The 30 Day Book Challenge!

Hello bookish friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

Iโ€™m thinking quite a lot of you have probably seen variations of this challenge floating around the blogosphere before, I know I have. Being a bookworm meant that the challenge caught my attention pretty quicklySDC13427, and I soon decided that I wanted to give it a go. Last year I created a tab under ‘reading challenges’ with every intention of participating, but with all of the university prep it didn’t end up happening. But NOT THIS SUMMER BLOGGERS, NOT THIS SUMMER! ๐Ÿ™‚

The basic idea of the 30 Day Book Challenge is that you have a set of 30 book related questions and you have to answer one each day. In other words, Iโ€™m going to have to try and post EVERYDAY for 30 DAYS.

Gulp! :S

Seeing as Iโ€™m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my blog posts and the fact that they seem to take me quite a long time to write, I have a feeling I am going to find this challenge extremely difficult! I think the idea is that you’re supposed to talk about one book per day, but there are just too many books in the world for me to do that! I will most probably end up talking about more than one, and hopefully that will make it more interesting too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will also try not to overlap too much, picking different books for each question so it doesn’t get too boring.

It does of course also mean, that I will be spamming your inbox with my book ramblings for 30 days. Hopefully thatโ€™s a good thing, and you wonโ€™t get sick of me!ย  :S

There are several main reasons I want to take part in this challenge:

1.) To test myself to see if I can actually complete it.
2.) To try and write blog posts more quickly.
3.) A way for you guys to get to know the books I have read in the past before I started this blog, Iโ€™m hoping thatโ€™s something that will interest you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Itโ€™s also a cool way for me to recommend some of my favourite books to my lovely readers and warn you about some you should avoid. ๐Ÿ˜‰
4.) It will be a quick way for new people visiting my blog to get to know my reading tastes better.
5.) Because hey! The fun!
6.) Most important of all, because I would also really like to know what your answers are, and get to know you and your books a little better in the comments section! Iโ€™m always looking for great book recommendations even with so many to read, and I really enjoy hearing about your own literary journeys! ๐Ÿ™‚

There seemed to be a lot of variation in terms of which questions different blogs were using, so I just decided to pick and choose my favourite questions from the different lists I found. This was the result:

DAY 1. – A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just end already.
DAY 2. – Favorite side character.
DAY 3. – The longest book you’ve read.
DAY 4. – Book turned into a movie and completely desecrated.
DAY 5. –ย  Your โ€œcomfortโ€ book.
DAY 6. – Book you’ve read the most number of times.
DAY 7. – A guilty pleasure book.
DAY 8. – Most underrated book.
DAY 9. – Most overrated book.
DAY 10. – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.
DAY 11. – Favorite classic book.
DAY 12. – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still havenโ€™t.
DAY 13. – A book that disappointed you.
DAY 14. –ย  Book that made you cry.
DAY 15. – A character who you can relate to the most.
DAY 16. – Most thought-provoking book.
DAY 17. – Author I wish people would read more.
DAY 18. โ€“ A book you wish you could live in.
DAY 19. – A favourite author.
DAY 20. – Favorite childhood book.
DAY 21. – Book you tell people you’ve read, but havenโ€™t (or havenโ€™t actually finished).
DAY 22. – Least favourite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise.
DAY 23. – Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months.
DAY 24. – Book youโ€™re most embarrassed to say you like/liked.
DAY 25. – The most surprising plot twist or ending.
DAY 26. – Book that makes you laugh out loud.
DAY 27. – Book that has been on your โ€œto readโ€ list the longest.
DAY 28. – Favorite quote from a book.
DAY 29. – A book you hated.
DAY 30. – Book you couldn’t put down.

Iโ€™ve even created this funky little banner for the task (well ok, funky might be a stretch but hey, Iโ€™m proud :)). :

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

I have a feeling I wonโ€™t be able to do this, and Iโ€™ll end up skipping a few days, but Iโ€™m going to give it my best shot! Anyone else who wants to join me on this literary mission is very welcome to. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hoping to start it at some point within the week.

Wish me luck!

Image Sources:
Book Challenge Banner:ย My own, please do not reuse.
Book: My own, please do not reuse.

40 thoughts on “The 30 Day Book Challenge!

  1. So Becky Day, my favourite blogger EVER, is going to be tickling my inbox for a whole thirty days?

    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES! I’m going to tell everyone.

    If I did this challenge, it’d end up being quite predictable:

    Day 1 – Book on WWII Nazis
    Day 2 – Stephen King
    Day 3 – Something about WWII bomber planes
    Day 4 – Something sciencey
    Day 5 – Stephen King’s Nazi story
    Day 6 – (fell asleep, didn’t blog)
    Day 7 – Moaning about how Stephen King should write a science book with Nazi bomber planes.
    etc.

    • Favourite blogger EVER eh? High praise indeed! Awesome. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Hahaaa loving the enthusiasm Michael, I’m glad the reaction was excitement and not “ohhh geez really? How annoying”, LOL.

      Loving the humour! I’m going to try really hard to talk about as many different books as I can so it’s more interesting. I’ve sort of pre-planned what books I’m going to talk about on which days, so that should help. I iz all organised and stuffzz. ๐Ÿ™‚ It took me a while to think of some of them though!

  2. This sounds amazing! Such a good idea. Although I’m incredibly indecisive, so I’d struggle to think of answers to the bloody questions! Doubt I’ve read enough books either. How worrying.

    • I’m so happy you like the look of it Charl! As you can tell by the year delay, it took me a long time to convince myself to do it, and I also wanted to know I could dedicate the time to it. I was very indecisive as well, but I’ve sorted out which books/author’s I’m going to talk about on each day, otherwise I just knew it would be chaos!

