DAY 24 Book You’re Most Embarrassed to Say You Like/Liked.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

*Sigh* Okay, it’s confession time.

You see, I have a deep dark past… 

I used to like Twilight.

So you probably already knew that if you’ve followed my blog since the beginning. It’s not something I go out of my way to mention, but at the same time I am no longer embarrassed to admit I liked it at one stage.
Both Lindsey and Lauren have done excellent posts on this topic which are well worth checking out. I hope I can measure up!

I jumped on the Twilight bandwagon around a year or two before the film came out. After the first couple of chapters I was hooked, Bella felt like this uber cool grown up teen that I could admire. She cooked, she read difficult books, she was studious and had the courage to leave her whole world behind her and move to Forks (even if the logic didn’t make much sense). But with this, she was still shy and awkward which gave me something to empathise and identify with. Then the book introduced Edward Cullen and my tweenager brain went into overdrive. This man was perfect! He had awesome hair, he had awesome eyes, he oozed sex appeal! I had never come across a character like him before. Not only that but he was a gentleman and a knight in shining armour all in one. This man was every young girls dream! Where could I get me one of these? Could I rent one? If I moved to Forks would I find my Edward?!
Uh no, no I wouldn’t, but my brain saw this as a possibility at the time.
It’s shallow but true to say that Bella and Edward were the only part of the story I was interested in, although I only realised this in retrospect. I didn’t care about Bella’s school friends, Jacob, her dad, (why was he being so awkward about this healthy relationship, god) the Cullens or whoever was trying to kill the couple depending on the book. I just wanted to read about Edward, my future husband of course!

SDC14832edited

My obsession was full on, as with the rest of my friends. We would all doodle in our school planners or whatever sheet of paper was available, we would have in depth discussions about which guys in our life at the time were more like ‘Edward’ of a ‘Jacob’, we would defend our beloved characters to the ends of the earth and argue with anyone who disagreed otherwise. Amazingly, Twilight brought me and my best friends (some of which I am still friends with today) together. Those books gave us common ground on which to make our friendship. It became a tradition that we would go and see the films together no matter what was going on in our lives at the time, I saw the first film FOUR TIMES at the cinema, even though it was rubbish. But it was Twilight and it had Edward in it so who cared, right?

Unfortunately, my love for Stephenie Meyer’s series didn’t last. With the release of the first film came unwavering criticism. Endless insults were always attached to the series, the world turned and suddenly it felt like a death sentence to even like Twilight. People would give you snide looks and snarky remarks. It was no longer a bit of fun that I could have with my friends, it was a shameful thing. It meant you had no taste, that you were antifeminist and you had no appreciation for good literature.
Bella was no longer a stand up role model but and infatuated moody girl with no sense of self worth, Edward was a possessive, creepy stalker with an unhealthy obsession with a  younger woman. The magic was being stripped away, but I still clung on to an extent.

Then I made my biggest mistake, I reread the books.

By this time I had experimented with a lot more literature. The school library had introduced me to teen cancer patients, the afterlife, witches and Gothic literature along with a ton of other paranormal romance books. I picked up a lot of those novels because Twilight had inspired me to do so, it had put even more life into the magical act of reading. But when I returned to Forks it had become a hollow place. I still loved the interactions between Bella and Edward, but most of the characters drove me nuts. I became uncomfortable with the way Bella seemed to be constantly looking to throw her life away for others, without searching for other options or looking at the bigger picture. Her self destructive nature was now disturbing instead of brave. Edward’s overly controlling actions that often went against Bella’s wishes also sat wrong with me now.
I had outgrown Twilight. Partly of my own doing, but also largely because of the media witch hunt that had targeted the books over many others novels that were just as bad.

At the end of the day, Twilight is just a set of novels. It was some lighthearted fun and entertainment and I picked the books up at the perfect age to enjoy them. The criticism was mostly warranted, but some took it too far and often placed things out of context. People started criticizing it when they had never even read the source material. It was held up as an example to society, and while I believe it is important for our world to criticize and analyse in order to learn, they approached it from a negative angle. Yes, there are many terrible messages in Twilight and I’m glad I was made aware of them so that I could learn, but when I read the books I didn’t actually take any of those messages on afterwards, in fact, I took a number of good messages from Twilight as strange as that sounds.

I always say that people should never feel ashamed of what they read and this is no exception. As far as I’m concerned, it’s okay to read Twilight for what it is, a bit of fun.

Which book are you most embarrassed to say you like/liked? What’s your view on Twilight? Feel free to let your outrage flow! If needs be, I’ll grab my boxing gloves. 😉

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
Banner: My own, please do not reuse.
Twilight Books: My own, please do not reuse.

