DAY 28: Favorite Quote From a Book.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

My first thought when I saw this was how can I pick ONE favourite quote? Are they mad?

My second thought was, EVERYTHING TOLKIEN AN ROWLING.

Yeah, I’m not predictable, nu-uh.

It is only within the last year or so that I have started collecting quotes, which is probably a good thing because if I’d been doing it for longer this would be a full on essay! So this post is basically an eclectic mix of quotes I love, a few have been mentioned on the blog before in reviews or my meme Quoting the Quill, while others are entirely new. I hope you enjoy. 🙂

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky:

‘We accept the love we think we deserve’.

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling:

“The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.” (The Philosopher’s Stone)

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” (The Philosopher’s Stone)

“Indifference and neglect often do much more damage than outright dislike.” (The Order of the Phoenix)

Emma by Jane Austen:

‘She looked back as well as she could; but it was all confusion. She had taken up the idea she supposed and made everything bend to it.’

‘Seldom, very seldom dies complete truth belong to any human disclosure; seldom can it happen that something is not a little disguised or a little mistaken.’

The Help by Kathryn Stockett:

‘Write about what disturbs you, particularly if it bothers no one else.’

Great Expectation by Charles Dickens:

I resolved to tell my gaurdian that I doubted Orlick being the right sort of man to fill a post of trust at Miss Havisham’s. ‘Why of course he is not the right sort of man, Pip,’ said my guardian, comfortably satisfied beforehand on the general head, ‘because the man who fills the post of trust never is the right sort of man.’

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald:

‘He talked a lot about the past, and I gathered that he wanted to recover something, some idea of himself perhaps, that had gone into loving Daisy. His life had been confused and disordered since then, but if he could once return to a certain starting place and go over it all slowly, he could find out what that thing was…’

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien:

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for us to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

‘All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken:
The crownless again shall be king.’

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson:

‘As I walk through the redwood trees, my sneakers sopping up days of rain, I wonder  why bereaved people even bother with mourning clothes, when grief itself provides such an unmistakable wardrobe.’

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë:

“The thing that irks me most is this shattered prison, after all. I’m tired, tired of being enclosed here. I’m wearying to escape into that glorious world, and to be always there: not seeing it dimly through tears and yearning for it through the walls of an aching heart, but really with it, and in it.”

The Black Magicians’ Trilogy by Trudi Canavan:

‘It is said, in Imardin, that the wind has a soul, and that it wails through the narrow streets because it is grieved by what it find there.’ (The Magicians’ Guild)

“So what were you [Sonea] and Dorrien discussing before?” Akkarin asked.
She turned to regard him. “Discussing?”
“Outside the farmhouse when I was buying the food.”
“Oh, Then. Nothing.”
He smiled and nodded. “Nothing. Amazing subject, that one. Produces such fascinating reactions in people.“ (The High Lord)

Do you have a favourite quote/s from a book? 🙂

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
Header Image: My own, please do not reuse.

25 thoughts on “DAY 28: Favorite Quote From a Book.

    • I LOVE that one too! I made myself pick only three though, because otherwise I would have gone on forever. :S

      Weirdly from this I’ve discovered I collect a lot more author quotes than book quotes, who knew. 😀

  1. I also have a page on my blog with random quotes from books, but here I share my two favorites.

    “We are always more afraid than we wish to be, but we can always be braver than we expect.” – Lord of Chaos by Robert Jordan, Book 6 of The Wheel of Time, Sorilea talking to Egwene.

    “The life of a person is more than just the chaos of it’s passing.” – The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson, third book in the Mistborn trilogy.

    • Oooh that’s a great idea, I have been really enjoying using a meme as a quote outlet but I love the idea of having a whole page dedicated to them too. 🙂 I’ve been thinking of keeping a notebook of them so I can look at them for inspiration when I’m out and about.

