DAY 19: A Favourite Author.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

Okay, so I am going to look at this question as picking from one of my many favourite authors because seriously, I would be here all day otherwise! Since I have already talked about my love for J.K. Rowling, Emily Brontë, Kelley Armstrong, Tolkien and Sarah Dessen these guys are out of the running. So, can you lovely bloggers guess which author is missing? I’ll give you a clue, she’s Australian and I’ve mentioned her many times on this blog before.

Still stuck?

I will give you another clue, she is featured in my 30 Day Book Challenge header!

Got it?

The favourite author I am focusing on is Trudi Canavan, author of the bestselling The Black Magician Trilogy.

Of my own accord I might not have picked up one of her books, but pure chance and maybe a bit of luck intervened. I was at a family party around the age of fifteen/sixteen hanging out with some relatives of a similar age. They were both male and wanted to play Call of Duty and Gears of War. Although they suggested we could do something else I knew they really wanted to play Xbox, so I agreed not minding either way. I played for a while but they were total control hoggers and eventually I lost interest. After an hour and a half or so I got a little restless and one of the relatives knowing I liked books asked me if I had heard of an author named Trudi Canavan. I hadn’t so he brought in the books to show me, The Magicians’ Guild, The Novice and The High Lord. It was the beginning of a love affair.

SDC14776edited

These still remain in my top ten fave book cover designs, simple but gorgeous!

The series follows a girl named Sonea living in the slums. Each year magicians flock  to the poor section of the city to purge the people. In protest the slum dwellers band together to throw rocks at the magicians, to no avail. A powerful magic shield protects them and although those in the slums can’t penetrate it, the action gives them purpose, a sign of resistance. When Sonea gets swept up in the chaos with her mischievous friend Cery, she has no idea what is in store. In a moment of reckless anger, Sonea joins in with the stone throwing and to everyone’s amazement hers soars through the magical barrier and injures one of the magicians. Pandemonium and panic sets in, no one from the slums has ever had the power of magic and no one understands how it could be possible. The Magicians’ Guild must decide what to do with her, but one things for sure, Sonea’s life will never be the same.

The first few chapters of the novel had me hooked. I was swept up in the dramatic scenes and loved Canavan’s vivid writing style, something about it lulled me into this serene calm. If it is possible her writing feels kind of earthy, soulful and serene. I don’t know if that makes much sense but they’re the words that come to mind when I think of her novels. That is not to say everything about these books is serene, there are magic fights and epic conflicts but it is the general feel I get from her writing. Even though the trilogy is set in a fantasy world it feels realistic and tangible. Sonea was such a lovely character and I took to her right away, empathising with her situation and excited to see where her journey would take her.
I have read these three book twice now and they were just as good the second time!Trudi’s Black Magician Trilogy was so popular that she even brought out a follow on, The Traitor Spy Trilogy which returns to the characters twenty years later. I’ve only read the first book so far and can’t wait to get round to the others. 🙂

Canavan’s second lesser known series is The Age of Five Trilogy, which I equally enjoyed but in different ways. This series follows Auraya, a newly appointed priestess. She is one of five who represent the Gods.
The world building in this series blew me away, there were so many interesting concepts relating to the Gods, how they came to be and whether they could be trusted. The moral dilemma’s were fascinating, the new magical creatures inventive and the battle scenes epic!

SDC14756edited

It is hard to describe what I love about this author, to me it’s just a fact, like the grass being green and the sky being blue. I guess I have been reading her books for so long that it is hard to look at her work objectively, but then, why should enjoying a book have to be objective? 🙂

Who is your favourite author/s? Do you have a favourite fantasy author? 🙂

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
All my own, please do not reuse.

30 thoughts on “DAY 19: A Favourite Author.

