DAY 15: A Character Who You Can Relate to the Most.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

I feel like I’ve said this a lot of times now, but this was a tough question! As a general rule I relate to most characters on some level and this probably comes from the fact that writers put a lot of themselves into their books. Aspects of their own worries, moral dilemmas and dreams naturally emerge because of that age old saying ‘write what you know’ which doesn’t just apply to a books setting but also the things you can’t see like emotions.
Again, I’m going to pick the protagonist that popped into my mind first, and that character is Macy from The Truth About Forever.

Well, I couldn’t go this entire challenge without mentioning Sarah Dessen, could I?!?! 🙂

That being said, this is yet another book that I read pre-blog and for that reason I don’t remember it very well. Therefore today’s post will be short and sweet. 🙂

The Truth About Forever was the first Sarah Dessen book I ever read, something to do with the combination of the pretty blues and greens (one of my favourite colour combinations) and the style of artwork (which I just so happened to be focusing on in art class for a project at the time) drew me to it. I did hesitate at first because Dessen’s blurb made the book sound quite superficial, but I’m so glad I took a chance!

SDC14741edited

The story follows Macy who after her father’s death puts all her energy into achieving perfection; she tries to be the perfect daughter, the perfect student and the perfect girlfriend. Just when Macy has her safe little routine down, her boyfriend decides to go off to brain camp, leaving her to face the summer months alone. He asks her if she can temporarily fill in at his job at the library, as the dutiful girlfriend she does, but the staff there make her feel unwelcome. Initially Macy is happy to spend the summer the way she has coped with the rest of the year, keeping her head down, grasping at perfection. But when the opportunity of a summer job in a completely different field comes up she feels an unexpected tug. It’s the first rash impulse Macy has had in a long time, and who knows where it will take her…

~ * ~

I related to Macy a lot, like her I can be a bit of a perfectionist, not about all things but some. I like to follow the rules, I like to do the right thing and go with what will please the people around me to an extent. I probably don’t take risks as often as I should either. While I don’t have the grief of a parent on my shoulder as a reason for this, a lot of the Macy’s personality traits in this book resonated with me. I think we can all play it a little too safe sometimes. It’s human nature to stick to what and who we know and it can be easy to get in a rut. I liked that the message of this novel was that taking even one small risk or chance could lead to something different and wonderful, as clichéd as it might sound. I loved watching Macy grow as a character as the book went along and the revelations she experienced, it taught me a few lessons of my own and also echoed some of my thoughts and anxieties.

I think my answer to this question was always destined to settle on Sarah Dessen, she is the master of YA female contemporary characters and even when a protagonist in her book has different values, beliefs or aspirations to me, she always makes me relate and empathise with them on some emotional level. If you haven’t read any of her books yet I would recommend picking one up because she is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. 🙂 If you’re interested I have reviewed several of her books here! I also have a whole stack of her books to read, yipiieeeeeee! 😀

Which book character/s do you relate to the most? Are you a fan of Sarah Dessen’s characters? 🙂

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
Header banner: My own image, please do not reuse.
Book Cover: My own.

26 thoughts on “DAY 15: A Character Who You Can Relate to the Most.

  1. Great choice! I haven’t read this Sarah Dessen novel; in fact I’ve only read “This Lullaby”, but I hear wonderful things about “The Truth About Forever” and I have a guilty love *why guilty? idk!* for that Mandy Moore movie… oh what is it… “How to Deal”!!! That’s it, it’s like a combo of different Sarah Dessen novels I think. Anyway, movies are never as good as the books (unless it’s LOTR…) I don’t know if I’ll ever get around to reading this novel because I have so many on the list, but your description of this character sounds extremely relatable and her journey sounds like a great one. Also, I absolutely love the cover art of this book! I never ever saw one like that here in the US, despite many hours of perusing the YA section and glancing over Dessen’s books. I don’t blame you for being drawn to it!
    Great post, Becky! 😀

    • Thank you. OOOOH, I own This Lullaby, a friend of mine got two copies of the book and because she is the bestest she gave me one.
      BOOK FWENDS FOREVER!
      I’ve noticed over the years that The Truth About Forever seems to be most people’s favourites and I think it is probably because people can relate to the character so much. 🙂
      There are combination movies?! Sounds….odd, lol. Not sure about that, but I guess it could be good! LOTR is definitely the exception to the rule.

