Reflections on the 30 Day Book Challenge

So the next time I come to you guys saying how I’ve found this spectacular, fun new challenge that I just HAVE to try, you need to tell me that I am insane and I should go back my natural habitat – my reading cave! Especially if it involves blogging for 30 days straight and severe reading withdrawal. Phhaaaaa, I’m just kidding… mostly. The majority of this challenge was an absolute blast, it was so much fun allowing myself to be nostalgic about old reads, I reveled in the challenge of pushing myself to write consistently and I am so proud that I didn’t even miss one day! Plus, all the wonderful reading suggestions you have given me will keep me going for a long time. 🙂 That being said, I’m also glad that it’s over now because I was feeling incredibly burnt out by the end, I was even considering a blog detox. The horror!

So what did I learn from this experience? Well, quite a darn lot actually! Here I present thee with the five possibly pointless life skills I learnt from the 30 Day Book Challenge.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

1.) No matter how many times you tell yourself you can’t do something because you’re too tired, drained or not in the mood it is still possible to make it through. Even if that means dragging your heels the entire way you can get that post out onto WordPress, turn in that essay that’s due in tomorrow, or face something you’re anxious about.

2.) Writing every day is ridiculously hard! The effort it takes to write something good and that you are happy with is underestimated by so many people, I know all you writers out there will relate to this point! I honestly don’t know if writing every day for this period of time made me any better as a writer/blogger, I didn’t have time to stop and think or to take a step back to see what I was writing clearly. Many of my posts seem like a blur as if I didn’t even write them! On the other hand, I guess it is always important to put something down on paper (whether physical or virtual) and this was a good way of breaking that barrier.

3.) I learnt that even when you are a dedicated, active member of the book community you can still be ignorant of many books out there because there are so damn many! I made note of all the recommendations that came flooding in from the comments to investigate in the future, but the most surprising part was that I hadn’t heard of half the books, and I consider myself more knowledgeable than the average Joe! Or er, Jane?

4.) A challenge like this is a sure way to get backed up posts, I have three books to review that I keep putting to the sidelines due to more pressing things, several updates I want to share with you all and a book haul post for the future is looming (I overcompensated for my lack of reading during this challenge by buying more books, whoops! *Eyes toppling tbr pile.*) In short, long blog challenges are bad for productivity, blog maintenance and stress, yet, I somehow consider it worth it. 😀

5.) Last but not least, I learnt that you guys are the BEST commenters on WordPress. Seriously, I am still replying your thoughts now, even though I tried to keep up to date as I went along. Thank you so much for reading and having so much to say!! 😀 Chatting to you guys is one of my favourite parts of blogging.

~ * ~

A couple of days after the challenge ended, I started looking back through the comments so I could read them with more clarity. There were so many broad and varied recommendations/warnings that I felt the need to do something with them. What use was this knowledge to other bookworms if it sat on random blog posts soon to be forgotten about, expect for those who were willing to persevere and sift though the comments? Not a whole lot, I thought. So I made up a list, both for my own interest and hopefully for yours too. (Please say yes, this took ages. *Serious face.*) Looking down the list now I am really happy I did it, it is so interesting to see the suggestions side by side, and I love the idea that now if I am in the mood to read a certain kind of book, I can look to one of these categories and pick something out. There are a lot potential new authors to discover here! I hope the list can be of use to a few of you too. 🙂

DAY 1: A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just end already.
My choice:
The House of Night series by P.C. and Kristen Cast (should have ended).
Your choices:
Anna and the French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins (should have gone on).
The Vampire Diaries series by L.J. Smith (should have ended).
The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson (should have ended or gone on depending on the person).
Matched series by Ally Condie (should have ended).
The Magicians series by Lev Grossman (should have ended).
The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher (should have ended).
Chronicles of Elantra by Michelle Sagara (should have ended).
The Enemy series by Charlie Higson (should have gone on).
Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer (should have gone on).
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (should have gone on).

