Quoting the Quill #28

quoting the quill small

‘Always question where your loyalties lie. The people you trust will expect it, your greatest enemies will desire it, and those you treasure the most, will, without fail, abuse it. Some say loyalty inspires boundless hope. Well that may be, but there is a catch. True loyalty takes years to build, and only seconds to destroy.’

– Revenge Season 1 (TV show)

~ * ~

Before anyone asks, no I have not been horribly slighted in any way and I am not sitting in my room plotting any evil schemes! However, I do love this quote. I have been holding on to it for a year or so to use on Quoting the Quill but have never been able to find the right moment for it. After all, I tend to choose quotes that reflect what I have felt or experienced during the week and I hope that this one won’t reflect my life anytime soon! Today as I looked down my list of potential quotes as I do every week, I figured it was finally time to let this one shine. 🙂

I must admit I didn’t get on with the TV show Revenge, I think I gave up after the second season because it seemed to be going round in circles and I found all the characters annoying, however, there were some great voice over quotes and on a couple of proactive days I managed to write some down.

I love this quote, I love how the words bounce around in your head as you read them, the structure of the sentences really works and makes the final line all the more dramatic. It’s cynical and dark but there is also a great deal of truth to it.
I find it interesting that it implies loyalty is bad, as if it is a fickle notion for the foolish. I agree with it to some extent, I am a very loyal person although only to a select few because as a general rule I don’t trust people. Not in a super guarded chip-on-the-shoulder way just in a realistic/logical way. People do after all, predominantly care about themselves and their well-being over others, something you get even more scary insight into when you take a psychology degree! (My social psychology lecturer for example, argues that there is no such thing as a selfless act and that everything we do is to benefit ourselves in some way.) But, I also think loyalty can be a truly wonderful thing. I know I have some brilliant people in my life who are loyal to me, and I think the world would be a lonely place without them. I have close friends who I know would come to my rescue (physically or metaphorically) and I would do the same for them. It’s nice in life when someone has your back! As long as they don’t stab it. 😉

I love this quote mostly because it really gets me thinking. What do you think about loyalty, is it a bad or a good thing? Do you consider yourself a loyal person?

~*~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

38 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #28

  1. Well, all I can say is that I’m so glad I’m not the only one who thinks Revenge is going around in circles! I loved the show in the beginning, but I think they should have just ended it after season one. So many shows are being dragged on unnecessarily nowadays don’t you think?

    • Ahahahaa, no way! You think so too? I gave up quite a while ago now and when I see the adverts come on TV I don’t miss it at all because it looks like barely anything has moved on, STILL. Agh.
      I completely agree, it’s difficult to make a show of high standard and maintain it for a long period of time, especially those that have one key concept and then drag it out to make extra money instead of ending it where it was originally intended. *Sigh.*

      • Exactly! 🙂 I have come to this conclusion recently as well. I was following a lot of TV shows and wasn’t that invested in half of them. Similarly to books, I often feel the need to see things through to the end even if I’m not that interested in them. But last year I finally said to myself that I would not continue with any more ‘meh’ shows when I could be spending my time doing something else I preferred. It’s really worked and I get a lot more done! Especially reading as you’ve said. It was quite liberating actually.

      • Well, one that might really upset you is Bitten based on the books by Kelley Armstrong. The acting is rather pathetic in parts (especially the fight/attack scenes), so I decided I would rather just read the books. I also watched Beauty and the Beast and Arrow for a while, and I really enjoyed their first seasons, but they should have ended there!!

      • Ahh yes, Arrow. I didn’t even make it past the first series (which is rare for me) although I think that was partly because I was watching it around my transition to uni. The acting really made me cringe and I wasn’t invested in any of the characters! I’ve seen a couple of trailers for Beauty and the Beast and was thinking about watching it, but I will definitely avoid it now! I trust your judgement.
        Ohh no! Such a shame about Bitten. I think I heard that it was going to be airing in Canada first? We haven’t had much hype over it here yet and if it weren’t for the internet I would have had no clue it was being adapted! I have to admit I’m not surprised though. I’m watching Smallville at the moment and the girl who plays Elena was in it at one point and I thought she was a pretty terrible actor! I want to get further in the series first before I watch the show anyway but awh man, I’m sure you were so disappointed too!

      • It’s so difficult when you want to like something so much but it just doesn’t work.

