Quoting the Quill #22

quoting the quill small

‘Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.’

– Nelson Mandela

‘It always seems impossible until it’s done.’

– Nelson Mandela

~ * ~

A week or so ago people around the world received some very bad news, that Nelson Mandela had sadly passed away. I am not going to make a huge speech on this blog because I am ashamed to say that I don’t know enough of the history to feel competent discussing it, and therefore I could never do him justice. I’m only aware of what I have picked up over the years, little snippets here and there. I do know however, that when I saw the announcement on the news a wave of sadness crept over me and a strong feeling that the world had lost someone special and irreplaceable. It seemed like such a monumental event that I felt I needed to mark it in some way, to give a nod of appreciation or acknowledgement but I wasn’t sure how. So I thought I would honour Nelson Mandela in my own little way this week, by using some of his words of wisdom for quoting the quill. The past few weeks have been incredibly stressful and miserable for me due to my extreme dislike of exams, so these two quotes particularly stuck out to me, with their ability to both look on the bright side of failure and to praise strength. 🙂

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

20 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #22

  1. What a beautiful choice of quotes Becky! Although I of course knew of Mandela, I’m ashamed to say that I am mostly ignorant of his life with the exception of the few basic anti-apartheid facts and his imprisonment. But along with the rest of the world, I will mourn the loss of a great man. Thanks for sharing those quotes and I hope your exams went well 🙂

    • Thank you Lottie. 🙂 I am exactly the same as you, I know the basics, which I guess are the most important parts of the history but I am quite ashamed of the gap in my knowledge! It definitely needs to be filled. It was not a period/area of history we were told or taught about in school so I will have to do some research of my own. Even with the little knowledge I have however I felt incredibly sad hearing the news.

      No problem I’m glad you enjoyed them. I’m not too sure how the exams went, but at least they are done now! 🙂

  2. Better than nothing Beckster. As a South African myself I want to thank you for this and those are great quotes.
    Good luck with your exams, you know how I I hate them too! 😉

    • Glad you feel that way Nisha, thanks. 🙂 I mean, I do know the basics but because I don’t know the exact ins and outs of things I kind of feel like I don’t have the right to make a big speech, and that I should leave it to those who have more knowledge, if that makes sense? I have already seen so many beautiful tributes on TV that do him justice far better than I ever could!

      Thank you! Don’t we all? *Sigh*. 😛 I hope your course is going well also. 🙂

  3. Your reflection on Mandela was beautifully written. I felt the same way about the whole situation since I only knew enough about his life to explain why people loved him so much. I think you did a great job in honoring his memory. 🙂

    Also, I love the quotes you chose. I know a few people who live by the first ( measuring success by how many times they picked themselves up after failure). It is a very cool way to live .

    • Thank you Fidgety Writer, that means a lot. 🙂 I’m so glad you understand what I was talking about, lol! I just felt it was a little bit pointless to talk about it too much, because there are so many other people who have done wonderful and informed tributes, but at the same time I didn’t want to just brush past it as if it had never happened.

      I’m glad you liked them! The first is definitely a great quote to live by, it’s always good to be able to see the bright side of failure, it makes you feel better, haha. 🙂

      • It is a great quote to live by…very optimistic. I think your tribute was a great as it could be. I would write one, but I’m afraid I hopped back onto my blog a little too late to mean anything. Hehe. I think yours is way better than mine could ever be. 🙂

      • Ahaha I totally understand your dilemma, I often want to comment on current events but then life gets in the way and then it’s past the relevant time to mention it!

        Haha thank you, but I’m sure yours would be just as good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

