Quoting the Quill #18

quoting the quill small

“So many books, so little time.”

– Frank Zappa

~ * ~

So it’s a really short quote today, and nothing too insightful either. I guess it’s more of a statement than a quote but I picked it because it describes exactly how I am feeling about reading right now. As predicted, since coming back up to university in the last 3-4 weeks or so I have barely even read 100 pages; I’m really missing reading. I keep looking over longingly at the novels I have brought up to London. I’m itching to read every single one of them and yet there aren’t enough hours in the day at the moment to fit in my favourite hobby, *sobs* and barely any more time to fit in my second favourite hobby, blogging! *More sobs.*

Eventually deadlines will even out and then I will be able to find a balance, but for now I have to nod enthusiastically with Frank.
Frank understands me.

Of course, I also agree with this quote even when I’m not this busy, there are too many wonderful books in this world and it saddens me that I will never get around to all of them!

P.S. Don’t forget guys, Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is coming up on the 12th October! I won’t be participating as a reader this year as I can’t commit the time, but I will be playing the smaller role of official cheerleader to boost the morale of half conscious participants. 😀 If you are interested you can find out more information here. It’s a fabulous event well worth checking out!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #18

    • I’ve only ever tried audio book once and it was when I was much younger and had the flu, it put me to sleep, lol! Although in retrospect, that was probably more to do with being ill. 😛 Audio books are a good idea, I may have to look into it, although I wouldn’t even know what kind of device you needed to listen to them on.

      • Ohh really? I wasn’t even really aware mp3s were around these days, apple has taken over so completely (not that I own an iPod). I will have to have a little look. 🙂

        Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

    • Haha well playing Candy Crush has to to be far better than doing the actual office work at least.

      Glad you think so Cargill!

      Ohh don’t worry it’s not a year since the readathon yet. 🙂 It takes place twice in a year and I took part in the April one so time isn’t moving quite as fast as you think!

      Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

  1. oh thank goodness, I was a little freaked out about a time warp as well.
    I completely agree with Frank and you in that quote. My TBR pile has grown and I can’t find my way out of the books I want to read. That doesn’t even take into account the books I want to get a hold of! It makes me a little crazy if I let it. Oh well.
    Enjoy school! it is a pain, but so much fun 🙂

    • Haha yepp, don’t worry you’re safe, time hasn’t jumped massively. 🙂
      Yay, glad we can band together on this one. I love the phrase ‘can’t find my way out of the books I want to read’, that is so accurate! It can make me a little crazy too sometimes, I totally understand. I guess it is better to have to many books you want to read than none because you can’t find any good ones. 🙂

      Thank you!

    • Agreed. 🙂 Blinkers, love it. I’ve got to get me some of those! They would be really handy right now. I’ve actually started piling my books on top of my bookshelf, it’s gotten that desperate.

      It is indeed!

  2. This quote, despite its brevity, contains so much truth. As a college student I now see what you mean when you say it consumes time. Let’s hope that we both get to read more books in the future!

    • Thanks Thomas I’m glad you agree. Perhaps it could have been better if he was more wordy about it, but sometimes it’s also good to be straight and to the point.
      Sorry to hear you have also discovered the struggle of fitting reading and blogging into college life, we all feel it! Hope you are enjoying your time there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