        A couple of duds I’ve come across were Arrow (the same as you), Grimm, The Secret Circle, Once Upon a Time I’m still on the fence about, it’s some and some. I’m sure there are more that I could mention if I thought about it! Such a shame. I’ve also noticed lately that quite a few shows I’ve loved previously have been getting very meh including The Vampire Diaries and New Girl. So sad. 😦

      • Yup, I gave up on Grimm too, and Vampire Diaries, which used to be one of my favourite shows, is quickly becoming stupid and repetitive. Ok, now let’s talk awesome shows. My favourites right now are Game of Thrones (best show on TV), The Walking Dead (yes, I’m a zombie freak), The Following (excellent but very disturbing), Reign, Banshee, True Blood (kinda goofy at times but addictive), and I am still a diehard Grey’s Anatomy fan. I just started watching a new one called Resurrection too. The first episode was amazing, but we will have to see if it stays that way. I also enjoyed the first season of Under the Dome based on the Stephen King book, but again we will have to see if it continues to hold my interest. What are your fav’s?

      • Mm, I got two seasons into Grimm I think and then couldn’t take it anymore! I’m still struggling along with Vampire Diaries although I’m not really sure why. It’s probably the eye candy… 😛
        YES. Game of Thrones is my FAVOURITE. I can’t wait for it to come back again soon, I’m on the edge of my seat with anticipation. I love The Following too! And ohh my gosh I love Kevin Bacon, there’s something so appealing about him, I’m not sure what but he’s so charismatic. I’ve only seen the first season but have been recording the second. I watched half of s1 of True Blood for an assignment and loved it, I need to get back to it at some point! I’ve never watched The Walking Dead but seeing as we have such similar tastes I will have to check it out. I’m also a diehard Grey’s Anatomy fan, I’m addicted and I’m so sad that the show will be coming to an end soon! I’m watching the first series of Sherlock Holmes as we speak and I’m loving it.

        Okay, I have some recommendations for you if you haven’t seen these already! Supernatural (who can resist the Winchester boys?!), Lost, The Gilmore Girls (heart this so much), Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Pleeeaaaseee tell me you’ve seen this!), Merlin and my current favourite show which I absolutely adore and no one else seems to watch, Parenthood. Parenthood is absolutely amazing, it’s about this large American family and all the different generations in it and it tackles so many wonderful issues, I am totally addicted and I just know you would love it!!

        I’ve also been hearing great things about a show called Sleepy Hollow, so I really want to check that one out. 🙂

      • Boy do we have similar tastes! Isn’t The Following amazing and totally disturbing at the same time? I think it’s very well done. And you will quickly become addicted to The Walking Dead. My youngest, Daniel, always made fun of me for watching it. Then he started watching it on Netflix and had to admit I was right. It was a wonderful moment :). As for Supernatural, I have one word – HOTNESS! And yes, I remember watching Buffy years ago. It was very popular here. I watched the first season of Merlin and loved it, but then I lost track of it. I think it moved to another network or something. My biggest problem is that I don’t have enough hours in a day to keep up with all of my books let alone TV shows as well. As I’ve said many times before, I need to quit my job LOL!

      • We sure do! Yes it is definitely creepy and unnerving, I also found it pretty fascinating because the same year it started we did quite a bit on cults in my social psychology class so it was fun to watch it and see the knowledge I had been gaining put into practice in such a brilliant and entertaining way!
        I have no doubt I would get addicted to The Walking Dead, it sounds awesome. Ahaha brill, a total I told you so take that moment. 😛 Hotness indeed, I could watch that show on silent and still enjoy it just as much, LOL. I think it was pretty popular here too. I was wayy too young when it first aired but I caught onto it later and it still remains my all time favourite show. 😀 Awwh no that’s such a shame, I love Merlin and it only gets better and better after the first season, maybe you could get somebody to buy you the boxset for your birthday. 😉

        Ahh that is so true, we must choose wisely with out time!

  2. This quote, coming from Revenge doesn’t surprise me – that show – the main character (Emily?) is very pessimistic. I’m not fond of it. I don’t like any of the characters.
    Anyway, I’ve always thought of myself as a loyal person, and I’ve always thought loyalty was a good thing. Oh, I would definitely argue with your psychology professor on their being no true selfless acts…(such a fascinating conversation!)

    • She is, and she sure knows how to hold a grudge! I didn’t like her very much either which is one of the many reasons I stopped watching the show. I’m relieved to discover that I am not the only one who wasn’t keen on it! I like this quote in isolation though, it gives me a lot to think about. 🙂

      Ahh a glass half full person, I like your thinking! I think I stand somewhere in the middle after writing this post. It’s funny, I wasn’t even sure what my views were until I started writing it and this came out. Isn’t writing funny that way?

      it was a fascinating conversation! Unfortunately it was only given a small mention in the lecture. I wish we could have had a whole discussion on it, it would have been interesting. After he said it my gut instinct was to say of course there is! But the more he explained it and I evaluated it, I erred more on his side of thinking, with the exception of mother-child/father-child relationships possibly. I’m glad you found it interesting. 🙂

  3. That’s an interesting idea from your prof about there being no selfless acts. But what of fire fighters who go back into a burning building to rescue one more person and then never come out again?

