DAY 29: A Book you Hated.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

Awwwh man I feel mean writing this post. It’s one thing to write a sarcastic ranty review of a book I had a lot of problems with because it’s kind of relevant and in context, but to spotlight a book specifically to be negative about it seems a bit unnecessary. Especially with the word ‘hate’ – so harsh! I never say I hate anything, strongly dislike sure, but not hate. Unfortunately though, I do recollect one book that fits perfectly into this category, normally I can always find at least one redeeming quality in a novel, but with this one I was lost for words…

I picked up Evermore on a whim of fancy. For ages I had resolved not to buy it just because it had a pretty cover, but something about those soft purple hues and the delicate typography steered me toward the buy button on a day of weakness. The novel was getting so many positive reviews I thought it must be at least a reasonable read.
Ohh so wrong.
This is why I don’t go on the recommendations of random internet people anymore! Instead I look towards bloggers I know I can trust the opinion of or have a similar taste to me. 🙂

I should first point out that I seem to be in the minority with my dislike for this book, one of my best friends loves The Immortals series of which Evermore is the first of six. I think I recal RockerSophz27 saying she enjoyed them as well, but all I remember is wanting to chuck the book out the window like Pat with his Hemmingway in The Silver Linings Playbook.IMG_6780edited

LETS GET US SOME BLURBITY BLURB:

Sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom is the sole survivor of a car accident that killed her family. Exiled to sunny California, Ever is haunted by her little sister and by the ability to see people’s auras, hear their thoughts and know  their entire life story by touching them. She wants to hide from the world, but when a stunningly handsome new guy arrives  at school, she can’t seem to keep away. Falling in love with Damen is dangerous – he’s not what he seems.
But if Damen is her destiny, how can Ever walk away?

Now Noël, I’m sure you are a lovely person, but I have about as much love for your book as I do for mushy peas, which is to say, not a lot. I liked the premise, that was cool. I usually like the whole wiccan or spiritual type thing in novels so the aura idea appealed to me, but it didn’t seem overly relevant to the story and wasn’t covered in detail.

First up, the name. Ever? Who has a name like Ever?! Granted I knew that before I bought the book but do you know how awkward it was to read a novel with a character of that name? E.g. What do you want, Ever? What, Ever? I kept reading it as part of the sentences rather than a name. GET A PROPER NAME, EVER. Oooh, ooohh, but I missed the best part, her surname is Bloom. So she’s like, Ever Bloom. Awwh isn’t that cleaver and not at all cheesy?!! Ohh and guess what her best friend’s name is… Haven, which is almost as silly as the protagonists. (Although I kind-of like the name Haven, using so many silly names together did me in). It was kind of like Noël tried to pick really funky cool names that she thought teens would like, but they just sounded stupid.

Thinking about it, all my gripes with this book come from the characters because oh boy, if you thought Bella Swan was bad you are in for a treat with Ever! She’s rude, whiny, doesn’t appreciate anything her friends or family do for her, complains about why nobody likes her and how her life is so hard and is just constantly really freakin’ annoying! Then there’s Miles, I don’t remember much about him other that he was a total cookie cutout of the stereotypical ‘gay best friend’, with no character development or personality whatsoever. I couldn’t STAND Ever’s bestie Haven, what’s that saying again? Oh yeah, who needs enemies when you’ve got friends like that! How Haven could be classified as a friend is beyond me, she does nothing but yell and insult Ever and takes the advice/words of strangers she has just met over her best friend consistently. I wouldn’t even go near her with a crash helmet on, that girl is high strung. Not to mention she was another stereotype – The edgy, I hate the world and I’m rebelling against my parents Goth, matched with the boy obsessed sassy best friend. Two stereotypes in one, WHOOPIE.

New Girl Feelings gif

Well said Nick, well said.

