Falling Back Into Old Patterns

There are a lot of great things about the summer holidays for a university student. We get to eat food that’s actually edible, we are temporarily free from deadlines and we get our warm cozy bed along with the small comfort that nobody gross has slept in it before us! Still, the best part for me has to be the precious time we’re given to catch up with old friends that we have been separated from for the majority of the year.

This week I met up with some of my best budds for coffee (none of us actually drink coffee but you know, meeting for coffee sounds cooler). We brought our drinks and snacks before finding a table, and once again I was surprised to find that on chatting to them, it literally felt like no time had passed. We fell back into the same rhythms we’d always had. Although I had heard of the quote ‘True friendship isn’t about being inseparable, it’s being separated and nothing changes’ I guess I never fully understood it until this year.

So of course falling into our normal rhythm also meant falling back to a certain habit with a certain friend – book swapping. 😀 As I still have ten of my best budd’s books from our swap last year and she still owns several of mine it was a smaller loot than usual, but boy was it an awesome one!

SDC14639

Yes, my cat will also be starring in these pictures, because cuteness!

YOU GUYS!!!!!!!!! I’M FINALLY GOING TO GET TO READ GAME OF THRONES!!!!!! EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!! I’M SO EXCITED. 😀 Now I don’t have to write any more ranty posts like this or stare longingly at the Waterstones fantasy section! Of course, if I end up loving it I’ll have to buy my own copy and the subsequent books but this is a good way of sneakily getting past my own rules. You see, the books I borrow don’t go on my tbr pile, it’s totally different I swear so it doesn’t break my long imposed book ban. And then if I like it, I will also be within the rights of my own book rules because I am allowed to buy novels from a series that I have already started. You see, it all makes total sense, I’m just bending my own rules which essentially leaves me in exactly the same place as if I had broken them but it makes me feel better, like I’ve gotten away with a con. 😉

SDC14646See look at it’s cover! Look at it’s shiny beautiful wonderfulness!!!!!! How could anyone resist that?!
So for those that don’t know (which I’m sure isn’t many) A Game of Thrones is the first book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin which follows the Seven Kingdoms as they fight each other to get power so that they can rule the Iron Throne.

With all the rave reviews, my preference for fantasy and my love of the TV show I can only say that I will be hugely disappointed if I don’t like this book. BRING ON THE AWESOMENESS.

SDC14650

The Exceptionals by Erin Cashman is a bit of a wild card because I haven’t got the foggiest clue what it’s about. The blurb tell-eth me the protagonist has some kind of supernatural power along with the rest of her family, but she does something wrong and they send her to some special Academy, it’s the first in a series I think. It’s kind of intriguing me because it has a very odd front cover and it was printed by a publisher called Holiday House who I’ve never come across before. Still, I’m liking the fact that the blurb tells us she has powers but not what they are, which will make a far more interesting read. The book comes highly recommended by my friend too so we shall see how it goes! 🙂

SDC14658

Again I kind of feel that this last book needs no introduction. The world has been going batshit crazy over John Green lately since the The Fault in Ours Stars caught the attention of mainstream readers, plunging him into the limelight while other fans scream ‘We knew about him first!’. It’s had people all over the globe quoting it non-stop and also raised issues about what we should let teens read. The story follows two teen cancer patients which is ohh so cheery. I don’t normally read cancer books because honestly, they scare the bejeezus out of me or reduce me to a quivering mess, or at least the novel Before I Die had that effect. Yet books like this are a great way to ponder the meaning of life and find the good in a bad situations so they are usually very enjoyable. Although I have to admit, I’m a little worried about whether I’m going to like it.

Yesterday I also gave into further temptation. I now volunteer at my favourite second hand bookshop once a week, (yes, the one that sent me on spree’s like this and this) and came across an incredibly battered copy of Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. There was something so mysterious and compelling about it that I just had to buy it. Not to mention it also has the most orange, weirdly wonderful smelling pages I have ever come across,
I CAN’T STOP SNIFFING IT. I HAVE A PROBLEM. It was so battered in fact that I got £1 off, buying it for a jammy 99p!!!!! She told me really it was so messed up that it should have been thrown in the bin rather than put on the shelf! Don’t worry beautiful book, SOMEBODY LOVES YOU. I WILL NOT LET YOU BE BIN BOUND. You see I don’t just buy books, I adopt them. 😉

SDC14662

On this same day I also just so happened to be early for the bus, and what could be just round the corner from the bus stop you ask? Why, another second hand book shop! I had a little browse not expecting to find anything when I came across a copy of Stuart Little by E.B. White for 10p!!!!!! LIKE IS THAT EVEN LEGAL?!??!!! SHOULD THAT BE ALLOWED???? Safe to say I snapped it up and had one happy bus journey back home where a random woman started chatting to me.
Good times.

