Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick Review 3/5

Overall Impression: A disorganized mess which against all odds was the most entertaining installment of the series so far.Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

(To read my review of the previous book from the Hush Hush series, Crescendo click here.)

Well, these books are nothing if not consistent. Ohh how I wish I could write a raving review of how tremendous this third installment of Fitzpatrick’s world was, how it captivated me and tugged at my heart strings…but twas not to be. While I liked that a few of my favourite elements from Hush Hush came back into play, I mostly enjoyed this book for all the wrong reasons, the hilarity and insanity of it all. You know when something is so bad that you can’t look away? Yeah, that. My high hopes for this series have officially fallen in a cascade of black and red feathers.

Please note: For those of you that haven’t read the previous books, skip the blurb and first paragraph as it contains spoilers about previous plots and characters from those books. This review will not however contains any spoilers for Silence.

The noise between Patch and Nora is gone. They’ve overcome the secrets riddled in Patch’s dark past, bridged two irreconcilable worlds and faced heart-wrenching tests of betrayal, loyalty and trust – all for a love that will transcend the boundary between heaven and earth.
Armed with nothing but their absolute faith in one another, Patch and Nora enter a desperate fight to stop a villain who holds the power to shatter everything they’ve worked for – and their love – forever.

The only boundary this love transcends is stupidity (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. Hehe.) and they failed every test of loyalty and trust. Who the heck wrote this blurb? Did they actually READ the book?! Ok, ok sorry *clears throat*, I must be professional about this. Right, Becky version of the blurb:

Just when Nora thought her fairytale ending with fallen angel Patch was all set, she found it unexpectedly ripped from her grasp. In Silence, Nora wakes up confused and alone in a spooky graveyard in the middle of the night. Distraught, she has no idea how she got there or what is going on. Soon Nora discovers she is missing the memories from the last five months of her life and that time has moved on swiftly without her. As she tries to fit the scattered pieces back together she can’t help but feel something is missing. There is an ache in her heart that she doesn’t understand. Seeking answers from her friends and family only confuses her further. They are keeping secrets, secrets Nora desperately wants answers to. So when she bumps into a mysterious stranger who she feels a powerful connection with, she follows her instincts. As Nora begins to learn more about the life she left behind she soon realises she may have more to worry about than her memory…

I am sad to announce that I don’t think Fitzpatrick’s writing has improved. Once again we are bombarded with weird writing choices that don’t seem to make any sense. Example A, after Nora finds herself lost in the graveyard and is taken home where her mother explains they believe she was abducted, Nora then proceeds to sneak out of the house back to the graveyard to search for answers. Sorry, what? If I was abducted I would be terrified, clinging to my family and friends with the fear that I would be targeted again! I wouldn’t rush straight back out into danger in the middle of the night. I have honestly never met an author who so severely defies logic. There are so many odd occurrences like this throughout Silence that it is hard to take anything seriously. You end up turning the pages just to see what bizarre direction the author will go in next. At this point I have given up expecting things to make sense in this series. I finally threw my hands up in defeat. When you go with the flow it makes things easier! Having said that there are still two elements of Fitzpatrick’s writing I enjoy, her affinity for creating tense eerie scenes which despite everything do make the book engaging and also her dialogue. The one thing I was disappointed by in Crescendo was the lack of communication between Nora and Patch. Despite his creepiness (which is a whole other essay) I do enjoy reading the way he makes Nora squirm with awkwardness. Their encounters are severely entertaining even if they are unethical. They managed to get a few snorts and smirks out of me in between the eye rolling. This addition to Silence gave the book a little extra spice that I felt it needed, and is one of the main reasons it earned three stars.

