DAY 26: A Book That Makes You Laugh Out Loud.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

I don’t tend to seek out humorous books, I’m more of a dragons, demons and vampires kinda gal, so my laugh out loud moments normally come from unexpected places. I had to think about this question for a bit to come up with my answers, but when I did it was a light bulb moment of epic proportions! How could I have almost forgotten these two wonderful series?! 

My first, probably quite popular choice is the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series by Louise Rennison. All you have to do is look at the titles of these novels and know you’re in for some crazy fun.

Georgia Nicolson series

These books are sure to get a laugh out of anyone, and when I say laugh, I mean giggling, snorting and enthusiastic chuckling until your stomach hurts too much from the hilarity of it all. 😀

This ten book series follows Georgia Nicolson through the trials and tribulations of being a teenager, from embarrassing parents to awkward dating moments. Georgia is bubbly, flamboyant and ultimately shallow and because of this she is always getting into bizarre and laughable situations, whether it’s falling over in public places or gluing her eyes together with her fake eyelashes. Basically think of the most mortifying situation you could ever imagine happening in a public place and then times it by ten, that’s around where you’ll find Georgia, clinging to her sense of humour to get her through the shame.
One of the things I loved about this series was the number of fun phrases the characters come out with: Boy entrancers, aggers, sophisticosity, wisdomosity, nunga nungas and many more. She is also wonderfully over British which is funny in itself, adding a certain charm. 🙂

I wasn’t really expecting to like these books much when I picked them up. They looked quite shallow and overly girly and I’m not really like that, but I soon got swept up in Georgia’s comic life. This is a definite must read for any teen!

~ * ~

The second series that made me laugh out loud was the Airhead Trilogy by Meg Cabot. Again this series turned out the be a pleasant surprise, it was lent to me by the same friend  that allowed me to borrow the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series and without her help, I probably wouldn’t have bothered with this trilogy. Thank the book Gods for friends with great taste. 😛

Airhead 1      Airhead 2      Airhead 3

Em Watts is a teen with an average life. She enjoys her tomboy lifestyle, baggy clothes, video games and most importantly making fun of all things fashion and overly girly. But then she gets into a freak accident at a mall and wakes up in the body of someone else, a supermodel.
Well hell.
Now Em has to endure photo shoots, catwalks, public appearances and hours of primping. Most importantly, she has to figure how to get back into her own body!

This series was so awesome and funny, although I think your enjoyment of it would depend on what kind of teen you were/are. If you were very into all things girly and dreamed of being famous you might find Em’s thoughts and this series a little baffling, because how could waking up as a beautiful supermodel be a bad thing? I as a teen however, was a bit of a tomboy. I wasn’t an extreme one because I liked girly stuff too, but I played a lot of sports in my free time, rock climbing, biking etc. and I refused to let anyone come near me with pink or anything resembling a skirt. For this reason I could identify with where Em was coming from and found her attempts at modeling hilarious. Going from baggy oversized tops and jeans to prancing around in a bikini and stilettos was a bit of a shock, and honestly I just loved watching her squirm!

These series are both worth checking out if you have the time and need a good chuckle or fancy an easy but entertaining read. 🙂

Which books make you laugh out loud? Have you read Rennison or Cabot?

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
Challenge Banner: My own, please do not reuse.
Louise Rennison Books: http://www.flutteringbutterflies.com/2012/02/love-triangles-good-guys-and-bad-boys.html

24 thoughts on “DAY 26: A Book That Makes You Laugh Out Loud.

  1. I haven’t read either of those series, but I agree that the names are most intriguing. The one that always got a laugh out of me was A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole. A friend told me she liked to watch me read that book because my eyebrows would always shoot up. It does have some of the worst insults I think I’ve ever read.

    • Haha they are pretty out there, I wasn’t too sure what to think when I first came accoss them, and it felt a bit awkward to read them in public! Oooh I’ve never heard of that but the title sounds funny.
      Awwh that’s hilarious! I always wonder what expressions I pull when I’m reading. I have to say I think I would find it entertaining to watch you read that book too. I’ll keep my eyes out for the title. 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. I always wanted to read “Help, I’m being held prisoner in a toothpaste factory”, just from the title. Sounds like a hoot. Perhaps there’s some inverse law of longer title equals funnier book?