58 thoughts on “DAY 24 Book You’re Most Embarrassed to Say You Like/Liked.

  1. I’ve never read or watched Twilight purely for snobbish reasons. Same as Fifty Shades really. I’ve absorbed all of the criticism and have become reluctant to try to be honest!

    • I, too, am snobbishly boycotting Fifty Shades – but my main prob. with it is the fact that it’s a more evolved form of E. L. What’s-her-face’s Twilight Fanfiction! Apparently it started off as a Twilight fic and morphed into an original story, but its connections are too palpable to ignore. This makes it impossible for me to read the books, because I would just picture Edward and Bella in some twisted Mirror, Mirror Universe ala Star Trek where there’s only an Empire instead of a Federation and the world has gone to crap! *exhausted breath*

      • Ha! I can sense your disdain. I think the whole Twilight phenomenon has just completely passed me by. I’m a Harry Potter nut through and through and I often think of Twilight as the below-par fantasy for modern teenagers. Wrong of me I know because I shouldn’t judge something that I haven’t read! I was reluctant to try The Hunger Games for similar reasons but I absolutely love that trilogy after taking the time to read them.

        Hmm, Fifty Shades. I haven’t read Twilight so I can’t be all annoyed at her blatant rip-offs. The thing that puts me off reading Fifty Shades is the poor grammar and sentence structure. It would completely get on my nerves. Sigh who knows, maybe I should try Twilight and Fifty Shades at some point, just to see what all the fuss was about.

      • Oh I don’t blame you really. I got into Twilight at just the right time (like Becky) – I was about 17 and I think it was the biggest “phenomenon” to occur since HP at the time. Gosh, will anything ever compare to HP? This is why I’m so reluctant to read any of JKR’s new work… I hear it’s great and all, but I just can’t bring myself to leave Hogwarts yet :/
        I am hearing good things about The Bone Season, though – I just got it, haven’t read it yet, and I’m hoping it’s worth all the hype because I could use another phenomenon about now since I just finished The Hunger Games trilogy and I loved it too! (I was also slow getting on that bandwagon)
        BLEGH bad sentences and grammar, no doubt, definite turn offs. It’s amazing how people can still get away with that despite passing the work through editors!

    • I don’t blame you Charl, with all the bull, criticism and constant chatter about both of these books it is enough to put someone off for a lifetime! I know I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t really want to discuss or talk about these books again, because what more is there to say? Having said that, I was surprised by how therapeutic writing this post was. 🙂

      Fifty Shades is a book that stretches my love-and-peace book tolerance to the max. I’m glad that people can enjoy it, but I don’t think I would!

  2. I read Twilight and its sequels…I read a lot of books, and the criticism seems a little unfounded. I found it enjoyable, the slant on vampires an interesting take on an old genre. Gothic romance, that’s all. I guess I missed the submissive subtext. The story was interesting enough to paper over its flaws.

    The only part I found odd was Bella’s father fancying one of her friends. Umm… Hello, Mr Creepy. Not sure how that got past the editor.

    • GOOD POINT about Charlie (Bella’s dad)! I don’t remember that – actually I like Charlie way more in the movies than the books. He’s kinda funny and awkward in the movies, like a real person, instead of this guy who seems like a lazy-ass dad expecting to be cooked for every night. I always think it’s cool to see guys reading/having read Twilight – rock on!

      • I LOVE Charlie in the movies, he’s one of their saving graces. Mind you, I adore the actor, he always plays fun roles from a Gilmore Girls love interest to a mastermind in Revolution. 🙂 There’s something very likable about him and he was so funny in Twilight! I totally agree, in the books he was practically a non-person who was always in the way.

    • Wow Tony, this impresses me. I would never have thought you would pick those books up but it’s awesome that you did! I second revolutionforbreakfast, it rocks when you come across a guy who has read Twilight because it’s aimed at females. It shows a great deal of openness to books. 😀

      I’m glad you also agree the criticism was inflated. I mean don’t get me wrong there are a lot of bad messages in there if you pay attention but most of them didn’t even cross my mind at the time. Agreed! A lot of people diss the sparkly vampire thing but at least it was different and original.

      Bella’s dad fancied one of her friends?! I don’t remember that, LOL. Who did he fancy? That’s definitely a bit creepy.

      • I read them a few years before the movies – which I’ve never seen – before the whole thing took off. I remember Bella’s dad fancied…I think it was Edward’s “sister”. The subplot was dropped in the next book, thankfully.

