Quoting the Quill #26

quoting the quill small

‘Have books ‘happened’ to you? Unless your answer to that question is ‘yes’, I’m unsure how to talk to you.’

– Haruki Murakami

~ * ~

Ahaha, I got a really good LOL out of this quote when I first saw it! Yes, it is a little over dramatic, of course I am able to understand and talk to people about topics other than books, but to me there’s nothing more of a conversation stopper than someone who says they hate, dislike or don’t read. Having wonderful bloggers that have tagged along for my bookish ramblings has almost made me a bit spoilt. There is such a brilliant reading community on here that completely understand my hobby bordering on obsession that sometimes I forget just how clueless most people are about the wonders of reading.

My first brush with reality on this topic was last year in halls, but just last week I had another one!

A couple of weeks ago I was assigned to a group to work on a presentation assignment. One of them was a person I had never talked to before but I knew she followed my twitter. We had a group meeting last week and it turned out we were the only two of five to show up. This meant we were able to have a nice relaxed natter and get to know each other. Somewhere along in the conversation she asked me if I liked English. I asked her if she meant the subject and she replied yes. I said something along the lines of err, not really, I hated English in secondary school and wondered what the cause of the random question was. She told me that she had just assumed I was doing a joint degree in Psychology and English because I tweeted about books so much and often had statuses saying I was a certain number of pages through a book (automatic tweets from Goodreads). When I told her that I didn’t take English and simply read because I loved and enjoyed it she got this confused and slightly blank look on her face, as if she couldn’t understand why I would read a book other than to complete a degree! After that there was a bit of a lull in the conversation.
These people, they don’t know what they’re missing!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

26 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #26

  1. What strange people we are – reading for pleasure! What worlds people who don’t read miss…

    They’ll never know the chill of hearing a floorboard creak in an empty house while you’re reading Stephen King, or stand with Atticus Finch in the courthouse; they’ll never ride a broomstick with Harry Potter or chase a spectral hound across a moor with Sherlock Holmes.

    I know where I’d rather be.

    • I know, there simply must be something wrong with us to enjoy books about alternate worlds. About hardships and wars, racism and inequality, the growing pains of growing up. What silly topics, who would want to read about that? 🙂 Don’t even get me started on the fantasy!

      Ahh, I love your description, you writer you. 🙂 That sums it up perfectly.

      I know where I’d rather be too!

  2. Silly cow, I hope you gave her an evil glare when she wasn’t looking and then blocked her on Twitter.

    You following any of the Winter Olympics by any chance? I’ve got well into the curling and the short track skating.

    • Ahaha no I didn’t! She wasn’t rude about it at all, it was just a typical example of the vast gap between someone who reads and someone who doesn’t and the way they can’t possibly comprehend why it’s so fun!

      I’m not actually, I have to say it’s completely passed be by. When I’m at university I don’t tend to watch as much TV, especially when it comes to the events like that. Glad to hear you have been enjoying it! I know you got a kick out of the main Olympics. 🙂

  3. Yeah…when people say they don’t read it’s a bit like
    “Ummm…I don’t think I want to talk to you anymore.”
    Especially if they start praising a book movie that was actually terrible….

    …I think I’m a book snob

    • Ha! Yes, I go through the same thought process. Then I have to try and keep my thoughts in my mouth and instead say the proper and correct thing ‘that everybody is different and not everybody has to like books’. LOL.

      Eugh yes, the book to movie debate will always be a sore spot with us bookworms!

      • Yeah but…books are awesome. I really don’t understand it. Unless the first book you tried to read was truly terrible…
        But even then, there are so many other books out there that that really isn’t an excuse.

        Ohh yeah. Especially when people say “Ohhhhh I wonder what’s going to happen next!” when the book’s been out for years…

      • I don’t really understand it on a personal level because books are a vital part of my life, but I do on a logic level as much as I try to ignore it. Not everyone finds it easy to concentrate on a book, not everyone can handle sitting still for that long and most people aren’t interested because ‘books aren’t cool’ blah blah or they have other hobbies they prefer like running or video games etc. I couldn’t imagine living that way though!

        Ahahaa, exactly! 😀

  4. If you could hear the horrible conversations I have with my sons about reading you would pity me sooooo much. It breaks my heart when they say books are stupid :(. I won’t give up though – one day they will come back to the fold!! You know what I really love? I love how I can meet a perfect stranger, the subject of books comes up, and all of a sudden it is like we have been best friends for years. There is nothing better than sharing book stories :).

    • They say books are stupid?! Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. 😦 Awh man, I knew that they weren’t readers but that’s such a shame. I would really struggle with that but I suppose the more you push someone to do something the less they want to do it, so it is better to leave them to their own devices as you’ve said, and hope that they will return to it again when they are older.

      Ohh you are so right! Nothing creates a bond quite as quickly as two people who discover they have a book in common. It really is wonderful the way that happens. Great point, Cindy! I hope you’re well. 🙂

      • Everything is good here. I’ve been reading a lot and watching the Olympics. If Spring would just arrive early, everything would be perfect :). Hope school is bearable and you are finding time to squeeze in some reading :).

      • Ah good, good!
        I must admit the winter Olympics is entirely passing me by. I got really into the main Olympics (largely because it was held here) but by the time I realised the winter one was on we were already half way though it, lol! I’ve caught a few snippets and headlines though and some of controversies.
        Ahh, I know what you mean, I can’t wait for spring now! We’ve been having lots of rain here and some of the worst flooding I’ve ever seen. Definitely looking forward to soaking up the sun. 🙂
        Thanks Cindy, I’m still managing to squeeze in some reading, not so much the review though as you can tell, LOL.

  5. Ha! I love this quote! And it’s SO true, when I meet someone new, I always try to bond over a book but if that person declares they do not like reading an awkward silence follows. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

    • Thanks Lindsey!
      Me too, I usually throw out a probing question vaguely in the book related area to see if new people I meet are readers. I’m always a little disappointed if they aren’t.

      No problemo, glad you enjoyed!

  6. I’m a very forgiving person and don’t judge people if they choose not to read 😉 (I just secretly think how much richer and varied my life is compared to theirs)

    I genuinely love talking to people who read because it is such a glorious thing to bond over. It’s exciting and makes you feel part of a club.

    On another note: I’m not sure I could be in a relationship with somebody who didn’t read. Eek.

    • Ahahaha, that train of thought sounds familiar, I wonder why that could be… 😛 Ohh right, because I do exactly the same thing!

      I completely agree with you Charl, it’s amazing how two people can bond over reading even if they are completely different in other aspects of their lives, reading really brings people together.

      Ahaha oooooh, bit of a turn off eh? I know what you mean. I think I could be as long as they accepted my love for reading and didn’t give me funny looks over my obsession over imaginary characters. :L Otherwise? Definitely not!

  7. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 16th-22nd |

  8. Of the people I know in real life, I think only a handful read books for pleasure. The majority tend to wrinkle their noses in disgust whenever they see me a holding a book. It’s so sad. 😦

    • I know what you mean. I am lucky to have a few rare people around me that do at least get to an extent the enjoyment of a book, but outside those people no one seems to read at all!
      Wrinkling their noses at the sign of a book? Blasphemy! How could they? Things like that make me feel sad on their behalf. Why can’t people just give books a chance. *Sigh.*

  9. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: February 16th-22nd | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

