Quoting the Quill #23

quoting the quill small

‘Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.’

 – J.K. Rowling (The Harry Potter Series)

~ * ~

I’m not 100% sure if this is the book or film phrasing, but it remains one of my all time favourite Harry Potter quotes. I don’t know how to explain why I love it so much, but I think the quote stands alone without any explanation. I like how profound and simple it is and the way it turns a negative into something optimistic. 🙂

I thought this seemed like an appropriate choice for Quoting the Quill as the Christmas and New Year celebrations are drawing to a close. As we all face the reality of a cold damp January and the prospect of returning to our respective responsibilities, whether education or work, it can be easy to slip into feeling glum. But never fear, Dumbledore is here! And he is telling you to turn on the light, literally or metaphorically. 😉

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

33 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #23

  1. Great quote! Dumbledore was a fantastic character.

    I love the one by Kingsley Shacklebolt after Dumbledore vanishes with Fawkes from under the Ministry of Magic’s nose: “You’ve got to admit it minister…Dumbledore’s got *style*”.

    • Thanks, Tony! Dumbledore was legendary, although don’t ask me to pick between him and Gandalf, because I honestly don’t know! Massive fandom first world problem alert. 😛

      Oooh I love that one too, it’s a quote that shows the playful, witty side to Rowling’s writing, much underrated! Dumbledore sure has got style. 🙂

      Thanks for reading as always, Tony!

  2. You girls and your obsessions with Harry Potter, eh?

    Good quote though.

    It’s quite scary how quickly the Christmas and New Year spirit fades. Five days back in work and it’s like Christmas never even happened.

    • I know right? I think it’s cemented into our DNA.

      Glad you liked the quote!

      It is, as soon as those decorations come down it might as well have happened six months ago rather than a week ago. When you go back to your normal routine it often feels as if nothing has changed (although you might feel a little more refreshed than before). 🙂

  3. It is a movie quote. When Dumbledore is giving the start-of-year speech and he waves his hand over the candle, lighting and re-lighting it? I think it’s the Prisoner of Azkaban movie.
    It is an epic quote! Harry Potter was always full of epic quotes. Mine was:
    It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

    I so have to re-read Harry Potter

    • Thanks for clearing that up Bec! I get so muddled with the movies vs the books because I love and have read/watched them so many times that the two have become intertwined. I’ve managed to restrain rereading the books for a while, so maybe it is time I dipped back into them. 🙂 Wow, that’s knowledge right there, I’m impressed.

      I’m glad you liked it! I adore the one that you have mentioned as well, when I was younger I didn’t really like it because I didn’t understand the weight of it back then, but now I’m amazed by how beautiful and insightful it is. 🙂

      Me too, every time the subject comes up or I watch the films I want to reread the series again!

  4. Oh Charl is going to love you this week haha! Love a bit of Harry Potter! Is it sad that I know this is from the Prisoner of Azkaban without Googling it…? 😉

    • I’m glad you liked it! It does seem applicable at the moment, and there’s nothing like a bit of Harry Potter to brighten the day. 🙂

      I’m glad that I watched the first two Godfather films last week or I would have no idea what the don was, LOL!

  5. I truly believe that being positive is the key to surviving in our world today, and this quote is perfect for that! Great choice book buddy :). But damn, now you made me want to read all the Harry Potter books again!!!! LOL

  6. I do like this quote 🙂 I’ve actually been reading Demi Lovato’s book ‘Staying Strong’ and it’s a collection of inspirational quotes, reflections and goals. So the idea is, there’s a page for every day of the year with an inspirational quote, an explanation and a goal for the day. And that has some great quotes in it 🙂

  7. Love this quote! I like how you explain your selection of the message and how it relates to where we’re all at in our lives right now: returning to responsibilities, whether it be work, school, etc.

    • Happy it sparked your attention, Thomas. 🙂 Something in particular about this quote jumped out at me this week when rifling through the options. It seemed appropriate. Glad you liked the little ramble to go with!

  8. Great quote and so true that we need to keep remembering things like that! I still haven’t read those books but you’re inspiring me to finally get around to it.

Leave a Reply