  3. I was the same way. I liked Twilight. I read it while I was getting an English degree and had a lot of upper level English classes, and this was right before the first movie came out and was obsessed for a while and I got so much other literature thrown at me, I changed tastes.

  4. I’m not embarrassed about any books that I like. I like what I like. I’m always interested in what other people think of the books I like, especially if they hated it. Taste is subjective. How boring would the world be if we all liked the same things?

    As for Twilight, I’ve never read it. I’m not interested in romance so it’s never appealed to me.

    • That’s good to hear! I don’t think people should have to feel bad about what they read, everyone has different tastes and so they like different things. It should be a good thing as opposed to bad, it makes us unique. 🙂 Hehe it is a bizarre but fun experience reading about a review of someone who hates one of your favourite books. It can be enlightening too!

      For someone who doesn’t like romance that is a very smart choice. 😛

      • I feel that I should qualify that by saying that I don’t dislike romantic entanglements in books, I just don’t like it when it’s the main thing. I hate reading women’s angst about whether or not a guy likes her. It makes me go blarglarglarlgle with a corresponding facial expression. I feel sure that Twilight would give me exactly that reaction. 🙂

      • It’s okay, I get what you mean and also totally understand! 🙂 A protagonist going on and on about a relationship they’re in or want to be in can be very repetitive and frustrating! Hehee blarglarglarlgle, love it!

        I feel Twilight would give you that expression too, best stay away methinks. 😛

  5. This is a great post, Becky – you give so much great insight into your reading experience with Twilight! I really appreciate how you describe the way that Twilight affected your following interests in literature and in a way encouraged you to keep reading and finding other great books. So many times people forget that this occurs – the Twilight novels can be criticized, but isn’t it important that at least it gets people READING? And especially, once the people have exhausted the Twilight story and are hungry for more, they read OTHER BOOKS? Is this not a good thing?! *exasperated sigh* The short answer is: of course it’s a good thing.

    This especially applies to kids, of course. It’s not easy getting kids to read these days since they’re given so many other distractions. I keep seeing a commercial for Amazon’s Kindle (an e-reader… not sure if they’re worldwide or just American… I think worldwide?). In the commercial, a “mom” figure sets the “parental controls” of the Kindle device so that the “little boy” can only play the “games features” for 45 minutes but has the option of “reading time” for up to “5 hours” or something ridiculous like that. So when the boy runs out of game time, what does he do? He puts the Kindle down with a disappointed frown and runs outside to play in the sunshine. That’s all well and good, getting out in the fresh air, but what about THE READING?!?! I think of Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory in one episode when someone gives a silly reply and he says, “Yet another child left behind.”

    But it’s so true! And so what about all of Twilight’s failures? I think we can all point to a ton of other YA books (or even books in general!) that are guilty of 2 or more “literary crimes” which take place in the Forks-verse. At least Twilight got kids not only *miraculously* reading, but it got them TALKING ABOUT the books. This happened with Harry Potter of course, the best, greatest literary phenomenon of all time, but there wasn’t much controversy in HP – with the exception of radical people who were all “DUMBLEDORE IS SATAN!” and other nonsense. The very controversy of Twilight – i.e. is Bella a good role model, is she someone I would aspire to be, is Edward the kind of guy I should realistically want to be with, etc. – is what makes it, I say, such a successful series. Even if a book/series (particularly YA books) fails in the ways of upholding the moral values and standards for which we allegedly strive, it can make up for all that by engaging us in a world where we discover exactly what we *don’t* want and don’t want to be.

    Overall, I still like the series – more so the movies than the books – and I think you’re absolutely right, Becky, there are good messages to be taken from this series despite all the backlash XD

    Great post, Becky! 😀 [See how great this topic is?! People always have loads to say! Self not excluded…]

    • Thank you Lauren, I’m so happy you enjoyed reading it. It turned out a lot longer than I expected! You’re spot on, even if Twilight is not the best literature in the world, it doesn’t mean it isn’t useful because if someone enjoys even one book they are more likely to seek out others! Your so right, many often forget this aspect of Twilight yet it is often cited in relation to Harry Potter. As much as I hate to admit it, I think Twilight was the first book to make me curious about classics because Bella read so many of them, and that made me think that maybe they WERE worth reading. But shhh, don’t tell anybody. 😉 So many people say reading badly written books is bad for teens, even if it gets them reading and I disagree so fervently with that!!!
      Yepp, they are worldwide but I’ve never seen that advert! That’s so sad. Was that meant to be promoting Kindle parental controls as opposed to reading or…? It seems like such a bizarre advert for their product. Reading on tablets even makes me sad, I’m not against other people doing it and they are really great for travel, but I just love the act of holding a book and turning physical pages, I spend so much time looking at a screen that I don’t want to read on one too. Plus, I love being able to stare at a bookshelf rather than a virtual one. 🙂 It really saddens me that most kids don’t read, they’re missing out!