The plot of this book if we’re honest is complete, unadulterated filler. Giving your character amnesia may seem like a fun idea at the time, but when you’re sitting there as a reader trying to watch Nora work out all the betrayals and secrets you already know from the previous books it tends to get a bit tedious. Only within the last few chapters do we begin to learn any new information, just in time for the book to end so you can fork out the money for the next installment, yayyyyy! Yet, against all the odds it was somehow my favourite novel so far. Nora’s amnesia meant she was able to experience meeting Patch all over again. Not only did this provide the opportunity for the fun battles of wit I mentioned earlier, but it also allowed Fitzpatrick to fix the mistakes she made the first time around. We get to see Nora think Patch is dangerous as a normal human being would, and for that reason I enjoyed the story a lot more. So, you could say one of the reasons I liked this book was because Fitzpatrick did it so badly the first time. I guess that’s a backhanded compliment, huh? Ohh well, I tried!

In terms of character development there isn’t much new to say. Nora is still as irritating as she was in the first two books, always making the wrong decisions and somehow justifying jumping blindly into danger. Her favourite pastime is making situations worse rather than better. Patch is still as controlling and enjoys strutting around keeping all the vital information to himself to the frustration of the reader, for no other reason than to build the tension of the story. Still, at least he oozes sex appeal while he’s doing it so maybe I’ll forgive him. Marcie continues to flit around doing absolutely nothing along with Vee, who seems to have no useful part in the story other than to give Nora terrible advice. I was surprised however, to find I enjoyed Scott’s return to the series. He was fleshed out slightly more in this book and his sense of humour in Silence made for some light relief.

I had a little more difficulty reviewing this book than I normally would because it’s been over two months since I finished it, sheesh! Life is so busy at the moment. Still, I hope I’ve managed to give you a bit of insight, which pretty much equates to this series is stranger than a fish flying a kite. If you’re a YA paranormal romance fan and fancy seeing what a fish flying a kite looks like, feel free to check it out! 😛

(To read my review of the next book in the Hush Hush series, Finale, click here.)

Writing Style: 3/5
Originality: 2/5
Entertainment: 3/5
Character Development: 2/5
Would I recommend this book? Not unless you enjoyed the previous books from the series.

Overall: 3/5

Image Sources:
Book Cover: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10637766-silence?from_search=true

32 thoughts on “Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick Review 3/5

    • I am indeed and it’s good to be back! I missed the blogging world.

      Unfortunately I probably will disappear again. The workload is heavy at university at the moment which makes it hard to fit in all the assignments, let alone blogging! I am fitting in little posts here and there when I can at the moment but hopefully it will let up soon. 🙂

  1. The first book in this series is on my To Read list. I keep seeing it around so I guess I’ll have to bump it up the list. And I do like paranormal romance and the young adult genre. Fair play to you for sticking with a series that isn’t captivating you.

    • The series was quite popular when it first came out. I remember it being the first angel book that I was aware of and then afterwards there was a huge influx. I think you would enjoy this series Emma as long as you can brush away the elements that don’t make sense. There is something good about Fitzpatrick’s style that keeps me reading even though elements of her novels frustrate me!

  2. Summary: It is a car crash of a book. Yes? I won’t be adding any of these titles to my reading list any time soon then!

    Good work on a fairly negative review though. Nicely done!

    I concur with everybody else, tis nice to see some writing from you. I know, I’m one to talk.

    • That about sums it up yes. 😛 Although strangely enough, not as much of a car crash as the previous books. I think it’s a good move to steer clear!

      Hahaa thank you. At first I get I buzz when I’m writing them and then I get writers regret and feel really bad. I’m glad you like it though. 😀

      Awwh thank you, it’s nice to be back. I miss the blogging world. I hope you will be making a comeback too!

  3. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: October 27th to November 2nd | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

  4. I completely agree with you! I felt that the “Hush Hush” trilogy had a Twilight effect. Well, on me anyway. First time I read it, I loved it. (I misspent my youth as a Twihard…) The next time was discovering how bad the writing actually is.
    And Patch? Just a dark Edward without the blood-sucking. Controlling and jealous, bur gorgeous.

    Out of curiosity… “Fallen” v “Hush Hush”? Which do you prefer?

    • Thank you for agreeing Bec! It can be tough when you don’t like a series and you feel as if you are stranded on an island because everyone else likes it.

      Twilight effect, I love it! I had a similar experience to you. While I never liked Hush Hush I remember being fanatical about Crescendo. The second time round? Not so much. Some books shouldn’t be reread. (Don’t worry, I misspent my youth as a Twihard too. :P) Yepp exactly, it’s an Edward with wings.

