Wednesday Madness and the Ultimate Reading Experience

Hello wonderful WordPress people, hope you’re having an awesome Wednesday, one thing’s for sure, it must be going better than mine!

prophet_lol_cat readathon hour 24 april 2011
I spent seven hours of my life today staring at a screen full of statistics transferring, sorting and analysing data. Woohoo! Isn’t student life fun? Unfortunately a lot of the work didn’t go to plan so what should have been a tough three hours turned into a seven hour grueling and unrelenting slog. Luckily it was part of a group project so at least we were all in it together. I’m pretty sure every one of us left the room with an awful headache. You know it’s bad when the lecturer’s are having trouble working out why your statistics aren’t working, it’s the equivalent to that feeling when even spell check doesn’t understand what the heck you’re on about, AND SPELL CHECK KNOWS EVERYTHING.

Gah.

Anyhooows, before I ramble on for too long and send you guys to sleep, believe it or not there is a purpose to the madness in this post! The lovely Rita over at Weaving Pages was kind enough to offer me the opportunity to do a guest post over at her blog and thus the post Six Steps for the Ultimate Reading Experience was born! I would love it if you would consider taking the time to check it out. I had a lot of fun with it, it’s been a while since I’ve been able to do a more personal blog that wasn’t a review and I enjoyed chatting about my reading habits. 🙂

IMG_6990edited

Did you experience any of your own Wednesday madness? And if you have any tips for the ultimate reading experience you feel I’ve missed out feel free to tell me in the comments (here or over on the post), I’m always on the lookout for reading tips!

Image Sources:
I’ve seen the end cat: http://catmacros.wordpress.com/2009/07/26/i-have-seen-the-end/
Picture with book and tea: My own, please do not reuse.

44 thoughts on “Wednesday Madness and the Ultimate Reading Experience

  1. I’ve got the day off work, which is great, but I had an appointment with the dentist. I came away with the feeling that he only prods and pokes around in my mouth so that he can prod and poke around in my wallet afterwards.

    And statistics are a complete shit.

    • Woohooo, days off work are awesome. 🙂 They keep us sane. Ooooh that’s not so good though, I feel your pain. Up until recently the dentist was free for me but now I have to pay like a good citizen, Becky no like paying for something she doesn’t even want done in the first place!

      Michael, never was there a truer word spoken.

  2. Ultimate reading experience? Ooh, this sounds interesting, so I must go and check it out. I feel for you with your slog filled day (love that word). My day was also very taxing on my brain, but I finished a huge job, so I felt satisfied afterwards. My tip for the ultimate reading experience? Allow yourself to completely and totally lose yourself in the story :).

    • Hehe, glad you think so Cindy! I just popped over to reply to your comment, thanks for reading it. 🙂 Aha, I love that word, simply pronouncing it out loud makes it feel slog-ish, isn’t it odd when that happens? Ahh, at least you came away having felt like you achieved something! Our group was happy that the work was finished but we still have so many steps to do that the victory was short lived, all the faffing yesterday really slowed us down.

      That’s possibly the best tip of all. 🙂

      • Ohh no, you guys still have snow?! I always forget that your weather is so different from ours, it’s actually been quite a warm winter here and we haven’t had any snow yet (Hopefully it will stay that way!).
        Hope you got to work safely and without too much frustration! I don’t blame you at all for feeling slog-ish. Silly weather. 🙂

      • Well, it turns out I should have just stayed home because by afternoon the weather had deteriorated again and many roads were closed. So, I ended up going home early anyway and had a horrible drive with near zero visibility. I can’t wait for Spring!!!

      • Ohh I know, I just read your mystery photo post you poor thing! Sounds like a tonne of hassle, I’m sure it must have been very frustrating. I know it would have put me in a bad mood! I’m glad you were able to get back safely though. 🙂

        I can’t wait for spring either, BRING IT ON.

  3. A fun blog, Becky! I had the perfect armchair for reading. It is big enough to allow me to curl up but also has wide, low arms that let me dangle my legs over. Leather and soft — one of my all time best buys! And I am going to follow up your YouTube link. Hope you find some time to read a couple of chapters.

      • Thank you, Anne, I’m glad you enjoyed reading it! Oooh your armchair sounds wonderful, I need to get me one of those. 🙂 At the moment I don’t have a specific chair but a specific way of sitting on chairs, teehee. Glad to see that you are a big fan of the leg dangling too, it really does work doesn’t it?
        Hope you liked the Youtube link and find it useful! Thanks and back at ya. 🙂

      • The youTube link was great, if only because I didn’t know that all that existed. I am a Youtube novice, only darting in and out. It is one of those things that I know I would get sucked into, and spend hours there!

        As for leg dangling….well, it is the only way to go!

        Happy reading. 🙂

      • Ahh, well in that case I’m glad to have been of service. 🙂 There are so many cool things available on the internet if you know where to look. I think after my holiday in Scotland I realised how much I liked Celtic music and decided to look it up on a whim. Now I listen to that video all the time! Ohh you are so right, I spend way too many hours on Youtube.

        Thanks. 🙂

    • Me too Lindsey, me too. Why ohh why am I taking a science? As silly as it sounds, I didn’t expect the amount of statistics I would have to do. Still, I love the rest of the subject so I guess it’s worth it. Words are definitely nicer!

      Thanks for checking the guest post out Lindsey, I just replied to your comment over there. I’m so glad that we have a similar reading ritual. 🙂

    • P.S. I’m liking Fangirl a lot, it’s a tonne of fun and the dialogue is excellent. I read the first half so quickly and the second would have been the same if that darn thing called life hadn’t of gotten in the way!