      Exactly! I am in no way denying that Twilight has a lot of bad aspects but so do 80% of other books and probably 90% of TV shows! Twilight has been targeted further because of its young demographic (people are always concerned what the youth of today are reading/watching/listening to and how it is affecting them) and because of its popularity and none of the other books have had to pick up the slack. Ahh HP, of course. I do find the witchcraft angle a bit silly because they’re not ACTUAL spells a child can use, but everyone is entitled to their own beliefs so I guess I can’t fault it. 🙂
      Ha! That’s an interesting way of looking at it, they’re are aspects of their relationship I love and others that I definitely don’t want, LOL.

      I must admit I’m not a big fan of the movies, but there were a few good aspects. Thanks so much Lauren for really getting into the discussion! I love thought provoking comments like this. 😀

  6. I have no problem admitting that I am 48 years old, and I still love the Twilight series :). I would read it again in a heartbeat!! I actually don’t think there is a single book that I would say I am embarrassed to have read because I think that every book has its merits, whether few or many. I will read pretty much anything, and trust me, doing book reviews on the side I have had to read and review some pretty “interesting” books, some that shocked even me, but I don’t feel embarrassed about it :).

    • Hehee and I love that about you, Cindy! There’s no worry or concern about what somebody else thinks, you are just you, and that is so great to see because it doesn’t happen often these days. 🙂 I mean why bother trying to live your life to please someone else? It’s just not worth it!
      That’s so great that you can’t think of one book, I think Twilight is the only one I feel awkward about because of the amount of grief I got about it from others when I was a teen. Now that I’m older though I feel a lot happier about standing proud and saying ‘I liked Twilight!’

      LOL, I bet. 😀 It’s a great way to try new genre’s and books you wouldn’t normally pick up and I think that’s pretty cool.

  7. I enjoyed Twilight when I read them, except for book two, it irritated me so much because she was doing that “try to kill herself thing” cause E left her for some stupid reason. She was mopey and nothing happened except that she was a big fat tease to Jacob. There, I said it.
    I think people making negative comments did so because they got a reaction. Twilight hit the big time and they got “5 minutes” for creating outrage. Whatevs. I still see references to “my vampires don’t sparkle” or some sh*t which makes me chuckle, but I also see it now as a cheap shot. Anyway. I read a lot of YA and paranormal, and some romance and I used to turn my nose up at that stuff many moons ago, and I know many others who do too, so sometimes I still tell people what I read sheepishly. Mainly because people have the strongest opinions about things if they have never tried them…sooo. Whatever. I like being well read, and that includes a little bit of EVERYTHING! 🙂

    • Ughh, I cringe so much when I think back to book two, even the first time I read it I got annoyed. I thought it was quite romantic up to a point, but once she started doing ‘dangerous things’ to threaten her life I just got peeved. I remember being so irritated that she couldn’t see why Edward left as well. I loved the last few lovey dovey chapters when he came back though. :S Haha!
      That’s a good point, they definitely loved the reaction, in the end I just gave up because I didn’t have the energy, I wish my younger self had realised that earlier! Ha, yeah I remember the whole my vamps don’t sparkle thing too, oooh, and that one that had a picture of a plug and a plug socket with the caption ‘still a better love story than Twilight’, that was quite funny. You’re totally right though I do see them as cheap shots now, it’s like *sighhhh* you’re so unoriginal, at least come up with something new!

      I completely agree! To me, being well read does mean a bit of everything and I always hate when someone puts something down when they haven’t tried it. Good for you for reading whatever you want. 😀

  8. Seeing as we’re getting things out in the open here I must confess, I enjoyed them too. My wife bought them (she’ll probably forever remain a fan) and I read them too, and they didn’t make me gag. I did grow tired with the voice – who wants to be stuck in the head of a whiny teenage girl for over 2000 pages? But apart from that it was a fun read.

    I don’t think I’m like to ever read them again, though. In hindsight the characters are flat – I can’t think of a single character that’s truly well-rounded. Bella, let’s be honest, is kinda pathetic the way she feels sorry for herself and just throws herself at this guy. The male characters are all about testosterone (except for Carlisle). The fact that a vampire’s only weakness is other vampires, while a new spin on the myth, does make things a bit boring. I’ve already mentioned the voice, and the fact that the narration switches to Jacob in New Moon could be considered a way to circumvent poor planning.