But the worst is yet to come, the love interest, Damen, Mr Arrogant Mc Douchey alert! Ohh geez. I think I despised him even more than Ever. He was presented as sickeningly perfect in every way, physique, looks, intelligence etc. with no personality, and due to his immortality was supposedly able to paint like Picasso and used to hang out with lots of famous writers. The trait I hated most about him though was the way he threw his money around like it meant nothing and solved everything. I actually found him repulsive, and I have never felt that way about a love interest in a book previously or since.

That’s not even getting into the plotting issues or the writing because I don’t remember
them in as much detail. Judging by the way she constructed her characters though, I’m guessing she won’t be getting an A*.

I feel like a mopey ten year old writing this post, but horrifically, the book really was that awful. I didn’t attempt any of the rest of the series. I’ll leave you with my mini Goodreads review:

Quite simply one of the worst books I have ever read. Horrifically shallow characters, uninteresting, and unoriginal. It encompasses all the worst traits of YA into one 356 page book. – Avoid like the Plague!


Is there a book out there that you really hated? Or as I prefer to say, strongly disliked? 😛

If anyone out there enjoyed Evermore, feel free to say something in it’s defense!

What’s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
Header Image: My own, please do not reuse.
Everymore Book: My own, please do not reuse.
Gif: http://giphy.com/gifs/6fPetXH25VCVi

45 thoughts on “DAY 29: A Book you Hated.

    • HAHA! Nice one. 🙂

      P&P and Zombies has never appealed to me because I wasn’t a big fan of P&P anyway! I would hate to try that book and then discover that there were barely any changes!

  1. hahahahahahahahaha.
    I LIKED DEM.
    I’m not in any hurry to re-read them, but I’m not in any hurry to re-read anything… or read… or exist… 😀
    w00t bad, cliched, YA books!!!

    • Hehee, you were the unnamed friend, of course. 😉
      I think you might feel differently about this series if you reread them now, like you did with The Hunger Games!

      I love a good cliched YA book occasionally, just not this one! 😛

  2. Inferno and The Lost Symbol aside I’ve read two books this year that are highly popular to the point of attaining cult-status which I simply did not like. They were The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep by Philip K Dick. Both were good stories and both writers obviously know what they’re doing, but both of them ruined the story for me by trying to be deep. I have nothing against stories that contain a deeper message, but I believe the message should sneak up on you; you shouldn’t even notice it but only realise once you’re done that there had been one. These two authors tried to force the message through, making finishing each on a chore.

    • I find cult status can often be overrated. There are a few out there that still shine but a lot that haven’t for me in the past. I think The Alchemist may be on The Rory Gilmore Challenge I’m doing, and if so I might have to attempt it, but otherwise it doesn’t appeal to me. I’ve vaguely heard of the Electric Sheep one but don’t know much about it!
      I’m so glad you mentioned that actually because it has ruined several stories for me too, the main one being The Picture of Dorian Gray. There is a fine line between being insightful and deep and being preachy and trying to hard and I think writers often make that mistake! I can’t stand preachy. I totally agree with what you’ve said, you shouldn’t realise there’s a message until after when you sit and contemplate about it. 🙂

      • I actually felt the same about Narnia as well. This is one of the rare cases where I like the movies more than the books, simply because the movies are less preachy. CS Lewis was a brilliant writer and philosopher and the Narnia tales will always remain classics, but the books fall just on the wrong side of this line for me. Some of them more than others.

      • I didn’t overly get on with Narnia either. I only read two of the books and it was when I was much younger, but I remember his characters as irritating and there was something about his tone that I didn’t like – maybe that the preachy aspect coming through!

  3. My throw-out-the-window-like-Pat book moment was with Breathless by Lurlene McDaniel. I read the whole thing, surprisingly, and didn’t DNF it, but if it was any longer than the 164 pages I probably would have given up on it. It just makes my blood boil every time I think about it.

    I read Saving Zoe by Noel, and didn’t love it, so I was planning on staying away from this author anyway. Thanks for the reassurance!