      Love both the quotes, very inslightful and highly approve that they are both from fantasy authors. 😉

  2. Wow, this could be a long list!

    “Some walks you have to take alone.”
    Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay. I managed to spin a pretty good short story out of that one. 🙂

    “We kill all the caterpillars and complain there are no butterflies.”
    John Marsden, The Dead of Night

    “Memories mean more to me than dresses.”
    Anne Frank

    “Writing is a lonely job. Having someone who believes in you makes a lot of difference. They don’t have to makes speeches. Just believing is usually enough.”
    ― Stephen King, On Writing

    “This must be Thursday,’ said Arthur to himself, sinking low over his beer. ‘I never could get the hang of Thursdays.”
    ― Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

    “Some birds are not meant to be caged, that’s all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild. So you let them go, or when you open the cage to feed them they somehow fly out past you. And the part of you that knows it was wrong to imprison them in the first place rejoices, but still, the place where you live is that much more drab and empty for their departure.”
    ― Stephen King, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption

    • It could! It got to the point where I had to stop with this post or it could have gone on forever.

      I have the Suzanne Collins and Anne Frank one on my Goodreads! They’re excellent and wow, I am loving so many of these quotes you’ve mentioned Tony! I’m definitely going to have to write some of these down, I may even use a few on my meme. 😉 I especially connect with the John Marsden and Stephen King ones, they’re brilliant.

      Thanks for sharing, these have brightened my day. 😀

  3. I love: “It is winter here in Narnia, and has been for ever so long, and we shall both catch cold if we stand here talking in the snow. Daughter of Eve from the land of Spare Oom where eternal summer reigns around the bright city of War Drobe, how would it be if you came and had tea with me?” Mr Tumnus from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe 🙂

    • Haha, War Drobe – I love it. 🙂
      C.S. Lewis always has such fabulous quotes and this one is not exception! I enjoyed The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and one of his others books but never got around to reading the rest of the series. I think I should probably rectify that!

      Thank you for sharing Jessica. 🙂

  4. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” also made it in to my list 🙂 I had a quick flick through on Goodreads and found most of my favourite quotes aren’t from fiction books – Einstein definitely has some of the best (the reality one is a picture I have above my ‘ready/writey’ chair):

    “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”
    “Logic will get you from A to Z; imagination will get you everywhere.”
    “Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.”
    “If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.”

    I loved that for someone with such a scientific mind, he understood the importance of art and imagination – science and logic alone will only get you so far – the leaps forward are in the creative.

    I think this is my favourite one for love/relationships – so simple, but such an honest feeling:
    “If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.” ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

    • I do love that one, and I guess it is especially relevant for bookworms who like to go for adventures in others worlds. Dreams are fine, but when they border on obsession it’s time to back away and live in the present. 🙂

      Oooh that’s a very interesting observation. I think one of the issues with quotes from fiction books is that they don’t necessarily hold as much weight when they aren’t in context, and maybe that’s why non-fiction is better!

      I love the infinite one, I think I’ve come across that a few times on Goodreads and the fairytales one as well. The A-Z one is brilliant!! 😀 And I love your reason behind picking them as well, you’re so right, it’s fantastic that he appriciates both logic and imagination.

      Agreed, so simply but accurate. There are so many awesome A.A. Milne Quotes, I particially love: ‘If ever there is a tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.’ (Christopher Robin to Pooh).

      Thank you for sharing all the great quotes Mel!

  5. I always read books and marvel at certain sentences or phrases, thinking ‘I’ll remember that,’ but then I never make a note of it and it just gets lost. I should really be more organised!

    • That’s what I always used to do too, it is only in the last year or so when I have been adding quotes onto my reviews or making notes of them somehow. I’ve really enjoyed doing it. 🙂 I’m sure there are millions of great ones I’ve missed out from before I made note of them but I’m glad I’ve started doing it now!

  6. Absolutely love all these quotes! Dumbledore is like the Dalai Lama of literary wisdom XD
    That Frodo and Gandalf one particularly makes my heart break – none of us want to see the horrors of our times, but we gotta make the most of it! *Sniff* Gandalf!<3
    Great choices! 😀

    • Hahaaa omg yes he totally is, Dumbledore and Gandalf, they got it going on with the wisdom!

      It does for me too, it is so heartbreakingly true that it really hits you hard, it’s a trivial thought many of us have at some point, and the fact that this quote calls it out AND deals with it is amazing!

      Thanks Lauren, glad you approve. 😉

Leave a Reply