    Aside from the fact that the series is targeted at teenage girls (who will all identify with Bella and fall in love with either Edward or Jacob – I see you were member of Club Edward), once you start learning about what is considered “good writing” it kind of ruins the series for you (a problem I encountered with Dan Brown as well).

    I like your “knight in shining armour”-bit. Was that a deliberate reference to his shiny skin?

    • Whoaaa, no way! I never would have though you would read the Twilight series Kokkieh, that’s kind of surreal but really awesome. 🙂 There’s something cool about a guy being willing to pick up a book aimed at girls and I’m so happy you admitted it. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed them originally and I fully agree Bella’s voice could get annoying if you read too much of it in one go. I did enjoy some of her spins on the vampire mythology, I know I lot of people think they were dumb and ruined what ‘real vampires’ are supposed to stand for, but at least it was different and original! I’m sure the pov doesn’t switch to Jacob in New Moon, but it did in Breaking Dawn and ohh geez I found that frustrating. I didn’t want to be in Jacob’s head because he whines about EVERYTHING.

      Ha, I don’t blame you! They don’t really warrant reading again unless you get a large amount of enjoyment out of them, they’re not like a classic that you would likely pick up different messages in them etc. The characters are flat, that’s a good way of putting it and none more so than Bella! But then, when you’re a teenage girl you just read it as if you are Bella so it kind of works.

      Hehee I was Team Edward all the way *waves pom poms.* I totally agree with your comment, I read the books originally before I had any idea what ‘good writing’ was and I think that’s another reason why I was able to enjoy it more then. I wish left it at that without rereading and ruining them. Don’t get me wrong, I would still enjoy certain aspects of it even now, but I would also cringe at a lot of it.

      Ha, it was. 😛

  9. I hadn’t even heard of Twilight until I started seeing the adverts for the film on the side of buses all over the place. Your recount of it makes it sound like a scary cult.

    I used to love the Famous Five/Secret Seven books as a nipper but that was yonks ago. I quite enjoyed The Hunger Games so I guess they could count for this.

    Mind you, the fact I like Batman comics isn’t something I shout about either.

    • Ahh, ignorance is bliss on this occasion, trust me! It wasn’t a scary cult at all, just a bit of fun, but like with all teen related obsessions some people took it further than they should have.

      The Hunger Games series was awesome, I loved them. 🙂 I’ve never read any of the Famous Five books but I know they’re really popular.

      Hahaa, Batman it is then!

  10. I don’t believe I’m ashamed to have read any book. My one pet hate is book snobbery. I believe people to should be able to read the books they enjoy. I too read the Twilight series. Like you I loved the first book. I really liked the detail Meyer put into the simple day to day life of Bella, like shopping, cooking, studying, and reading. As the series progressed I became less enthralled and the final book killed it for me really. But the majority of the series was easy and fun to read. If that is what you want to read then that it nothing to be ashamed of. Reading a series like this could get individuals to read who might not otherwise read which can only be seen as a positive.

    • That’s great Jessica, I wish I could feel that way but Twilight is my one embarrassment lol, although I’m much more happy admitting it these days. I completely agree with you because book snobbery is one of my main pet peeves as well! Grr. Reading is supposed to be about enjoyment and so we should promote people reading what they love not what is considered a ‘high standard’. Besides, if someone finds even one book they like they may be more likely to search out ‘highbrow’ books later.
      Weirdly I liked the last book the most! I think because it had more of Bella and Edward just being happy with the wedding and honeymoon etc, but thinking about the latter part of the book REALLY makes me cringe now. :S

      I completely agree! Thanks for sharing, Jessica. 🙂

  11. I loved Twilight and it’s the reason I started writing YA. I hate it when people criticise someone else’s tastes, you should be able to like whatever you want and shout it proudly. In my opinion is far better to read books than not to because you’re scared of being laughed at for what you like.

    • Wow, that’s great Twilight nspired you that much, Victoria! I completely agree with you, everyone is unique and if they like something that you don’t that shouldn’t an opening to criticize them. There is nothing wrong with being who you are, tastes, preferences and all. 🙂

  12. I feel so cultured that me and my friends all doodled names of LotR characters in our margins and saw Aragorn as the perfect husband but of course this had much more to do with the films than the books so maybe not!

    I’m not particularly ashamed of anything on my bookshelf but when I was younger I did have an obsession with The Babysitter’s Club which I hid from the world. Bot that there’s anything particularly wrong with them, more that it was unlike what anyone would have expected me to read.

