Quoting the Quill #25

quoting the quill small

“For some of us, books are as important as almost anything else on earth. What a miracle it is that out of these small, flat, rigid squares of paper unfolds world after world after world, worlds that sing to you, comfort and quiet or excite you.”

– Anne Lamott

~ * ~

The words in a book combined with a little imagination have so much power. 🙂 I hope you are all having a wonderful Wednesday!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

26 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #25

  1. Love it! It is so true. I don’t know what I would do if I were simply stuck in this world without those escapist bits of tree. Probably make up more of my own, but i wonder if that is true. I wonder if I would be more here and less imaginative…
    Anyway, happy Wednesday! 😀

    • Yay, I’m glad! Escapist bits of tree – haha, I love it. I agree that the world is much better with books in. I think people naturally seek stories because even if people don’t write they like to tell and or listen to stories.
      I’m sure you would be very imaginative with all the books you read. 🙂

      Thank you!

      • I just find my mind goes places that a lot of other people don’t understand OR don’t understand how I got there. It is funny. I blame the books…not me, no, definitely not me. lol

      • Well maybe that’s a good thing and it means you’re one of a kind! I doubt it though, maybe you just haven’t found the right person to listen yet. 🙂 Most of us have more similar thoughts floating around in our heads than we think.

        Ohh yes, when it doubt blame the books, LOL.

    • Agh, I totally agree. The 20min walking back from uni today was horrible, the wind was so strong that I got awful ear ache and couldn’t see where I was going because my hair kept being swept into my face. Oooooh but CAKE! Cake makes everything better.

      Don’t work too hard. 🙂

  2. It’s interesting how books can show you other worlds, or even different places in our own. I always enjoy it when a book of fiction gives me new and intriguing details about ways of life that I would have never experienced otherwise.

    I know Anne Lamott from a well-known essay she did about writing, (I apologize for the language) “Shitty First Drafts.” She’s very knowledgeable about writing and creativity. Where is this quote from?

    • Definitely, I always find it interesting that people associate books the most with escapism. While that’s true I always find they teach me much more about reality and I often tell people that I read to learn more about the world I live in rather than escape from it. Even in books set in mystical worlds with elves and dragons there is something to be learnt about life! I agree, I love how they can expand your mind, viewpoints and empathy. 🙂

      The quote is from Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life although I have never read it myself, I just picked up on the quote. That essay sounds interesting! Is it available online?

      • I agree about fantasy. Tolkien said that fantasy stories can rejuvenate our perspective on the real world, making common things seem extraordinary. I can see that in his works, but also books like Harry Potter, where the magical world is within our world.

        Yeah I found it online here:
        http://wrd.as.uky.edu/sites/default/files/1-Shitty%20First%20Drafts.pdf

        And in the process of finding it, I realized it’s from the same book that your quote comes from. It must be a good one.

      • Oooh good old Tolkien, always coming out with interesting and valid points. I think in some ways that is why fantasy is one of my favourite genre’s, finding the ordinary in the extraordinary is intriguing. I don’t read as much pure fantasy as I should these days, I need to get back to it. 🙂

        Thanks for the link! Sounds like she knows her stuff.

  3. Great quote, I love that one! “One glance at a book and you hear the voice of another person, perhaps someone dead for thousands of years. Across the millennia, the author is speaking, clearly and silently, inside your head, directly to you. Writing is perhaps the greatest of human inventions, binding together people, citizens of distant epochs, who never knew one another. Books break the shackles of time ― proof that humans can work magic.” ” – Carl Sagan

    • Awwh, happy you approved of this one Tony. 🙂

      The start of that quote sounds familiar to me but not the second half, how odd! I love it though, so true that even a hundred years after a book has been published it can still be impressive and feel so current.

      Thanks for reading as always. 🙂

      • Yes, more than I thought I would actually! I had a bit of an essay catastrophe last week which slowed me down but for the most part I have managed to read nearly every day, even if only for five minutes. 🙂
        Second year sure is tough already, I just discovered that I have a 2000 word deadline for every single Tuesday of march! It’s crazy!!! And that’s not including the ones in between. I will definitely be using reading to help me chill out. 🙂

      • 2000 words is nothing for you because you’re an awesome writer, so I just know you’ll kick those deadlines in the ass!! I’m glad you’re finding some time every day to read though because it definitely is the best way to chill out :).

        Hey, great news! I found an awesome travel agent, and she has been helping me with our trip. Our flights are booked as well as our hotels in Paris, London (Kensington to be exact), and Edinburgh, and tomorrow I am getting her to arrange our tickets for the Tattoo. I’m so freakin’ excited!!!! We are starting out in Paris for 3 days, and will be in London from August 5-9 when we will take the train to Edinburgh for the second week. It sure is an expensive time of year to travel, but it will be worth it :). Wouldn’t it be cool if we could meet while we are there? I know TBM and Bunny Chow (I’m sure you know them from my blog) are going to try and get us to go pub hopping even though we don’t drink LOL!

      • Trying to type this with freezing cold hands due to lack of heating (student life) and it’s much harder than I thought it would be, LOL. But awhh thank you, 😀 I wish I could tackle an essay as easily and enthusiastically as I do with a blog post, but I think blogging has definitely given me a lot of practice and helped improve my writing. The deadlines asses will be kicked so much that they won’t be able to feel their backsides for a month, HA! 😛

        Ohh wow that’s so exciting! I didn’t realise you guys were hitting Paris too, you’re going to have an epic trip I just know it. I went to Paris when I was quite young but I adored it, I would like to go again at some point and see it all with older eyes. But wow that’s a packed trip, you’re going to be so tired after those two weeks, but it will be worth it!
        That would be so awesome. 🙂 Aha yes, with their memorable names and hilarious anecdotes I could hardly forget. Hmm, maybe you could pub hop with lemonade, and orange juice, LOL. 😛

      • Paris wasn’t in the original plan, but when TBM told me how easy it is to hop over there, we thought what the heck! Then the travel agent suggested flying into Paris first instead of going back and forth from London which made a lot of sense. And yes, it will be tiring, but I kind of know what to expect because when I went to England and the Netherlands with my son’s school, they made sure the schedule was crazy busy so there was no time for the kids to get in trouble. My hubby may think it is going to be more of a relaxing holiday, but oh well LOL!!!

      • Ahh right I see. 🙂 Well in that case if it is that easy to pop over there I really should do it again at some point! I would love to visit Shakespeare and Company the famous bookstore. Wow that sounds so awesome, I’m glad you guys are doing this it’s going to be a riot!
        I am always the same way with my holidays, I know often that it might be my only opportunity to visit and so I try to pack in tonnes every day, no lie ins, no sitting around in the hotel room! Usually the people I go on holiday with tell me they need a holiday to recover from their holiday, LOL.

        Ahahaa he won’t know what hit him. 🙂

  4. Great quote! It reminded me about this awesome quote I found on the internet that discussed how our brains basically take a series of symbols, we recognize as letters, and manipulate them into ideas and images that we put together into an amazing story. I wish I could remember where I found it….

    • Thanks! Wow that sounds like an awesome internet article, I love it when the process or reading and writing are boiled down the the basics. It’s such an everyday thing we don’t often think of the complexities involved to make it possible. 🙂

      I hope you find it, thanks for commenting Fidgety!

  5. What a lovely succinct quote! I’m always amazed at the effect that a book can have on me. Clever, clever authors.

    Books are better than people. In most cases 😉

    • Thanks C, I’m sure the author would be pleased with that description. 🙂 Me too, especially that books can have different effects on different people as well! It’s too clever for words.

      Ahaaa! I agree. 😛

Leave a Reply