At least I can comfort myself with the fact that both these book purchases are on The Rory Gilmore Challenge and are also very short books.

I just don’t know where to start with my bookshelf this summer! 😀

Images:
My own, please do not reuse.

37 thoughts on “Falling Back Into Old Patterns

  1. Your cat is like: “Books? Meh. Must clean myself for blog and look good. Sleep. Feed me.”

    Sounds like you have a hectic summer of reading down to the last minute!

    You’ve really started work in a bookshop? Is that a good idea? Do they KNOW you will buy everything you see? 🙂

    I didn’t get along with Fahrenheit 451 very well. I never settled into it.

    • Hahaa I know, no appreciation for literature it seems *sigh*. 😛

      I do, but at the same time, nothing sounds better than a hectic summer of reading to me, it’s going to be a harsh reality when I have to go back to university and live in the real world.

      It’s lethal Tony! Although I’ve been working there since June and I have only bought two books, so I think I’m doing okay, amazingly. 🙂

      I’ve heard many mixed thought on 451, but I love the concept so I hope that will keep me intrigued, even if the rest of it doesn’t. Wish me luck!

  2. I’m going to be honest with you B, if you don’t like TFIOS, our friendship is over. and yes I DID KNOW ABOUT HIM FIRST AND I’VE MET HIM AND I KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT HIS ENTIRE EXISTENCE WHICH MAKES ME A BETTER FAN THAN ANYONE ELSE EVER. 🙂

    • I’m terrified now. 😮 LOL!

      You have to promise me that if I write a lukewarm or bad review you won’t read it! YOU KNOW YOU WILL ONLY TORTURE YOURSELF. I really want to like it and I hope I will like it but with me, you just never know. :S

      What it actually makes you from that description, is a stalker. But don’t worry, I won’t hold it against you. 😉

      😀

  3. I think I’m going to have to read The Fault in our Stars as well because I’ve heard so much about it. that usually puts me off reading something (I know, I’m so hip it’s uncool…) but this one has me intrigued.

    Weirdly enough I also had a conversation with a random person on the train recently (it was a proper train not the tube or that wouldn’t be allowed), there must be something about the sun that makes people chatty!

    • That’s exactly how I felt. At first I wanted to read it, then I got put off because of all the intense hype, then I couldn’t stand not knowing anymore, lol! It was an ongoing cycle. But now I’m finally going to know what’s what. 🙂
      I am the same, if hype gets too intense I do get put off it, it’s my contrary side coming out!

      Haha I would have been shocked if it was on the tube! For some reason people always chat to me when I go out, I don’t know why. I think you’re right, sun certainly puts people in a better mood.

      • That’s it exactly, next time I come across a copy I’m going to have to snap it up. I look forward to hearing what you think of it. Contrary is definitely the right, it’s very silly because the masses are usually right!

        Nope, it would never happen on the tube. Unless you’re bonding over how insanely hot it is or how annoying the ocassional 2 minute delay is!

  4. I feel I should be encouraging you to seek professional help, but you sound like you’re having so much fun, I just can’t. 😉

    Farenheit 451 is a great book. glad that copy found a good home!

    • HAHA! I am, I am having wayyyy too much fun. 😀 It’s going to suck when reality pops back to say hi and books have to take a lower priority. But for now, YAY!

      Yay, finally someone on the comments saying something good about it! I was getting a little worried for a while there. 🙂

  5. I first read this post on my phone, and those books in the first pic looked like DVDs. I thought you were cheating again.

    Good to see you jumping on the GoT bandwagon – I romped through those books like a good ‘un. As ever, the hype has the potential to ruin the experience but you pretty much know what you’re getting having seen the series. Also, I had no idea that the first book was so hefty in its physical form.

    You volunteering for a bookshop is like me volunteering to help out in a ball pool aquarium, so I reckon this summer will fly by for you.

    Also, you cat is blatantly photo-bombing you there.

    And stop sniffing dead trees you weirdo.

    • LOL, at first I thought how is that possible? Then I looked back and saw what you meant.