    And I did feel a tad silly reading The Princess Diaries in public at the age of 25.

    • Noo wayy! You were too cool. I wish I could say the same but II wasn’t even reading classics then, let alone doodling about them. Once I saw the films I fell in love with them but I’m not sure at what age that was. Aragorn IS the perfect husband, you got that right. 😛 (My opinion on this also has more to do with the movies, woop, woop.)

      That’s great that you feel so positively about your reading choices, it’s the best way to be. 🙂 I’ve vaguely heard of The Babysitter’s Club and tried to read The Princess Diaries but didn’t get on with it. I understand your uncertainty about reading it in public at an older age, I would probably feel the same!

      Thanks for commenting and sorry for the delay of my reply. 🙂

      • Strangely that’s not what most of my school thought…! I did read the books at the time (I think I was 13/14ish) but I’m the only one of my friends who did – we were more about the films. Actually thinking about it again I think I’d rather marry Eomer so you can have Aragorn 😉

        The Babysitter’s Club had an entire bookcase at my local library but now I can’t remember why I liked them so much. And The Princess Diaries is not really worth reading, I only read it because it’s on The List but I didn’t really enjoy it and it’s very pink to be reading in public!! I just bought a couple of Jacqueline Wilson books which I’m quite happy to read in front of people because she’s awesome 🙂

      • Ha I bet! But school people have no good taste at that age, you were obviously a rare case. 😛 To be honest LOTR is one of the rare cases where I enjoy the films more than the books, Tolkien is a genius but he can go on a bit. Yay, I’m far to happy about having him all to myself. 😉

        Ugh pink, I hate pink. Yeah Princess Diaries is one of those rare cases where I didn’t even finish it, and that’s saying a lot coming from me! I adore some of Meg Cabot’s books but that was not one of them, LOL. I think they might get better as they go along because she wrote the first very early on, but I wasn’t sticking around to find out.
        I highly approve of the Jacqueline Wilson. 🙂

  13. Well, since this has turned into somewhat of a confession session here in the comments I might as well come clean too… I liked Twilight as well.
    Like you I jumped on the bandwagon prior to the films came out and got completely sucked into the hype. I even read the few chapters of the other book she wrote but only published online. I can’t remember the name of it but it’s essentially Twilight but from Edward’s perspective… Yes, I know. I was a terrible person. And it was only after I actually watched Eclipse that I thought ‘this is actually really godawful.’
    I still have all the books, and the old 16 inside me still secretly enjoys the memories of liking them but now I can safely agree with the vast majority that the Twilight series is absolutely terrible.

    • Ahhhhh, there’s a Twilight fan in most of us, Lottie. 😉 I must admit I wasn’t sure if you were going to be a fan or not, but I’m glad that you’ve admitted to liking it! I think it was hard not to get sucked into the hype, most people I know have read Meyer’s books even if they aren’t big readers. I actually read her unpublished book as well *blushes* and I remember loving it! I think it might have been called Midnight Sun or something like that. Haha! Eclipse the film was terrible…actually, New Moon was too…ohh ALL of them were terrible in so many ways! 😛 I still kind of like the first one though because even though it is quite cringe-ey, it’s probably also the most accurate portrayal of the book, and it had a weird moody feel about it whereas the others felt like big budget productions.

      Me too, although they’re hidden behind other books on my shelf. Hehee, I couldn’t agree more. 🙂 Thanks for commenting Lottie and I’m sorry it took so long for me to reply!

      • Hahahaha oh yes, I was definitely a fan! Come on Becky, be serious. Was I ever not going to be? Really? 😉
        Midnight Sun!! That was it! Hilarious. I remember there was a huge group of us in my school year who all loved the Twilight series and one of the girls had printed out the entire copy of Midnight Sun and stapled it together like a book and we shared it around us one by one, when we all had withdrawal symptoms after finishing Breaking Dawn! Ha, that makes it sound like a pornography magazine or something equally prohibited! Well, I guess liking Twilight is a bit taboo…
        I know what you mean about the moody feel of the first film. I definitely like that aspect to it. It feels a lot more indie and grungy. I mean even the colour isn’t great, I swear half of it has a weird blue tinge… I think it’s because after the first one took off the producers essentially just threw money at the film franchise and it made it worse! Oh well.

      • Ohh my gosh I am so sorry it has taken me FOREVER to get round to replying to this comment.
        Well you never know with these things although I think it’s safe to say that their is a Twilight lover hidden somewhere inside of most of us, not matter how much we try to deny it. 😛

        No wayyy! That’s an awesome idea, your friends were clever, I read it online squinting at the screen, it would have been much more pleasant on paper. It does, but that’s what I mean! It’s gotten to the point where we have to feel bad and secretive about liking a book, it’s sad really.