DAY 2 – Favorite side character.
My choice:
Luna from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
Your choices:
Neville, Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
Marvin, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.
Reepecheep, The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.
Merry and Pippin, The Lord of the Rings.
Tyrion Lannister, A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin.
The Stand
(In general)

DAY 3 – The longest book you’ve read.
My choice:
The Complete Fairy Tales by the Brothers Grimm.
Your choices:
The Stand and IT by Stephen King.
Narrative of the Civil War by Shelby Foote.
Winter of the World by Ken Follet.
The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L Shirer.
Anna Karenina
and War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy.
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.
The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand.
The Count of Monte Cristo by
Alexandre Dumas.

DAY 4 – Book turned into a movie and completely desecrated.
My choice:
Eragon by Christopher Paolini.
Your choices:
My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
Northern Lights/The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman.
Percy Jackson and The Olympians by Rick Riordan.
Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams.
Raise The Titanic by Clive Cussler.
Sahara by Clive Cussler.
The Stand by Stephen King.
Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice.
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
Timeline by Michael Crichton.
The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

DAY 5 – Your “comfort” book.
My choice:
The Kissed by an Angel series by Elizabeth Chandler.
Your choices:
Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain.
101 Dalmations by Dodie Smith.
The Catcher in the Rye, by J. D. Salinger.
Bedknob and Broomstick by Mary Norton.
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.
Naked by David Sedaris.
The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien.

DAY 6 – Book you’ve read the most number of times.
My choice:
The Wicca/Sweep seried by Cate Tiernan and Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling.
Your choices:
Batman Comics.
The Stand, The Tommyknockers and Pet Cemetery by Stephen King.
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.
The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer.
Thief of Time by Terry Pratchett.
Bedknob and Broomstick by Mary Norton.
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.
Chocolat by Joanne Harris.
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by
Benjamin Alire Saenz.
Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien.
The Animorphs series by K. A. Applegate.
Redwall by Brian Jacques.

DAY 7 – A guilty pleasure book.
My choice:
Nicholas Sparks books – and proud!
Your choices:
Dan Brown.
The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer.
Fighting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins.

DAY 8 – Most underrated book.
My choice:
The Dream Merchant by Isabelle Hoving, Being by Kevin Brooks and The Brutal Art by Jesse Kellerman.
Your choices:
Tomorrow When the War Began by John Marsden.
Unwind by Neal Shusterman.
The Chrysalids by John Wyndham.
The Everything Theory by Dianne Gray.
Company of Liars by Karen Maitland.

DAY 9 – Most overrated book.
My choice:
Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen and The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson.
Your choices:
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.
Divergent by Veronica Roth.
Morganville by Rachel Caine.
Goddess Test by Aimee Carter.
The Road by Cormac McCarthy.
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett.
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens.
Joyland by Stephen King.
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
Life of Pi by Yann Martel.
The Girl who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson.

DAY 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.
My choice:
Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult.
Your choices:
David Copperfield and A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.
IT by Stephen King.
My Sisters Keeper by Jodi Picoult.
Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.
The Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.
Shakespeare.

DAY 11 – Favorite classic book.
My choice:
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.
Your choices:
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

DAY 12 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t.
My choice:
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum and A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.
Your choices:
Insurgent by Veronica Roth.
Animal Farm by George Orwell.
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.
Escape from Splatterbang by Nicholas Fisk.

DAY 13 – A book that disappointed you.
My choice:
The Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman, The Hollow by Jessica Verday, Queen of the Slayers by Nancy Holder, Thanks for the Memories by Cecelia Ahern and Reckless by Cornelia Funke.
Your choices:
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.
Please Don’t Kill the Freshman (author unknown).
Samphire Song by Jill Hucklesby.

DAY 14 – Book that made you cry.
My choice:
Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman and Before I Die by Jenny Downham.
Your choices:
If I Stay by Gayle Forman.
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce.
One Day by David Nicholas.
Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Jen Mah.
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.
Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.
The Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman.
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls.
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.
The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank.
The Willow Tree by Hubert Selby Jr. Selby.
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hosseini.
Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay.
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.
The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.
The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks.

DAY 15 – A character who you can relate to the most.
My choice:
Macy from The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.
Your choices:
Nathan Brazil, Well Of Souls by Jack Chalker.

