WordPress Commenting Issues

Hey guys, this is an extremely quick and small post to say I have been experiencing some commenting issues on WordPress. Quite often at the moment when I leave one on someones post instead of adding to the comments or being put in the moderation section it is getting marked as spam. This is happening even if I have commented on your blog endless times before, so please check your spam section every so often as I may be hiding in there (or other legitimate bloggers)! Zen was kind enough to mention this to me and since then I have noticed it is happening regularly! GRR. It seems that this may be a general issue going on at the moment as I have encountered a few other bloggers having similar problems.

I have contacted Akismet so hopefully it will be sorted out shortly, but I thought I should mention it. Don’t want you guys missing out on my insightful rambling comments!

Happy blogging. πŸ™‚

27 thoughts on “WordPress Commenting Issues

  1. I’ve had this happen to me as well. These WordPress blogs use a plugin called Akismet to control spam. If you go here and choose the “I think Akismet is catching my comments by mistake” option, they’ll be able to fix it easily enough.

    http://akismet.com/contact/

    Actually, I didn’t read your post properly and have only just seen that you’ve already contacted them. No way am I deleting everything I just wrote though.

    • Hahaa I did but no worries, it was quite good to know because now I’m sure I contacted the right place. πŸ™‚

      It’s a relief that this has happened to so many other people. I was really confused at first but it seems to be a pretty regular thing. I was like do I keep putting something bad in my comments? Has someone done something weird and bad to my blog?

      Hopefully it won’t take long to sort out!

    • Hi Jenny. πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately WordPress doesn’t tell you that something is going array but there is a way to tell for yourself. After commenting on someone’s post have a little peek just after to see whether it is showing up on their page after pressing ‘post comment’. If you can see it, or you can see it with a ‘waiting for moderation’ note it has gone through fine. If however, your comment is not showing up on their page after at all then it has probably been marked as spam.

      Hope that helps!

    • You tell em’ Cindy!

      Hehee awhh you are too kind. πŸ˜€ I feel the same way, I love our regular chats!

      Thanks! Just so you know, one of your comments on my blog ended up in the spam, but all your other ones seem to have gone through since so I think your fine, but best to keep an eye out just in case. πŸ™‚

      • They spammed Cindy. Who would dare! By the way, have you had any luck getting unblocked on sites. I haven’t heard from WordPress or Akismet

      • I know! Luckily, it only seemed to be the one time, her comments have been functioning fine since.

        I haven’t heard anything from Akismet yet, however I did comment on one of Cindy’s post just now and it seemed to go through when it hadn’t been working at all the previous night, so maybe they’ve done something?

      • Haha so far! But I’ve only commented on one blog today so I could have just gotten lucky. Will let you know if I get anything through from Akismet. πŸ™‚

  2. Mmm. My wordpress is .org, not .com, but all the things in my spam are spam and not comments. I don’t get many comments anyway. 😦
    I’m using Akismet as well.

    Does your blog need updating? They seem to need updating every few days.

    • Ahh good! Are you talking about your contributions on asidefromwriting or another site? That’s the one I read your stuff on anyway. πŸ™‚

      I’ve never updated my blog…you update your blog? How do you even do that? Lol. I haz no knowledge. :s

      • http://www.tony-talbot.co.uk/musings is my hosted blog – I get it as part of my webpage package; I contribute to asidefromwriting, but Mel Cusick-Jones is the bloganiser who pushes all the big buttons.

        My hosted one always has demands for updates – there’s a menu option down the side that says ‘updates’, but I don’t see that on asidefromwriting. Since I’m only a ‘guest’ there, it’s impossible to say what I don’t have the ability to do.

        I tried Googling “Update wordpress”, but nothing looked relevant. I have failed you. 😦

      • Aha! I never knew about this! How come I never knew about this?! LOL. I think I first talked to you originally because you were thinking of trying WordPress as a blogging platform but I didn’t realise how busy you’d been in the meantime. I’m going to have to have a thorough snoop now. πŸ˜€

        Yepp luckily WordPress doesn’t do an updates thing from what you’re describing, it must be a little annoying. When you have a guest you have all the same options as if you were the main host in terms of sidebars etc. but you often don’t have the permission to access them.

        Excuse me while I walk on over to your blog….

      • This is awesome, I’ve subscribed. πŸ™‚ Although how come it only seems to give you the option to comment on the book reviews and not one posts that count as rambles?

Leave a Reply