      I have to say I pretty much hated Fallen and Hush Hush, I rated both two stars on Goodreads. However, overall I prefer Fitzpatrick’s books as even though they are pretty badly written something is still driving me to follow the series though to the end, whereas I gave up after Torment with Kate! How about you? 🙂

  5. Oh how I have missed your honest and often humourous reviews :). Sometimes I find that people are hesitant to be negative in their reviews, but let’s face it, no book is perfect is it? I like how thorough you are in your reviews, readily pointing out the good as well as the bad.

    • Awwh, thank you Cindy! I have missed everyone in the blogging world over the past few weeks. It’s good to be back. 🙂

      Often I worry that my reviews focus too much on the negative side, I hate feeling like a meanie! Yet as you’ve said I do feel it is important to point out flaws and be honest, and I think it has become one of the things that defines me as a book blogger. I’ve noticed some blogs that don’t review anything below three stars and while I understand that process I feel very differently. It’s always good to get reassurance that I’m not just being catty! I’m glad you like the style. 😀

  6. I read this book so long ago and I can’t really say I remember much of it, but I totally agree with you that she has a knack for making a scene eerie. I think the amnesia thing was a cop out too, I think originally it was only supposed to be a trilogy so I wonder if that had anything to do with them stringing it out? I got given Finale last xmas and I’ve still not read it yet! I loved Patch’s little witty comments too, though I’m quite a witty/sarcastic person myself so maybe I’m just a sucker for witty characters 🙂 and it seems to me that in most YA I’ve read the characters all tend to jump blindly into harms way, albeit trying to save the people they care about, but still. 🙂

    • It is quite a while since the original book came out. I believe I got this one full price at the time in hardback, I can’t believe it took me all these years to get around to reading it!
      I agree, the eeriness in her books is a big draw for me and one of the main reasons I’m continuing with the series when there are so many other issues. I originally believed it was going to be a trilogy too so I think you’re right there, maybe Fitzpatrick’s publishers told her to extend it for the extra cash all round. I finally got my hands on Finale this year second hand and that’s what has prompted my rereads. 🙂 I’m interested to see how Fitzpatrick will wrap up the series.
      Gotta agree about Patch. 😉
      You’re right, most YA character do jump blindly, but Nora’s jumps are so ridiculous and unrealistic, it’s taken it a step too far in these books to the extent that it doesn’t make sense!

      • haha! I can understand it though, it’s not one of those books you can get back into, you kinda need to re-read the others. Yeah I’m intrigued to see how she’s going to end it, it must be hard with a series like this because of all the build up. He’s awesome, I don’t know if you watch it but it’s like Damon Salvatore in The Vampire Diaries, all his little one liners are really witty. I agree, it does take it a step too far 🙂

      • Yeah, I remembered Hush Hush quite well but couldn’t remember anything about Crescendo, I tried to find a plot summary but couldn’t find a good one so I ended up rereading. I think it would have been pointless reading the last two books in isolation as it wouldn’t have felt like a complete story!
        Me too, although I’m sure it will end with a happily ever after I’m not quite sure how she’s going to get there…
        Yuss I do watch The Vampire Diaries, Damon and Stefan are both smokin’, and there are definitely some similarities between them and Patch. 🙂

  7. ah, that was so much fun to read! I am so impressed you finished the book! They don’t sound like my cup of tea, but never say never, right? Anyway, thoroughly entertaining and helpful review 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! I am pretty impressed too, only one more book to go and then I will be completely finished with the series, yay! (And you know something is wrong when you’re saying yay about finishing a series, lol.)

      Thank you for reading 🙂 and I’m sorry I haven’t been able to pop over to your blog recently as much as I would like! Hope everything is well with you.