      Hehe I know what you mean, my list of books is endless and it just keeps going and going. It’s intimidating but in a good way! I hope you get round to it someday it’s great, although my favourite Dessen book so far is Just Listen, that one was a five star for me. 😀

      Every time I go near the cover I have to stroke it because it is so preddyful! I’m glad you like it too. It always annoys me so much when you like or want a certain cover but it’s hard to get hold of because it’s geared toward a different country!

      Thank you, and thanks for reading. 🙂

      • I would one day love to get the UK versions of Harry Potter, but I’m still (sadly) collecting the hardcover editions of the US Scholastic printings! I don’t even own a copy of the first one or Prisoner of Azkaban! D: That must be some kind of Potterhead crime. *shields self from wrath of radical Potterheads* I used to do this! Give friends extra copies of books, I mean, until one time… I gave a friend an extra copy, and then I let another friend borrow my original… and I never got it back v.v So now I’m a grump who doesn’t let anyone borrow books. Sigh. XD

      • Speaking as someone from the UK, I LOVE our HP covers because they’re the ones I’ve always known. They have all the nostalgia and memories attached to them, caught in fragments between the pages. 😀 There are adult version that are supposed to be more classy, I did consider buying them at points but again refrained because of the reasons mentioned. I like the American covers too although I prefer the Brit ones. (I’M BIASED :S) I’ve always thought it would be awesome to collect all the different cover versions of a favourite book.
        Ohh no! Poor HP 1 and 3. :/ I would be so sad if I lost one of my original copies. You have good reason not to lend your books out though! I am very stingy with who I let near mine, I even give my closest friends little lectures about not damaging the spines and treating books with R-E-S-P-E-C-T FIND OUT WHAT IT MEANSSSS TOOO MEHHHHH. *Sidetracked*.

        I wish you luck on your Harry Potter book mission. 😉

  2. I tried reading a Sarah Desson book once, but it bored me. However, this book seems like something I could like b/c I feel myself connecting to the main character too. I may read it someday! Also, the cover is pretty

    • Ohh no, that’s a shame. Maybe you weren’t in the right mood or you picked one of her books that wasn’t as good. I did read one that was very ‘meh’ called Lock & Key, but I’ve enjoyed her others so far. 🙂

      I hope you decide to give her another chance! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  3. Hiiiii again Becks!
    I haven’t actually got round to picking up a Sarah Dessen novel, but from reading your reviews her characters always sound particularly ‘real’. Macy certainly sounds like a very relatable character! At least you didn’t choose Charlie from Perks or anything! If you’d had I would have been a bit concerned… 😉

    • Hello Lottie! Fancy meeting you here. 😉 I hope everything is good with you.
      They are very real and that’s why I enjoy her books so much. Her characters suffer with everyday issues that many of us encounter in our lives. It’s always great to see that others out there can be suffering along with you. 😛

      God no!!! And vice versa. I would rely on you to knock some sense into me if I did though. 🙂

  4. These questions are really hard Becky!! I know there have been many characters that I could relate to, but I can’t remember any specifically off the top of my head. My memory sucks LOL!! Also, sometimes, it’s one quality from this character and another quality from that character, and I really like when that happens because then I can relate to all of the characters in one way or another.

    • They are certainly praised by a lot of people, including me! I don’t read much YA contemporary fiction but for some reason Dessen’s book just get me every time. She great if you’re in the mood for an emotional roller-coaster. 🙂

      No problem!

  5. I’m going with PhotosFromTheLoonyBin. There are parts of characters who mesh, and other parts of them don’t.

    If I don’t do that, I’ll have to cheat and use one of my own characters, and that would sound like too much of a book plug!

    • I completely agree with both of you!

      Haha plub away if you so wish. 😛 I think it would be quite natural to mention one of your own characters, because you created the aspects of their personality you must relate to most of them on at least one level!

  6. That IS a pretty cover. Hmm, I tend to put myself in the character’s shoes when I’m reading and live vicariously through her. But I’m trying to think of one character who I really related to and am drawing a blank. That is really bad for a person who reads a lot!
    I like the message of taking just a small risk/step. I don’t do that enough.

    • I think it’s the colour hues and the eclectic objects that make it so awesome. 🙂 It definitely makes you want to read it!
      Haha I know what you mean, sometimes it is very hard to tell the difference between relating to a character because you feel like that character and actually relating to them in real life. 😛 I think it’s a tough question so don’t worry if you can’t think of one! It took me a while.

      Thanks Emma, I think we could all use that bit of advise sometimes.

    • Ha! So true, I would be clinging onto that library job for dear life, you don’t get much better than that.

      I hope they would love me. Awhhhh thank you Nisha! 😀 *Blushes*. Likewise! I miss your posts so much, I hope you can return soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

