Quoting the Quill #20

quoting the quill small

“In an ideal world no one would talk before 10am.
People would just hug, because waking up is really hard.”

– Zooey Deschanel

~ * ~

An oddly insightful-in-a-quirky-way quote from Deschanel there, best known for her role as Jess in New Girl and Summer in 500 Days of Summer. (One of my favourite films!)

I have to say this quote sums up exactly how I feel right now. Deadlines this semester are intense, it seems to be a rare occurrence when I can enjoy some leisure time. The constant early mornings and late essay writing into the night is making me exhausted and burnt out, with the occasional outbreak of hysteria! Seriously, I was writing a psychology essay late into the night and suddenly everything became intensely funny like say, carpet, because that’s normal. It seems like I get up early every morning lately and think ‘aw hell, here we go again’. Waking up and knowing you have to spend your day frantically writing an essay is not a whole lotta fun!

Like Deschanel, I have always believed that MORNINGS SHOULD BE BANNED and I wouldn’t say no to a hug either, LOL. 😀

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

26 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #20

  1. YES. I AGREE. Also everyone should be allowed to not have to say anything until they’ve had a cup of tea because one just can’t function without tea in the morning. And a biscuit.

    • THANK YOU. That’s a great idea about the tea, I definitely agree with that one. I don’t function at all without tea, I just wander round in a zombie state.

      We should ring up Deschanel and tell her to alter her quote! 😛

  2. Definitely! Although no to the hugging, anyone coming anywhere near me before 11am should be very careful indeed. Unless they bring tea of course.

    The conference I went to last month started between 8.30 and 9am every day AND it was over the weekend. That kind of arrangement is inexcusable 😦

    • Ahahaaa fair, fair. I can understand that. I will make note for the future that if I ever encounter you on an early morning I will bring a whole pot of tea! 😛

      Ohh gosh that’s horrible! How dare they make you get up that early on a weekend, that’s just criminal.

  3. What makes it worse is when you have to get up early and the sun isn’t even shining. Rising before sunrise should definitely be outlawed.

    I hope things calm down soon and that you get plenty of hugs.

    • Euggh, tell me about it, I got up on one day and it was still dark! The streetlamps were on and everything. Luckily that has only occurred one time but it felt quite bizarre, as if I had gotten up in the middle of the night rather than the morning. I agree, waking before sunrise should not be allowed, hmmph.

      Haha thank you KokkieH. 🙂

  4. I like sunrises. I always make a point of stopping to enjoy them when I have to get up early enough to see them…ie, five days a week. 🙂

    Like most people though, I’d rather get up at 9:00 than 6:00 though!

    {e-hug}

    How was that?

    • There must be something wrong with you Tony, you’re supposed to like sunsets because they’re no early, LOL. 😛 I suppose if you are up anyway it’s nice to stop and watch it though. I have to admit I’ve never seen a good one, they’ve always been murky. FIVE DAYS A WEEK?! Geez, you poor, poor person.

      9? I think you’re still thinking a bit too early teehee, how about 11? 🙂

      The e-hug was brill thanks, much appreciated!

  5. I actually like that quote! Although I prefer an earlier start and an earlier finish for work, I don’t actually do anything until around 10am. It’s unfortunate that there’s not many people worth hugging in the corporate world.

    Oh, and I always laugh at carpets. The way they just lay there doing nothing… proper cracks me up it does.

    • Phaa, no need to sound so surprised about it! I don’t know whether to take that as a compliment or not. 😛 I definitely understand your view of an early start equals and early finish, I used to feel the exact same way about school and I really like it that way. However with university the actual hours you are in aren’t very much, it’s all the work that goes on outside of lectures that kills you.
      I often find I work better in the evenings than the mornings too. 🙂

    • You know me too well, I am definitely looking forward to Santa time. I might have to break out the Michael Bublé Christmas album me thinks. 😀 I can’t wait to relax warm and cozy with a book!

    • Coffee AND tea, that is serious business. 😛 I wish I could like coffee, I love the smell of it but I find the taste hard to swallow. Maybe I will like it in time!

      Thank you. 🙂 You should definitely try out New Girl, it’s hilarious.

  6. *hug* I’ve read this quote before and I submit my vote for banning mornings. Everyone gets too stressed when they wake up and most tend to take it out on the people around them. 😦 I personally listen to classical music in the mornings. It’s like getting a hug from the best sounds in the world. Lol

    Also, I LOVE 500 Days of Summer!

    • *Recieves hug*, thank you. 🙂 I am so happy to have another name to add to the petition. You’re right, mornings are incredibly stressful and they sure make me grumpy! Anyone should be wary approaching me in the morning. I can’t stand those people that are all happy and chirpy so early in the day either, it’s not fair!

      Oooh love, love, that’s a really interesting idea, maybe I should try that. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

      YAAAAAYYYYYY.

  7. YES to 500 Days of Summer. YES to the Deschanel. (I will definitely be trying New Girl! It’s on my Christmas list.)

    This will not do. I don’t like reading the words ‘deadline’ and ‘burnt out.’ I recall it all too well 😦

    Like others before me, I offer a simple, virtual hug. Tis the best I can do. Get in touch on Twitter if you need to!

    However, I think I’m one of those really annoying people. I generally wake up at 8/8.30am. I’m a bit quiet at first, especially if somebody tries to talk to me, but I soon cheer up and become annoyingly chirpy. I don’t drink tea or coffee either, shock horror!

    • Ahaha so happy to have found someone else who appreciates the genius of 500 Days of Summer. I’m desperate to watch 50/50 as well because it looks like it is made in the same sort of style. Yay for New Girl being added to the list! I just know you’re going to love it. 🙂

      If you hate reading it imagine how much I hated writing it, LOL. I don’t like these foul words either, they must be eradicated. 😛

      Thank you and I will do! It’s surprising how much virtual support helps.

      Noooooooo. Well, I suppose it can’t be helped if you wake up at that time naturally, but I must admit early birds are a bit of a bizarre phenomenon to me that I can’t quite understand. 😛 And no tea?! We must get on this and convert you right away! Teehee.

  8. I totally agree. I’m not a morning person. I tend to despise those who are bright and cherry in the mornings. Especially on rainy mornings. Can’t they wait until after lunch to be excited? And yes, tea is essential but with sweet bread and some butter. 🙂

    • I completely agree with you, people that are happy and chirpy in the morning terrify me, lol, I don’t know how they do it! Haha yes after lunch would be a far more appropriate time. 🙂

      Oooh that sounds wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

Leave a Reply

