Quoting the Quill #30

quoting the quill small

“At night, when the objective world has slunk back into its cavern and left dreamers to their own, there come inspirations and capabilities impossible at any less magical and quiet hour. No one knows whether or not he is a writer unless he has tried writing at night.”

– H.P. Lovecraft

~*~

I am a night owl, so this quote instantly resonated with me. I always find myself having my best ideas and inspiration late at night, and it’s also when my writing flows the best! I love the way Lovecraft has phrased his thoughts too, so much brilliant imagery. 🙂

I hope you’re all having a lovely Wednesday!

~*~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

21 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #30

    • Early start, early night? Brrr, I shiver just thinking about it! I’ve always been the complete opposite although that’s not always to my advantage. Getting up for classes was always horrendous, and it’s the same with jobs.

      Hahaha, and quite right too! 🙂

  1. This *almost* makes me wish that I was a night owl. Alas, I’m not. I love my sleepy times too much! I can’t function beyond midnight because my brain turns to mush. It’s mush the majority of the time, but it’s even worse at night!

    Stunning quote though, as always 😉

    • You’re missing out, Charl! Although I’m sure you would say the same thing to me about mornings. 😉 I definitely empathise with your brain mushiness though because that is exactly how I feel every time I have to get up early. It’s so odd how different people are better suited to different times of day.

      Thank you muchly. 🙂

  2. Great quote! I wrote at night when my wife was away from home, but I’m usually a day person. It’s a weird sensation writing at night, completely different from writing in the day. There’s a sense of something…clandestine about it, like I should be mixing potions.

    • Thanks Tony, this one just happened to catch my eye!
      I absolutely adore the way you put that, hey, someone should quote YOU. 😉 Also note to self: I totally need to use the word clandestine more!
      I always feel as if everything is more magical at night and it seems to have this weird ability to separate you from yourself in a way. I think it’s the time of day where you are the least aware of yourself, where suddenly dreams and fantasy things somehow feel more possible, and it makes writing so much easier. It’s also why I love reading at night. 🙂

  3. I’m usually a day writer, but I switched to writing at night for a while last year. It’s a strange sensation, far different than writing in the day. There’s a feeling of it being something clandestine, like I should be mixing potions.

  4. BECKY! Yes, yes, c’est moi, from ages ago! I am back and where is the first place I went? Oui! I’m super relieved to see you’re still blogging and keeping up your great posts! I saw in your side bar that you’re reading Trudi Canavan and my first thought was with a smirk, “Becky does love her Trudi Canavan” hahaha. I haven’t yet begun that trilogy that I bought the book for… The Magician’s… something? But I will, dammit, I will! Much to catch up on in a blog I will post so you’ll see what I’ve been up to, but I just wanted to send a personal little hello and say I’ve missed you and your blogs and I’m looking forward to reading them regularly again! ❤
    ~ Lauren

    • Ohh my gosh, you’re BACK! I thought you had been lost in the wide expanse of the internet forever! I got a big goofy grin on my face when I saw you had commented. Sorry for the delayed reply, I was right in the midst of cramming for my last exam so I refused to log in to WordPress for fear of distraction.
      Awwwh, I’m so pleased you found yourself back here again! Hahaa, yes, I sure do love my Trudi Canvan, I talk about her so much that I feel as if I should get paid to promote her. 😛 The first book is The Magician’s Guild and it’s called The Black Magician Trilogy.

      Can’t wait to read your blog post and I am honoured to be considered worthy of a personal hello. *Chuffed nerdy smile*. Glad to have you back my friend, you were certainly missed! Especially your long comments. 😉

Leave a Reply