    • I thought so too! As I was saying to Tiffany above I wish we could have had a whole lecture debating it, I would have liked to know more. Maybe I’ll have to do a blog post on it at some point. 😉

      Ahh, but psychologists with this view would argue that they’re not just doing it for the benefit of others but also themselves as they would get feelings of self-worth out of it. Saving other people makes them feel better about themselves and also gives them a positive self-identity. They might not recognise consciously that they are getting positive reinforcement out of doing it. It’s interesting stuff, especially as there isn’t a ‘right’ answer!

    • It’s one of those philosophical points that we will probably never find the true answer to.

      The fire fighter might seem noble and honourable but his motives behind going into that burning building may be selfish, even if he himself doesn’t realise it. He could be an adrenaline junkie who thrives on the thrill of risking his life, he could be doing it to increase his social status and read about his heroic exploits in the paper the next day, or maybe he’s trying to alleviate the guilt he feels for something he did many years ago.

      I’m not a subscriber to that train of thought myself, it’s far too absolute for my tastes.

      • Exactly! Great example Michael. 🙂 That could be another potential example of how an act that at first appears selfless isn’t so much. I think there’s a great deal of truth in the theory actually. I know that a lot of the time if I help a person it makes me feel really good afterwards. I don’t consciously do it because of that, but them we makes masses of unconscious decision everyday that are so automatic we don’t realise we’re even doing it. If we had to think about every minuscule detail each day we would go insane! As with anything it’s a topic that could be debated with equally valid arguments of both side.

        I agree, you should never take anything as absolute and should always be open to other ideas/viewpoints!

  4. Hmm it is a rather downbeat quote but pretty accurate, I’d say?! Like you, I don’t trust very easily and I always find the notion of loyalty to be fickle. It’s an amazing thing to have, don’t get me wrong, but at times it isn’t as steadfast as you’d expect or want. You have to choose your loyalty wisely as it may not be reciprocated in the same way that you give out. In the bluntest sense, we’ve all been shit on by other people at some point in our lives!

    I sound highly depressing don’t I? Having said all that, I’d like to think I’m fiercely loyal to the select few that I choose 😉

    • I completely agree, I feel that way too! It’s weird because as a general rule I’m an optimist, and yet the other side of me is a realist and goes along with quotes like this. It’s a weird conflicting personality trait. 😛
      That is definitely true, there’s loyalty in the everyday sense, but how often is it tested? And as this quote says it doesn’t take much to disrupt it. That’s a good point, there’s a lot of expectations that go along with loyalty!
      Ahahaaa, touche! Couldn’t have said it better myself.

      Not at all, in fact, you sound very similar to me, LOL. I don’t think it’s depressing, I just think it’s logical/smart. 🙂

  5. Ooooo really great pick Becky! I never watched Revenge because it seemed like one of those that would never truly be resolved (like Pretty Little Liars) but I do love this quote. It is funny how trust is one of those rare concepts that is built over years and years, but like paper goes up in flames at the slightest catch. Everyone is human, so we are not perfect. I think to be human is to ultimately by selffish to an extent, but at the same we are social creatures.

    We crave each other’s affections and with that, I think, comes trust. And also I truly think that trust is a two way street, it has to go both ways to work otherwise it fizzles out. Like I said Becky, great pick, it inspires a lot of thought! 🙂

    • Thanks, Lindsey. I’m glad you liked it! You know, that about sums it up perfectly. It’s very like Pretty Little Liars in that it goes around and around in circles and then branches off with subplots and flashbacks that have little relevance to the overall plot just to drag it out a little longer. I do actually like Pretty Little Liars a because it’s great mindless entertainment, but I couldn’t even get that out of Revenge.
      Oooh I love your description, it fits perfectly. 🙂 I agree and that’s why I like this quote, even though it may be a bit dreary it’s quite accurate in many ways. Humans can be very fickle and our overwhelming instinct is the need to survive and if anything threatens that or something we desperately want, loyalty often goes out the window! We are selfish, but as you’ve said we also care about others and that’s an important aspect we shouldn’t overlook.

      That’s an interesting point and yes, it definitely needs to go both ways. Thanks, always happy to be of service of the quoting variety! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: March 16th-22nd | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

Leave a Reply