    • Haha love it, we should coin that as an official phrase now. 😛 I love that scene so much, both in the book and the movie, it shows so well my feeling relating to certain books! I’ve never heard of Breathless but I will make a note to stay away from it now, that sounds painful considering it was so short.

      After my experience with Noel I won’t ever be attempting any of her others books, I’m just not willing to take the chance. No problem, I’m always glad when I can be useful. 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting Kayla!

  4. I’ll go with The Road by Cormac McCarthy. Oh, that was terrible. I can’t say I hated it though…I understood what Mr McCarthy was trying to write. He just didn’t do it very well…well, bloody awfully would be a better description.

    • Hahaa ohh dear, sounds dire! I agree, even with all the horrors of Evermore I still wouldn’t say I hated it, it’s too…harsh an permanent I guess. I never like to use those words when there are so many other factors at play when you read a book, like your state of mind while reading it!

      I think I will be avoiding The Road, thanks for the tip and I’m sorry you had to go though that painful reading experience. 🙂

    • Haha I guess that’s a good thing! Or maybe you just pick your books extremely well. 😉 There aren’t too many out there that have irritated me, but this one is at the top!

      Long may your good book streak continue. 😀

  5. Yup it was indeed me who said I enjoyed them 🙂 actually, reading your paragraph about the name Ever did make me chuckle to myself! I read them quite a few years ago now but I agree on a lot of things that you said, especially my dislike for Haven! at times I just wanted her to fall down a big black hole! It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy them though, but each to their own 🙂 I wonder if my opinion would be different if I read them again now…don’t suppose I’ll find out…too many other books to read! haha x

    • Haha glad you got a laugh out of it! I honestly don’t know how the author came up with the name, it was bizarre. 😛 I think Haven was the biggest…or second biggest reason I hated this series, it literally made no logical sense that the two were friends and it was just…terrible character development! Hehee, I approve of the big black hole.
      I’m glad you managed to get some enjoyment out of this series at least! I wouldn’t reread it if I were you, why spoil the happy memory you have of liking to books to replace it with dislike? Not worth it. 🙂 I wish I hadn’t reread Twilight.

      • Yeah it is a bit odd, can’t lie. I thought the same thing, if that was my friend I would’ve told her where to go sooo many times! Haha yeah I thought you might 🙂 mhmm that’s my worry, now I’ve gotten a bit older I wonder if I’d like it as much, don’t particularly want to spoil it…and got loads on my tbr list anyway 🙂

  6. Tristram Shandy! It starts with him being born, and 100 pages into the book that butthead still hadn’t exited the birth canal. I couldn’t keep up with the tangents. Then again, I was picking it up and putting it down quite frequently.

    • That’s a weird name if ever I saw one! (Uh-oh, that word ever is following me around today…) Blimey that sounds super painful, a story being told from the womb? Uhh, think I’ll pass. What a random idea for a book! 🙂

  7. Evermore is actually on my TBR list, but now I’m rethinking if I want to read it. I hated The Great Teahouse Fire, awful read. It actually took me a year and a half to finish it because I forced my way through it. It’s not that the plot was bad, it just was written horribly and at a slow pace, imho.

    • Uh-oh. :S Hehee well obviously if you were asking my opinion I would say don’t waste your time reading it, but on the other hand a lot of people have also enjoyed it, so I’ll leave that one up to you. 🙂 I’d be interested to see what you think if you decide to try it!
      A year and a half, wow, that must have be bad. I’ve never heard of it but I will make sure to give it a wide breath if I ever come across it. 🙂 Sorry to hear you had such a painful reading experience!

  8. OK, so I’m not sure I’m clear on this – what did you really think of the book? LMAO!!!!!!! I love when you do negative reviews. It’s like your descriptive skills go into overdrive and you say exactly what you feel. You go girl! :). I think I have told you about this one before, but for the first time in a long time I am struggling to finish a book. It’s World War Z, and it’s horribly boring. I don’t want to give up on it because I’m not a quitter, but I have been taking quite a long break from reading it because I really don’t like it. It is definitely not one I would recommend that’s for sure.

