just me or did they do something weird to Legolas’s eyes?!

      Bring on December. 😀

      • At least Legolas can be in it, by being an elf and all, but Aragorn? I think Viggo was justified in saying no in that case, because unless they came up with a really good explanation it would just feel forced.
        They look a bit strange, especially that scene they’re on some rocks beside a river and he says “this isn’t our fight”. They’re bluer than what I remember Orlando Bloom’s eyes being, but it’s been awhile since I re watched LOTR so maybe it’s just my memory? 😀

      • Yeah I agree wholeheartedly, it would feel so forced and I just don’t understand how they would do it…unless they fit it in like the did with Elijah Wood, flashing forward. That would still seem weird though I think.

        They do! There’s definitely something odd, I think they almost look…misty-er but I don’t understand why! Maybe it will all become evident when we see the film. 😛

  4. That quote is really lovely. And I saw the trailer when it first came out. Isn’t it just awesome? Not sure how I feel about that new female character though, especially since she’s nonexistent in the book!

    • It’s so lovely isn’t it? I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      The trailer is totally awesome although I agree, I’m not sure how I feel about a lot of the things they keep adding if I’m honest. I do love Evangeline Lilly though so hopefully it will work out in the end. I felt a big absence of Bilbo too. Only time will tell I guess!

  5. Legolas is back???????????????????? YAY, WEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!
    Oh man, both my husbands in the same movie (Even as a dwarf, Armitage is hot, I mean, come on)! So can’t wait…

    …oh yes, great quote too 😀

    • He is indeed!! He’s not in the book but they’ve brought him back to be in the film. 🙂
      Hey, back off, Armitage is MY man! *snaps fingers* LOLLLLLL!!

      All you need is for Jeremy Renner to show up and you’re all set. 😛

      Haha thanks!

      • No way dude, I snapped up Armitage a long time ago when I saw the TV version of Gaskell’s North and South. Pure yumminess. He he 🙂
        And noooo, Jeremy can’t show up. Otherwise my boyfriend(real one) will never let me see this movie! 😦

        PS. I’ve lost some credibility with these comments, haven’t I? :-/

      • That’s no fair, I was only ten when that came out I couldn’t fully appreciate the Armitage back then let alone a good classic, I didn’t even know it existed!! 😛 I’m going to have to try and find that somewhere once I’ve read the book.

        HAHA, now WAYYY, really? That’s so funny! Poor you.

        Nahhhh, it just shows that you’re human like the rest of us. 😀 It’s a good weakness to have.

Leave a Reply

