Quoting the Quill #29

quoting the quill small

‘Sometimes you will never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory.’

– Dr Seuss

~ * ~

First off, how is it fair that Dr Seuss has such an unlimited amount of wisdom? Everywhere I go on the internet I find fabulous quotes by him and frantically write them down. I wonder what it would be like to live in his head where all these thoughts form, and whether it would be liberating or tiring. I’ve never read any of his books so if anyone out there in virtual space has any recommendations for me, fire away!

I’ve been feeling very nostalgic this week, in a good way. I’ve found myself flicking back through old photos, thinking about old friends and the things that I have left behind with a big cheesy grin on my face. I have been remembering inside jokes and hysterical laughter from school break times past. I’ve even reminisced about some of the fun from halls last year. It really is the little things in life that add up to make us happy, and as Dr Seuss says so eloquently most of the time we don’t realise how much we will cherish these memories at a later date, how we will look back on them and realise how they have shaped who we are today.

Too many happy fuzzy feelings this week! I just want to go round hugging people because life is good and oddly smooth right now. 🙂 Although that could change next week after I get some of  my results back…one day at a time!

I hope you’re having a lovely Wednesday. 🙂

~*~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

15 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #29

  1. Cool quote! Dr Seuss always gets dropped into the kid-bin, but his stories have a deeper vein of tolerance and understanding than you’d first realise.

    • Thanks Tony, glad you liked it! Yeah, it’s so admirable how he’s managed to fit so many insightful quotes into books aimed at children. I think it’s brilliant that he didn’t dumb down his material just because he was aiming at a younger age bracket.

    • Thanks for the rec, El Guapo, I will definitely keep an eye out for it! I might go to my fave second hand book store and ask if they have any Seuss. May look like a weirdo but I say you’re never too old to read a childrens book!

      Ingenious present idea by the way, brilliant. 🙂

  2. Dr. Seuss has always been this gigantic figure of almighty wisdom to me ever since I read his books when I was a child. And OMG Becky you need to read his books pronto! They are the perfect combination of whimsical and meaningful. I think Green Eggs & Ham is great to start off, but my absolute favorites are The Lorax and Oh, the Place You’ll Go!

    • Ohh wow, sounds like Seuss has been a constant companion to you for a while now, that’s awesome. I must admit that I didn’t realise how profound he could be until I started seeing quotes of his all over the internet. Hehee, yes mam! Thank you for the recommendations, I will definitely keep an eye out for these ones, I am determined to fix this hole in my literary shelf. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ten Influential Books Tag – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