        Ohh good, I’m glad that made some kind of sense. You’re right about the colour, everything had a blue grey tinge, including all the clothes everyone wears, jackets, tops etc all match the colour scheme. Throwing money at the series definitely didn’t work for me.

  14. I meant to go back and re-read the books last year before the final film came out, but I didn’t get around to it. Twilight for me was pure escapism and will continue to be. I’m still a Twilight fan and not one bit ashamed. 🙂

    • I always find it’s good not to reread books before a film adaptation comes out even though I feel the temptation like an itch because then I spend the whole film noting how it has changed from the book, lol. 🙂
      Twilight is pure escapism and that’s how people should look at it, instead of analysing it to death!
      It’s so great that you are a Twilight fan and proud. 😀

  15. Great post 🙂 I’ll come clean – I’ve read them all, and can say that if you gave me the first book to read, I would still enjoy it for the clutzy relationship bits – the rest of the series less so, because I like a bit of action and surprises, two things SM doesn’t do so well. I think for the same reason, I enjoyed Midnight Sun – the new relationship, most teen-reaslistic bits, were the best part of the series and I imagine what caught people’s attention so much – like you say the rest of the story was incidental to the romance bit. (btw – really lost the will to live with Breaking Dawn and not a fan of the Host – I think that is more problematic in terms of negative m/f relationships…)

    Another confession: I also don’t mind the films in general – but I wonder if that is because a) I saw Twilight first, then tried the books and so I took that as my introduction to the characters, and b) having studied film at uni, I tend to look for the best offered between the two mediums rather than looking that the film loses too much detail, etc. – the films certainly picked up some of the s-l-o-w pace for me and threw in some action. They’re not amazing cinema, but they tell the same story as the books – maybe that’s why people see the weakness – there wasn’t much of a story outside the relationship…?

    I don’t think anyone should ever really be ashamed of a book they’ve enjoyed – I also think books like Twilight are ‘of an age’ and I can see how for people at certain ages (or points in their life) with a shared love of a book, film, etc. can become a mini-obsession – hell, there’s a bit of Bella in everyone. Too much of anything is a wee bit unhealthy, and I think that’s what people see more when they look at these now, instead of just reading it for what it is – who hasn’t been self-concious, stuck someone on a pedestal, obsessed a bit and done something stupid? Bella takes it to extremes, but I think part of this is down to the first person narration – there’s no other filter to how Bella sees the world and makes her decisions – no one comes off well if you see everything about them.

    I’ve just finished a couple of books – straight forward YA slightly paranormal slant – and I was wondering how to rate them… At first I felt like they couldn’t be 5* because they were just fun and nothing too out of the norm. But, realistically they were: I enjoyed the first enough to go straight out and buy the next, then read that in a couple of days – the characters were great, it was mildly cheesy in parts, and had some great unrealistic action, a la James Bond – great fun!

    Sometimes just reading something, whether it’s fluff and fun or high-brow and literary doesn’t matter – if you enjoy it, you enjoy it – end of story. I also think that initial first feeling you get from reading a book – perhaps something like Twilight – is the genuine one: without any second-guessing, psychoanlysis of the characters and in-depth reviews about misogyny in contemporary teen literature – you can leave that to your literature essays and just take away whether it made you feel something and put a smile on your face (or a frown!)

    Sorry – this became a HUGE comment – you just got me thinking 🙂

    • Hi Mel, so sorry in the delay in replying! Things have been hectic lately. Thank you so much for the long comment, no need to apologize and I’m so excited that I got you thinking. 😀

      I agree, I think the first book was the best of the series and after that things got more wackly as Meyer tried to find more material, having said that, I still loved all of the other books at the time and I actually remember Breaking Dawn being my favourite. :S I don’t think that would be the case now though…I’m also in full agreement that she doesn’t do twists well at all. The romance was definitely key to my love of these books, the other vampires could have vanished for all I cared, Bella and Edward could of stayed in the house the entire series but if it was romantic I still would have adored it. 😛 I actually remember loving The Host when I read it…but then I originally loved Twilight so who knows?

      Interesting that you’re a fan of the films, there is nothing wrong with that! And I agree that in places they did pick up the pace, however I still found myself incredibly bored during several parts of each of the films and I always find that worrying sign. My main issue with the films is that I didn’t like how big budget they became, it felt like the charm was lost somewhere along the way. That’s a great point, I think the weaknesses were due largely to the lack of story around the relationship!

