Quoting the Quill #24

quoting the quill small

“Those who love you are not fooled by mistakes you have made or dark images you hold about yourself. They remember your beauty when you feel ugly; your wholeness when you are broken; your innocence when you feel guilty; and your purpose when you are confused.”

– Alan Cohen

~ * ~

I am feeling incredibly thankful at the moment. I have been stressed lately, obsessing over obsolete things that are unimportant in the grand scheme of things and beating myself up about them. Sometimes it is easy to get worked up and then be unsure how to come back down again! Luckily, I am surrounded by wonderful, caring people both family and friends full of pep talks and reassurance, who happened to have a spare rope lying around that they could throw me to help me find my way back down to the ground again. 🙂 I love how raw and true this quote is. So many of us out there (including me!) can be self deprecating and we need to cut ourselves some slack! Family and friends sometimes have the power to see us clearer than we see ourselves. So this blog post is dedicated to the people that have helped me lately (they know who they are), all my blogging buddies that fill my days full of laughter and fun and also to all the other people out there who help people up when they stumble! 🙂

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

15 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #24

    • I can! I think life can be much more fulfilling when you’re soppy, possibly also harder sometimes but there are two sides to every coin. I appreciate everyone who follows this blog so much and never take it for granted. 🙂

      Thanks, I’m glad to have them!

  1. What a wonderful quote and a beautiful post :). Book Buddy, life is so full of stress nowadays that we all go through rough patches like this, and that’s when we are most thankful for friends and family. Any time you are struggling just send me a quick message. I will always listen and then we can talk books for hours because we both know that never fails to bring happiness!! You’re an amazing person who I know can get through anything :).

    • Thanks for the pep talk book buddy, it was definitely one of those rough patches I was experiencing. I always try to remind myself that it is only a patch and it will pass but sometimes it is difficult to convince yourself when you’re in it, lol!

      Awwh thank you, Cindy, I’ll definitely do that. 🙂 Chatting about books never fails to put a smile on my face! Nawwwwwwwww!!!! *blushes* you are an amazing person too!

  2. I LOVE THIS. It is so, so true. We can distort the idea of ourselves and who we are but other people, somehow, manage to look beyond it. As you know, I have an impossibly hard time trying to cut myself some slack, but I’m trying!

    I’m so pleased you’re feeling good, despite how hectic life is at the moment. I feel your stress! You can talk to me whenever 🙂

    • Hehee thanks Charl. It’s amazing how far we can distort it as well, sometimes you just need someone to give you a good wack around the head or a reality check and then you realise exactly how trivial it all is! I more of us have that problem than we like to admit. 🙂

      Me too. Life’s a rocky journey, but that’s what makes it interesting right? Thank you I will! 🙂

  3. Fabulous quote – unconditional love and positive regard are the cornerstones of true, meaningful friendships. Glad that you have those friends and if you ever need someone online to talk to, I’m here!

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked it. I thought it was a nice little gem and it seemed appropriate! Indeed, they are hard to find so it’s important to hold onto them once you find them.

      Thank you Thomas, that’s really kind. 🙂

  4. Such a beautiful quote! I completely agree with the importance of having a really good support system. Family and friends are so important, especially when you need them most. Thanks for sharing Becks and I’m so sorry it’s taken so long to get round to reading this!

    • Thanks Lottie I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 It’s times when you’re down that you realise just how important it is!
      Haha no problem, I live for the blogging. 😛 I completely understand it taking a while, life seems to get busier and busier!

Leave a Reply