DAY 16 – Most thought-provoking book.
My choice:
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin.
Your choices:
The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill.
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.
The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.
11/22/63 by Stephen King.
Night Road by Kristin Hannah.
Unwind by Neil Schuster.
The Unit by Ninni Holmqvest.
1984 by George Orwell.
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.
Daemon by Daniel Suarez.

DAY 17 – Author I wish people would read more.
My choice:
Kelley Armstrong.
Your choices:
John Marsden.
Frances Lewis.
Melina Marchetta.
L.H. Cosway.
Elizabeth Gaskell.

DAY 18 – A book you wish you could live in.
My choices:
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien.
Your choice:
The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett.
The Bible.
Clive Cussler’s
books.

DAY 19 – A favourite author.
My choice:
Trudi Canavan.
Your choices:
Douglas Adams.
Antony Beevor.
Dean Koontz.
Brandon Sanderson.
J RR Tolkien.
Daphne du Maurier.
C S Lewis.

DAY 20 – Favorite childhood book.
My choice:
Lola Rose by Jacqueline Wilson.
Your choice:
Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne.
Anne of Green Gables
by Lucy Maud.
Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls.
Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
Judy Blume.
Go, Dog, Go!
by P. D. Eastman.
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.
Gordon Korman.
Sweet Valley High
by Francine Pascal.
Roald Dahl

Nancy Drew books by varying authors.

DAY 21 – Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t
actually finished).

My choices:
Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens and Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare.
Your choices:
Bleak House by Charles Dickens.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

DAY 22 – Least favourite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise.
My choice:
Love Triangle.
Your choices:
Insta-love (when characters fall in love instantly)
Deus ex machina (when things are at their most dire, some outside force intervenes and miraculously turns the tables so the hero can win).
Nerdy best-friend I go to for advice secretly loves me but I love Generic Hunk. But that’s OK…I love Nerdy best-friend at the end. (Oh I love how this is worded!)
Searching for father’s/mother’s/wife’s/best friend’s/*insert important person here*’s murderer.

DAY 23 – Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months.
My choices:
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King, I Heart New York by Lindsey Kelk, Great Expectations by Charles Dickens and Just Listen by Sarah Dessen.
Your choices:
The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers.
The Fault in our Stars by John Green.
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.
The Big Over Easy
by Jasper Fforde.
Game of Thrones
series by George R. R. Martin.
A Different Blue
by Amy Harmon.
Ferney
by James Long.
A Street Cat Named Bob
by James Bowen.
The Road
by Cormac McCarthy.
The City and the Pillar
by Gore Vidal.
Persuasion
by Jane Austen.
The Woman in White
by Wilkie Collins.

DAY 24 – Book you’re most embarrassed to say you like/liked.
My choice:
Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer.
Your choices:
The Babysitter’s Club by Ann M. Martin.
Fifty Shades of Grey
by E. L. James.

DAY 25 – The most surprising plot twist or ending.
My choice:
The Age of Five Trilogy by Trudi Canavan.
Your choices:
Stephen King (in general).
Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

DAY 26 – Book that makes you laugh out loud.
My choice:
Confessions of Geogia Niclson series by Louise Rennison and The Airhead Trilogy by Meg Cabot.
Your choices:
A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole.
Bill Bryson.
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
by Douglas Adams.
Discworld Books
by Terry Pratchett.
The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared
by Jonas Jonasson.
Demon Hunting in Dixie
by Lexi George.
Stephanie Plum
series by Janet Evanovich.
Spud
by John van de Ruit.
Rachel Morgan
series by Kim Harrison.

DAY 27 – Book that has been on your “to read” list the longest.
My choice:
Digital Fortress by Dan Brown, Free Lunch by Nancy Sparling, Shiver and Linger by Maggie Stiefvater and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë.
Your choices:

Brave Story (author unknown to me).
The Scorch Trials by James Dashner.
Atlas Shrugged
and The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand.
Madame Bovary
by Gustave Flaubert.
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.
The Bourne Identity
by Robert Ludlum.
Moll Flanders.
Karen Kingsbury.
Jane Austen.
The Land of Painted Caves
by Jean Auel.