      • Life is busy but good here too. I have been pretty bad about doing all the visiting I want to do lately as well. Oh well, it happens! 🙂
        I always get excited about finishing series, whether I love them or not – I like to get checked off the list! lol

      • Ohh no, not you too! A lot of people seem too busy for WordPress at the moment, including me. 😛 I always miss people on here when they aren’t around as much, which makes me realise what a wonderful community WordPress is. 🙂

        Ahaha, I know what you mean! I do enjoy ticking books off a list that’s fore sure. But if I’m reading a series I love I never want it to end.

  8. Ahoy there Becky, nice to see you back. Well, sort of. If your immense university workload is anything similar to mine, then I’m feelin’ your pain and I know what you’re going through.
    Judging by your reviews of this series, it does sound bloody awful! I can’t say I’ll be picking it up anytime soon… Hope to see you back on the regular blogging wagon sooner rather than later. As you can tell from your ridiculous fan base, we do miss you here on the Press.

    • *Puts on pirate voice.* Ahoy there Lottie! This ship be sailing into the harbor, ay. (In other words, Becky is back, if only for a little while. :P)
      Workload is immense at the moment, I’m looking forward to Christmas with desperate eyes, LOL! I hope yours lets up soon too. Being a cranky student is no fun, hmmph.
      Ahahaa that would be a pretty accurate description, yes. I have no idea why I am still reading them other than my obsession with finishing series, but there is something else to it. A few elements keeps me reading on despite everything, but you can be sure I will never read them again afterwards. Only one book to go now though, wohoo.

      Thanks Lottie that means a lot, I miss you guys on WordPress too, you’re the best. 😀 And vice versa, I hope to see you blogging back soon, I miss your posts!

      • Yarrr! Oooo argggh me hearties!
        Ahh the workload is horrible for everyone at the moment, it would seem. It sucks because all I want to do is curl up with a hot chocolate, a book and feel christmassy and instead I have a mountain of essays to write.
        Ahh hopefully I’ll have some posts on the way, but I can’t guarantee it. Silly, silly workload.

      • Lol.
        Ohh dear, I guess it’s that time of year where everything begins to heat up. I know exactly what you mean! My bookshelf is calling to me and whenever I get the opportunity I am snuggling under cozy blankets with a cup of tea. I can’t wait until Christmas when I might actually get some time to read and relax. 🙂 I’ve really been getting into the Christmas spirit this year, I can’t wait to be festive.

        Well I will be waiting patiently for your return. 😉

  9. Ahaha, I love your reviews of this. Sometimes something can be such a trainwreck that you almost have to celebrate it, and that kind of sounds like what this series is like. At least it’s entertaining? I can think of a few things that I read every now and again with rather similar qualities, I have to say. Though they’re mostly tv shows rather than books. I have to admit that I’m sorely tempted to pick up this series just to see how bad the strains of logic can get, but it sounds like pretty much all the rules of reasoning were deconstructed down to their atoms in this particular story set…

    • Ha, thanks Maggie I am always glad to gain your approval, especially in the sarcy category. 😉 Yes that’s exactly right, perfect way of putting it. It’s such a spectacularly insane series that it’s almost entertaining for that reason alone. Don’t get me wrong there are a few small elements of it I believe are good, but they’re in the minority unfortunately.
      Ohh yeah definitely, there are some truly terrible TV shows out there. Have you ever watched The Secret Circle? I’ve never seen anything so horrendous, it was an experience…I had so much fun just commentating over the top of it. 😛
      Don’t waste your time Maggie honestly, as much as I enjoy getting to rant about it in my reviews I would much prefer to be reading something else, but my obsession with finishing series is getting in the way of that!

  10. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: October 27th to November 2nd | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

  11. I loved all the books, just the ending was a disappointment. Was hoping that they would eventually come to the point of exploring the love making since patch brings such a sensation to her. And the end where he gets his feeling back, I think it would have made and awesome and thrilling ending.

    • Hi Bronwyn, thanks for visiting!
      The ending of this series was a huge disappointment to me, it seemed to really fizzle out. I feel like the series could have been summed up so much better if they had squeezed book 3 and 4 into one. I did find it a bit odd that the author made such a big deal of Nora being innocent and sexually inexperienced and then she just kind of dropped it at the end. I feel like most fans wanted a bit more!

Leave a Reply