  1. Fantastic blog, Becky! I had never heard of Trudi Canavan (I really AM living under a rock, I think, and sadly not in Ravenclaw Tower 😦 ), but now I want to read these books! Both the one with Sonea and the one with the priestess sound great. *adds straightaway to my wish list* I can’t wait to check them out. I feel you on the comfort of certain authors, too. Sometimes I save a book to read on a day that turns out REALLY crappy or a day when I know I have to do something stressful (i.e. go to a dentist appointment!) so I can sooth myself with the story! XD Great story along with your reason for picking her! 😀

    • Thank you! I’m so excited that Canavan has peeked your interest, I’m always trying to convince people to read her! They are both great in different ways, the ones with Sonea are a lot more action packed and what you would expect from traditional fantasy with coming of age themes etc and the second one is more of a slow burner with a really satisfying ending and some fascinating concepts. 😀

      That’s a great idea and I do a similar thing, I’ve been waiting and waiting to read The Night Circus because I feel like I have to save it for the right moment. The same goes with Canavan, I have two of her books to read but I’m saving them for when I need them! Good to know I’m not the only person that does it.

      Hehee thanks, I like to add a little story, makes it more personal. 🙂

      • You’re welcome! And thank you again for picking an exciting author so I can find new reading materail! XD As you can see from my Hunger Games ramble blog, you won me over with your description about Canavan’s books and I finally caved and bought the first one of the Black Magician Trilogy! 😀 I’m sure I’m gonna love it – can’t wait to read it. Have a couple books lined up before it but will be reading in the very near future. 😀

      • Hehe no problem! I am just about to pop on over and read your Hunger Games ramble, I’m a bit behind on all things blog at the moment. 😛

        I hope you do, and sorry in advance it you don’t! LOL.

  2. Pingback: Friends, Trekkies, Whovians, Lend Me Your Blogging Eyes | Revolution For Breakfast

  3. Those books sound right up my alley, I’m curious as to why I haven’t heard of these books before you’re blog. Once again it seems, I am in your debt as you lead to another great find! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • Oooh, good! 🙂
      It says her first series was bestselling, but I agree not many people know about her. I wonder if it is because she is Australian, maybe her books were bestselling and really well known there but haven’t become so widespread in other places.

      No problem, thanks for reading!

  4. Dean Koontz layers his stories with atmosphere and details, and so many good characters. Some of his recent ones have been weak, but read “Fear Nothing” for an astonishing journey.

  5. I actually have The Magician’s Guild on my to-be-read shelf, and it’s been there for quite some time, but I think after reading this post it probably just moved to the top of my list, right after I finish Monster Hunter Legion by Larry Correia (and since all of his books are fairly quick reads, that shouldn’t take me too long).

    My favorite author is easily Brandon Sanderson, and I agree with you wholeheartedly that when it comes to your favorite author, there’s no such thing as being objective.

    • Ohh wow that’s great to hear! I love these books dearly and I hope you will too. As I’ve said, after so much time I’m not really objective about these novels, but I do think they’re fantastic. 🙂

      Oooh, I own a Brandon Sanderson book but I haven’t read it yet, it’s sitting right next to the Canavan books on my shelf. It’s called Elantris I think? I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

      Thank you for reading and commenting, Adam!

    • Oooh that’s such a tough question! I think the themes in The Age of Five Trilogy would interest you, but her Black Magical Trilogy is more action packed and entertaining…so I guess I would go with The Black Magician Trilogy. 😀

  6. I agree it is far too hard to pick just one favourite author! I know J RR Tolkien, Daphne du Maurier, C S Lewis, and Douglas Adams would definitely have to feature on my favourites list 🙂

    I’ve never read anything by Trudi Canavan but I have always been intrigued by those beautiful covers. Having read your thoughts on her work I think I will definitely have to give her books a go.

    • Indeed! It’s like asking you to pick your favourite child, LOL. As you know I highly approve of Tolkien, 😉 C.S. Lewis is great and innovative but I haven’t read the
      others, interesting to see that they are also in you top fave’s!

      They are truly beautiful covers, I love them. I always make sure I have them on show on by bookshelves, it’s so rare to come across novels with white backgrounds used on the cover! I hope you decide to pick one of her books up. 😀

  7. Pingback: Your Pick for Nik! – October’s Nominations! | Book Reviews by Niki Hawkes

  8. Pingback: The Magician’s Guild | Reviews and Ramblings

Leave a Reply

