Quoting the Quill #12

quoting the quill small

I sometimes pretend to myself that I have insomnia.

When what I really have is a good book and an inadequate respect for tomorrow.

– Unknown (e-card found here).

*   *   *

I am so into reading right now! Which probably sounds hilarious, but I mean more than usual!!!!!!
I can’t explain it, but I can’t get enough of books! Even bad ones… and I’m reading novels quicker than I can review them. Having barely read anything during my first year of  university because of adjusting and workload etc., it’s like I’m appreciating books all over again from a fresh perspective! They feel all the more precious, valuable and vital.

I love this quote because I am a night owl and have often been known to stay up until 4 or 5am in the morning to finish a good book. It doesn’t matter whether I have something important the next day or how many times I should tell myself to get a good nights sleep I always end up reading into the night, which usually means I’m knackered the next day! For instance, last night I stayed up till just past 4am reading I Heart Paris by Lindsey Kelk and didn’t get up today until 1.30pm.
Whoops. 😀

What is the longest you’ve stayed up to read a book?

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #12

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed up past about 1am reading a book, but I did stay up until 3am playing Wonder Boy III: The Dragon’s Trap on the Sega Master System way back in 1993.

    That particular quote fits you very well actually. Does your cat not constantly pester you for attention during your lie ins?

    As the saying goes, absence makes the heart grow fonder… so I’m not surprise you’re enjoying your indulgence.

    • 1am is still impressive! You should be very proud of your bookish commitment. 😀 Ohh I know what you mean, once you get into a really good game it’s compulsive and you just can’t stop. I don’t play them much anymore because I’m a cheapskate and all that costs a lot. I still have my old consoles that you can get games for like 10p though. Much more my style, LOL.

      Haha she used to but over the years she’s given up because I often annoy her. She goes and finds someone else to bug instead. 🙂

      Touche!

  2. lol – too funny. I think I stayed up until 3 or 4 am to finish some Clive Cussler mysteries. It has been a while but i had to find out if Dirk saved the world! 🙂 Now a-days I might stay up until midnight on a work night and that kicks my booty! 🙂 It is usually the mysteries, horror stories or something compelling like that which keep me up past my bedtime.
    Enjoy your reading spell! I can’t seem to pick a book and stick with it right now. I want to read them all at the same time, but that doesn’t seem to get me very far 🙂

    • I can see how you would want to stay up so late to finish a mystery, when you get so close to the end you would just have to find out what happened and how!
      Ahh that’s always the worst when you have an early commitment the next day like lectures or work. It always kills me too, although it’s usually worth it – just. 🙂 That’s another reason I’m loving these holidays so much.

      Thanks! Ahh yes I am very familiar with that feeling, I get it a lot. It’s one of the downsides to having so much to read. :/ I hope you get into a better mindset soon. 🙂

  3. When I was at school I regularly stayed up past midnight reading, even on school nights, but my most extreme reading event was the final Harry Potter novel: Started around lunchtime and put it down at 3am the next morning. Finished it in a single sitting.

    Since I’ve learnt that sleep is important and only a very good book (like GoT) can keep me up past my bedtime.

    • Me too! When I was a lot younger it would be reading under the blankets with a torch to prevent being told off, and then later by a little lamplight when I was considered mature enough to decide. 🙂
      Whoa, you finished it in one day?! That’s amazing! I couldn’t do that no matter how much I wanted to read a book, I’m not a fast enough reader to do that, but wow. *Internet high five*.

      Haha it is very important indeed. I’m glad to hear that you’re also a fan of Game of Thrones!

  4. I can’t get enough of reading right now either, but my I just can’t stay awake at night :(. There are so many nights where I am really into a great book and I want to finish it, but every time I fall asleep on the couch. My kids always laugh at me when they get up to go to the washroom and they see me laying there with a book open on my chest LOL!! It’s soooo frustrating!

    • it’s so great isn’t it? I think the weather is really helping, it gives me more of an excuse to do nothing but read somehow. 🙂
      Awwh that sounds so picturesque, clutching a book even in sleep, teehee. They shouldn’t laugh, this reading malarkey is seriously business, don’t they know? 😛

      Maybe it’s a good thing if that’s the case, you might appreciate your books better in the morning when you are more awake!

  5. I love that one. If I pretended a bit more, I might get some writing done!
    When a book grabs you and you just have to ignore sleep calling, nothing better.

  6. My wife was away for six months earlier this year, and the house was too quiet to do any writing during daylight hours. So I started writing at night: 10:00pm on a weekend when I didn’t have to be up the next day. The latest I managed was 2:00am, so I’m not that far behind you! I was thinking of doing it again now I have time off work coming up.

    I’ve done mammoth stints of computer programming from 7:00pm to 2:00am as well when I was a student. Once I got into a roll, I didn’t want to stop.

    I’ve started reading books at 9:30 and not put them down until 1:00am before now, it’s great reading at night with no distractions!

    • Ohh wow that must have been hard to be separated for that long. That’s so interesting, I tend to do a similar thing with my blog posts. I always find my writing goes better/smoother later at night, especially past the midnight mark. It seems there is something special about when the sun goes down! That sounds like a great idea if it works for you! It’s good to know I’m not the only crazy one up at all hours. 😛 I’m not sure I could handle computer programming that late at night though! I might need my brain to be on better alert.

      That’s awesome! I love it when I get a chance to read for that long. 😀

  7. I’m totally feeling this quote right now! I’m speeding through a load of chick-lit books at the moment and I desperately need to catch up on reviews!

    I’m an early bird and don’t really stay up late at night. However, with my recent reading mojo I blink and it’s 1am. Oo I love snuggling up in bed with a good book, just forgetting the world. Best thing ever.

    • Haha I saw all your Goodreads updates the other day and couldn’t believe how quickly you had been speeding though books! It’s so awesome, and I’m looking forward to reading some of those reviews too, especially the Dorian Gray one if you decide to do it. 😀

      Love that you have got your mojo back and long may it continue! When you get into a good book you really do lose all sense of time. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Quoting the Quill – Unconventional | I shall be a toad

Leave a Reply