      Me too! I’ve wanted to jump on the bandwagon for so long but have put it off because I’ve been trying to be good. I noticed, I actually snooped on your Goodreads the other day and notices you were up to date, I can’t believe how quickly you read them, it’s awesome. 😀 Yes I am a little worried about that, but hopefully it will be ok.
      If you think that one’s hefty you should see some of the other books, they’re even bigger!

      It’s flying by already, I can’t believe I’m over half way through the holidays. 😦

      HEHE. NO, NEVER.

      • Don’t do what I did with GoT and think you’ve finished all the books when you haven’t.

        Although they’re numbered as being Books 1 – 5, Book 5 was actually released in two separate parts… meaning there’s actually six books to read.

        I didn’t notice my mistake until I started reading a discussion on an Internet forum, and saw people were talking about deaths and events that I didn’t recognise…!

      • Ohhh no! What a bad way to come across spoilers. That’s such a strange decision. I don’t really understand why any author would call a book part one and part two instead of book five and six. Maybe I’m missing something, LOL!

        I will make sure I avoid doing that, thanks for the tip. 🙂

  6. Ha ha. I think “going for coffee” is an American thing. The rest of us go for tea and other stuff.
    I love smelly books. Enjoy all the reading and the rest of your summer holidays..

    • It is! Now everyone in England says it, we obviously watch too much TV. 🙂 People always say ‘lets go for coffee’ even when they and the people going don’t drink coffee! I have to say, I love the smell of it though. 🙂

      Thanks Emma, I’m intent on making the most of it!

  7. Aw, sounds like you’re having a great time! I know what you mean with the friends situation, my best friend and I have gone a year without speaking before, but when we do see eachother it’s like we’ve never been apart – we just have more to talk about! I think that’s when you know it’s a great friendship 🙂 Also, I really want to read ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ can’t wait to hear your thoughts. And if you like books about life like that I’d definitely recommend Nicholas Sparks, I read The Last Song and I loved it! Never read ‘Before I Die’ but I saw the film it was based off of and thought it was pretty good, I imagine reading it must’ve been difficult in parts. Happy Reading 🙂

    • I am thanks Sophie! It’s weird to think that I may only have one of these holidays left before I’m thrust into the world of having to get a real job, no more big holidays then, lol.

      That’s exactly what I mean. 🙂 I wasn’t sure whether it would be the case or not, it’s always hard to tell, but ‘m so glad that it’s made us stronger, it’s a great feeling, and as you say a great test of friendship!

      I love Nicholas Sparks! I’ve read… three of his novels so far I think. They always put a big cheesy grin on my face, The Last Song is my favourite so far actually. 😀
      I saw the film very recently because I only just became aware it was adapted this year. It stays very true to the book and also bad my crying like a loon, although you’re right, the book was worse! I felt the movie made the protagonist slightly harder to relate to, but overall it was a fantastic interpretation.
      I hope I like The Fault in Our Stars just as much.

  8. Yayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!! Game of Thrones – awesomeness :). It’s such an amazing series, and I can’t wait to hear what you think about it. I love this series for summer reading, so I just started the 4th book, and I am looking forward to the 5th book coming out in trade paperwork in the Fall, so that it will match my others. Now repeat my motto – YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TOO MANY BOOKS, YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TOO MANY BOOKS!! LOL

    • Hey, I just thought I should mention as well that if you are watching the news again tonight, we are just fine :). A slow moving summer storm has been hanging over Southern Ontario all afternoon and evening, and Toronto is experiencing severe flooding. The airport has been shut down and about 300,000 people are without power. Plus a GO Train is stranded in water, and they are taking people out through the windows and on to rafts. We are about 2 hours NW of Toronto, and we have been having heavy downpours since about 4pm. Our backyard has been flooded on and off tonight, and the ditch beside our house is running like a raging river. So far no flooding in our basement – keep your fingers crossed!! I was really mad because it has been nice and hot out the last few days, and I really wanted to come home from work and sit outside and read, but Mother Nature had other ideas!

      • Yikes! It really isn’t going well for Canada at the moment is it? Flooding is one of the worst things. I always think ‘how bad could a little water be?’ but it’s so easy to underestimate how humongous its impact can be essentially destroying homes.

        😮 How dare mother nature! Doesn’t she know how vital to the health sitting in the sun reading a book is?! Coh.

        Glad to hear you guys are safe and I will keep my fingers crossed that your basement doesn’t get flooded! Just make sure you have lots of candles in case the power goes, because I have to say there is something really beautiful about reading by candlelight. 😉 It’s like you’ve gone back in time.

    • Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee I know!!!! I can’t wait to read it I’ve been looking forward to it for so long. 😀 I’m a bit torn as to whether I should read it during summer or leave it for when I start uni to give me something I know I’m going to really enjoy. Dilemma’s! Wow the 4th book, you’re speeding along. 🙂

      Cindy, I LOVE YOUR MOTTO!!!!!!! LOL! You are such a bad influence but I can’t help but love it. 😀

      • I just pulled a Becky LOL!! I went to a bookstore at lunch and bought The Stand by Stephen King which I have wanted to get for a long time, and I also bought a book for $2 called The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. ANDDDDD, they are having a sidewalk sale starting Thursday so I have to go back because the lady said she is marking tons of books down to $2 :).

      • WOOP WOOP! 😀 I’ve heard great things about The Stand. Did you get the abridged or unabridged? It sounds like a really great apocalyptic character study. I had a little chuckle the other day because I watch this programme Revolution which is also about the loss of power in relation to computers etc., and the characters went into a library and they had loads of copies of The Stand. Figures, LOL!

        Oooh The Prince of Mist, love the name! Aggghhh, TAKE ME WITH YOU. THAT SOUNDS EPIC!
        Just know, I will be there in spirit whispering in your ear, telling you to buy EVERYTHING. 😀

      • Uncut and Complete Edition!! Oh yaaaaaaa :). And it’s a beautiful trade paperback edition that lays open so nicely in your hands with a creepy pic on the front. I love it!!

        You’re watching Revolution??? Me too – isn’t it great? I can’t wait for the next season to start.

        I wish I could take you with me to the book sale, but I will definitely listen to you in spirit and buy everything you tell me to :).

      • Ooooh awesome! The cover is always very important. 🙂

        😮 No way! I swear if we were born in the same year we would be twins, LOL. I think the shows great, I’m really loving it. It’s keeping me guessing and the characters are pretty interesting. I can’t wait to see where they take it. I haven’t see the end of the first series yet though, we’re always behind here on the TV shows.

        I’m so excited on your behalf, I hope you find some great bargains!

  9. I have to say I admire your restraint till this point. Even with pressing summer expenses, I can find a way to justify new books (to be fair, though- it was only one and it was on sale for $5). I can’t wait to see what you think of A Game of Thrones. I’m about to re-read the third book because it’s my favorite and the TV show made such a hash of it. But currently I’m in the middle of Stephen King’s IT and it’s (no pun intended, I swear) scaring the shit out of me. But in a good way. It’s been a while since I’ve been fully freaked out by a book.
    It sounds like your summer is going really well so far! How long do you have of that free time?

    • Thanks Maggie, I’m quite proud of it myself. 🙂
      That’s the thing, it’s so hard to resist when you see a great deal, and not just a deal a bookstore is trying to make look good when it actually isn’t, but a REAL deal. I do give in occasionally but I’ve managed to reel myself back from buying everything in sight.
      I hope I like it, I really do but I’m worried that I might have hyped it up too much in my head. :S It’s so interesting to hear the comparisons to the TV show, I’m very curious!
      Ooooh really? That’s so awesome! I have IT to read and I’ve wanted a book to genuinely terrify me for quite a while. It’s a different aspect of reading I don’t attempt enough.

      It is thanks! I am free until September and then it’s back to reality. There also the issue of getting a work experience placement by that time too which is proving difficult. I’m enjoying this break from stress way too much.

  10. Thank you for clearing the GOT thing up. I initially thought A Song Of Ice and Fire was the initial book and GOT was just the name the producers gave to the show. I was seeing so many Ice and Fire books on the bookshelves (not to mention another series he’s written), I was confused what came first. I love the show too but I heard a lot of things are different to the book, which I sometimes find quite annoying, but that’s just me. 😛
    I can imagine Kitty with her entourage of stylists and assistants prepping her for those photos 😀

    • No problem, I’m glad I could be helpful! I found it confusing as well, I kept thinking the series was Game of Thrones and the first book was A Song of Ice and Fire similar to you. 🙂 That’s interesting, I don’t actually know anything about the other books he has written. It’s funny that it has taken the world so long to catch up with the awesomness of his books as well, he published them ages ago. It just goes to show how important exposure is!

      HEHE. 😀 I can too, she is SUCH a drama queen. Although I must admit, she’s usually very camera shy. Maybe she’s getting bolder in her old age.

Leave a Reply