    Travel writer Bill Bryson always raises a smile for me, although he can just as quickly turn grumpy. And then there’s the fantastic Douglas Adams.

    • Hahaa I can see why, the title is hilarious and quirky, it makes me want to read it too! I think you’re right there, It’s hard to make two or three words funny and I think that’s why they end up being longer. I’ve never thought about it before. 🙂

      I’ve never heard of Bill Bryson and I still have yet to pick up a Douglas Adams book, I’m a little worried it won’t be my sort of humor and I’m not big on alien type things so it makes me a bit hesitant. There’s always tons of copies of it in the bookshop though so that makes me curious!

  3. I love the airhead trilogy – I have ’em all!
    I am actually a Meg Cabot MEGAFAN having read through oodles of her books (the princess diaries, Avalon high, mediator series and so on)!!!!
    Glad to know that you enjoyed her books and you got a laugh out of them! They truly are fabulous.
    🙂

    • Yay! I think you’re the first online person I have come across who has actually read these books. 🙂
      It’s really odd for me, because when I find a book of hers I like, I LOVE it, but others of hers I find fall flat. I really couldn’t get on with Abandon or All American Girl but adored The Mediator series and many others! I would still definitely class her as a favourite author though ad I’m so happy you’re a megafan. 😀

      Thanks for commenting!

  4. Under books that have made me laugh out loud I can list every Discworld book I’ve ever read. There were also quite a few scenes in Harry Potter that had me lol-ing, but the best humerous book I’ve read recently is The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. The title should tell you this is no ordinary story. There’s a review somewhere on my site (too lazy to go hunt for a link right now). Lastly there’s Bill Bryson. He writes travelogues and general non-fiction, but incredibly witty.

    • Every Discworld book? Whoa, that’s quite an impressive feat by Terry Pratchett there! It’s great that you’ve found his series so consistent.
      I think people often underestimate the value of Rowling’s sense of humour, it really adds to her books and people don’t seem to mention it much, because it’s more of an underlying aspect of her writing I guess. You know, every time I read the title of that one it makes me laugh, I’ve always been dubious how the book could live up to the title, I was worried it might of been those that fizzled out, so I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Oooh, Tony mentioned Bill Bryson too, a double recommendation! I’ve gotta look this guy up. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  5. Two series come right to mind – Demon Hunting in Dixie by Lexi George (pretty smutty too :)) and the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. They both made me laugh out loud, no matter where I was, sometimes embarrassing myself in the process.

    • Funny and smutty? Awesome! Always a good combination. I feel a little out of touch, I haven’t heard of EITHER of these series. 😛 I love when I’m in public reading a book and I laugh out loud and people look at me weird. I know that seems odd but I just smile to myself because they obviously don’t understand the true wonder of a book. It’s like having your own secret club. 😀

  6. Like you I don’t necessarily seek out humorous books being more a fantasy and historical kind of girl. There are two series though that books from are bound to make me laugh out loud and those are Discworld by Terry Pratchett and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams 😛

    • Oooh that’s two mentions for the Discworld and Hitchhiker, this is a very good sign. 🙂 I do have a couple of the Discworld books but I haven’t attempted any of them yet, when books are actually geared towards humour I get a little nervous because it’s a subjective thing! I always worry it won’t be MY sort of humour, if that makes sense. 😛 I think I need to dive in head first and not think too much.

  7. I read the first four Georgia Nicolson books when I was a teenager! I borrowed them off a friend and I remember really enjoying them. Didn’t know there had been so many actually, think I’m due a re-read! Sigh, yet more books to add to my list.

    • Haha snap with the borrowing of the series! Maybe they’re the kind of books you borrow rather than buy. 😛 I remember really enjoying then too, there was definitely some snorting involved!