      I’m sure you’ve read enough books judging by your blog, I think you’d be surprised. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. If you manage to complete this I will be so impressed!! Good luck! I can’t wait to have you spamming my WordPress feed everyday! I’ll be keeping an eye out to make you there are no skipsies as well! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hehee so will I! I can’t see it happening to be honest, I’m bound to slip up at some point. ๐Ÿ˜› Awwwh, thank you, I’m a little worried it may become irritating to some but I’ll try and be as interesting as possible! It’s good to hear you see me spamming you as a positive thing. ๐Ÿ˜€ In that case I will be on my best behaviour. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Hmmm. “Inspired” by Mr Cargill…

    Day One: Ummm, see day two.
    Day Two: Go to Day one.
    Day Three: Now I’m stumped.
    Day Four: Oh heck.
    Day Five: Rinse.
    Day Six: Repeat.

    That would about be mine. I have trouble blogging once a month sometimes, good luck with this one!

    • LOL! You guys are too funny. ๐Ÿ˜€ Are you sure you don’t want to create a duo stand up comedy act instead of writing novels?

      *applauds*

      Yeah it can be very difficult to come up with topics sometimes, especially if you’re not relying on reviews. At least with this challenge I’m given a starting point!

  5. Good luck Becky, this sounds so exciting and refreshing and intellectually stimulating! Even though I didn’t complete Camp NaNo this month, I feel like I’ve learned a lot about my writing because of it – this may work out the same way for you. Even if you don’t post every single day, each post will be one more than if you had not done the challenge at all, and I’m sure you will produce wonderful posts like you always do. I have the utmost confidence in you!

    • Thank you Thomas, I think it’s going to be really fun to revisit some of the books from my past, before I even started this blog, and here’s hoping it will be intellectually stimulating too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope I can learn and improve some aspect of my writing as you did, that would be great. That is very true, and a good way of looking at it! Writing can only improve with practice

      Awhh thanks, I hope you’re right! I’d hate for it to end up being more quantity rather than quality. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I really like this idea – I think I’m going to join you. We’ll see if I have a large enough reading repertoire to make this worthwhile, but I like the idea of giving your readers a chance to see some of the books you read before beginning the blog.

    • Hi Tanya, I’m so glad you like the idea and want to participate. I definitely like the challenge for that reason, I read so many other great books before I started this blog and this is a great way to tell people about them!

      I can’t wait to read your answers and thanks for following my blog. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Pingback: The 30 Day Book Challenge! | Read. Run. Study.

    • Oooh really? That’s great, I could definitely use some moral support! You seem to be doing well with yours so far.

      Thank you for all the comments, likes and the follow Lindsey. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Actually I just finished the 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge and I skipped a number of days, so I guess we’ll see how I do with this one.

        By the way, I really like your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I think it’s very tough to blog consistently every day and I would never underestimate it. I think it is totally understandable and that you were doing very well to you only skipped a few! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Can’t wait to see your answers. Thank you!

  8. (I’m unfashionably late to the party, sorry, had 5 compulsory assignments due this week, some on the same day, got a bit stressy, and…wait, who am I again? Errrr….)

    Now hold on a sec, why does this sound familiar? OH YES, coz I did this very challenge exactly 2 years ago!!! Yeah! And, if I’m not mistaken, it was on that very challenge that I met a certain awesome, gorgeous bloggerino. Now I wonder who that could be??? Hmmm… ๐Ÿ˜€

    But good luck on this, I missed out only 5 days I think, and everybody else I knew who did the 30 day challenge thought I was awesome because they kept missing a whole lot of days so they ended up doing the challenge over a few months. LOL. So don’t worry if you miss a few. I’m off to go read the ones you’ve posted so far… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Why hello there Nisha. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry to hear that life has been stressful lately, I know all too well how those colliding deadlines can keep you hauled up with notes and a computer while ignoring the rest of the world, I hope now that it’s over you can have a nice celebration night out!

      Exactly two years, whoa, that’s a spooky coincidence if ever I saw one! I think your blog might have been the first one I ever saw this challenge done on actually, and I have wanted to do it ever since. So glad I finally got round to it. Why I do believe that is how I found your fabbytastic blog as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you, missing only five days is impressive. I kind of feel like I’m wavering already, lol, it’s so hard posting every day! It’s good to know that I won’t be the only one if I miss a few days. I hope you enjoy the posts.

  9. Pingback: The 30 (ish) Day Book Challenge | So Far Untitled

  10. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge | Fusteratedreader's Blog

  11. Reblogged this on Litereadture and commented:
    So Iโ€™ve recently found myself looking at these reading challenges and wondering if I could actually complete them. Iโ€™ve seen 52 books in 52 weeks, and these 30 day challenges. Perhaps it is my up-coming mid year break (once I submit my final assignment tomorrow) and the need to use my time to read, or perhaps Iโ€™m just a little but nutty and canโ€™t help love anything book related. But I think, I might have to give this 30 day challenge a go.

    Not only will it help me recall some of my favourite and not-so-favourite book characters, plots and so forth, but it will help me keep my blog in the forefront of my mind. While the blog started out as something I had to do for a Journalism assessment, it has already become a child to me. Something I love and want to share with the world. This blog is my happy book place, and my baby and hopefully it will grow, bring me much happiness.

    So this is why I will commit to this challenge, answering one question per day, for 30 days, starting tomorrow!

    Stay tuned for all my answers, which will hopefully be valuable to others.

  12. Pingback: Book Challenge – Day 1 « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon...and everything in between...

  13. Hi Becky. I’ve just stumbled across your blog, I’ve had a good thorough nose around the place and I think I’ve fallen in love! I’ll be carrying out this challenge in November if it’s ok with you to steal it from you! I will most definitely credit you as my source! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