  4. My Wednesday was not awesome either. I lost my Nexus tablet which I use for reading; I am inconsolable. 😦 I’m heading over to read your post now!

    Also, I like your Fangirl & tea picture!

    • Ohhh no you poor thing, I feel for you! Noooooooooo, not the reading tablet! This is a FIASCO. I don’t suppose there is any chance of you finding it? Or is it lost for good?

      Thanks for reading the post, Zen, I really appreciate it and just popped over to reply to your comment over there. 🙂

      Thanks! I liked this one too.

      • I really doubt it. =[ My friends are telling me not to lose hope yet, so I’m giving it a week before I start the hunt for a new one.

        And no problem! It was a fun post. =D

      • Ohh no, so sorry to hear that. It sounds like you have good friends, it’s always useful to have buddies that are optimists! Good luck finding it. 🙂

        Thanks!

  5. I share your pain on the stats front. I went on a course once which was heavily encouraged by my university only to find that it was aimed at people doing an entirely different kind of research and who couldn’t answer any of our questions 😦 I spent my Wednesday sorting out all the forms for my new job and calling banks to make my London move official (it’s only taken 3.5 years!), exciting but terrifying at the same time…!

      • I am so sorry to hear that you’ve also had to deal with the trauma of stats, please accept my deepest condolences! Eeeesh, why would they do that?! That’s just unnecessary torture for student, hmmph. Still, I guess all knowledge is good knowledge and who knows, maybe one day down the line if will be useful lol.

        Ohh no Admin! That’s almost as bad as stats, I feel your pain. I hope you gave yourself a nice break today to compensate, or at least a couple of hours to read anyway. Wow an official move to London, congratulations that must feel amazing. 😀 Good luck!

      • Oh yes, they were a daily feature for a while and I still have to worry that my PhD examiners will be the kind of people who can tell that I don’t know what I’m talking about when I wave my hand and say “Oh yes I did a two way ANOVA with a Tukey post-hoc test.” I got that past my supervisor but as for people really in the know? We’ll see!

        I quite like admin really, it’s nice to answer questions I’m certain of every once in a while (what’s your name, where do you live etc.). Although I did have a couple of frustrating phone calls with banks btu does anyone ever have any other kind of phone calls with banks?!

        It feels pretty sweet although worryingly grown-up at the same time!

      • Ahaha touche! Anova’s, regressions, correlations, z-scores, the list goes on! While I know when and why to go through the motions, I still don’t know what the heck I’m doing half the time. I will keep my fingers crossed that people take your ANOVA with its Tukey post-hoc at face value. 🙂

        Ohh really? That’s a great trait that will get you far in life! I like some admin if it includes organising but hate anything where I have to chase up people over the phone etc, it just gets stressful. Plus I get so paranoid I’ll do it wrong and mess something up!

        I’m sending you a thumbs up via the interwebs as a you’re awesome enjoy your home housewarming present. 😛

      • It does indeed, each one as incomprehensible as the last 😦

        I’m not a fan of phone conversations either but sometimes it has to be done! I totally know where you’re coming from with the paranoia, there’s always questions you’re not prepared for :/

        Thanks, the thumbs up is definitely making the move better!

      • Sigh, this is true. Exactly! That’s the thing I hate about admin on the phone, you’re so often put on the spot and have to pluck a nonsensical answer out of thin air. 😛

        Ahahaa then it’s done its job!

  6. First things first: LOVE the nail varnish in your picture.

    7 hours? With statistics and numbers and horrible things? I think I would have cried. You’re a trouper.

    University isn’t always what it’s cracked up to be, eh? 😉

    • Ahaaaa, thank you! The nail varnish is, obviously, top priority over all other matters. 😛

      Yes, exactly. It was so horrible C, I can’t even tell you, not even a descriptive word in sight. I’m not sure I had any brain left afterwards! Well, just enough to write this post.

      Definitely not! Blogging is much better. 😉

  7. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: February 23rd-March 1st |

  8. Sorry you had a rough Wednesday last week – were the statistics for a psych group project? Loved your guest post and your corresponding picture of Fangirl. (:

    • Thanks Thomas, I think I’m still recovering actually and it’s been a week! Yes the stats were for a psychology group project, fun fun stuff.

      Glad you enjoyed the guest post and the picture. 🙂

  9. I’ve just been to read your post over at WeavingPages and that’s almost exactly my own ritual, I’ve never thought about candles or incense though…it’s 10am on a cold morning and I’ve got so many lectures to go to, all you’re making me want to do is go back to bed and get a book out! So difficult to resist 😱

    • Really? That’s awesome, you blatantly must have good taste. 😉 Candles and incense are great if you have the time! It may seem like extra work but if you have the stuff it literally only takes 3 minutes if that to get it all sorted.

      Owch, I feel for ya! 10am’s are pretty lethal, especially when you would rather be reading. This happens to me all too often *sigh*. Student life, eh? 🙂

      • There’s a Yankee Candle shop in the mall in town and I may have to pay them a visit next time I’m shopping! You’ve tempted me…Lectures do tend to take up aaall my time. 9 hours a week?! They really do ask too much of us! 😉

      • Ooooh, that sounds brilliant, definitely worth a visit. 🙂 I had to look Yankee candle up because I had no clue what it was, I thought maybe it was an American candle, LOL. You’d think I would have inside knowledge after using so many…not so much. 😛
        Agh, I know right? Couldn’t they cram it into only one hour? Honestly.

  10. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: February 23rd-March 1st | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