      Maybe so, but they are extremely easy reads so I’m sure you would get through them in no time. 🙂

  8. LOL, those Rennison titles alone made me laugh! But I’m not sure if I want to read them. I’m a natural empathizer so I always feel terribly embarrassed for others which is why I hate those reality talent shows were contestants make fools of themselves.
    If you ever get a chance (I know, I know I can imagine you screaming: IS SHE KIDDING???? HAS SHE SEEN MY TBR LIST????), grab a copy of Spud by South African author John van de Ruit. Hilarious. It was made into a movie with John Cleese in it but even with the great Cleese it didn’t do the actual book justice. 🙂

    • I know right? 😛 I was really hesitant to read them myself, they’re not normally what I would pick up at all! I was surprised by how much I enjoyed them. I guess it’s a good thing I have a friend with very different tastes because it makes me go out of my comfort reading zone more! I’m not good with talent shows like that either but something about this series really works.

      HAHAAAA!! 😀 Half my brain screams that, the other half goes yay books! It’s like the devil and the angel sitting on my shoulders, LOL. I will keep an eye out for Spud, I’m always looking for more varied authors these days. There are so many UK and American ones here which gives quite a limited picture of literature, there are so many other amazing countries with amazing authors out there! It’s a shame you have to search them out instead of them just being in bookshops. 🙂

  9. I’ve heard of the first series because of the movie adaptation but like you, it’s not generally what I initially go for. But I will give it a try because you have good judgment! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Ohh yes of course, the movie adaptation, I forgot to mention that! I did like it but of course, the film was nothing compared to the book. While it had the main essence I didn’t think it was nearly as funny. 🙂
      I hope you do, it’s a fantastic series. Thanks for commenting Lindsey!

  10. I’ve been reading (and enjoying) every day of your thirty day book challenge, and I’m only sorry haven’t made it onto the comments more (I’ve been reading them on my phone). The Rennison books had me laughing out loud as well, and now really want to pick up the Meg Cabot series. The author that makes me laugh out loud the most is probably Kim Harrison with her Rachel Morgan series. 🙂

    • Awwwh, thank you Niki, it means so much to hear you have been reading along and enjoying. 😀 No worries about the comments, I’m just grateful to have you reading at all! Hehe.
      So happy to hear you are a fan of Rennison as well, while I was checking some facts for this post I realised she has written a few other books too, so now I may have to check them out too.
      I hope you decide to pick up the Airhead Trilogy, they are so much lighthearted fun and the characters are great as well. 🙂

      I’ve never heard of the Rachel Morgan series, I will make sure to look it up!

  11. Okay I know this comment is really belated, but YESSSSSS!!! to the Georgia Nicolson series! Hiarlious – I wish we had the British title versions here because the second American one is “On the Bright Side, I’m Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God” which I don’t think is as amusing as “It’s Okay, I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers” XD Probably other American versions of the others, as well, which is annoying. Why must America … AMERICANIZE EVERYTHING?! I don’t know, because many of us are anglophiles! Anywho, never heard of the Airhead books, and the only Meg Cabot books I’ve read have been a couple Mediator ones, but these sound like some amusing YA books – I also like the fact that Em doesn’t *want* to be a supermodel 🙂 Yay for noncomformity!
    Great choices! 😀

    • Hahaa no worries! My comment is belated in replying to your comment too, so I think we should just keep it quiet and nobody will ever know. 😉

      I was so excited when I saw you mention her books on your own blog, they really are fantastically fun novels for when you need a little break from life. They changed the titles?!?! Awwwh man that’s no good, no good at all! The titles are so great as they are, it’s a shame that they changed them. Maybe it is because knickers is a British word and they worried some people wouldn’t ‘get it’ or something odd like that. To be honest I’m surprised they didn’t keep it because its Britishness might have attracted more readers to it. Hahaa, I love your angst. 😛
      I had never come across the Airhead books until I saw them on my friends shelf, I don’t think they’re overly well know unless you are a big Cabot fan, which is a shame because they’re REALLY good. 😀
      Agreed on the non-conformity and thank you!

Leave a Reply

