Quoting the Quill #13

quoting the quill small

‘I cannot remember a time when I was not in love with them – with the books themselves, cover and binding and the paper they were printed on, with their smell and their weight and with their possession in my arms, captured and carried off to myself.’

– Eudora Welty

I love this quote and couldn’t agree with it more. I don’t just love reading, but everything about it, the beautiful cover of a book, the feel of the paper, the smell. Eudora sums it up brilliantly! 🙂

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #13

    • I hadn’t either until this quote, I had to look her up. 🙂 The interwebs tells me she is an author of novels and short stories, who knew?

      Whoa, no way! That’s like, crazy, and stuff. I’ve never heard of it. It’s a pretty cool name though.

      Thanks Michael!

  1. I have a whole shelf of books that I bought merely because I liked how they looked (all published before 1950). Some of them are literary gems, however, like a 1903 publication of Ben Franklin’s autobiography – pretty to look at and worth the read, though I still have to do the latter.

    • Ooooh I am so guilty of that too! Before 1950 though wow, that’s great. I love old books especially the smell. 🙂

      Books are the one thing I will pay more for when there is a pretty cover version. You’ll never catch me doing it with anything else though!

      I hope you enjoy the autobiography when you read it. 🙂

      • That’s my main objection against e-books, by the way. They can’t look pretty on the shelf. You can’t feel the embossed cover or smell the dusty pages. E-books have no romance, no sense of history.

      • It is the same with me, I love everything about the act of reading and using and eReader takes some of that away for me so I don’t like them. Besides, I spend enough time staring at various screens, laptops, computers, presentation lectures etc that I don’t really want another one!

        I really do love that books have a history, especially second hand ones. 🙂

  2. Didn’t she have a brother called Fedora Welty, who they named the hat after? 😉

    I didn’t think I’d get on with an ereader either, but I read a lot more now I have it, and I love it. Complete works of Dickens and Sherlock Holmes in something a half inch thick…sweet.

    Having said that, I still love physical books and always will. There’s a delight in dipping into them that’s not possible with an ereader.

    • I have no idea sorry, it sounds like you know more than me! Hehe, wait, there’s a hat?! Awesome. 🙂

      Hmm, maybe if I gave it a go I would like it, but I doubt it if I’m completely honest. My friend actually offered to lend me hers but it didn’t happen in the end. As you can imagine I wasn’t that upset about it. 😛 That’s true, you can get so many free books with a kindle, but I just love to hold a book in my hands, even if holding a massive book makes my arm ache!

      I’m glad to hear you love them both equally, sounds like you have the best of both worlds. 🙂

      • Oooh I’ve never heard of it…what kind of freaky subject matter? :s

        A lot of people think it’s bizarre to cry at a book, but it happens to me a LOT, lol! I mean, it’s hardly any different from seeing something sad on TV.

      • Ya, but I’m in a house full of males, so they just laugh at me :(. The freaky and very disturbing subject matter is teenage drinking and driving. That’s all I will say in case you want to read it. It was very good, but it ripped my heart in pieces.

      • Awwh meanies, I guess it depends on the amount you use your imagination in books as well as how much you empathise with the characters. I do far too much of both so I always end up in a bawl on the floor. 😛

        Ahh I see, I can imagine. A very difficult subject matter, but an important one.

      • Oooh, I have another one for you to look up on Goodreads. It’s called The Steward by Christopher Shields. I just downloaded a sample, and I think I might be hooked!! It’s all about the Fae world, and it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