    • LOL!!!! Ohh gosh, was it really that bad? I’m glad you enjoy reading my negative reviews because honestly I sometimes worry that they make me sound like a spoiled brat with no empathy! But some novels really do ‘rub me up the wrong way’ as the saying goes. LOL, thank you. 🙂
      Ohh wow you’re still reading it? That’s a sure sign you are struggling because normally you whiz though books. Sorry to hear you’ve hit a bit of a dud, I hope it picks up soon! I totally understand because I am not a quitter when it comes to books either, maybe you should devote one evening to sitting down and getting it finished once and for all, that tends to be what I do because I hate having a book I dislike hanging over my head. That is, if I can stand to read that much of it in one go!

      • I haven’t touched World War Z in a month or so, but I am taking your advice and reading it a bit tonight. I’m more than half way through, so I definitely won’t give up! It’s a strange book really. It’s set up as survivor’s accounts, and some of them are sort of good, but what happens is that you just start getting into someone’s story, and then it switches to a totally different one. It frustrates the hell out of me.

        Change of subject, but I am still reading the Sweep series, and I love it, but I like to take a break in between to read other books. Even though I am in the middle of a couple of books right now, it dawned on me that I really need to re-read The Shining by Stephen King next. Do you know why? His new book Doctor Sleep comes out on September 24th, and it is a sequel to The Shining. I have read The Shining before, but it has been years and years, so I think I will have to bring it to the top of the TBR list :).

      • More than halfway through? Woop, that means the worst is probably already over! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a good action packed ending for you. I can empathise with the switching thing, I’ve read a few books like that in the past and while some can work really well, others use it to cover the fact that not all that much is happening because it helps bulk out the pages. It is very frustrating when your invested with some characters stories more than others as well!

        Ohh awesome, so glad to hear you are still really enjoying them. 🙂 I completely understand taking a break from them, I get twitchy if I stick with the same series for too long, I barely ever even read two books from a series in a row, lol! It’s one of my random bookworm traits.
        You know I had vaguely heard he was bringing out a sequel, gosh that man is busy! Didn’t Joyland only just come out? 😛 I always find it interesting when an author decided to return to a series or a book and add to it so many years after the original/s. I hope you enjoy your reread! I am still yet to pick up a King novel, I really should get on that. 🙂

  9. Pretty much anything I was forced to read in school comes under this category.

    Other than that… well, I got Arabian Nights for the Kindle last year and it was pretty awful. It was just one long series of barely connected stories that didn’t really make any sense.

    Actually, a Terry Pratchett book came close. I’ve got no idea which one it was but it was the first (and only) one that I read and it was torture. It wasn’t funny, it wasn’t interesting, it was just guff.

    • I totally agree with you there, Cargill! Books you have to read for school are painful.

      There’s an Arabian Night book? Who knew. Hmm that’s a bit off, I will make sure to stay away from that one. 🙂

      Ohh no, that sounds terrible! I’m very hesitant to try Pratchett because so many people love his work and I’m worried his humour may not be for me. Ohh well, fingers crossed!

  10. I just finished 100 Years of Solitude. That book and all the characters in it annoyed me. I skimmed it, I was so unimpressed.

  11. I picked up Evermore a couple of Christmases ago. Didn’t think much of it either. Is this book written in the present tense? It’s been more than 2 years since I read it so can’t 100% remember, but I think I found that quite jarring. Although I’ve since read many books told in present tense and have come to be okay with it.

    • So happy to hear it wasn’t just me who was less than thrilled by this story. 🙂 I just ran up and had a peek at my copy and it is indeed the present tense. Well remembered, Emma! Just from reading a bit of the prose to check the tense I also noted it was very jarring, I think it’s down to the authors skill as much as the tense though, unfortunately.

