Quoting the Quill #32

quoting the quill small

“Bran thought about it. ‘Can a man still be brave if he’s afraid?’
’That is the only time a man can be brave,’ his father told him.”

– George R.R. Martin (A Game of Thrones)

~*~

I have been on a total Game of Thrones kick lately. With the fourth season on TV in full swing and having recently devoured the first book, my head is firmly stuck in the fantasy world of Westeros. I was fuming when I heard that there would be no episode on this week, so what better way to pass the time than quoting it instead?!
The quote above remains my favourite from the first novel, it’s simple but powerful and I love the truth behind it. It takes a lot more courage for Tyrion Lannister the dwarf with little battle knowledge to run into combat as opposed to Jamie Lannister, who is highly practiced at sword fighting. But who is considered more brave by the masses? Jamie, of course, which is really quite inaccurate! True bravery is facing your fears and conquering them, not running into a situation others find scary but you know you can thrive in.

Have a good Wednesday everyone! 🙂

~*~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

27 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #32

  1. I was sooo pissed off that GoT was not on Sunday. I was all ready to sit down and relax that night and then Daniel told me it wasn’t on because of Memorial Day. I am so glad that you enjoyed the first book. It remains one of my favourite series of all time, and I am extremely impressed by the TV series as well. The acting is incredible! Now I really want to start the 5th book, but I have a few shorter ones to finish first :).

    • Good, I’m glad it wasn’t just me! Luckily I remembered that it wasn’t going to be on because I would have been even more annoyed if I’d been looking forward to it all day, grr. Ohhh, so that’s why it wasn’t showing, I thought it was odd. We don’t have that here but we have our own version at a different time of year.

      Wow, high praise indeed from such a fierce bookworm! I hope I will be able to say the same. 🙂 Agreed, the TV series is fantastic, so well done. Oooh, good luck, I might have to start the second one soon I’m in withdrawal already.

      How was your girls weekend?

      • My problem is that the GoT’s books are soooo long, and there are so many other books coming out in May, June and July. I’m having a bookworm dilemma – I don’t know where to start!! 🙂

        My girls’ weekend was absolutely perfect!!! We went out for dinner on Friday night and had a blast reminiscing about all our friends and teachers from high school. Then on Saturday we went to a photography show where we had VIP passes to hear Colonel Chris Hadfield speak. He’s the Canadian astronaut who commanded the International Space Station for about 6 months in 2012/13. It was so fascinating, and it was an experience I will never forget. We even got to meet him afterwards and have our picture taken with him. I will be posting photos on my blog soon :). Then we went to seminars all day and shopped, shopped, shopped. I got a whole bunch of new camera gadgets, so I was a happy girl. We’re already planning to do the same thing next year.

      • I completely understand your dilemma! It is a big commitment and they take longer to read than your average book. It’s tough when you realise how many other novels you could read in the time it would take you to finish one.

        Ohh good, I’m so glad. 🙂 Sounds like you had an absolute blast. It’s always great to meet up with old friends and reminisce. Wow, you got to meet an astronaut? That’s so cool! The shopping sounds fantastic also, I did a bit of that myself. Over the past two days I’ve spent just shy of £100, gulp. £20 worth was books as well. Shame on me! Ohh but it felt so good at the time… 😉

      • Lots of YA, and lots of Patrick Ness. That’s all I’m hinting out for now, I want it to be a surprise. 😉 I’ll do a book haul when they get here, along with all the other book hauls I need to do, LOL!

  2. I really must get on the Game of Thrones bandwagon! Excellent choice of quote, as always. It’s difficult to face your fears and so much easier to remain in comfort zones!

    I’ve been debating whether to start the TV show before I’ve picked up any of the books :/

    • Yes, you must, Charl! It’s a force to be reckoned with and has such a fantastic cast of flawed characters.

      I’m going to go against my normal mantra here and suggest you watch a couple of episodes from season one first, or all of season one. I know you’re not the biggest fan of long books and don’t normally gravitate towards high fantasy so I think how much you enjoy the series will give you a good indication of if you will like the books because it’s a big commitment! There are quite a lot of characters and confusing names to get straight, and I think because I watched some of the series first it made the whole thing easier to fall into and less intimidating as well. 🙂 Hope that helps!

      • I must admit, I’m normally a “read the original source material first” kind of person, but I think in this case it might be wise to watch initially instead! You write a persuading argument Miss Becky.

        Think I might have to dip my toe into the adaptation and see if I can get along with all of the characters and fantasy elements! Thanks for the tip dearest 🙂

      • Don’t worry, I am too! But as someone who officially did things entirely the wrong way round in this case, I was surprised to find that watching the TV show first didn’t hinder my enjoyment of the book. If anything, it might even have intensified it! Odd, eh?
        Haha, why thank you. 🙂

        Good luck!

  3. Excellent quote. I really need to try to read that book again. I got upset by the machinations and political moves made by every.single.character. But now that I know that is what happens, I might just go along for the ride 🙂 Happy Wednesday.

    • Thanks, glad you liked it. 🙂 Ohh wow really? All the political intrigue interested me a lot, I loved that as a reader you were never totally sure who to trust, or if you should even trust anyone! If I hadn’t of seen the series first I may have found it hard to get into though.

      I would love to see your thoughts re take two.

  4. What a nice quote! It *almost* makes me want to start reading/watching GoT, but not quite enough to actually make me! I’ve not quite got round to jumping on the band wagon yet. Maybe this summer… Great quote Becky! x

    • Whaaatttt, you mean you’re not watching the series either? You and Charl need to get together and have a Game of Thrones marathon, I know you will love it if you give it a chance. Ohh well, all in good time!

      Thanks, Lottie. 🙂

  5. I’m on a Game of Thrones kick myself. I caught up with all four seasons over the last few weeks and I hope to start the first book soon. Your quote was good timing.

  6. Ah I love this quote as well! I love how it’s a piece of dialogue and how it captures Ned’s voice so well. Love how Martin throws in little bits of inspirational tidbits like this amongst all of the backstabbing and political scheming and fighting.

    • Yay, I’m glad! I completely agree with you. Even though Martin’s series is mainly about the fun fantasy, politics and bloodthirsty drama I love that he stops every so often to write a gem in like this, and they always turn up when you’re least expecting it. 🙂

  7. This was so apt and applicable to me right now. Thanks Beckster! ❤
    "True bravery is facing your fears and conquering them, not running into a situation others find scary but you know you can thrive in." ~ Well elaborated!

    • Thanks Zezee, I’ve finished it now and I loved it! I’m writing the review as we speak, hopefully it will be up soon. So glad that you love this series as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

