Quoting the Quill #11

quoting the quill small

“Picking five favorite books is like picking the five body parts you’d most like not to lose.”

– Neil Gaiman

*   *   *

I was chatting to a blogging friend this week about Neil Gaiman and it reminded me of this great quote. Whenever someone asks me who my favourite author is or for my favourite book I just internally scream. It’s the same as asking what my favourite song is or as Gaiman says, which one of my body parts I would least like to lose. (Such a great way of putting it!) Not only does it depend entirely on my mood, but books become such a part of me that I can’t separate or extract them from one another. They all make up me, every story, every character and imaginary world. I learn something new every time I read a book, whether about human nature, some obscure fact or in depressing cases, how not to write a book, lol. 😛 How can you compare a paranormal romance to a prestigious classic? Or a historical book to a thriller? It just doesn’t compute.

So why should I have to choose?

A related anecdote – Earlier in the year I was in a seminar for a journalism module which consisted of the lecturer asking us what/who our favourite book, author and journalist was (yes guys, this is what I pay £8,000+ a year for, I want my money back). When he got to me and I told him I couldn’t pick because I had too many, he looked at me with this bemused expression on his face, baffled as to why I couldn’t just pick. I thought about being awkward and saying I would just stick a load of books together with super glue so they counted as one, or quoting Neil Gaiman at him, but in the end I decided it was a bad idea to be sarcastic to the man who would be grading my future essays. 😛

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

27 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #11

  1. Neil Gaiman is one of my heroes. I love that man and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of his new book, “The Ocean At the End of the Lane.” Great quote. Completely true. I hate having to choose favorites!

  2. I don’t like choosing favorites for all the reasons you listed and I can’t possibly sift through all the books/music/movies etc I have ever enjoyed to pick one. It always ends up being something recent. I used to work with a guy who loved to trot out his “favorites” because I guess they defined him. Of course his favorite book was the only one he has ever read as an adult. psshhhh. whatever.

    • It’s so frustrating isn’t it?! I can just imagine because you read more book than me how utterly impossible that question must be! (Oh hey, I made a rhyme :P.) I agree about the recent thing as well, the first thing that comes to mind is often something you’ve just read.
      Hahaa no way that would be SO annoying, grr. I’m not sure I could take that day in day out it would drive me insane.

  3. Love this quote! Whenever anyone asks me I refuse to answer with a single book – I always spew a list, and then I describe why each book is one of my favorites. (:

    • Yay, I’m glad you like it! Haha I can imagine, I just always say I can’t choose because I know if I start blabbing I won’t be able to stop, kind of like you’ve said. 😛

  4. This is so unbelievably true. How people can pick ONE book or ONE author when every genre is so diverse, it beyond me! When I get asked this question, I usually end up launching into some obscenely long answer to which the asker begins to question whether posing the question was a good idea in the first place.

    • I know right? In a way I envy people that can be so precise and are able to love a book so passionately that they know which is their favourite. On the other hand, I almost like not being able to choose because it shows how passionate I am about all books. 😛
      That’s exactly what I do!! So now I just don’t answer because if I do I’ll end up doing a monologue for an hour. 🙂

  5. I’ve never heard this quote before but I’m definitely going to start responding with it when people ask me what my favourite book is! It’s such an annoying question. Gahh.

    • I can’t actually remember where I found it and I usually can, how strange! I agree, it can be the most annoying question for a bookworm, lol! Gaiman sums it up so well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