  12. Oh good heavens. See, this is the perfect example of where a writer tries to be too original and just bungles it. And no wonder you were reading the name as a normal word. I was doing the same while I was reading this post! -‘I think I despised him even more than Ever’/I think I despised him more than ever! – ha ha! 😀

    • Haha I have to say there was not one single element of this book that was original. Even though the aura side was supposed to be as you’ve mentioned, it wasn’t integrated into the story well at all. Instead she just put an aura chart in the front and mentioned the colours certain characters had occasionally. Lazy writing alert!!!

      LOL, glad to hear it wasn’t just me. 😀

  13. My go-to book, that I still hold on to a feeling of resentment for HAVING to read it and knowing I will never get that time back: Ulysses by James Joyce. I had to read it at uni – and with most books that I didn’t actually enjoy back then, I could appreciate them from a literary point of view. Not this. I hated Ulysses – the content and protagonists just did me in. I’ve read other Joyce since and not minded them – I also read a lot of other stream of consciousness books around that time and liked them, whilst modernism as a whole was one of my favourite literary periods – just not this book.

    My review of Evermore from Goodreads – not dissimilar to yours:

    “This is alright – nice idea but delivery feels very much like a ‘made in a packet’ spin off of the twilight ilk. Female protagonist and her love interest had me rooting for the ‘baddie’ though – so probably not the best romantic coupling. Overall it doesn’t have much depth to it or the quality of characters of Meyer, but is readable enough. Easy quick read. Personally, I can live without reading more of the series. There’s much better out there.”

    • Ulysses, ohh no! I’ve heard the horror stories about it and being forced to read something is a sure way to make you dislike it. That’s happened to me far too many times at school, which is why I don’t get the way they teach English – they put people off books rather than making students want to read them! It’s definitely a bad sign that even though you can normally appreciate a book despite it being forced onto you but that this one still fell short. Yikes! Sounds like one to stay far away from to me!

      I completely agree with your Goodreads review, well put. 🙂 I also found myself rooting for the villain.

  14. This. Blog. Soooo. Much. WIN. hahaha Love that gif! “something about the soft purple hues and delicate typography” lmao — but it’s true!!! that stuff really does drag you in! Let’s be honest, here! When I was 17 years old, Twilight (first novel) came out. I saw the cover and BAM had to read it, and there wasn’t even a reasonable blurb on the thing! I somewhat praise the design people who can come up with really attractive covers for such craptastic writing. This book sounds like a horrid, horrid nightmare! Thank you for sharing with us – I will indeed avoid this like the plague! 😀
    Great post, Becky! AMEN!
    *still chuckling at Mr Arrogant McDouchey*

    • Ahahaaa I’m so glad you liked it, Lauren! I was worried I might come across as too mean, but I honestly struggled to find anything redeeming about this book.
      Ha, I love Nick and when I saw that gif I knew I had to use it! The book covers do totally drag you in, I fall for it EVERY time and I never learn, I can’t help it, I’m a very visual person hehe. I know I do feel a little sorry for the people that made this wonderful book cover because it possibly could have been put to better use. It was a horrid nightmare, for me anyway! Glad I could give you the heads up. 🙂

      Heheee thank you. 😀

  15. I couldn’t stand Soulprint by Megan Miranda. Almost halfway through the book the characters were still not fully developed. She meant it as a play in her mystery but it just annoyed me like hell to read about people I still don’t know. The main character was a very whiny young girl who suddenly became super smart and super witty out of no where. No warning or reason, she just became really smart after sounding totally stupid for the previous 6 chapters. I became so lost and so annoyed I had to stop reading. I didn’t finish the book and I won’t pick it up again.

    • Oooh, I’ve not heard of that one. Badly developed characters are the worst! Especially when a character’s traits seems to change whenever it becomes convenient to the author and the plot, that’s so frustrating. It’s interesting that it sounds like the author did it on purpose to try and be mysterious and that it totally backfired, what a shame!

      I think I would have gotten just as annoyed as you and would have had to put the book down, I’m sorry you had such a frustrating reading experience! It happens to us all at some point. Hopefully, it makes us appreciate the good books more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