DAY 28 – Favorite quote from a book. – N/A

DAY 29 – A book you hated.
My choice:
Evermore by Alyson Noël.
You choices:
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith.
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho.
Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep
by Philip K Dick.
Breathless
by Lurlene McDaniel.
The Road
by Cormac McCarthy.
The Life and Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman

by Laurence Sterne.
World War Z
by Max Brooks.
The Arabian Nights: Tales from a Thousand and One Nights
by Anonymous.
One Hundred Years of Solitude
by Gabriel Garcí­a.
Ulysses
by James Joyce.

DAY 30 – Book you couldn’t put down.
My choice:
The Numbers Trilogy by Rachel Ward.
Your choices:
The Starlight Crystal by Christopher Pike.
The Fault in Our Stars
by John Green.
Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin.
The Last Song
by Nicholas Sparks.
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett.
Ender’s Game
by Orson Scott Card.
I’ve Got Your Number
by Sophie Kinsella.
The Twilight Saga
by Stephenie Meyer.
Dark Heart Forever
by Lee Monroe.
Halo
by Alexandra Adornetto.
Die For Me
by Amy Plum.
Sweep
series by Cate Tiernan.
Delirium
by Lauren Oliver.
Divergent
by Veronica Roth.
The 50 Shades series
by E. L. James.

~ * ~

And that’s a wrap! Hope everyone’s Monday wasn’t too horrendous. 🙂

Image Sources:
Book Challenge Banner: My own, please do not reuse.

41 thoughts on “Reflections on the 30 Day Book Challenge

  1. Not only did you blog for 30 days straight but they were long, thoughtful posts. You were amazing! Congrats 🙂 Great list, thanks for sharing, lots of stuff on there I definitely need to read.

    • Awwwh thank you so much, I’m glad you thought so! 😀 I tried to be thorough but it was hard at times when my energy was lacking towards the end.

      Super glad you liked the list too, there’s a few on there I would have never come across by myself!

  2. I’m so sad I couldn’t have been around for more of this, but I’ll try and get to the archives as soon as I can XD The lists look like a ton of fun to browse through, and really the whole challenge looks fun. Maybe I should do it for the two-year blog anniversary, now that I think about it- it would be a very good way to plunge back into blogging since I’ve been away from it for so long.

    Also, congratulations on your two-year blogging anniversary! Way to go!

    • Awwh I’m sad you couldn’t too. 😛 It sucks when real life gets in the way of what we want to do. It would be awesome if you had the chance to look at them later but if not no worries! Glad you like the look of the list ans it would be great if you decided to take part in the challenge. It’s a lot of fun and I would be very curious to see your answers. We definitely miss you hear on WordPress. 🙂

      Thank you muchy, and congrats on your upcoming two year blogoversary as well! Thanks for reading, Maggie.

    • Awwh thank you, Alexis, that means a lot. 🙂 so happy it gave you some new book ideas so that you got something out of it personally, I love when I can be useful!
      I will definitely continue to take part in bookish challenges, just maybe not ones that are quite so long. 😛 I’m still doing The Rory Gilmore challenge which is definitely worth checking out! Lots of fun.

  3. You are the most dedicated blogger that I have ever had the pleasure of knowing, and you love to make lists just like I do :). This was the perfect summarizing post for the 30 Day Book Challenge, and it is one email that I will be holding onto for future reference. Congrats on a job well done my book buddy!!

  4. A post of 500 words a day for 30 days is 15,000 words – that’s not including giving everyone who commented a reply, sometimes more than once. That’s a pretty decent book – as long as “Of Mice and Men”, most certainly. Give yourself a high five!

    Most writers would love to be able to write that coherently for that long with so much else going on. Sometimes I struggle to get to 500 or a 1000 a weekend! If you ever think to yourself that you want to write a book, you can look back at this and KNOW you can do it…because you already have.