      So glad you feel that way, Mel. 🙂 Twilight was definitely a mini obsession for me over a period of time and I got a lot of fun out of it. Bella is an extremist but I also think this aspect allows teens to live vicariously though her and to see what happens if you do push those boundaries – so that they don’t actually feel the need to do it themselves. The first person narration definitely didn’t help! It made her come off as very whiny and self obsessed, which lets face it, on the inside most of us are that way! We don’t necessarily act on it but we always think about ourselves first and others later, it’s human nature.

      So glad you’ve read some great YA books recently! I absolutely love your theory that your first impression of a book is the most genuine one, I’m going to remember that thought, I think there is a lot of truth to it. Sometimes it is important to let yourself have a gut reaction as a reader and just go with your emotions, the analysing can come later but books first and foremost should be entertainment. 🙂 Thanks for the thoughtful comment!

  16. I really enjoyed the Twilight books – not afraid to admit it – but then the films came out and ruined the entire thing. It was all the hype over Robert Patterson and done it for me. I can’t stand him and I got fed up of seeing and hearing him everywhere I went.

    I did really enjoy the first Fifty Shades book – kinda afraid to admit – however I couldn’t get into the second one. It was all too samey. I will no doubt be watching the film when/if they make it though hahah.

    • So happy you are open about admitting it, Jenny, you don’t find many people that are willing to these days which I think is really sad. The films ruined it for me too, both because of the hype, the criticism and the way they were made. I didn’t mind all the stuff over Patterson too much but it did get a bit ridiculous after a while. If you couldn’t stand him though, oh boy I am not surprised because you couldn’t get away from him!

      I haven’t read Fifty Shades and don’t really plan to but again, similarly to Twilight, I find it such a shame that people have to feel bad about saying they have read it! I’m sorry to hear the second book was a letdown. I’m intrigued by the film too, I’m wondering how they’re going to transfer all the sex scenes to the big screen without disappointing fans.

      Thanks for commenting Jenny and I’m sorry for the delay replying. 🙂

  17. I refuse to believe even one word of this post.
    (It’s all lies, LIES I tell you.)

    ‘By this time I had experimented with a lot more literature.’ -this has to be your most classic line ever! You make it sound like a naughty addiction 😀

    • HAAHAAAA, ohhh Nisha, I just KNEW you would love this post! 😛

      LOL, thanks. While everyone else was experimenting with alcohol I was experimenting with literature. SUCH A REBEL. Careful don’t come too close, it may rub off on you. 🙂
      My purse certainly thinks so!

  18. I’m EXACTLY the same, EXACTLY. When I read the books I loved them, I even read them again a month or so later just because I felt like I wanted more! And, like you said, it was Twilight that inspired me to pick up other YA paranormal novels (which is practically all I read now.) Twilight was the series that really started my ‘reading bug’ and got me into reading as much as I do. But it’s true, the film brought a lot of criticism and Twilight became like a dirty word. But I’ll admit as the films went on I think it just got a bit old and, like you, I think I just outgrew it.

    • Hahaaa that is so funny, so glad we are on the same wave length! 🙂 I too felt the need to reread the books almost instantly after reading them, I think I got to the second book and then life got in the way until I tried to reread them on that fateful day and realised I had outgrown them.
      Like you, Twilight did SO MUCH for my reading habits, I couldn’t get enough of paranormal romance at the time and I still read quite a lot of it now. I’m so happy it had the same affect for you. 🙂
      A ‘dirty word’ – exactly, I couldn’t have said it better myself. It’s amazing how quickly the media tide can turn on something popular, it really shows the power they have. At least we can say Twilight helped improve our lives in many ways, even if we don’t like it anymore. 🙂

      • I know! it’s always awesome when that happens 🙂 ahh I’m glad, I thought I was just uber-obsessed, glad I wasn’t the only one :p
        Aw! That’s why I don’t regret reading them, because it opened the door to the genre for me, which I love now.
        Yeah definitely, it’s a shame really when things like that happen but I suppose you can’t please everyone. Sometimes I think as well with things like that, the fact that it is so popular and over-exposed makes you not want to like it just because it’s EVERYWHERE! I think that’s how I eventually started to feel with the films, by the time the third one came out I was pretty over it.
        Hahaha true, our reading habits at least! :p

      • Hehee nope, I think there was a lot of us. 😛

        You definitely can’t please everyone out there so there’s no point trying, that’s why I always think it’s best to live your life however you want to live it. 🙂 I totally agree, overexposure is a sure way to put me off a film/TV series/book because I have a little contrary streak in me, and it tends to come out with things like that!

Leave a Reply

