Quoting the Quill #31

quoting the quill small

“Some believe that it is only great power that can hold evil in check. But that is not what I’ve found. I found it is the small things. Every day deeds by ordinary folk that keeps the darkness at bay.”

– The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

~*~

I am feeling in a Middle Earth kind of mood today (one might argue that I am always in a Middle Earth kind of mood) so I have decided to use a quote from The Hobbit film this week. I’m not sure this is a Tolkien quote as I don’t remember it being in the book but I love it all the same! I think people underestimate the value of every day deeds, one kind act can improve someone’s mood, give them some valuable advice or help push them in the right direction. You do not always need a large amount of power to impact someone, just a good, strong heart. 🙂

~*~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

25 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #31

  1. I SO wanted to use some quotes from this Hobbit film for my book challenge, but I don’t think many of them are from the actual text! Nevertheless, there are many fabulous quotes in this film. Bravo.

    Excellent choice! Very true. It’s the small things that can make a world of difference. Just a tiny act of kindness or somebody letting you know that they’re thinking of you. An ordinary person can do extraordinary things 🙂 (That sounds exceptionally wise coming from me)

    • Ahh I know what you mean, I often have that dilemma when I can’t remember which quotes came from the original text rather than the movie, it gets even more confusing when the movie uses a quote from the book but changes it slightly!

      Glad you approve of the Hobbity quote. There’s something about this one I truely love. I think it’s because it empowers the everyday ‘normal’ person who often does just as much to contribute to the world as those with more power do, but in different ways. 🙂 Tiny acts can often have big consequences.

      Haha, wise indeed! I bow to your wisdom oh mighty Charl from house of Miscrawl. (I’ve been reading too much Game of Thrones :P).

    • That was nice of you. That’s one of those cases where the power of the internet can be used in a powerful and positive way.

      Uni is good thanks, I actually finished yesterday so I’m mighty relieved that I have no more essays to write or exams to take. Bring on summer, wahoo! 🙂

  2. Cool quote! I love the Tolkien quote about going on a journey…how it starts from your door and the way goes ever on to stranger and stranger places.

    • Thank you ohh wise one, name of Tony. 🙂 Do you mean the one that says be careful about not losing your feet? I like that one, it’s quirky. I also like ‘not all who wander are lost’, that one seems to be everywhere these days.

    • Thanks, Cindy! This one stood out to me as ‘the’ quote from the movie, it resonated with me instantly and I kept thinking about it afterwards. 🙂

      Hope you are well!

      • Yes, I just finished yesterday as a matter of fact and I’m heading back home tomorrow. I can’t wait for summer and endless reading, whoopieee!!! 😀

      • Yayyyyy!!! I’m so happy for you :). I don’t know about you, but I have so many books here at home to read plus there are so many good ones coming out in the next couple of months. What’s a bookworm to do? Read, read, read!!

      • Agghh tell me about it, I’m going to read like my life depends on it. I’m determined to get though sooooo many books this summer. The only problem is deciding which one to go for first! I have so many books just like you. I need to read faster, LOL.

        What are you reading at the moment and what’s next up on the pile? 🙂

      • I’m actually reading 3 right now: An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield (because I have a VIP pass to meet him next weekend at a photography show), Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich (because I won it in a blog contest), and I’m still plugging away at Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin. Winter’s Tale has some of the most beautifully written passages I have ever read, but it is also totally mind boggling, so I can only read a bit at a time. As to which books are next, where do I start – Bird Box by Josh Malerman, All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin, Tales of Every by Jen Wylie, and The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon. I also want to re-read The Fault in our Stars before the movie comes out, but I’m not sure if I will have time. How’s that for a list? And that doesn’t even count the books that are coming out in the next two months – The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness, Writen in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon, City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, just to name a few. Now you’re going to look all these up aren’t you? LOL!

      • Wow, you are a busy lady. 🙂 I did notice that it was taking you a while to read Winter’s Tale, it seems to have been on your Goodreads longer than your average read. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying it though! Sometimes you can get good books that are impossible to read a lot of at once, they need to be savoured.
        Haha blimey that is a looooong list, I feel your pain. It’s so tough to choose which book to read next! I recognise quite a few of those titles but I haven’t read any of them. Looks like you have quite a few squeals in there, I hope you enjoy them. But yes, you are totally right, I’m about to go off and research the titles you’ve mentioned that I haven’t heard of, you know I can’t resist!
        I think I might go for Gone Girl, the final book in the Hush Hush series or an indie author book next, we’ll see. 🙂

    • No judging! Blogs of a Bookaholic has always been a judge free zone. 🙂 The Hobbit is a brilliant novel though, well worth a go if you like fantasy and heartwarming tales about underdogs.

  3. Great quote! I haven’t read The Hobbit but I definitely agree with the sentiment; it’s not always the big, chivalric deeds that matter – it can be the small ones that accumulate over time. How does it feel to be done with your second year at Uni?

    • Thanks, Thomas. The Hobbit is a great book and definitely worth checking out if you have the time, but I know the life of a student is a busy one!

      It feels great thanks, I don’t think it has quite sunk in yet but after all the hard work this year it’s a well deserved break. 🙂 It’s bizarre to think I only have one year left though! Hows university going on your end?

  4. Loving this quote and it’s so true! Similarly I always think it’s those unexpected good deeds by people who you wouldn’t expect that also keep the darkness at bay and restore my faith in humanity every now and again! 😛 Thanks for sharing Becky 🙂 x

    • Yay, so glad. 🙂 I completely agree, little things can be far more important than the big things. It’s amazing how much of an impact a little gesture can have.

      No problemo, it’s good to have you back!

Leave a Reply