    You even have writers amnesia with number 2: I know I wrote that…but I sure don’t remember doing it. 🙂

    I’m also looking forward to seeing ALL those books above reviewed. 🙂

    • Whoa, when you put it that way it sounds mighty impressive! I like the way you think. You’re so right, if you include the comments the word count really stacks up quickly, I hadn’t considered putting that into the equation. *Recieves high five*, thank you. 😀 I could write my own Of Mice and Men, cool! Although it probably wouldn’t get published these days with the trends now leaning towards longer books in publishing (not including indie books).

      You’re so right, (although if I’m honest I didn’t feel coherent at all through the last half, but I’m glad it came across that way) I definitely struggled to make it, but at least I know I can do it now as you’ve said. 🙂 Although I have to say writing fiction is a whole lot harder, I always over analyse everything I write and my brain wants to edit as I go which stops me from getting very far! Still, all progress!

      Hehee I don’t blame you, it was a long month. 😛

      Phaaa, you’ll be waiting a long time at the rate I read, LOL.

  5. Points 1 & 2, I’m totally with you, I know how all too easy it is to think ‘ahh I’m tired, I’ll do it tomorrow’, but when you have to you can push through it and get it done. And I can imagine how writing and publishing on the same day on top of uni work and general life things must’ve been a challenge! but you did a pretty good job from where I’m sitting, wooohooo! They always told us at uni never submit work on the same day, write it and then go over it the next day to check for mistakes, and I totally get why because there comes a point when you’ve read over something so many times that you stop picking up on little things, so that’s just what I’ve gotten used to.
    I like chatting to people through my blog too, when I get positive feedback from readers or artists that I’ve reviewed/interviewed it really makes my day, and as you said in a previous post, makes you feel as though you must be doing something right!
    Also, I think the list was a really good idea, it’s always interesting to compare other people’s opinions to your own, and as I was looking through I saw a few titles other people didn’t like that I really enjoyed, or vice versa, or ones that I agreed with. So, it could help introduce people to some new titles/authors that they may not have heard of otherwise 🙂

    • For sure! I think we are all guilty of doing that so often, it’s easy to put things off just because you’re tired, not realising that if you really push yourself it is possible. 🙂 Hehee thank you for understanding, it really was tough. It just melts your brain to the point where you can’t work out if what you’re writing is any good or not. Yaaaay, thank you, I’m glad you thought so! My university says the same thing about not submitting work on the day you write it and I have to say I totally agree, when you’ve been looking at something for that long you can’t see the mistakes. I’m dreading reading back through my posts properly because I’m sure I’ll find lots of errors!

      So glad you are loving interacting with the blogging world too Sophie. I think people do underestimate the value even one little comment can have. I know a lot of bloggers who gave up because they didn’t get much response from anyone and could no longer see the point, and I think that’s really sad.

      Ohhh yay, I’m excited you thought so because it tool a really long time, lol. 🙂 That is also something I have found really interesting to look at. It’s funny seeing how some people have rated the same book positively or negatively and why! I hope a few people do discover new authors.

    • Hehe thank you Charl, I will go grab my life coach button and hat and I will be right with you! 😉

      I’m so happy you liked the idea, I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out. I like being organized!

  6. Well done for making it through the 30 days. I definitely would have been dragging my heels towards the end. You’ve put a lot of effort into this blog post too! Becky, you’re the best book blogger I know.
    The Stand comes up a lot. 🙂

    • Thank you, Emma. 🙂 I sure was dragging my heels which you guys could probably tell. I didn’t think I was going to make it at one point, but I’m so glad I did! Wow thank you SO much, I’m gunna have to put that in writing and frame it on my wall!!!!! That really means a lot. 😀

      It does indeed, it’s a popular one.

  7. Well, I’m glad you did the whole 30 days – very impressive.
    And this is a great list you’ve put together.
    There are some here I’m going to have to check out, and some I need to revisit.

    • Thank you, I’m glad you’re glad, lol. I’m so proud I made it the whole way through because I honestly didn’t think it was going to happen at points!
      Yay so happy you liked the list, I hope it will come in handy. Fingers crossed you get a good book out of it. 🙂

  8. Congratulations on completing your challenge! (applauds loudly in the library) Sounds like it took a lot of effort, but you got through it anyways. My biggest problem with posting is if I spelled everything right. Keep up the good work! It was worth it by the way. I’m still reading through all your posts and they’re all great.

