Quoting the Quill #27

quoting the quill small

‘Sometimes you read a book so special that you want to carry it around with you for months after you’ve finished just to stay near it.’

– Markus Zusak

~ * ~

I found myself enthusiastically nodding my head when I came across this quote. I always thought carrying books around after I had finished them was one of my super weird bookworm quirks, but Zusak makes it sound much more socially acceptable, LOL. While this is not something I do regularly, I definitely implement it after I’ve read a spectacular book like The Hunger Games for instance.

I have yet to read any of Zusak’s book, but I’ve owned a copy of The Book Thief for ages and I’m hoping I may get round to it this year (all the movie promotion has spurred my interest into action). I know so many people who love his writing so hopefully I will too. 🙂

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

26 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #27

  1. I always carry around parts of books with me. In my head, anyway. 🙂 And that’s for years as well…

    The Book Thief was interesting. Parts of it worked for me and parts didn’t; sadly it was the parts that didn’t that I remember.

    • Hmm, that is a good point Tony, I hadn’t thought about it that way. If that’s the case I forever carry all the books I’ve read around with me too. 🙂

      Oooh that’s an intriguing prelude, I look forward to finding out what this cryptic remark means and discovering if I agree or not!

  2. I did that with Irving’s THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP. I can totally understand why you’d carry around HUNGER GAMES. Good story.

    • I’m glad to know that there are other people around on the interwebs that do the same thing, I thought it was a bit of a unique trait until I saw this quote and realised that a lot of bookworms probably do it too. 🙂

  3. Yep, yep, yep. I’m currently re-reading The Mortal Instruments series and feel this way.
    I haven’t read The Book Thief either, but the film trailer makes me want to.

    • Oooh, you must have really enjoyed them if you are rereading already! It doesn’t seem that you read them that long ago. I have the first two books in the series so I hope I like them as much as you do. 🙂

      Me too!

      • Was probably only last Autumn. The last book in the series is out in May and I want to read the previous 5 books before then. The characters have this witty banter that makes me laugh. I hope you’ll enjoy them too,

      • Ahh right I see, nothing prompts a reread more than a beloved series coming to a close or a new book release. It’s nice to build up to it with a reread, I highly approve. 😉
        I love witty banter too!

  4. Like Tony, I carry the stories around in my head, but I don’t physically keep the book with me. Actually, maybe that’s a lie. I’ve just thought about it. My bed is a complete mess, full of all sorts, and I’m certain there are a couple of books and my kindle loitering around. I guess when I first finish a book it is nearby, until I’ve written the review at least.

    It isn’t always books that you love that you carry around with you either, is it? I’ve just finished We Need to Talk About Kevin and I didn’t love it (I didn’t hate it either); at times it was a slog and other times it was pretty rewarding, but either way I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it at all. Stories, good or bad, tend to stick with you for a lifetime I think! That’s both a comforting and depressing thought, ha.

    • I agree with Tony as well, the books I don’t carry around physically are still stored in my head ready for me to reach out to when I need them. Whether it’s a random fact, a piece of advice or remembering the story itself. Ahh that’s a good point, I do that as well. I never re-shelve a book until I’ve reviewed it, it reminds me that I still need to write it and prompts me to get a move on if it’s been there a while!

      Agh, I think you were pretty brave to read that book! It deals with so many complex and touchy subjects. I watched the film a year or so ago and it totally creeped/freaked me out, I can only imagine how the book would get under your skin. That’s so true! Good or bad, they stay. I think it’s a good thing because the bad make us appreciate the good more. 🙂

  5. Zusak is incredible! (And he’s one of my countrymen. I love a good Aussie author. Another one is Ellie Marney, of “Every Breath”. If you love Sherlock Holmes, you will love that book. I read it in a day). You so need to read The Book Thief. It is just…wow. And the way he describes things is stupendous.
    I hug really good books for a while after I’m done. But if it’s a series I can’t bear to leave sometimes I’ll just start it again…

    • Oooh high praise indeed! I love Aussie authors too, there are some brilliant ones from there. 🙂 This is where I have to put my hands up and shamelessly admit that I have never read any of the Sherlock Holmes stories, I do own them though. I have this gorgeous leather-bound copy that I can’t wait to get too! I haven’t watched the TV series either but I’m going to start it too. I will have to keep an eye out for Every Breath. 🙂
      I’m so happy to have come across another book hugger!

      • Another great Aussie author is Belinda Alexandra. I suggest starting with Tuscan Rose. And then maybe Wild Lavender. The only thing with Alexandra’s books is you can’t read too many of them in a row. She’s brilliant, but the bones of her books are essentially identical. Plus, she seems to have a fascination with WW2 era. Except for “Golden Earrings”, from what I can remember.
        Conan Doyle is actually a great writer for the period. It’s all very straight-to-the-point. There’s hardly any of that verbosity you usually find in Victorian literature.
        Also, if you’re as in Sherlock Holmes as I am, I suggest you find a short story by Neil Gaiman called “A Study in Emerald”. Gaiman + Sherlock = PERFECTION. Seriously. And there’s this epic twist that I NEVER SAW COMING.
        The next book in the Every Breath trilogy comes out this June. I can’t WAIT!

      • Ooooh I haven’t heard of her either, I will make a note. 🙂 That sounds quite similar to a lot of other authors I know, while a lot of their books hold similar stories and themes, as long as you read them apart from each other you can appreciate them each individually as great stories.
        Ahh that sounds promising. It’s only recently that I’ve had the urge to read the books, when I was younger you couldn’t have forced me to read them. Old fashioned detectives? How boring! Lol, it’s strange how tastes can change. 🙂 That’s good, those Victorian authors do get a little over the top sometimes.

        I think I’ve heard of A Study in Emerald, it sounds awesome I better get reading the original tales first though. Sounds like I have a lot of reading to do! Good luck waiting for the next book, I know it can be agony.

        Also, I’m sorry it took me so long to reply to this, life man!

  6. You know you don’t even have to ask me if I love this quote right? It is amazing, and although I have never actually carried a favourite book around for days, I have been known to sit hugging a book tight to my chest after finishing it because I am so moved and just don’t want the experience to end. Time to add this to my list of favourite book quotes :).

    • Heheee of course not, I knew you would like it. 🙂 I definitely do the hugging thing too, it’s so comforting, especially when you’re not read to let go of a story!

      Oooh yay, high praise indeed. 🙂

  7. This is a great pick, I loved “The Book Thief”! For me it’s like some have said before me, books stay with me in head for a long time after I finish reading them. I’m constantly going over the story line and the characters and I’m constantly gabbing about them to anyone who possesses ears. 😉

    • Thanks Lindsey. 🙂 That’s the thing, so many people have told me how amazing The Book Thief is and yet I still haven’t read it, I must be crazy! I guess I was waiting for the right whim to spur me into reading it, and I think that whim has been activated this year.
      Aha, that sounds brilliant!

  8. Pingback: Bloggin’ Recap: March 3rd-8th |

Leave a Reply