    Thanks for the blog post.

    • Thank you very much, don’t upset those librarians though, lol! It definitely took a whole lot of effort but it was fun too. 🙂 That spelling is always tough, I struggle with it too and often thank the world for spell check because I would be lost without it. Don’t worry you’ll get there.
      Awwh thanks, I’m glad you think so, happy blogging!

    • Thank you, Christine, I’m really glad you liked the idea! In the end I was pleased I decided to do it, even if it took a long time. 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my post!

  9. It has to be said, those 30 days were pretty intense. But if a self-confessed book fanatic came out of it feeling stronger and edumacated, then I guess it was all worth it.

    I was quite surprised to see how many of my own suggestions appeared in that recap, actually.

    Um, I sent you an email the other day – did you get it?

    • They certainly were! Haha, I didn’t feel very strong after I first finished the challenge I admit, I was totally frazzled and didn’t even want to go anywhere near writing another blog post at first. But that being said, it was tonnes of fun for the majority of the time and in retrospect I’m really glad I did it. 🙂

      There were indeed a lot of your suggestions in there, you see, I really do pay attention to comments!

      Yes, I did get it sorry, I haven’t had a chance to reply to it yet, which I know must sound ridiculous because it’s been ages but my emails are SO backed up (as you can probably tell by how long it’s taken me to reply to this) and I don’t have a lot of free time at the moment. I am slowly making my way through though and promise I will get to it soon. 😀

  10. You made a list! My god that must have taken you ages! Like you I haven’t heard of a lot of those books… Shameful. Thanks for compiling the list though Becky! It’s so useful. I’ll be checking a lot of those out!

    • Haha I did indeed and yes, it seemed to take forever! I think it was worth it though. 🙂 When you see this list it really does make you realise how many titles are out there, doesn’t it?
      No problem! So happy you think it will be useful, hope you find some good reads.

      Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

  11. Moaning Myrtle, you made a list from the comments! What dedication, I take my hat off to you Beckster. I shall now proceed to beat my head against the wall for being a lazy blogger and not being more like you…

    • Haaha nice Harry Potter reference, I approve. 🙂 Hehee, awh thank you! I do love my blogging when I get the time to do it, so it rarely feels like hard work. No, no don’t beat your head against the wall, do not take Dobbie as an example, LOL. YOU are awesome! 🙂

      Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

    • Awh, that’s so sweet of you to say, thank you. 🙂 You will have to let me know what you think about some of the posts, I hope you enjoy them. So glad to hear you like the list, and thank you for reading and following!

  12. I agree completely about the whole writing-every-day thing. I’ve been trying to blog once a day about my holiday and it’s hard work! But writing every day is crucial to perfect your craft, so I’ve been told. So we gottta do it if we love it haha.
    Love your work 🙂

    • Ohh wow, that must be such hard work, I feel for you! I’m sure you are doing a great job though and it will be wonderful to look back on it when you’ve finished. 🙂 They do say that writing every day is very important. I’m honestly not sure if it impacted me in any way or not, but I hope it did!

      Awh thank you so much, don’t forget stop by again soon. 😉

  13. I like these challenges and did a similar one “Book a day” for July this year. Some of the tasks by day are the same and some are similar, but I like these challenges because they make me nostalgic about the books I read and spur me to read on the books that are on my ever growing TBR pile. I agree with your conclusions here and it really is hard work to write every day. Sometimes I tried compensating a particular question by adding pictures and humor. Looking back at those posts I’m amazed I managed to pull it off and I’m glad I did it.

    • Me too! This one is the longest I’ve done so far. Ahh yes, I think I’ve vaguely heard of Book a Day, it sounded like a lot of fun. 🙂 I do think one of the hardest things with these kind of challenges is trying not to repeat answers, because if you have a favourite book it can often fit into more than one category. I definitely agree with you about the nostalgia as well, it was so fun reflecting on old reads!
      Pictures and humour always go down well, I think. 🙂

      Congrats on completing book a day, and thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment!

Leave a Reply

